The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine by 
Anatomy and human movement: Structure and function. by 
Aquatic exercise for rehabilitation and training. by
Prescribing the right aquatic exercise program for those with functional limitations is challenging, in part because the literature on water exercise is limited. That prescription is made all the more difficult when working with clients and patients with a wide range of limitations. Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training shows professionals how to design aquatic rehabilitation and exercise programs for various groups and individuals across the life span. The authors guide readers in choosing the right exercises for their clients—including the appropriate exercise frequency, intensity, and duration—based on each client's abilities and limitations. The authors compiled literature on water exercise from around the world and applied the information to a variety of situations. The book presents several current theories as well as a historical view for each theory and description of treatment implementation. The theories and principles are presented with the use of a regional- and system-based approach. Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training also has the following features: -Descriptions of the physiological responses—including those of the pulmonary, renal, musculoskeletal, and neuromuscular systems—to immersion and water exercise, preparing clinicians for how the body reacts to an aquatic environment -Indications and contraindications for participation in water programs, providing an understanding of how the physical properties of water and exercise combine advantageously -Descriptions of the responsibilities of various aquatic team members and patient management across the full spectrum of care Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training is liberally illustrated and comes with a DVD that demonstrates nearly half of the book's exercises and highlights key points for each. The DVD also contains printable evaluation sheets that will help you identify your clients' needs, evaluate specific therapies based on those needs, and choose the best therapies for your clients. Using case studies as examples, Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training presents current concepts, explains how to apply them, and assists readers in determining optimal intervention plans for each client. The text covers the gamut of aquatic exercise for rehabilitation and training, addressing all populations and ages. The authors provide information for adapting programs for various clientele: injured athletes, older adults, and people with special exercise needs, such as patients with cerebral palsy, brain injury and stroke, multiple sclerosis, and rheumatoid arthritis. Use Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training with confidence as you design exercise programs for your clients. Learn how to assess your clients' needs, provide specialized training for various populations, and prescribe neuromuscular training, core musculoskeletal training, and upper- and lower-quarter musculoskeletal training. This book and DVD is a valuable resource, no matter who your clients are, as you help them rehabilitate and train in water.
Athletic and sport issues in musculoskeletal rehabilitation. by 
Common movement disorders pitfalls. by
The powerful lessons in this case-based book will help the reader appreciate diagnoses missed or wrongly attributed, movements difficult to characterize, tests inappropriately ordered or interpreted, and treatments incorrectly chosen or dosed.
Essentials of physical medicine and rehabilitation: Musculoskeletal disorders, pain, and rehabilitation by 
Framework for the shoulder: a 6-step plan for preventing injury and ending pain. by 
Movement system impairment syndromes of the extremities, cervical and thoracic spines. by 
Clinical Examination in Orthopedics by 
Orthopedic physical examination tests. by 
External fixation in orthopedic traumatology. by 
Low back pain: Mechanism, diagnosis, treatment. by 
The muscle and bone palpation manual with trigger points, referral patterns and stretching by
With more than 1,000 vibrant, full-color illustrations and over 4 hours of detailed video demonstrations, THE MUSCLE AND BONE PALPATION MANUAL is the most visually engaging way to help you master and successfully apply palpation techniques in massage therapy. This innovative text uses unique, richly detailed photographic illustrations of muscles as they appear under the skin to give you a thorough understanding of effective palpation. This comprehensive guide provides unparalleled preparation for professional success. Step-by-step muscle palpation coverage with clear reasoning provided for each step presents content in a way that is easily understood and remembered rather than just memorized. Amazing four-color artwork shows palpation of the muscle with muscle and bone illustrations drawn over full-color photos offering you a better sense of exactly how the muscles look and where the muscle is located underneath the skin as it is being palpated. UNIQUE! Stretching coverage provides more information on this effective treatment technique and helps you understand the role of stretching in treatment. Trigger Points and Referral Patterns illustrations show where trigger points lie on the muscle and where pain radiates when an injury is felt so you can effectively identify trigger points and referral patterns in a clinical setting. UNIQUE! Palpation photos help students and practitioners learn to identify muscles when the body is positioned the way they will encounter it in the massage setting. Specific massage-related assessment and treatment strokes are shown through illustrations and in the Palpation Notes, moving you from theory and assessment to practical application. Bone Palpation coverage teaches you to identify and palpate bones and bony landmarks. Chapter overviews and outlines introduce each chapter so you can preview the content and direction of the chapter at the major concept level. Measurable chapter objectives at the start of each chapter identify key goals as well as information that should be mastered. NEW! Interactive Muscle Program available on Evolve allows you to see muscle attachments and the relationship among the muscles of the region, easing the process and aiding in retention of material. NEW! Drawings of therapist-assisted stretches added to the third section of the text supplies you with a comprehensive look at stretching, with both the existing self-stretches and the assisted stretches presented side-by-side. NEW! Case studies keep your interest level high with the opportunity for integrative, clinical reasoning. NEW! Reformatted Bone Palpation and Ligaments section offers content in a narrative format consistent with the rest of the text for easier navigation. NEW! "Deeper Thoughts" questions actively engage and challenge your reasoning skills. NEW! Review questions allow you to discuss concepts and synthesize important chapter information.
