Research Guides: Master of Medical Science & Master Health Science: Evidence Based Practice

EB Resources

Evidence based practice combines clinical expertise, patient values and the best research evidence to develop the best health care possible.

Introduction to Evidence Based Practice An online tutorial for health care students providing a basic introduction to the principles of EBM, provided by Duke University Medical Center.

Learn more by reading...

Evidence-Based sports medicine. by MacAuley, D. & Best, T. (Eds). A tool for sports medicine physicians, family practitioners and orthopedic surgeons. Evidence-based Sports Medicine is a unique reference book guide to the application of optimum management of sports-related conditions. It contains sections on acute injury, chronic conditions, and injuries to the upper limb, groin and knee and to the lower leg pays increased attention to the important and emerging area of injury prevention features thoroughly revised methodology sections within each chapter, reflecting changes in technique and application.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780470994214
Publication Date: 2008
Users' guides to the medical literature: A Manual for evidence-based clinical practice. by McMaster University Staff, & Guyatt, G. The leading guide to the principles and clinicalapplications of evidence-based medicine--updated with new examples and new chapters A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Revised and updated to reflect the latest in medical research and evidence-based resources Practical focus and organization to guide clinicians through the fundamentals of using the medical literature to the more advanced strategies and skills for use in patient care, using the key questions to assess any new research: What are the results? How serious is the risk of bias? How do I apply the results to patient care? Updated real-world examples drawn from the medical literature New chapters that reflect the changing complexity of medical research and literature, including genetic association studies, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, network meta-analysis, noninferiority trials, quality improvement, and evidence-based medicine and the theory of knowledge New emphasis on understanding the role of patient preferences and preappraised resources that provide updated evidence and evidence-based recommendations for practice
Call Number: GENERAL [Lower Level] 610 U849 2015
ISBN: 9780071790710
Publication Date: 2014

Websites

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford University) The Centre promotes evidence-based health care and provide support and resources to anyone who wants to make use of them. Includes the EBM Toolbox, an assortment of materials which are very useful for practitioners of EBM, and EBM Teaching Materials, including PowerPoint presentations.
Evidence-Based Medicine Toolbox (Toronto) Includes many resources for practicing and teaching EBM.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HTSTAT) - NCBI Bookshelf
JAMA Evidence Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses.
MedScape Physician authors and editors contribute to the eMedicine Clinical Knowledge Base, which contains articles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content provides the latest practice guidelines in 62 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes multiple levels of physician peer review. Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

EBM Journals

Evidence based practice combines clinical expertise, patient values and the best research evidence to develop the best health care possible.

Evidence-Based Medicine via Apps

All apps are free except where indicated by a $.
Titles link to the itunes description page or website to bookmark.

The resources listed are those placed on the iPads purchased for implementation of a grant with Nursing during the 13-14 Academic Year.

Clinical Key
ClinicalKey University subscription database, create an account.
Topic: Evidence-Based Medicine
Audience: Health Professional
more...less...
Evidence-based answers to clinical questions at the point of care stored on your device. A data connection is required for the initial content download and content updates, but is not required to use the app itself.
Create a personal account via your institutional access to MD Consult in order to begin using the app. Select the option ‘I use First Consult but do not have a user name’ and following the on-screen instructions to set up a personal account.
Medline Unbound
Topic: Evidence-Based Medicine
Audience: Health Professional
more...less...
Unbound MEDLINE - PubMed, Journals, and Grapherence™ Access Connects you to over 20 million journal citations and abstracts from PubMed. Perform powerful searches and link to the publisher’s full text articles. Visually explore the literature using Grapherence™, a unique way to find related and relevant articles.
PubMed Mobile: NLM
Mobile friendly website.
Topic: Evidence-Based Medicine, Medical Literature
Audience: Health Professional
more...less...
PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed4Hh
Topic: Evidence-Based Medicine, Medical Literature
Audience: Health Profesissional
more...less...
PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available.