The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine. by
With more than 7,500 entries and over 165 illustrations, this dictionary of sports science covers anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology and sports medicine.
Anatomy and human movement: Structure and function. by 
Dynatomy: dynamic human anatomy. by
"Dynatomy: Dynamic Human Anatomy With DVD "brings to life the wonders of human movement and applied anatomy. The book is for students of human performance who have completed an introductory human anatomy course and need a strong text in functional anatomy. The entertaining and easy-to-understand text considers fundamental movements--including posture, walking, running, jumping, throwing, kicking, and lifting--together with selected exercise and sport movements. The emphasis of "Dynatomy" is on dynamic muscular motions rather than structural anatomy. Students benefit from a discussion of simple and complex human movements combined with an analysis of the muscles in motion. The text also introduces the muscle control formula and explains how students can use it to identify the ways in which muscles contract during various examples of human movement. Part I presents an overview of the anatomical foundations of movement and the essential requirements for movement control. Part II examines dynamic movements and basic mechanics, muscular function, fundamental movements, and specialized movements. The book is packed with features that will deepen students' appreciation of human movement: - A companion DVD-ROM, "Essentials of Interactive Functional Anatomy," provides an engaging method for students to review structural anatomy, which will help them fully understand the movements of functional anatomy. - Unique illustrations and photos complement the text and improve understanding of difficult concepts. - Chapter objectives, key terms, review questions, and summaries encourage students to interact with and remember the content. - Movement analyses give students critical exposure to functional human movements. To supplement the text, students have access to additional tables online that summarize the anatomical structures commonly found in introductory courses on human anatomy or functional anatomy. Tables are presented by region (upper extremity, spinal column, and lower extremity) and describe articulations (bones, joints, ligaments, and movements) and muscles (origin, insertion, actions, nerves, and blood supply). Interactive anatomy DVD-ROM included Completing the text is the Primal Pictures DVD-ROM "Essentials of Interactive Functional Anatomy." This software will help students thoroughly review components of structural anatomy through the use of computer-graphic models of human anatomy derived from MRI scan data. Fully interactive 3-D animations show muscular and joint function. "Essentials of Interactive Functional Anatomy" features a complete high-resolution 3-D model of the human musculature. The model can be rotated and allows for 11 layers of anatomy to be visually removed--from muscles down to bones. Specific muscles within the 3-D model can be highlighted, allowing users to view accompanying text about the selected muscle, such as name, primary action, agonists, antagonists, proximal and distal attachments, innervation, and blood supply. Text also accompanies specific ligaments within the model, providing information on function, injury mechanism, and pathology of injury. The DVD-ROM also includes 34 animations--each of which can be viewed from four different angles--showing clinical muscular function and providing students with a sense of the movement around joints. Four video clips of gross human motions demonstrate complete body movements, such as sit-ups and push-ups, coupled with live-action video clips showing the electrical stimuli of active muscles. To reinforce the content, "IFA Essentials" also offers an interactive quiz. Students can select the level of difficulty and number of quiz questions and then use a multiple-choice format to identify or locate various structures on the model.
Structure and function of the body. by
Simple and straightforward, Thibodeau and Patton's Structure & Function of the Body, 14th Edition makes the difficult concepts of anatomy and physiology clear and easier to understand. Focusing on the normal structure and function of the human body and what the body does to maintain homeostasis, this introductory text provides more than 400 vibrantly detailed illustrations and a variety of interactive learning tools to help you establish an essential foundation for success in the care of the human body. A clear, straightforward approach makes complex anatomy and physiology concepts more accessible. UNIQUE! Each chapter reinforces your understanding of the structure and function of the human body and what the body does to maintain homeostasis. UNIQUE! Clear View of the Human Body allows you to peel back the layers of the human body and perform a virtual dissection. UNIQUE! Science Application boxes highlight practical applications of A&P content by scientific leaders. Quick Check boxes test your comprehension as you read through each chapter. Boxes and tables detail real-life applications in the areas of Health and Well Being, Clinical Applications, and Research, Issues, and Trends. Chapter tests, review questions, and critical thinking questions identify areas needing further study. Chapter outlines, objectives, study tips, and appendices help you study more effectively and find the information you need fast. UNIQUE! Downloadable audio chapter summaries on the Evolve companion website enable you to review for quizzes and exams on the go. UNIQUE! 31 new Animation Direct animations on the bound-in CD help you visualize difficult concepts and processes. Extensively revised and updated illustrations and micrographs vividly illustrate and reinforce important A&P content. Updated content reflects the most up-to-date understanding of human anatomy.
