Skip to Main Content 
Community Health
Evaluating public and community health programs. by Harris, M. J.
A practical introduction to participatory program evaluation Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of evaluation, with a participatory model that brings stakeholders together for the good of the program. Linking community assessment, program implementation, and program evaluation, this book emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that connect theory with application. This updated second edition includes new discussion on planning policy change programs using logic models and theory of change, plus expanded coverage of processes, outcomes, data collection, and more. Each chapter includes classroom activities and group discussion prompts, and the companion website provides worksheets, lecture slides, and a test bank for instructors. Mini cases help illustrate the real-world applications of the methods described, and expanded case studies allow students to dig deeper into practice and apply what they've learned. Accurate and effective evaluation is the key to a successful program. This book provides a thorough introduction to all aspects of this critical function, with a wealth of opportunities to apply new concepts. Learn evaluation strategies that involve all program stakeholders Link theory to practice with new mini cases and examples Understand the uses, processes, and approaches to evaluation Discover how ongoing evaluation increases program effectiveness Public and community health programs are a vital part of our social infrastructure, and the more effective they are, the more people they can serve. Proper planning is important, but continued evaluation is what keeps a program on track for the long term. Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides clear instruction and insightful discussion on the many facets of evaluation, with a central focus on real-world service.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781119151074
Publication Date: 2016
Community-oriented health services. by Mpofu, E.
Grounded in a transdisciplinary approach, this groundbreaking text provides extensive, evidence-based information on the value of communities as the primary drivers of their own health and well-being. It describes foundational community health concepts and procedures and presents proven strategies for engaging communities as resources for their own health improvementnan important determinant of individual well-being. It is based on recommendations by the World Health Organization's International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health and on the premise that healthy communities are those with populations that participate in their own health promotion, maintenance, and sustenance. The book is unique in its integration of environmental and social justice issues as they significantly affect the advancement of community health. The text focuses on community-oriented health interventions informed by prevention, inclusiveness, and timeliness that both promote better health and are more cost effective than individually focused interventions. It addresses the foundations of community-oriented health services including their history, social determinants, concepts, and policies as well as the economics of community-oriented health services and health disparities and equity. It covers procedures for designing, implementing, monitoring, and evaluating sustainable community health coalitions along with tools for measuring their success. Detailed case studies describe specific settings and themes in U.S. and international community health practice in which communities are both enactors and beneficiaries. An accompanying instructor's manual provides learning exercises, field-based experiential assignments, and multiple-choice questions. A valuable resource for students and practitioners of education, public policy, and social services, this book bridges the perspectives of environmental justice, public health, and community well-being and development, which, while being mutually interdependent, have rarely been considered together. KEY FEATURES: Offers a new paradigm for improving public health through community-driven health coalitionsIncludes evidence-based strategies for engaging communities in the pursuit of healthDemonstrates how to design, implement, monitor, and evaluate community health partnershipsPresents transdisciplinary approaches that consider environmental and social justice variablesIncludes contributions of international authors renowned in community health research and practice
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780826198181
Publication Date: 2014
Health program management by Longest, B. B.
