Quick reference to occupational therapy by
This greatly enhanced and expanded Third Edition of Quick Reference to Occupational Therapy adds sixty-five topics and disorders to the already extensive list. All information in the text is updated. New and veteran therapists will benefit from having the latest disorder-specific information at their fingertips as they assess and treat clients. An extensive References for Further Reading section includes a review of the levels of evidence for each journal article.Contents include: Developmental Disorders, Sensory Disorders, Nervous System Disorders, Cardiopulmonary Disorders, Hand and Wrist Conditions, Injuries, Musculoskeletal Disorders, Systemic Disorders, Immunologic and Infectious Diseases, Skin Disorders, Cognitive-Perceptual Disorders, Mental Disorders, and Lifestyle Disorders.For each disorder, the easy-to-use outline format provides: Description, Cause, Assessments used to evaluate, Problems experienced by the client, Treatment and intervention, Precautions to be observed, Prognosis and outcome, and References for further reading.
Quick reference dictionary for occupational therapy by
A leading resource for occupational therapy practitioners and students for 20 years, now updated with the latest information in the profession, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition is a resource for daily practice and academic training. Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition by Dr. Karen Jacobs and Laela Simon remains the only comprehensive dictionary available specifically for occupational therapy. Containing more than 4,000 words and definitions, more than 60 appendices, and illustrations, graphs, and tables throughout, this definitive text has been updated with the latest information in current occupational therapy practice. New appendices in the Seventh Edition include: Commonly Used Assessments Emerging Practice Areas Expand Your Knowledge Grading Versus Adapting a Task Hand Pathologies State Regulatory Entities Theories and Frames of Reference Useful Apps A handy, conveniently sized reference in an easy-to-use format, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition gives occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, faculty, and students the most pertinent information they need day to day, right at their fingertips.
The reference manual of the official documents of the American occupational therapy association, inc. by 
International handbook of Occupational Therapy interventions. by
Advanced therapies and technologies, new service delivery methods, and care upgrades in underserved areas are translating into improved quality of life for millions with disabilities. Occupational therapy parallels this progress at the individual level, balancing short-term recovery and adaptation with long-term independence and well-being. This Second Edition of the International Handbook of Occupational Therapy Interventions builds on its groundbreaking predecessor by modeling current clinical standards rooted in evidence-based practice. Its interventions are applied to a diverse range of client illnesses, injuries, and conditions, with new or rewritten chapters on workplace and vehicle accommodations, smart home technologies, end-of-life planning, and other salient topics. New introductory chapters spotlight core competencies in the field, from assessing client needs and choosing appropriate interventions to evaluating programs and weighing priorities. And for increased educational value, interactive case studies allow readers an extra avenue for honing clinical reasoning and decision-making skills. Intervention areas featured in the Handbook: Environmental accommodation, assistive technologies, and accessible design. Active learning to support mental, cognitive, movement- and sensory-based functioning and work-related rehabilitation programs Enabling recovery and creating opportunity. Promoting health and preventing further disability. The Second Edition of the International Handbook of Occupational Therapy Interventions is career-affirming reading for all members of rehabilitation teams, including occupational and physical therapists and rehabilitation nurses. Students intending to enter this growing field and professionals working toward its continued improvement will find it useful and inspiring.
The rehabilitation specialist's handbook. by Assistive Technology 617.03
Biomechanics 612.76
Disabilities & Rehabilitation 362
Ergonomics 613.62
Learning Disabilities 371.9
Neurology 616.80
OT & Liability 344.7304
OT & Recreation, Art, or Music 615.8515
Psychosocial 616.89
Stroke 616.81
Activity analysis, creativity and playfulness in pediatric Occupational Therapy. by 
Activities: Reality and symbol. by The texture of life: purposeful activities in the context of occupation. by
Occupational therapy is based on the principle that engaging in occupations and their inherent activities can powerfully affect a person's health and well-being. Practitioners must continually find ways to provide activity-based interventions that clients find personally meaningful, socially satisfying, and culturally relevant. This new edition of The Texture of Life presents a theoretical foundation for the idea of occupation, framed within historical and current practice and developed from within the occupational therapy profession. Using language from the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, 2nd Edition, and the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health, updated chapters detail aspects of occupation such as activity analysis, activity synthesis, and clinical reasoning and explore how to apply activity across various settings. Case scenarios guide readers through the intervention process, providing clear, practical examples of activity-based occupational therapy. Exercises challenge students and practitioners to consider their own biases and perspectives, the unique set of circumstances that each client presents, and the most appropriate intervention strategy. Students and experienced practitioners alike can use this important resource to further develop their understanding of occupation, better articulate its complex nature, and apply its principles in the clinic.