Concussion Inc. : The end of football as we know it. by 
Applied body composition assessment. by
Expanded, updated, and packed with new resources, Applied Body Composition Assessment, Second Edition, brings both practitioners and students up to date on the latest body composition methods and equations for healthy and clinical populations. This is the most comprehensive textbook on body composition assessment available today. Like the popular first edition, this book addresses the principles underlying the skinfold, bioelectrical impedance, near-infrared interactance, and anthropometric methods of body composition assessment. Applied Body Composition Assessment, Second Edition, also shows you how to control for potential errors in measurement, different equations for different populations, and much more. The second edition has been expanded to include the following: - Equations based on the most recent research -Recommendations reflecting the latest developments in body composition methods -New material on measuring the body composition of clinical populations, including those with cardiopulmonary, metabolic, and wasting diseases and disorders -More comprehensive coverage of the theoretical and scientific bases of body composition assessment, including more extensive coverage of body composition models and reference methods -Pedagogical aids, including key questions that initiate each chapter; key terms, key points, review questions at the end of each chapter; and an instructor guide and test package An entire chapter is devoted to each body composition assessment method, including information on its assumptions and principles, prediction models, techniques for use, potential sources of error, and the most recent research on assessing changes in body composition. In addition, the authors discuss how to choose the best method and equations for a variety of healthy populations, as well as the clinical populations noted previously, taking into account age, gender, ethnicity, physical activity level, and disease. Three appendixes provide practical tips for understanding conversion formulas for two-component models, tables that help you find appropriate methods and equations for your clients, and contact information for equipment manufacturers. More than 60 photos and illustrations complement the text. Students will find that the book is full of helpful review and summary tools that facilitate absorbing the wealth of information. These pedagogical aids include key term lists, chapter summaries, review questions, a glossary, a list of symbols, 51 tables that neatly package key information, and step-by-step instructions for each body composition method.
Clinical exercise physiology. by
Provides a comprehensive look at the clinical aspects of exercise physiology by thoroughly examining the relationship between exercise and chronic disease. It provides professionals and students with fundamental knowledge of disease-specific pathology and treatment guidelines while also guiding readers through exercise testing and training principles for patients with chronic diseases.
Exercise physiology: Theory and application to fitness and performance. by
Intended for students interested in exercise physiology, clinical exercise physiology, human performance, kinesiology/exercise science, physical therapy, and physical education. The book contains numerous clinical applications, including exercise tests to evaluate cardiorespiratory fitness and information on exercise training for improvements in health-related physical fitness and sports performance.
