SFU Logo

The Research Process

Access to Databases

A list of all of our electronic resources can be found here.

Off-campus access to these electronic resources requires a Saint Francis University login and password.

Open Access Journals

The DOAJ provides convenient access to a wide range of open access journals across all disciplines. Many are peer-reviewed. Peter Suber defines Open Access (OA) literature as "digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. What makes it possible is the internet and the consent of the author or copyright-holder."

http://legacy.earlham.edu/~peters/fos/brief.htm

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Article Databases in 5 Minutes

Posted with permission from North Carolina State University Libraries.

Choosing a Database

Most of SFU Library's electronic resources are article databases and provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:

  • consult the database descriptions here
  • check to see if there is a LibGuide that covers your subject area or topic.

Article Formats

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

  • Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
  • Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
  • Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

Journal Finder

Already have an article's citation information? Want to see if you can get full-text without using interlibrary loan?


Use "Journal Finder"! Simply search for the journal name. If we have access to it you will be shown which database(s) have it, and what years they can provide access to.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan for books, articles, and much more!

If we don't have it, we can probably get it for you!

Books - generally arrive within 7-10 business days

Articles - generally arrive within two business days. Sometimes the same day!!

CDs and DVDs - generally arrive within 7-10 business days