Narratives of art practice and mental well-being. by
Narratives of Art Practice and Mental Wellbeingdraws on extensive research carried out with mental health service users who are also practicing artists. Using narrative data gained through hours of reflective conversation, it explores not whetherart can contribute to positive wellbeing and improved mental health - as this is now established ground - but rather howart works, and the role art making can play in people's lives as they encounter crises, relapse, recovery or 'beyonding'. The book maps the delicate ways in which finding a means to tell our story sometimes is the creative project we seek, and offers a reminder of how intrinsically linked our life trajectories are with creative opportunities. It describes the wide range of artistic activity occurring in health and community settings and the meanings of these practices to people with histories of mental turbulence. Drawing on psychoanalytic theory, the book explore the stories and various forms of visual arts practices spoken of, and considers the art making processes, the creative moments and the objects which in some cases have changed people's lives. The seven chapters of the book offer a blend of personal testimony, theory, debate, critique and celebration, and examine key topics of deliberation within the fields of art therapy, arts in health, community arts practice, participatory arts, and widening participation within arts education. It will be valuable reading for researchers, students, artists and practitioners in these fields.
Meal preparation and training. by
This book identifies and examines training techniques for the kitchen. Designed specifically for the therapist or health care professional, techniques demonstrated should be utilized by health care professionals to teach those with physical disabilities or the elderly how to understand and perform tasks in the kitchen successfully. The book looks at how to deal with clients in their homes, working with children, hospice, and dealing with individuals with physical and cognitive limitations and elderly from a health care professional's perspective.
Driving and community mobility: Occupational therapy strategies across the lifespan. by 
Assistive technologies: Principles and practice. by
It's here: the latest edition of the one text you need to master assistive strategies, make confident clinical decisions, and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model, Assistive Technologies: Principles and Practice, 4th Edition provides detailed coverage of the broad range of devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology, and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. Updated and expanded, this new edition features coverage of new ethical issues, more explicit applications of the HAAT model, and a variety of global issues highlighting technology applications and service delivery in developing countries. Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) framework demonstrates assistive technology within common, everyday contexts for more relevant application. Focus on clinical application guides you in applying concepts to real-world situations. Review questions and chapter summaries in each chapter help you assess your understanding and identify areas where more study is needed. Content on the impact of AT on children and the role of AT in play and education for children with disabilities demonstrates how AT can be used for early intervention and to enhance development. Coverage of changing AT needs throughout the lifespan emphasizes how AT fits into people's lives and contributes to their full participation in society. Principles and practice of assistive technology provides the foundation for effective decision-making. NEW! Global issues content broadens the focus of application beyond North America to include technology applications and service delivery in developing countries. NEW! Ethical issues and occupational justice content exposes you to vital information as you start interacting with clients. NEW! More case studies added throughout the text foster an understanding of how assistive technologies are used and how they function. NEW! Updated content reflects current technology and helps keep you current. NEW! Explicit applications of the HAAT model in each of the chapters on specific technologies and more emphasis on the interactions among the elements make content even easier to understand.