Physical rehabilitation of the injured athlete. by 
Physiology of sport and exercise. by 
Sports Biomechanics by
When working with sports men and women, the biomechanist is faced with two apparently incompatible goals: reducing injury risk and improving sports performance. Now in a fully updated and revised edition, Sports Biomechanics introduces the fundamental principles that underpin our understanding of the biomechanics of both sports injury and performance, and explains how contemporary biomechanical science can be used to meet both of those goals simultaneously. The first four chapters of this book look closely at sports injury, including topics such as the properties of biological materials, mechanisms of injury occurrence, risk reduction, and the estimation of forces in biological structures. The last four chapters concentrate on the biomechanical enhancement of sports performance including analytical techniques, statistical and mathematical modelling of sports movements, and the use of feedback to enhance sports performance. Drawing on the very latest empirical and epidemiological data, and including clear concise summaries, self test questions and guides to further reading in every chapter, this book is essential reading for all advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students with an interest in biomechanics, sports injury, sports medicine, physical therapy or performance analysis. Visit the companion website at www.routledge.com/cw/bartlett
ACSM's guide to exercise and cancer survivorship. by
"ACSM's Guide to Exercise and Cancer Survivorship" presents the science behind the benefits of exercise for cancer survival and survivorship as well as the application of that science to the design or adaptation of exercise programs for cancer patients and survivors. Developed by the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), this authoritative reference offers the most current information for health and fitness professionals working with survivors of many types of cancers. Dr. Melinda L. Irwin has assembled a team of the most respected experts in the field of exercise and cancer survivorship. With an emphasis on practical application, the text discusses the following: - Incidence and prevalence of the most common cancers - Common cancer treatments and side effects - Benefits of exercise after a diagnosis of cancer - Exercise testing, prescription, and programming - Nutrition and weight management - Counseling for health behavior change - Injury prevention - Program administration This guide presents evidence-based information to assist health, fitness, and medical professionals in using exercise to help cancer survivors with recovery, rehabilitation, and reducing the risk of recurrence. Throughout the text, readers will find quick-reference Take-Home Messages that highlight key information and how it can be applied in practice. Chapters also include reproducible forms and questionnaires to facilitate the implementation of an exercise program with a new client or patient, such as physician's permission forms, medical and cancer treatment history forms, weekly logs of exercise and energy levels, medication listings, and nutrition and goal-setting questionnaires. In addition, "ACSM's Guide to Exercise and Cancer Survivorship" discusses all of the job task analysis points tested in the ACSM/ACS Certified Cancer Exercise Trainer (CET) exam, making this the most complete resource available for health and fitness professionals studying to attain CET certification. Each chapter begins with a list of the CET exam points discussed in that chapter. A complete listing is also included in the appendix. As both an essential preparation text for certification and a practical reference, "ACSM's Guide to Exercise and Cancer Survivorship" will increase health and fitness professionals' knowledge of the benefits of exercise after a cancer diagnosis as well as the specifics of developing and adapting exercise programs to meet the unique needs of cancer survivors. Evidence has shown that physical activity has numerous health benefits for cancer patients and survivors. More clinicians and oncologists are recommending exercise as a strategy for reducing the side effects of treatment, speeding recovery, and improving overall quality of life. In turn, cancer survivors are seeking health and fitness professionals with knowledge and experience to help them learn how to exercise safely within their capabilities. With "ACSM's Guide to Exercise and Cancer Survivorship," health and fitness professionals can provide safe exercise programs to help cancer survivors improve their health, take proactive steps toward preventing recurrences, and enhance their quality of life.
Exercise and disease management. by
Exercise and Disease Management is designed to help managed care physicians, their patients, other health care professionals, and interested readers integrate current exercise guidelines into their practices. A ready-to-use "Exercise Prescription Page," which follows each chapter on a specific disease, enables health care professionals, especially physicians in managed care, to prescribe exercise quickly to clients with specific medical conditions The "Rate Pressure Product" method for prescribing exercise helps health care providers individualize exercise prescriptions for patients with heart disease by accounting for the amount of oxygen the heart uses. Consolidates the current knowledge base on exercise and chronic disease, providing a ready-made format for health care providers to use when prescribing exercise programs for their clients. Using guidelines set forth by the American College of Sports Medicine and the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation.
Exercise-induced asthma: pathophysiology & treatment. by
People with exercise-induced asthma do not have to eliminate or limit physical activity, exercise, or competitive sports from their lives. Exercise-Induced Asthma: Pathophysiology and Treatment is a comprehensive reference that presents the latest research and scientifically based information you need to ensure every person can be physically active and perform optimally at every level of competition. Featuring contributions from leading experts in the field, this is the first book to address exercise-induced asthma in those who are physically active and athletic as opposed to the general population. This authoritative guide will enable you to do the following: -Work more confidently with physically active and athletic people with exercise-induced asthma. -Understand the physiology of exercise-induced asthma. -Diagnose accurately and prescribe medication, safe activity, and athletic practices. -Inform athletes about new medical treatments for exercise-induced asthma. Exercise-Induced Asthma: Pathophysiology and Treatment walks medical professionals through practical guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of athletes and other physically active people who have exercise-induced asthma. It presents the latest breakthroughs in optimizing performance while coping with exercise-induced asthma. It updates readers on which medications are currently accepted and banned in athletic events.
Exercise metabolism. by
Exercise Metabolism, Second Edition, provides a systematic, in-depth examination of the regulation of metabolic processes during exercise. Exercise physiologists, exercise biochemists, and biochemists will find this book a comprehensive reference, using the up-to-date information and the nearly 1,000 references in their own research and writing. In addition, graduate students in these disciplines can learn firsthand about the various regulations of metabolic processes during exercise as they prepare for careers in exercise physiology or biochemistry. Written by internationally recognized researchers, Exercise Metabolism, Second Edition, is both revised and expanded while retaining the essential elements of the first edition. It delves into the mobilization and utilization of substrates—glucose, lipid, and protein—during physical activity, and it explores metabolic factors in fatigue and metabolic adaptations to endurance training. Chapter 1 provides an overview of exercise metabolism. Metabolism during high-intensity exercise and the transition from rest to exercise are covered in chapter 2, which details the so-called anaerobic energy pathways. Chapter 3 discusses the effects of exercise on carbohydrate metabolism in skeletal muscle, while chapter 4 provides an overview of the important metabolic functions of the liver during exercise. Chapter 5 is a new chapter that addresses lactate transport in skeletal muscle, given the increased understanding of this topic since the first edition was published. Chapters 6 and 7 summarize the effects of exercise on lipolysis in adipose tissue and lipid metabolism in skeletal muscle, respectively. The contribution of protein and amino acids to exercise metabolism is discussed in chapter 8. Finally, metabolic factors in fatigue and the metabolic adaptations to endurance training are reviewed in chapters 9 and 10, respectively. Chapter-ending summaries help to condense the information and facilitate understanding. Exercise Metabolism, Second Edition, is a valuable reference to exercise physiologists, exercise biochemists, and biochemists, and it serves as an ideal text for graduate students in these disciplines.
Sport and exercise nutrition. by
Now widely adopted on courses throughout the world, the prestigious Nutrition Society Textbook series provides students with the scientific basics in nutrition in the context of a systems and disease approach rather than on a nutrient by nutrient basis. In addition books provide a means to enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. This NS Textbook on Sport and Exercise Nutrition has been written to cover the latest information on the science and practice of sport and exercise nutrition. A key concept behind this textbook is that it aims to combine the viewpoints of world leading nutrition experts from both academia/research and a practical stand point. Plus where necessary there are additional practitioner based authors to ensure theory is translated into practice for each chapter in the form of either 'practice tips' or 'information sheets' at the end of relevant chapters. The textbook in essence can be divided into three distinct but integrated parts: Part 1: covers the key components of the science that supports the practice of sport and exercise nutrition including comprehensive reviews on: nutrients both in general and as exercise fuels; exercise physiology; hydration, micronutrients; and supplements. Part 2: moves into focusing on specific nutrition strategies to support different types of training including: resistance; power/sprint; middle distance/speed endurance; endurance; technical/skill, team; and specific competition nutrition needs. The unique format of this textbook is that it breaks down nutrition support into training specific as opposed to the traditional sport specific support. This reflects the majority of current sport and exercise requirements of the need to undertake concurrent training and therefore facilitating targeted nutrition support to the different training components through the various macro and micro training cycles. Part 3: explores some of the practical issues encountered in working in the sport and exercise nutrition field and includes key sport related topics such as: disability sport; weight management; eating disorders; bone and gut health; immunity; injury; travel; and special populations and situations. READERSHIP: Students of nutrition and dietetics at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. All those working in the field of nutrition and related health sciences.
ACSM's guidelines for exercise testing and prescription. by
This text has long been considered the Gold Standard in sports medicine, exercise science, and health and fitness. It enables you to test and evaluate individuals to prescribe effective exercise programs tailored to their particular needs and based on the latest evidence. Highlights include: · A new chapter on behavior strategies to help keep clients motivated and committed to lifelong exercise · Expanded coverage of special populations · As always, the latest guidelines and recommendations from ACSM and other professional organizations
ACSM's resource manual for guidelines for exercise testing and prescription by
ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription was created as a complement to ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and elaborates on all major aspects of preventative rehabilitation and fitness programs and the major position stands of the ACSM. The 7th edition provides information necessary to address the knowledge, skills, and abilities set forth in the new edition of Guidelines, and explains the science behind the exercise testing and prescription. ACSM's Resource Manual is a comprehensive resource for those working in the fitness and clinical exercise fields, as well as those in academic training. Highlights include: · An expanded behavior change section with the tools needed to motivate people to begin exercise and then adhere to a program · Content reflects the most recent research findings in the field as well as ACSM position stands
Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance by
Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance, Fifth Edition With Web Study Guide, leads students through the fundamentals of collecting and analyzing data of human performance and applying their results to real-life situations. Focusing on the core concepts of reliability and validity of data, the text provides all the necessary tools for evidence-based decision making that can be applied to physical therapy, allied health professions, kinesiology, sport and exercise science, physical education, health, and fitness. The fifth edition of Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance provides students with a logical progression of information in a straightforward manner. Introductory algebraic concepts are combined with the technological capabilities of Microsoft Excel and IBM's Statistical Package for the Social Sciences (SPSS) to aid students in calculations and data analysis. The text expands on previous editions and includes the following enhancements: * Additional sport-specific and exercise examples, as well as physical education examples focusing on motor skill abilities and psychological skills, that provide real-world application of the material * Updated examples for use and practice with Excel and SPSS calculations and techniques that illustrate data analyses * Expanded emphasis on evidence-based decision making to guide students in making appropriate decisions * 52 video interviews of top researchers who offer greater insight into the field as students work through the text The text is divided into four easy-to-follow parts. Part I introduces the concepts of measurement and evaluation and their importance to decision making in human performance with specific attention to applications of measurement, testing, and evaluation. Part II explores statistics as core tools and resources for these evaluations and decisions and explains the various forms of statistical procedures often used in measurement. Part III takes the skills gained from parts I and II and extends them into applied issues in human performance, such as evaluating a person's aerobic capacity or muscular strength. The importance of reliability and validity in data is also covered in detail. Part IV provides information on practical applications that apply all of the information from the previous sections. Learning aids for this text, including a robust and newly updated web study guide with activities and questions for active learning and engagement, enhance student comprehension and retention. Chapter objectives highlight main points that students should focus on throughout the chapters, and key terms are highlighted and defined in the glossary. Mastery Items include problems and activities that test student knowledge, while Measurement and Evaluation Challenge sidebars provide scenarios that can be tackled with the information gathered throughout the chapter. Additional data sets for each chapter are also provided in the web study guide for practice and mastery of techniques in Excel and SPSS. To aid instructors, Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance, Fifth Edition, includes a suite of ancillary materials: instructor guide, presentation package plus image bank, test package, chapter quizzes, and instructor videos. Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance, Fifth Edition, continues to providee students with the tools and confidence they will need to gather reliable data, analyze it, and apply it in their work with clients. With its emphasis on understanding and applying sound measurement techniques, this fifth edition prepares students and professionals to identify problems and make solid decisions in the realm of human performance.
