SFU Logo

University Archives


Translate This Page

About the Archives

The Margaret M. Tobin Center for Archives and Special Collections is located on the fourth floor of the Library and Learning Commons on the campus of Saint Francis University in Loretto, PA.   The Center is named in honor of Margaret M. Tobin who worked in the library from 1950-1986.   She served as the Director of the Library from 1965-1986.

Our Mission:

The Center is created to collect the permanently valuable records of Saint Francis College/University.   “Permanently valuable records” is defined as “that body of documentation which illustrates the operation of the College/University and the quality of life on campus”.   Collection of these materials shall be accomplished using appropriate and approved records management and archival policies, procedures and practices.

You can schedule a visit to the archives by contacting us using the information listed below.  Complete the Researcher Request form if you cannot visit or if you want to identify materials you would like to utilize during your visit.  This form will send us an email with the details you provide.  We will then contact you so be sure to include a phone number of email address.

Barbara Doll, Head of Technical Services
Email:  bdoll@francis.edu
Phone:  814-472-3163
Library Public Services Desk:  814-472-3160

The archives concentrates on collecting items directly related to Saint Francis College/University.  If you have items you would like to donate contact us or use the Donor Form available in Word or PDF format using the links below.  .

Local Museums and Historical Societies

You may also be interested in:

Kerin Family World War II Museum

This museum at Saint Francis University houses a significant collection that captures the essence of the "Greatest Generation" and paints a picture of life in the 1940s that goes far beyond the battlefield as told through the stories of the men and women of Pennsylvania.

Blair County Genealogical Society

Cambria County Historical Society