Exercise-induced asthma: pathophysiology & treatment. by
People with exercise-induced asthma do not have to eliminate or limit physical activity, exercise, or competitive sports from their lives. Exercise-Induced Asthma: Pathophysiology and Treatment is a comprehensive reference that presents the latest research and scientifically based information you need to ensure every person can be physically active and perform optimally at every level of competition. Featuring contributions from leading experts in the field, this is the first book to address exercise-induced asthma in those who are physically active and athletic as opposed to the general population. This authoritative guide will enable you to do the following: -Work more confidently with physically active and athletic people with exercise-induced asthma. -Understand the physiology of exercise-induced asthma. -Diagnose accurately and prescribe medication, safe activity, and athletic practices. -Inform athletes about new medical treatments for exercise-induced asthma. Exercise-Induced Asthma: Pathophysiology and Treatment walks medical professionals through practical guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of athletes and other physically active people who have exercise-induced asthma. It presents the latest breakthroughs in optimizing performance while coping with exercise-induced asthma. It updates readers on which medications are currently accepted and banned in athletic events.
Inclusive physical activity: promoting health for a lifetime. by
The second edition of "Inclusive Physical Activity" is an excellent resource for physical activity practitioners or students preparing to work with diverse populations in schools, fitness facilities, community recreation sites, and sport programs. This text shows how to provide optimal programming for all individuals--regardless of capability--so they can be healthy and active throughout the life span. "Inclusive Physical Activity, Second Edition," can help you - provide well-designed and appropriate physical activity for individuals of all abilities, - increase opportunities for meaningful participation in lifelong physical activity, and - facilitate physical activity to increase health and and wellness for individuals with disabilities. The book covers programming considerations and strategies for infants and toddlers, school-age children, and adults; examples of inclusive practices for commonly offered physical activities; and suggestions for more effectively individualizing programming." Inclusive Physical Activity" also provides information on adapting instruction and providing activity alternatives across the life span in five content areas: 1. Movement skills 2. Games and sports 3. Health-related fitness 4. Outdoor recreation and adventure 5. Aquatics "Inclusive Physical Activity" outlines a systematic approach to planning and implementing appropriate programs for individuals of varying abilities. Using the unique Functional Approach to Modifying Movement Experiences (FAMME) model, practitioners can learn--step by step--how to connect modifications directly to participants' capability differences to provide optimal challenge and success. Updated and expanded, the second edition offers three new chapters plus special learning features: - Including All Individuals chapter-opening scenarios - Think Back questions that encourage readers to apply chapter content to each scenario - What Do You Think? questions and What Would You Do? case examples that promote reflective thinking and problem solving Instructors who adopt the text get online access to an instructor guide, test package, and presentation package. New to the second edition, the presentation package offers approximately 200 slides highlighting the most important concepts from the book plus essential figures, tables, and photos. With "Inclusive Physical Activity," both students and professionals will find the knowledge and support to make meaningful and inclusive physical activity a reality and promote better health for everyone.