Learn how to effectively plan, implement, and evaluate health programs Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition is a practical and useful introduction to the management of health programs. While providing an overview of the current best practices in management, the textbook goes beyond simple management techniques, teaching students how to develop, lead, and evaluate their programs to ensure quality outcomes. The focus is on the three core management concepts of strategy, design, and leadership, but time is also devoted to describing facilitative management activities integral to successful programs. Students will learn techniques for communication, decision-making, quality assurance, marketing, and program evaluation within the structure of the book's program management model. Logically organized with a separate chapter for each activity, this resource provides a thorough, systematic overview of the effective development, implementation, and evaluation of health programs. Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition provides a comprehensive approach to management throughout all stages of a health program. Learn to develop a strategy that steers the program toward specific goals Discover how to design, market, and lead an effective health program Become familiar with the manager's role in a quality health program Evaluate potential and existing programs for performance and capability Students and aspiring managers and leaders preparing themselves for the challenges of managing health programs will find the information and techniques to develop the skills they need in Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118834633
Publication Date: 2014
Equity, social determinants and public health programmes by 
Evaluating public and community health programs. by
A practical introduction to participatory program evaluation Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of evaluation, with a participatory model that brings stakeholders together for the good of the program. Linking community assessment, program implementation, and program evaluation, this book emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that connect theory with application. This updated second edition includes new discussion on planning policy change programs using logic models and theory of change, plus expanded coverage of processes, outcomes, data collection, and more. Each chapter includes classroom activities and group discussion prompts, and the companion website provides worksheets, lecture slides, and a test bank for instructors. Mini cases help illustrate the real-world applications of the methods described, and expanded case studies allow students to dig deeper into practice and apply what they've learned. Accurate and effective evaluation is the key to a successful program. This book provides a thorough introduction to all aspects of this critical function, with a wealth of opportunities to apply new concepts. Learn evaluation strategies that involve all program stakeholders Link theory to practice with new mini cases and examples Understand the uses, processes, and approaches to evaluation Discover how ongoing evaluation increases program effectiveness Public and community health programs are a vital part of our social infrastructure, and the more effective they are, the more people they can serve. Proper planning is important, but continued evaluation is what keeps a program on track for the long term. Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides clear instruction and insightful discussion on the many facets of evaluation, with a central focus on real-world service.
Community-oriented health services. by
Grounded in a transdisciplinary approach, this groundbreaking text provides extensive, evidence-based information on the value of communities as the primary drivers of their own health and well-being. It describes foundational community health concepts and procedures and presents proven strategies for engaging communities as resources for their own health improvementnan important determinant of individual well-being. It is based on recommendations by the World Health Organization's International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health and on the premise that healthy communities are those with populations that participate in their own health promotion, maintenance, and sustenance. The book is unique in its integration of environmental and social justice issues as they significantly affect the advancement of community health. The text focuses on community-oriented health interventions informed by prevention, inclusiveness, and timeliness that both promote better health and are more cost effective than individually focused interventions. It addresses the foundations of community-oriented health services including their history, social determinants, concepts, and policies as well as the economics of community-oriented health services and health disparities and equity. It covers procedures for designing, implementing, monitoring, and evaluating sustainable community health coalitions along with tools for measuring their success. Detailed case studies describe specific settings and themes in U.S. and international community health practice in which communities are both enactors and beneficiaries. An accompanying instructor's manual provides learning exercises, field-based experiential assignments, and multiple-choice questions. A valuable resource for students and practitioners of education, public policy, and social services, this book bridges the perspectives of environmental justice, public health, and community well-being and development, which, while being mutually interdependent, have rarely been considered together. KEY FEATURES: Offers a new paradigm for improving public health through community-driven health coalitionsIncludes evidence-based strategies for engaging communities in the pursuit of healthDemonstrates how to design, implement, monitor, and evaluate community health partnershipsPresents transdisciplinary approaches that consider environmental and social justice variablesIncludes contributions of international authors renowned in community health research and practice
Health program management by
Learn how to effectively plan, implement, and evaluate health programs Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition is a practical and useful introduction to the management of health programs. While providing an overview of the current best practices in management, the textbook goes beyond simple management techniques, teaching students how to develop, lead, and evaluate their programs to ensure quality outcomes. The focus is on the three core management concepts of strategy, design, and leadership, but time is also devoted to describing facilitative management activities integral to successful programs. Students will learn techniques for communication, decision-making, quality assurance, marketing, and program evaluation within the structure of the book's program management model. Logically organized with a separate chapter for each activity, this resource provides a thorough, systematic overview of the effective development, implementation, and evaluation of health programs. Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition provides a comprehensive approach to management throughout all stages of a health program. Learn to develop a strategy that steers the program toward specific goals Discover how to design, market, and lead an effective health program Become familiar with the manager's role in a quality health program Evaluate potential and existing programs for performance and capability Students and aspiring managers and leaders preparing themselves for the challenges of managing health programs will find the information and techniques to develop the skills they need in Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition.