Physician Assistant Sciences

Content: A clinical search engine providing fast, concise answers to support clinical decisions.

Resource type: Books, Journals, Drug Monographs (Gold Standard), Multimedia, Guidelines and Patient Education.

Coverage: Current publications of titles covered, updated at least once a month.

CONTENT:

Health science/medical textbooks in all major medical specialties. Some of the titles included are Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine, and LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Libraries. Drug Information that users can search by the drug’s generic name, trade name, or class is also part of this database.

RESOURCE TYPES:

Full text medical reference textbooks, with images; a differential diagnosis tool called ‘Diagnosaurus’ which allows users to browse more than 1,000 differential diagnoses; QMDT (Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment), an outline of the most common medical conditions with a quick, concise answer; Diagnostic test section from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests; Video/Audio on bedside and office-based procedures, diagnostic tests, treatments and conditions; Case Files; Self-Assessment Tools such as practice tests and flashcards; and Patient Education Handouts.

COVERAGE:

Most recent editions of more than 85 medical reference textbooks.

CONTENT: The following parts of the text are: Cardinal Manifestations and Presentation of Diseases, Introduction to Clinical Medicine, Genes, the Environment, and Disease, Regenerative Medicine, Aging, Nutrition, Oncology and Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Terrorism and Clinical Medicine, Disorders of the Cardiovascular System, Disorders of the Respiratory System, Critical Care Medicine, Disorders of the Kidney and Urinary Tract, Disorders of the Gastrointestinal System, Disorders of the Joints and Adjacent Tissues, Endocrinology and Metabolism, Neurologic Disorders, Poisoning, Drug Overdose, and Envenomation, High-Altitude and Decompression Sickness and several Clinical Procedure Tutorials.

RESOURCE TYPES: Internal medicine eBook.

COVERAGE: Entire book full text, most recent edition.

CONTENT: Nursing, allied health disciplines, cardiopulmonary technology, emergency services, health education, med/lab technology, medical assistance, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, radiologic technology, respiratory therapy, surgical technology, and physician's assistant.

RESOURCE TYPES: Journal articles, medical text books, nursing dissertations, educational software, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters.

COVERAGE: Indexes more than 3,000 journals in the field of nursing and allied health, dating back to 1981.

CONTENT: Full-text journal articles covering the topics of alternative and complementary medicine, behavioral and social sciences, clinical medicine, health professions, life and biomedical sciences, medical humanities, patient education, pharmacology, physical science and engineering, public health, science, and PsycARTICLES.

RESOURCE TYPES: Journal articles.

COVERAGE: 260+ professional journals, with varying length of issue access for each journal. Click on the search tab at the top left of the page to search by keyword(s).

CONTENT: Sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, training, disabled persons, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.

RESOURCE TYPES: Articles ranging from peer reviewed scholarly research to popular sports magazines, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites.

COVERAGE: This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage dating back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages, all provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. Browse full-text publications alphabetically, by subject & description, or by matching words. Search full-text publications for cited references.

CONTENT:
PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a non-profit publisher and advocate of Open Access research in science and medicine. It publishes the journals PLOS Biology and PLOS Medicine, followed by four community journals, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Pathogens, PLOS Computational Biology; and PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases, and finally PLOS ONE.

RESOURCE TYPES:
Full text peer reviewed articles

COVERAGE:
140,000+ articles published to date

CONTENT: Provides the ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians for all periodicals. Useful in the identification of subject area publication requirements, follow the company URL to seek out manuscript submission procedures.

RESOURCE TYPES: Periodical types include: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

COVERAGE: Covers over 300,000 periodicals, in 900 different subject areas.