Anger management in sport: understanding and controlling violence in athletes. by
Anger management is becoming an increasingly significant area of study in sport. This issue affects all people involved in the sporting environment, yet few sport professionals, coaches, or administrators fully understand anger in sport and how to work with athletes to overcome the problem. Anger Management in Sport: Understanding and Controlling Violence in Athletes addresses this important topic and provides strategies and interventions for overcoming excessive anger and aggression in athletes. The provocative book challenges long-held assumptions and points the way to further research and discussion. With its accessible format and proactive approach, Anger Management in Sport is an ideal resource for practitioners at all levels of sport who work with athletes and anger, both on and off the field. The author draws on his unique background and clinical experiences creating and implementing anger management skills for a variety of populations—from high school athletes to prison inmates. His unique insight will stimulate discussion on a range of issues associated with anger in sport, including mental illness, drugs, and differences and similarities in amateur and professional athletes. Readers will understand not only how to approach an anger problem but also how to help an athlete work to manage emotions. Rather than eliminate old explanations, the book paves the way to a new understanding of issues vital to the health of sport. Chapters 1 and 2 help readers better understand anger and violence and how to assess anger in sport. Anger, aggression, violence, and hostility are defined so that readers will understand the conceptual differences between each. Chapter 3 discusses the athletic culture and how anger is uniquely considered in sports. Readers will recognize some instances of anger in sport through the discussion of such high-profile events as the Baylor University basketball scandal, the O.J. Simpson trial, and the infamous 2004 Pacers-Pistons NBA melee in Detroit involving crowd aggression. Chapters 5 and 6 examine mental illness and drugs in sport. Chapters 7 through 9 tackle anger management programs, systematic interventions for athletes, and prevention of sexual violence. Real-world situations presented in the text will engage readers and help them picture how to use anger management skills in their own lives and careers. By considering the various stakeholders involved and the preventive measures that can be taken, researchers and professionals will step closer to discovering best practices and strategies for anger management in today’s sport society. Although helping athletes deal with anger is an important part of sport, there is little research to address the key issues regarding this difficult subject. Anger Management in Sport will help readers understand the causes for anger in sport and how to help athletes who demonstrate aggressive behavior. It will shed light on an uncharted issue and provide direction for future research in the area.
Essential readings in sport and exercise psychology. by
For the first time, the most influential readings in the field of sport and exercise psychology are compiled here in one volume. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology contains the most exciting, innovative, and diverse theoretical orientations and research perspectives generated in the first hundred years of this growing field. In this book, readers will find abridged versions of 50 readings that provide a concise reference to the history, growth, development, and future directions of the field. The book is written by an all-star cast of sport psychologists—all leading professionals from around the world who have been included in a variety of literature reviews and used as references in numerous sport psychology lectures. From the first research article in the field by Norman Triplett in 1898 to papers regarding the more recent challenges of professional practice in the field, the selections in this compilation are the backbone of sport and exercise psychology. Readers will learn about the development and application of commonly used instruments, such as the Competitive State Anxiety Inventory-II, the Group Environment Questionnaire, and the Sport Imagery Questionnaire. This book contains one of Coleman Griffith's influential early writings, Rainer Martens' explorations of science and practice, Ken Ravizza's pioneering work on peak experience, and Robin Vealey's investigation of psychological skills training. These readings are only a few examples of the depth and richness of the content contained in this single volume. The field couldn't be more ready for this first-ever compilation of key readings. The diverse selection of writings is a sign of the field's maturity, and each reading provides valuable context to the progress of exercise and sport psychology. Professionals interested in the development of the subdiscipline will find this text to be an excellent single-volume reference of the important primary research documenting the evolution of the field. Anyone with a passion for sport psychology will benefit from this groundbreaking text. Sport psychology students will gain a solid background for future studies by reviewing proven primary research from the field's biggest names and gain an understanding of how various lines of study have evolved. Experienced scholars and practitioners will enjoy the convenience of having seminal articles all in one essential reference. Instructors will save time by using this inclusive single volume rather than searching for key articles individually. The 50 essential readings in the landmark text are organized in a logical structure that mirrors the path of many texts in the field. Introductions to each part and article orient the reader to the topic being discussed. Part I establishes the historical foundation of sport and exercise psychology. Part II addresses personal factors that affect our understanding of sport and exercise behavior. Part III focuses on environmental and situational factors that affect athletic behavior. Part IV emphasizes the importance of understanding group processes. Part V examines various concepts associated with performance enhancement. Part VI explores the influence psychological factors have on exercise, health, and wellness. Part VII studies how psychological development, growth, and well-being occur and may be facilitated as consequences of sport and exercise participation. The final section, part VIII, examines professional issues critical to any developing academic organization. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology highlights the creativity and growth in the field and shows how the field will continue to evolve by viewing these readings as the building blocks for a brighter future. There is no better text for understanding the dynamic field of sport and exercise psychology and why it has matured so dramatically and quickly.
Strap taping for sports and rehabilitation. by 
Physical rehabilitation of the injured athlete. by 
Management of adults with traumatic brain injury. by
Traumatic brain injury (TBI) is a public health issue of worldwide proportions, affecting motorists, victims of interpersonal violence, athletes, military service members, and Veterans, among others. Management of Adults with Traumatic Brain Injury provides evidence-informed guidance on the core topics in brain injury medicine, including the epidemiology and pathophysiology of TBI, the medical evaluation and neuropsychological assessment of persons with TBI, and the common cognitive, emotional, behavioral, and other neurological disturbances for which persons with TBI and their families seek clinical care.