Principles of exercise testing and interpretation: Including pathophysiology and clinical applications. by 
Assessment and treatment of muscle imbalance. by
Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance: The Janda Approach blends postural techniques, neurology, and functional capabilities in order to alleviate chronic musculoskeletal pain and promote greater functionality. Developed by Vladimir Janda, respected neurologist and physiotherapist , the Janda approach presents a unique perspective to rehabilitation. In contrast to a more traditional structural view, the Janda approach is functional—emphasizing the importance of the sensorimotor system in controlling movement and chronic musculoskeletal pain syndromes from sports and general activities. Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance: The Janda Approach is the only text to offer practical, evidence-based application of Janda’s theories.   Filled with illustrations, photos, and step-by-step instructions, Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance uses a systematic approach in presenting information that can be used in tandem with other clinical techniques. This resource for practitioners features the following tools: --A rationale for rehabilitation of the musculoskeletal sytem based on the relationship between the central nervous system and the motor system --A systematic method for the functional examination of the muscular system --Treatment processes focusing on the triad of normalization of peripheral structures, restoration of muscle balance, and facilitation of afferent systems and sensorimotor training --The role of muscle imbalance and functional pathology of sensorimotor systems for specific pain complaints, including cervical pain syndrome, upper- and lower-extremity pain syndromes, and low back pain syndromes   Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance provides an evidence-based explanation of muscle imbalance. The step-by-step Janda system of evaluation is explained—including analysis of posture, balance, and gait; evaluation of movement patterns; testing of muscle length; and assessment of the soft tissue. The text explores treatment options for muscle imbalance through facilitation and inhibition techniques and sensorimotor training to restore neuromsucular function. It also includes four case studies examining musculoskeletal conditions and showing how the Janda approach compares with other treatments. This text combines theory, evidence, and applications to assist clinicians in implementing the Janda approach into their practice.             Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance: The Janda Approach focuses on the neurological aspects of muscle imbalance that are common causes of pain and dysfunction in sports and occupational activities. By distilling the scientific works of Vladimir Janda into a practical, systematic approach, this unique resource will assist health care providers in treating patients with musculoskeletal complaints as well as exercise professionals in developing appropriate exercise prescription and training programs.
Exertional heat illnesses. by
Learn how to identify, treat, and prevent exertional heat illnesses and ensure your sporting events are safe. Exertional Heat Illnesses provides practitioners with all the information they need in one practical reference. Renowned exercise researcher Lawrence Armstrong, PhD, and a team of eight colleagues examine the heat illnesses most common in athletes, recreation enthusiasts, and laborers. The only book to focus exclusively on heat-related illnesses, Exertional Heat Illnesses is full of practical advice for professionals in a variety of medical, academic, and commercial settings. Athletic trainers, physicians, nurses, and emergency medical technicians will find effective treatment options for all exertional heat illnesses. Coaches, athletes, industrial supervisors, and military leaders will learn the causes of heat-related illnesses and ways to prevent them. Fitness, conditioning, and training specialists will gain useful information for their clients and students. Instructors and students interested in environmental exercise physiology will also find Exertional Heat Illnesses to be a valuable textbook for courses that require advanced study. This resource is aligned with the current accepted standards and recommendations of two prominent health and sports medicine organizations—the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) and the National Athletic Trainers' Association (NATA). The reference contains the following: -A handy breakdown of how the body reacts to different heat illnesses -Case reports detailing how other practitioners respond in real-life situations -Abstracts of four important position stands from the ACSM and NATA and the Web sites at which you can access them With this reference, you'll have the tools to help athletes maintain optimal health and performance during and after exercise, and you'll have the knowledge to treat exertional heat illnesses promptly and properly should they occur.
Perceived exertion for practitioners: rating effort with the OMNI picture system. by
With Perceived Exertion for Practitioners: Rating Effort With the OMNI Picture System, you'll have the most up-to-date, innovative way to rate clients' physical exertion in your professional practices. You'll be able to expand your knowledge of perceived exertion as used today by health and fitness specialists and clinical therapeutic practitioners, and you'll learn how to apply the newly developed OMNI Picture System of perceived exertion. Author and highly acclaimed researcher Robert Robertson developed the OMNI Picture System, which uses picture scales to enable exercisers to rate their exertion visually. In this text, Dr. Robertson presents real-life scenarios involving perceptually based exercise assessments and programming using the OMNI Scaling System. The scenarios focus on people with various training and conditioning needs, from improving personal health to developing recreational and competitive fitness. By rating their effort based on pictures of other exercisers, your clients will be able to accurately set and regulate their conditioning intensity using a target rating of perceived exertion (RPE) zone. Special features of Perceived Exertion for Practitioners include the following: -11 OMNI picture scales, which apply to all types of exercise and are reproducible for use as handouts, in fitness facilities, and in classrooms -Sample instructions on what to say to clients in various situations -Both clinical and field-based perceptual tests for use in aerobic, anaerobic, and resistance exercise assessments -Case studies that describe the clients' characteristics, identify the exercise need, and present an action plan to meet that need using RPE as the training zone -Actual programs for aerobic, anaerobic, and resistance training that employ OMNI Scale RPE zones to guide intensity Perceived Exertion for Practitioners gives you a broader understanding of perceived exertion, and you'll be able to apply what's in the text by using the 11 picture scales included. The text is a must-have for anyone looking for a better way to use ratings of perceived exertion to develop training programs.
Classics in movement science. by
The great scientists of the past who shaped the field of movement science are frequently cited in textbooks and research papers. But rarely do students and scholars have the opportunity to actually read the original papers–either they're not translated into English, or they're simply not accessible. Now Classics in Movement Science makes it easy for inquisitive minds to access, read, understand, and appreciate the works and wisdom of the past and put them into historical and contemporary scientific perspective. This fascinating book presents–under one cover–a selection of 13 classical papers representing the thinking of famous scientists of the past who worked in areas now associated with biomechanics, neurophysiology of movement, and motor control. Each paper is accompanied by a thoughtful analysis by a contemporary authority in movement science, and hence reflecting a subjective viewpoint of the commentator. Bringing together a variety of old and new perspectives, this unique format provides readers with an understanding of the influential scientist as well as his or her contemporary counterpart. In some cases, the book presents the classical paper in its entirety; in other cases, a significant excerpt or quotation is provided. Either way, you can read for yourself–without concern about misrepresentation–the groundbreaking ideas expressed by Woodworth, Hill, Sherrington, Bernstein, Fenn, Hughlings Jackson, Denny-Brown, and others. Classics in Movement Science begins with a thorough and provocative introductory chapter on the beginnings of movement science, which sets the stage for the rest of the book. The text is well illustrated, featuring 90 rich representations of drawings contained in the original classics. Classics in Movement Science is the only text of its kind available today. It provides students and scholars of movement science with a lively and varied forum for analyzing the great ideas of the past and their development at present.
Common movement disorders pitfalls. by 
Movement system impairment syndromes of the extremities, cervical and thoracic spines. by 
Muscles, nerves and movement in human occupation. by 
Statistics in kinesiology. by
Provides an accessible introduction to statistics concepts and techniques and their applications to kinesiology-related fields. Students will learn to use statistical tools to analyze quantitative data and then apply that knowledge to common questions and problems.
Qualitative diagnosis of human movement. by
(QMD) is a critical skill in helping individuals improve performance or reduce the risk of injury. Qualitative Diagnosis of Human Movement: focuses on the processes behind movement observation, assessment, and diagnosis, emphasizing how to recognize and correct errors in human movement.