Safe at home with assistive technology by
This book describes how assistive technology can help handicapped, elderly and acutely sick people to manage their daily lives better and stay safe in the home. It discusses how safety is understood from an ethical, technical and social perspective, and offers examples of the problems that users, their helpers and professional carers have with assistive technology in everyday situations. The book provides insights from user-centred research and uses photographs to illustrate the main topic: how users and technology can work together to ensure safety. User-focused and combining experience with research, the book will interest users of these kinds of technology, health professionals who might introduce and/or prescribe them, engineers who develop and sell assistive technological gadgets, and architects who build safe homes - as well as researchers and students who work in these fields. It provides an overview of the existing technology, examines ways to test its effectiveness from the point of view of users, health professionals and researchers from different fields (architecture, education, engineering, facility management, medicine, nursing, occupational therapy, rehabilitative medicine, physiotherapy, social science and speech therapy), and lists useful addresses, websites and literature
Conditions in occupational therapy: Effect on occupational performance. by
Conditions in Occupational Therapy focuses on chronic health problems and their impact on an individual's physical, cognitive, psychological, and social capabilities. Readers learn how the patient's age, life tasks, and living environment affect occupational therapy needs, and how to determine what occupational therapy services to provide. Chapters present the etiology, symptoms, prognosis, and progression of conditions frequently encountered in practice. Case studies at the end of every chapter help students apply the content to real-life clinical situations. This edition includes new chapters on vision disorders, muscular dystrophy, infectious diseases, and developmental trauma disorder. The expanded art program includes more photos, drawings, charts, and graphs.
Neuropsychology for occupational therapists. by
Written primarily for undergraduate students of occupational therapy, and for practitioners working in the field of cognitive rehabilitation. Those in other health and related professions, who work in the field of brain injury, will gain an understanding of how cognition and its impairment can affect behaviour. The content of the second edition has been expanded and updated to reflect advances in neuropsychology, and to incorporate an evidence based consideration of occupational therapy practice. Written in a clear and user-friendly style, this book provides a basic guide to normal cognition. The impact of cognitive impairments upon everyday living is explored and guidance is given upon the planning and implementation of rehabilitation to optimism occupational performance.
Cognition & occupation across the lifespan: Models for intervention in occupational therapy. by 
Vision, Perception, and Cognition: A Manual for the Evaluation and Treatment of the Adult with Acquired Brain Injury by 
Developing occupation-centered programs with the community by
The updated Third Edition of Developing Occupation-Centered Programs with the Community continues to provide an excellent step-by-step workbook approach to designing and implementing a program for the community. Inside Developing Occupation-Centered Programs with the Community, Third Edition, Dr. Linda Fazio includes the importance of community asset identification and development toward sustainability. New and updated content on evidence-based practice; program evaluation at multiple levels; funding; non-profits and social entrepreneurship. Additionally, new trending issues of interest to programmers include human trafficking, post-combat programming for military veterans and their families, arts-based programming for all ages, and programming to meet current needs of the well-elderly. Features of the Third Edition: Workbook format offers the instructor and the student options for how to use the text in a classroom or independently in an internship or residency The order of the programming process, chapter content order, summaries and format of exercises has been retained to ease transition for instructors using previous editions of the text The program "story" section has been retained along with author's notes on what is currently happening with these programs and other related topic areas New content has been added in program sustainability, the assessment and building of community assets, and consensus organizing in communities More developed content is offered about the structure and function of non-profit organizations as well as the role and function of the social entrepreneur who does programming for these organizations Ancillary PowerPoint presentations follow the process for use in a lecture format Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. Developing Occupation-Centered Programs with the Community, Third Edition is an excellent introductory tool and is a valuable resource for occupational therapy students at all levels, as well as experienced practitioners in a clinical setting.
Occupational therapy in the promotion of health and wellness. by 
Ergonomics Made Easy: A Checklist Approach by 
Handbook of human factors and ergonomics. by
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics has been completely revised and updated. This includes all existing third edition chapters plus new chapters written to cover new areas. These include the following subjects: Managing low-back disorder risk in the workplace Online interactivity Neuroergonomics Office ergonomics Social networking HF&E in motor vehicle transportation User requirements Human factors and ergonomics in aviation Human factors in ambient intelligent environments As with the earlier editions, the main purpose of this handbook is to serve the needs of the human factors and ergonomics researchers, practitioners, and graduate students. Each chapter has a strong theory and scientific base, but is heavily focused on real world applications. As such, a significant number of case studies, examples, figures, and tables are included to aid in the understanding and application of the material covered.
