Research Guides: Executive Doctor of Education in Organizational Leadership and Innovation: Statistics and Data

Statistics and Data

When you start work on your dissertation, you will likely need data sources. I have compiled some books and websites that can help you find what you need regarding this part of your research.

Heath Research and Statistics

A practical approach to using statistics in health research : from planning to reporting

by Adam Mackridge (Adam John), 1979-‎, Philip Rowe

Medical statistics from scratch : an introduction for health professionals

by David Bowers 1938-

Visualizing Health and Healthcare Data Creating Clear and Compelling Visualizations to See How You're Doing.

by Katherine Rowell‎, Cambria Brown‎, Lindsay Betzendahl

Heath Data Sources

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS)
DHHS is the umbrella agency under which most national health data and statistics programs operate. These include the CDC, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), among others.

DataFinder: Topical access to health and human services related data from NHHS, other federal agencies, states and local governments.

Centers for Diseases Control (CDC)
The CDC is a part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and is the primary federal agency for public health.

Data and Statistics: This is the starting point for health statistics from the CDC. Browse by topic, view publications, and links to interactive tools, surveys and more.
Health Data Interactive: Customizable tables for national health statistics covering topics in health status, health care, conditions, insurance, mortality, life expectancy, birth, pregnancy, risk factors and disease prevention.
CDC Wonder: A portal to several CDC databases concerning health-related topics for public health information and numerical data sets such as AIDS/STDs, risk behaviors (the Behavioral Risk Surveillance System), mortality and natality statistics.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The NCHS is the nation's principal health statistics agency. It is a unit of the CDC. The NCHS homepage is also a central point for health statistics browseable by topic, links to surveys, publications, and other online tools.

World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization is an agency of the United Nations and is an international coordinating agency for public health.

Useful WHO databases for data and statistics include the Global Health Observatory (providing national statistics for health indicators), WHO Global Infobase Online (chronic diseases and risk factors), and the Global Health Atlas. Data is also accessible by topical categories.

Education Statistics and Research

Emerging trends in learning analytics : leveraging the power of education data

by Myint Swe Khine

Quantitative and statistical data in education

by Michel Larini‎, Angela Barthes

The analytics revolution in higher education : big data, organizational learning, and student success

by Jonathan S Gagliardi‎, Amelia R Parnell‎, Julia Carpenter-Hubin

Education Data Sources

National Data

American Factfinder

Census data for 2000 and 2010 including population, social and economic characteristics and much more. Resources here provide statistical data related to education at the federal (United States) level.

National Center for Education Statistics

Data.gov

State Data

pa.gov

The Pennsylvania Department of Education compiles and analyzes a wide variety of data about attendance, graduation rates, schools and school districts, student progress, transportation, and other information.

Business Research and Statistics

Business analytics. Volume I, A data-driven decision making approach for business

by Amar Sahay

Standing on the shoulders of giants : traditions and innovations in research methodology

by Brian Boyd‎, T Russell Crook‎, Jane K Lê‎, Anne Smith (Anne D.),

The SAGE handbook of qualitative business and management research methods

by Catherine Cassell‎, Ann L Cunliffe‎, Gina Grandy

Business Data

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
CONTENT:
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry reports/profiles. Search by Company (Name or Ticker), People, or Industry. The database provides access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers using White Pages Pro data; a Job Search; and Nielsen Demographic Reports in PDF on a specific geographic area; and Key Business Ratios on the Web. Mergent is powered by D&B's Hoover's.

RESOURCE TYPES:
Data, reports and news.

COVERAGE:
The North American Database covers over 70 million U.S. and 3.5 million Canadian private businesses, over 6500 U.S. public companies, and over 12 million home base businesses. The Job Search Solution Database covers over 20 million U.S. employers and 400,000 employers in Canada, as well as a Veterans Job Search Database. The Global Database covers over 245 million global private businesses, while the Industry Database gives access to over 900 industry segments via First Research.

Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence.

MarketLine Company Profiles Authority

Company profiles

Statista

Easy-to-search database of frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Data is usually displayed as a graph and downloadable in Excel.