About the Library

This policy governing Resource Planning and Collection Development applies to the selection of all materials comprising the collections of the Saint Francis University Library.

 

Philosophy:

The Saint Francis University Library provides the students, faculty, and staff of Saint Francis University and members of the community at large with excellent access to information resources, support for academic programs, and also promotes intellectual freedom as described in the American Library Association's Library Bill of Rights and Freedom to Read Statement.

 

Authority:

The Associate Dean of Library Services is the chief collection development officer within the Saint Francis University Library. Faculty and administrators are responsible for developing the various academic programs, of which adequate library resources are a major component. All teaching faculty are able to request the purchase of library materials, in a wide variety of formats that support the curriculum. It is the responsibility of the Associate Dean of Library Services, with the assistance of the Library Liaisons and the Head of Technical Services, to monitor the acquisition of library materials in order to ensure development of collections which are balanced and appropriate for the curriculum at Saint Francis University. Final authority for materials selection rests with the Dean of Library Services.

 

Resource Selection Criteria

Content:

All materials should be of contemporary significance and/or permanent value, and should provide for the curricular and research needs of the University community.

 

Format:

• Electronic Resources: Electronic full-text formats are preferred when the electronic version equitably duplicates the original format (text, images, etc.) and when it is cost effective to provide remote, universal access to such materials. The Saint Francis University Library subscribes to electronic resources that will benefit a large number of users. Subject-specific electronic resources are selected based on the number of users served, recommendation of academic departments and accrediting agencies.

• Print Resources: Purchased upon request by faculty or librarians  

• Books: Selection is based on publications that support the curriculum. Textbooks are not purchased; their content changes too rapidly and the theft rate for those items is too great. English is the principal language for purchase, although foreign language materials may also be acquired. Government documents are purchased on a selected basis for the general collection and for specific courses.

• Periodicals and Standing Orders: Selection is based on publications that support the curriculum. Titles are requested by faculty and reviewed by the Library Liaison to the department to ensure that the materials meet curricular needs. The canceling and adding of subscriptions is carefully reviewed in order to maintain the continuity of the periodical/standing order collection.

• Media, Sound, or Visual Resources: Materials purchased should meet professional standards. Selection is based on requests from faculty, students, and staff. Should be of sufficient quality to ensure the ability to view/listen with current technology. The suggested format is the current digital format. 

Evaluation and Removal Criteria

Electronic Resources:

Electronic resources are evaluated annually. Subscriptions to electronic resources will be discontinued based on usage, content, and recommendations of accrediting agencies, library liaisons, and academic departments.

 

Print Resources:

When removing print material from the collection the following criteria may be considered:

• Duplication of subject matter

• Material is damaged and cannot be repaired or replaced

• Usage

• Material contains obsolete or incorrect information

• Appropriateness of the subject matter to the current collections and academic programs

• Recommendations by accrediting agencies, library liaisons and in collaboration with academic departments

• Number of holdings in a national database

 

Media Resources:

Replacement of media resources will be based on the use of the material and the recommendations of library liaisons and academic departments.

 

Donations:

The Technical Services Manager is responsible for the initial review, acceptance, or refusal of donations for the library collection. The Library Liaisons are responsible for the final decision on acceptance of donations in light of the curriculum and existing collection.

The Saint Francis University Library will accept donations of materials for the library collection based on the following:

• Books 

• Journals

• Media, Visual, or Sound Resources: current digital format

• Children's books

The following items will not be accepted:

• Textbooks

• Materials in poor condition (i.e. materials that are missing pages, heavily marked with highlighters or crayons, margins full of handwritten notes, water damaged or clipped of pictures)

• Materials that have been stored in attics or basements (these items may be infested with insects or exposed to mold)

 

Ownership:

Materials donated to the Saint Francis University Library become the property of the University. The Saint Francis University Library will accept donations according to collection needs and reserves the right to decide matters of retention, location, cataloging, and physical processing. The Saint Francis University Library is not responsible for keeping all donations. If accepted, materials are searched for duplication within the collection. Duplicates are compared with the existing material and kept if the donated copy is in better condition. Materials not needed for the library collection will be offered to patrons as free items, recycled or discarded unless the donor requests the items be returned 

 

Receipt and Acknowledgement:

Donations may be delivered to the Saint Francis University Library Public Services Desk where the donor is asked to fill out the Saint Francis University Library Donations Form. Donors can download the form in PDF format and complete it before delivering the materials to the Public Services Desk. On the form the donor can indicate if they wish for materials to be returned to them if the donation has been declined. Upon notification of a declined donation, donors will be responsible for retrieving these items from the Saint Francis University Library within 30 days.

The Saint Francis University Library acknowledges each donation with a letter of thanks from the Dean of Library Services.  

 

Tax Issues:

Materials donated to the Saint Francis University Library are considered non-cash charitable donations. The library does not provide appraisals of donated materials for tax purposes. It is the responsibility of the donor to determine the value of the donated items and provide this information on the Donation Form. Once the donation becomes a part of the processing workflow, the library can no longer accommodate any appraiser. Therefore, the value of the items should be determined before the donation is made.

The Library will send notification to the Saint Francis University Advancement Office for those donors requiring documentation of the donation for tax purposes. The Advancement Office will send the necessary documentation directly to the donor.  

 

Bookplates:

Bookplates are created upon the request of the donor. These bookplates may bear the donor's name and/or the names of those in whose honor or memory the donation is made.

 

Approved by the Committee on Resources, Academic and Library 02/08/2018