Research Guides: Physician Assistant Sciences: Drug Information

Drug Databases

DailyMed DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up, and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs and Supplements MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements connects consumer-level drug information to patients and caregivers. Information is available on both prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, and includes details on side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Drug information is provided in both English and Spanish.
Drug Information Portal
NLM: NIH Toxicology
RxNorm: RxNav RxNorm provides normalized names for clinical drugs and links its names to many of the drug vocabularies commonly used in pharmacy management and drug interaction software. By providing links between these vocabularies, RxNorm can mediate messages between systems not using the same software and vocabulary. RxNorm can be accessed online through the RxNav (https://mor.nlm.nih.gov/RxNav/) browser.
Epocrates
Register to use this free online tool.
Covers drugs, diseases, interaction check, pill ID, calculators, tables and guidelines.
A to Z List of Cancer Drugs: NCI

DrugLib.com Drug information portal covering both prescription and over-the-counter drugs as well as information on active ingredients, FDA drug alerts, and an index of recently reported adverse effects.
Drugs.com This drug information website includes information on prescription drugs and herbal supplements, a pill identifier, interaction checker, drug alerts, and phonetic drug name search.
Drugs@FDA FDA-approved brand name and generic prescription and over-the-counter human drugs and biological therapeutic products. Includes most of the drug products approved since 1939 and most patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information about drug products approved since 1998.
RxList - The Internet Drug Index for Prescription Drugs, Medications and Pill Identifier