African American history and culture, including the areas of arts & entertainment, business & labor, education, folklore & customs, literature, music, politics, law & civil rights, religion, science & medicine, slavery, sports, women, and more.
Articles, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, facts and figures, timelines, documents, visuals and other media, and over 4,000 interviews with former slaves (some audio clips). Peer reviewed essays on key issues in the Idea Exchange portion.
CONTENT: An essential tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
RESOURCE TYPES: Citations and abstracts for journal articles, magazines, books, conference papers, and dissertations. Searches will also yield reviews on books and media. Includes abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
COVERAGE: 1,700 journals dated from the 1800s to the present, though it varies by journal title. Search the content by historical time period in the Advanced Search.
CONTENT: A database of biographic information on 320,000 people compiled from many reference works previously published in print.
RESOURCE TYPES: Full-text bios with integrated multi-media including: full-text newspapers, journals and magazines, video and audio selections from archival film clips to NBC and NPR, subject-searchable image galleries, and links to screened, reliable websites.
COVERAGE: Some 50,000 new and/updated biographies are added each year. Daily status updates from the following sources: Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Writers Directory, Newsmakers, Historic World Leaders, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art & Artists, and many more.
CONTENT: Offers comprehensive reporting and analysis, on issues in the news. Each report provides an overview, background and chronology on the topic, as well as an assessment of the current situation.
RESOURCE TYPES: Reports with tables and maps; and bibliographies of key sources.
COVERAGE: Reports are published online 44 times a year, and are available dating back to 1991. Search by date, issues in the news, or topic: health, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy, and current social trends
CONTENT: The libraryï¿½s current collection of electronic books, fiction and nonfiction on all topics covering a variety of fields of study. Read them on your computer screen. Each title includes the table of contents for easy navigation.
RESOURCE TYPES: eBooks
COVERAGE: eBooks for all ages and in all genres. Access to eBooks is 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
CONTENT: Subscriptions to individual electronic journals in a variety of areas of study. Use Browse Journals for a list of all available journals or Find Journal for a specific title to determine if this is a tool you should use for your research.
RESOURCE TYPES: Journal articles, full text.
COVERAGE: 123 journals, subscriptions reviewed yearly. Browse Journals by subject to view a list of categories and subsequently a list of all journals that fall in your area of interest.
CONTENT: Events, issues and people in the news, country profiles, statistics, scientific developments and more.
RESOURCE TYPES: Biographies, historical documents, editorials, and background articles, as well as news articles, world almanacs, and encyclopedias.
COVERAGE: Updated weekly, dating from 1940 to the present in U.S. and world news. Included databases are: complete archive of the Facts on File World News Digest Current news provided by Reuters, Issues & Controversies, and Today's Science.
CONTENT: Browse by journal title or discipline including: anthropology, art, art history, architecture, economics, ecology, film studies, folklore, history, mathematics, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, religion, sociology, statistics, and many more.
RESOURCE TYPES: Scholarly journals and monographs.
COVERAGE: Over 1,000 scholarly journals and other scholarly content, from the earliest issues (many in the late 1800s) to within 3-5 years of current publication. Collections: Arts & Sciences I Collection, Arts & Sciences II Collection, Arts & Sciences III Collection, Arts & Sciences VII Collection, Nineteenth-Century Literature and The William and Mary Quarterly.
CONTENT: All of the papers chronicling the life and times of Benjamin Franklin, collected and edited at Yale University beginning in 1954. Originally published in thirty-seven volumes called The Papers of Benjamin Franklin, Yale University Press.
RESOURCE TYPES: Autobiography, correspondence, memoranda, historical news articles, and more.
COVERAGE: 1706 -1792, the equivalent of 47 volumes of print.
CONTENT: Full text of articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, mathematics, political science, gender studies, economics and others.
RESOURCE TYPES: Peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and ebooks.
COVERAGE: Over 400 scholarly journals published by university presses, with complete content of each issue online. Archives cover a decade of most titles, and are maintained with new issues. Journals are from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. Created and managed by John Hopkins University Press.
CONTENT: Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from thousands of news magazines, professional journals, leading newspapers, and popular publications. Subject specific database portions include: business, education, humanities, interdisciplinary, medical, news, psychology, biology, science, social science, and technology and more.
RESOURCE TYPES: Scholarly and popular articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals. Books are full-text in the fields of health and business.
COVERAGE: Covers over 13,000 periodicals/publications, divided by subject areas/databases to allow focus of searching. Dates differ for every periodical, most cover the current three years.
CONTENT: Browse journal titles from A-Z, by discipline or conduct a topic search in the fields of: Health Sciences, Life and Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science and Engineering, and Social Science and Humanities.
RESOURCE TYPES: Scholarly journal articles.
COVERAGE: Provides full-text access to 389 journals; updated monthly.
CONTENT: Highlighting the role of women in United States economy.
RESOURCE TYPES: Primary source documents and images.
COVERAGE: The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, and over 1,200 photographs from Harvard University's library and museum collection.