Handbook of human factors and ergonomics in health care and patient safety by 
Postural Assessment by Concepts in Hand Rehabilitation by 
Hand and upper extremity splinting: Principles & methods. by
This updated version includes the basic concepts and principles of splint design, splints acting on the elbow and shoulder; and splinting pediatric patients, workers, musicians, athletes and spastic patients. An expanded alphabetical index of 800 splints provides a photographic key to all splints mentioned in the book.
The hand : Anatomy, examination, and diagnosis by
Effective management of the human hand depends on accurate diagnosis. To perform a successful examination, medical personnel need a sound knowledge of the anatomical principles relevant to this complex structure. The Hand: Anatomy, Examination, and Diagnosis, Fourth Edition provides that vital information. Published in partnership with the American Society for Surgery of the Hand, this concise, pocket-size manual is a practical guide to evaluating a wide variety of common hand injuries and diseases. This clearly written, thoroughly researched, full-color book will be invaluable to orthopaedic, plastic, hand, and general surgeons, as well as emergency room physicians, family physicians, physical therapists, medical students, and nurses.
Hand function in the child: Foundations for remediation by
This comprehensive resource and clinical guide for students and practicing pediatric therapists features current information on the neurological foundations of hand skills, the development of hand skills, and intervention with children who have problems related to hand skills.
Manual on management of specific hand problems. by Occupational hand and upper extremity injuries and diseases. by
Featuring 9 additional chapters and 10 new topics, this new 2nd edition is a current presentation of a classic reference. Explores the complex situations arising from occupational disorders, describes the types of injuries and diseases possible, recommends treatment and rehabilitation protocols, and examines motivational, psychological and legal factors.
Hand and upper extremity rehabilitation. by
Blending the latest technical and clinical skills of hand surgery and hand therapy, Hand and Upper Extremity Rehabilitation: A Practical Guide, 4th Edition walks you through the treatment of common medical conditions affecting the upper extremities and highlights non-surgical and surgical procedures for these conditions. This expanded fourth edition presents the latest research in hand and upper extremity rehabilitation and provides the purpose and rationale for treatment options. Clinical outcomes included in each chapter relate clinical expectations to the results of clinical research trials, providing you with the expected range of motion and function based on evidence in the literature. Highly structured organization makes information easy to find, allowing the text to function as a quick reference in the clinical setting. Contributors from a variety of clinical settings like hand therapy clinics, hospitals, and outpatient clinics means you get to learn from the experience of clinicians working in diverse clinical contexts like yourself. Over 400 line drawings and clinical photographs delineate important concepts described in text. Chapters divided into eight parts - Wound Management, Nerve Injuries, Tendon Injuries, Shoulder, Elbow, Wrist and Distal Radial Ulnar Joint, Hand, and Special Topics - so information can be located quickly. 51 leading experts offer fresh insight and authoritative guidance on therapeutic approaches for many common diagnoses. Treatment guidelines presented for each stage of recovery from a wide range of upper extremity conditions. NEW! Authoritative quick reference guide to surgical and non-surgical procedures for hand and all upper extremity conditions. NEW! Updated information and references offers the latest information and research in the areas of hand and upper extremity rehabilitation. NEW! Larger trim size and new design accommodates a two-column format that is easier to follow.
Hunter's diseases of occupations
Outlines and provides information on the history and development of occupational medicine, diagnosis of occupational disease, the extent and attribution of occupational disease, and legal issues.
