Information Literacy Program

The First-Year library experience consists of two components that build fundamental knowledge and a skill set for all first-year students to become successful researchers at Saint Francis University. These are a Liaison Librarian and Library Workshops.

Personal Librarian - All first-year students are assigned a full-time Information Services Librarian as their Personal Librarian based on their major who can assist them with their research needs during their first year at SFU.

Outreach efforts include:

• Presence at First-Year Checkin

• Encouragement of CORE I faculty to send students to their Librarian for research assistance

• A Canvas site to share resources with First-Year students

Workshops - Five workshops covering valuable topics essential to academic success are offered in collaboration with the instructors of the CORE I Building a Foundation course. Instructors are key in holding students accountable for the completion of this requirement.

• Any student is encouraged to attend these workshops

• CORE I enrolled students are required to attend all workshops

• All sessions are 50 minutes in length

The first-year component of the Information Literacy Program is designed in support of the Undergraduate CORE Curriculum.

Core Curriculum GOAL # 1: Excel and Lead in Your Field

Learning Objective: 1a. Develop research, quantitative and analytical abilities.

The following workshops focus on library research.

Introduction to Searching

Description: Introduces the Saint Francis University Library through the exploration of the library catalog and databases as tools to access various formats and types of information sources. Students look at multiple search interfaces and develop the skills to navigate them to refine a search and retrieve the desired results. Library Program SLO’s 1a, 1b, 1c, 2a, 2b, 2c, 5a

Concepts: 

• Library Homepage Navigation/Research Guides  
• Library Catalog – Discover/World Cat  
• Fee-Based databases purchased by SFU through subscription 
• Freely available databases such as Google Scholar & PubMed  
• Keyword vs. Subject terms & Refining a search 
• Advanced Search  
• Elements of an entry in a results list  
• Formats (Articles, E-books, etc.) & File types 
• Full Text or Interlibrary Loan 

Resource Evaluation 

Description: Evaluation occurs when the researcher selects one source over another for a specific reason. Students look at the publication process of several types of resources to discern the distinctive characteristics of each. Selecting the best information sources requires looking at your assignment, the research topic, and the sources themselves to determine the value that a given resource provides to your work. Discusses how false information is spread, the motives and appeal behind it, and ways to detect it. Library Program SLO’s 3a, 3b, 3c, 3d

Concepts:  

• Information Cycle 
• Primary/Secondary  
• Scholarly/Popular 
• Peer review  
• Evaluation Resources: CRAAP 
• Misinformation, Disinformation, & Fake News 

Avoid Plagiarism 

Description: Look at the ethical considerations when committing plagiarism from the creator's perspective through previewing an example scenario. Highlights what characteristics identify a correctly attributed paraphrase, summary, and quote.  Library Program SLO’s 4a, 4b, 4c, 4d, 6b 

Concepts: 

• SFU's Academic Honesty Policy 
• Define Plagiarism 
• Paraphrasing 
• Common Knowledge  
• Importance of recording research activity 
• Plagiarism Scenarios 
• Artificial Intelligence (AI) ChatGPT 

APA Citation or MLA Citation 

Description: Reviews the correct format for the citation of various types and formats of information resources that one may encounter when building a bibliography. Students are provided the opportunity to apply the rules provided in the APA or MLA style manuals with a step-by-step process approach. Library Program SLO’s 5a, 5b, 5c

Concepts: 

• Purpose of Citation  
• Identification of types of information sources 
• Bibliography and in-text citation for three types of sources 
  • Book 
  • Website 
  • Article from a databases 

Digital Citizenship (taught through an online module in Canvas)

Description: Introduces Mike Ribble’s and Gerald Bailey’s nine elements of digital citizenship taking on the real challenges and digital dilemmas that students face today. It is an opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of the importance of digital skills and behaviors. Library Program SLO’s 6a

Concepts:  

• Nine Elements of Digital Citizenship: Ribble, M. & Bailey, G. (2007). Digital Citizenship in Schools. International Society for Technology in Education. 
• Digital Divide 
• Identity Theft, Online Security, and Wellness 
• Defining Digital Literacy 
• Email Etiquette 
• Digital Law: Creativity, Copyright, and Fair Use 
• Acceptable Use Policies