Encyclopedia of social psychology by
"The set offers clear descriptions of commonly used and sometimes misunderstood terms, e.g., cultural differences, authoritarian personality, and neuroticism. The field has expanded since publication of The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology, ed. by A. Manstead and M. Hewstone et al. (CH, Jan ′96, 33-2457), and this work is a valuable response to that. Summing Up: Recommended. All levels."--CHOICENot long ago, social psychology was a small field consisting of creative, energetic researchers bent on trying to study a few vexing problems in normal adult human behavior with rigorous scientific methods. In a few short decades, the field has blossomed into a major intellectual force, with thousands of researchers worldwide exploring a stunningly diverse set of fascinating phenomena with an impressive arsenal of research methods and ever more carefully honed theories. The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is designed as a road map to this rapidly growing and important field and provides individuals with a simple, clear, jargon-free introduction. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology. Key Features Provides background to each concept, explains what researchers are now doing with it, and discusses where it stands in relation to other concepts in the field Translates jargon into plain, clear, everyday language rather than speaking in the secret language of the discipline Offers contributions from prominent, well-respected researchers extending over the many subfields of social psychology that collectively have a truly amazing span of expertise Key Themes Action Control Antisocial Behaviors Attitude Culture Emotions Evolution Groups Health History Influence Interpersonal Relationships Judgment and Decision Making Methods Personality Prejudice Problem Behaviors Prosocial Behaviors Self Social Cognition Subdisciplines The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is the first resource to present students, researchers, scholars, and practitioners with state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field. It is a must have resource for all academic libraries.
Handbook of theories of social psychology: Volume 1 by
This innovative two-volume handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of the major developments of social psychological theories that have taken place over the past half century, culminating in a state of the art overview of the primary theories and models that have been developed in this vast and fascinating field. Authored by leading international experts, each chapter represents a personal and historical narrative of the theory′s development including the inspirations, critical junctures, and problem-solving efforts that have effected the choices made in each theory′s evolution as well as the impact each has had on the canon of social psychology. Unique to this handbook, these narratives provide a rich background for understanding how theories are created more generally; how they′re nurtured and shaped over time: and how through examination we can better understand their unique contribution to society as a whole. The Handbook also illustrates how the various theories contribute to understanding and solving critical social issues and problems. The Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology is an essential resource for researchers and students of social psychology and related disciplines.
Handbook of theories of social psychology: Volume 2 by
This innovative two-volume handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of the major developments of social psychological theories that have taken place over the past half century, culminating in a state of the art overview of the primary theories and models that have been developed in this vast and fascinating field. Authored by leading international experts, each chapter represents a personal and historical narrative of the theory′s development including the inspirations, critical junctures, and problem-solving efforts that have effected the choices made in each theory′s evolution as well as the impact each has had on the canon of social psychology. Unique to this handbook, these narratives provide a rich background for understanding how theories are created more generally; how they′re nurtured and shaped over time: and how through examination we can better understand their unique contribution to society as a whole. The Handbook also illustrates how the various theories contribute to understanding and solving critical social issues and problems. The Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology is an essential resource for researchers and students of social psychology and related disciplines.