Oxford handbook of occupational health by
The Oxford Handbook of Occupational Health provides a concise practice-based guide. Bringing together the latest legislation and guidance with current practice in the field, this is your authoritative guide to assessing and managing health risks in the workplace.Consisting of twelve sections covering the full breadth of practice, the Handbook includes workplace hazards and diseases, occupational health emergencies, and practical procedures. This second edition is also updated with new information on psychiatric emergencies, psychological therapies, chronic pain management, writing a policy, and obesity. Providing a thorough, easy-to-use guide to the whole of occupational health, this Handbook is the essential resource for all occupational physicians, occupational health nurses, occupational hygienists, and all those dealing with workplace health and fitness, giving you the information you need at your fingertips
Occupational therapy: The first thirty years 1900 - 1930 by 
Restoring the spirit: The beginings of Occupational Therapy in Canada, 1890-1930. by 
Manual for physical agents. by
integrates concise summaries of the theoretical background and available evidence for each technique; step-by-step instructions presented generically, without brand names; and broad coverage of most current techniques. Designed for easy use, its lay-flat spiral binding remains open while students practice independently in laboratory sessions; concise tables provide fast access to essential information. This edition offers stronger focus on evidence-based practice; a new chapter on evaluating new interventions; new study and discussion questions; and extensive new topic coverage: from controlled cold compression to electrical stimulation for tissue repair.
Physical agent modalities: theory & application for the occupational therapist. by
The successful Physical Agent Modalities: Theory and Application for the Occupational Therapist has been updated and revised into a comprehensive Second Edition that logically provides a foundation for understanding the bio-physiological effects of physical agents and their impact on an individual's occupational performance and functioning. Recognized as an expert in physical agent modalities, Dr. Alfred Bracciano clearly and effectively explains difficult concepts in an easy-to-understand format and presents information that can be readily applied in the clinical setting. Physical Agent Modalities, Second Edition provides the occupational therapist and student with a user-friendly and organized reference on the application of physical agent modalities, commonly used by occupational therapists, as well as emerging technologies and interventions such as lasers and electromyographic biofeedback. This Second Edition outlines the application procedures for each modality, indications for their use, and the precautions and contraindications of the modality. New graphics and pictures enhance the reader's understanding of the physical agents, while case studies facilitate clinical reasoning and provide a practical resource to safely and effectively understand and use physical agents. New to the Second Edition: * A chapter outlining a theoretical framework for physical agent modalities used by occupational therapists based on the AOTA Occupational Therapy Practice Framework * Extensive coverage of the changes in state regulatory issues and guidelines impacting the use of physical agents by occupational therapists * A discussion on the impact of the revised AOTA PAM Position Paper, NBCOT Practice Analysis, and the ACOTE requirements on the education and training of occupational therapists in physical agent modalities * A chapter reviewing laser and light therapy, clinical applications, precautions, and indications for use Each Chapter Contains: * Objectives * Glossary of Key Terms * Case Studies * References With a user-friendly format, updated chapters, and volumes of new information, Physical Agent Modalities: Theory and Application for the Occupational Therapist, Second Edition provides clinicians, educators, and students with a common language to facilitate the incorporation of physical agents into clinical practice grounded in evidence-based practice.
Anger management in sport: understanding and controlling violence in athletes. by
Anger management is becoming an increasingly significant area of study in sport. This issue affects all people involved in the sporting environment, yet few sport professionals, coaches, or administrators fully understand anger in sport and how to work with athletes to overcome the problem. Anger Management in Sport: Understanding and Controlling Violence in Athletes addresses this important topic and provides strategies and interventions for overcoming excessive anger and aggression in athletes. The provocative book challenges long-held assumptions and points the way to further research and discussion. With its accessible format and proactive approach, Anger Management in Sport is an ideal resource for practitioners at all levels of sport who work with athletes and anger, both on and off the field. The author draws on his unique background and clinical experiences creating and implementing anger management skills for a variety of populations—from high school athletes to prison inmates. His unique insight will stimulate discussion on a range of issues associated with anger in sport, including mental illness, drugs, and differences and similarities in amateur and professional athletes. Readers will understand not only how to approach an anger problem but also how to help an athlete work to manage emotions. Rather than eliminate old explanations, the book paves the way to a new understanding of issues vital to the health of sport. Chapters 1 and 2 help readers better understand anger and violence and how to assess anger in sport. Anger, aggression, violence, and hostility are defined so that readers will understand the conceptual differences between each. Chapter 3 discusses the athletic culture and how anger is uniquely considered in sports. Readers will recognize some instances of anger in sport through the discussion of such high-profile events as the Baylor University basketball scandal, the O.J. Simpson trial, and the infamous 2004 Pacers-Pistons NBA melee in Detroit involving crowd aggression. Chapters 5 and 6 examine mental illness and drugs in sport. Chapters 7 through 9 tackle anger management programs, systematic interventions for athletes, and prevention of sexual violence. Real-world situations presented in the text will engage readers and help them picture how to use anger management skills in their own lives and careers. By considering the various stakeholders involved and the preventive measures that can be taken, researchers and professionals will step closer to discovering best practices and strategies for anger management in today’s sport society. Although helping athletes deal with anger is an important part of sport, there is little research to address the key issues regarding this difficult subject. Anger Management in Sport will help readers understand the causes for anger in sport and how to help athletes who demonstrate aggressive behavior. It will shed light on an uncharted issue and provide direction for future research in the area.
Essential readings in sport and exercise psychology. by
For the first time, the most influential readings in the field of sport and exercise psychology are compiled here in one volume. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology contains the most exciting, innovative, and diverse theoretical orientations and research perspectives generated in the first hundred years of this growing field. In this book, readers will find abridged versions of 50 readings that provide a concise reference to the history, growth, development, and future directions of the field. The book is written by an all-star cast of sport psychologists—all leading professionals from around the world who have been included in a variety of literature reviews and used as references in numerous sport psychology lectures. From the first research article in the field by Norman Triplett in 1898 to papers regarding the more recent challenges of professional practice in the field, the selections in this compilation are the backbone of sport and exercise psychology. Readers will learn about the development and application of commonly used instruments, such as the Competitive State Anxiety Inventory-II, the Group Environment Questionnaire, and the Sport Imagery Questionnaire. This book contains one of Coleman Griffith's influential early writings, Rainer Martens' explorations of science and practice, Ken Ravizza's pioneering work on peak experience, and Robin Vealey's investigation of psychological skills training. These readings are only a few examples of the depth and richness of the content contained in this single volume. The field couldn't be more ready for this first-ever compilation of key readings. The diverse selection of writings is a sign of the field's maturity, and each reading provides valuable context to the progress of exercise and sport psychology. Professionals interested in the development of the subdiscipline will find this text to be an excellent single-volume reference of the important primary research documenting the evolution of the field. Anyone with a passion for sport psychology will benefit from this groundbreaking text. Sport psychology students will gain a solid background for future studies by reviewing proven primary research from the field's biggest names and gain an understanding of how various lines of study have evolved. Experienced scholars and practitioners will enjoy the convenience of having seminal articles all in one essential reference. Instructors will save time by using this inclusive single volume rather than searching for key articles individually. The 50 essential readings in the landmark text are organized in a logical structure that mirrors the path of many texts in the field. Introductions to each part and article orient the reader to the topic being discussed. Part I establishes the historical foundation of sport and exercise psychology. Part II addresses personal factors that affect our understanding of sport and exercise behavior. Part III focuses on environmental and situational factors that affect athletic behavior. Part IV emphasizes the importance of understanding group processes. Part V examines various concepts associated with performance enhancement. Part VI explores the influence psychological factors have on exercise, health, and wellness. Part VII studies how psychological development, growth, and well-being occur and may be facilitated as consequences of sport and exercise participation. The final section, part VIII, examines professional issues critical to any developing academic organization. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology highlights the creativity and growth in the field and shows how the field will continue to evolve by viewing these readings as the building blocks for a brighter future. There is no better text for understanding the dynamic field of sport and exercise psychology and why it has matured so dramatically and quickly.
Management of adults with traumatic brain injury. by
Traumatic brain injury (TBI) is a public health issue of worldwide proportions, affecting motorists, victims of interpersonal violence, athletes, military service members, and Veterans, among others. Management of Adults with Traumatic Brain Injury provides evidence-informed guidance on the core topics in brain injury medicine, including the epidemiology and pathophysiology of TBI, the medical evaluation and neuropsychological assessment of persons with TBI, and the common cognitive, emotional, behavioral, and other neurological disturbances for which persons with TBI and their families seek clinical care.