Motivational interviewing. by 
Athletic and sport issues in musculoskeletal rehabilitation. by 
Framework for the shoulder: a 6-step plan for preventing injury and ending pain. by Assessment and treatment of muscle imbalance. by
Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance: The Janda Approach blends postural techniques, neurology, and functional capabilities in order to alleviate chronic musculoskeletal pain and promote greater functionality. Developed by Vladimir Janda, respected neurologist and physiotherapist , the Janda approach presents a unique perspective to rehabilitation. In contrast to a more traditional structural view, the Janda approach is functional—emphasizing the importance of the sensorimotor system in controlling movement and chronic musculoskeletal pain syndromes from sports and general activities. Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance: The Janda Approach is the only text to offer practical, evidence-based application of Janda’s theories.   Filled with illustrations, photos, and step-by-step instructions, Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance uses a systematic approach in presenting information that can be used in tandem with other clinical techniques. This resource for practitioners features the following tools: --A rationale for rehabilitation of the musculoskeletal sytem based on the relationship between the central nervous system and the motor system --A systematic method for the functional examination of the muscular system --Treatment processes focusing on the triad of normalization of peripheral structures, restoration of muscle balance, and facilitation of afferent systems and sensorimotor training --The role of muscle imbalance and functional pathology of sensorimotor systems for specific pain complaints, including cervical pain syndrome, upper- and lower-extremity pain syndromes, and low back pain syndromes   Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance provides an evidence-based explanation of muscle imbalance. The step-by-step Janda system of evaluation is explained—including analysis of posture, balance, and gait; evaluation of movement patterns; testing of muscle length; and assessment of the soft tissue. The text explores treatment options for muscle imbalance through facilitation and inhibition techniques and sensorimotor training to restore neuromsucular function. It also includes four case studies examining musculoskeletal conditions and showing how the Janda approach compares with other treatments. This text combines theory, evidence, and applications to assist clinicians in implementing the Janda approach into their practice.             Assessment and Treatment of Muscle Imbalance: The Janda Approach focuses on the neurological aspects of muscle imbalance that are common causes of pain and dysfunction in sports and occupational activities. By distilling the scientific works of Vladimir Janda into a practical, systematic approach, this unique resource will assist health care providers in treating patients with musculoskeletal complaints as well as exercise professionals in developing appropriate exercise prescription and training programs.
Clinical examination in orthopedics by 
External fixation in orthopedic traumatology. by 
Orthopedic physical examination tests. by 
The muscle and bone palpation manual with trigger points, referral patterns and stretching by
With more than 1,000 vibrant, full-color illustrations and over 4 hours of detailed video demonstrations, THE MUSCLE AND BONE PALPATION MANUAL is the most visually engaging way to help you master and successfully apply palpation techniques in massage therapy. This innovative text uses unique, richly detailed photographic illustrations of muscles as they appear under the skin to give you a thorough understanding of effective palpation. This comprehensive guide provides unparalleled preparation for professional success. Step-by-step muscle palpation coverage with clear reasoning provided for each step presents content in a way that is easily understood and remembered rather than just memorized. Amazing four-color artwork shows palpation of the muscle with muscle and bone illustrations drawn over full-color photos offering you a better sense of exactly how the muscles look and where the muscle is located underneath the skin as it is being palpated. UNIQUE! Stretching coverage provides more information on this effective treatment technique and helps you understand the role of stretching in treatment. Trigger Points and Referral Patterns illustrations show where trigger points lie on the muscle and where pain radiates when an injury is felt so you can effectively identify trigger points and referral patterns in a clinical setting. UNIQUE! Palpation photos help students and practitioners learn to identify muscles when the body is positioned the way they will encounter it in the massage setting. Specific massage-related assessment and treatment strokes are shown through illustrations and in the Palpation Notes, moving you from theory and assessment to practical application. Bone Palpation coverage teaches you to identify and palpate bones and bony landmarks. Chapter overviews and outlines introduce each chapter so you can preview the content and direction of the chapter at the major concept level. Measurable chapter objectives at the start of each chapter identify key goals as well as information that should be mastered. NEW! Interactive Muscle Program available on Evolve allows you to see muscle attachments and the relationship among the muscles of the region, easing the process and aiding in retention of material. NEW! Drawings of therapist-assisted stretches added to the third section of the text supplies you with a comprehensive look at stretching, with both the existing self-stretches and the assisted stretches presented side-by-side. NEW! Case studies keep your interest level high with the opportunity for integrative, clinical reasoning. NEW! Reformatted Bone Palpation and Ligaments section offers content in a narrative format consistent with the rest of the text for easier navigation. NEW! "Deeper Thoughts" questions actively engage and challenge your reasoning skills. NEW! Review questions allow you to discuss concepts and synthesize important chapter information.
Pediatric orthopaedics and sports injuries: A quick reference guide. by 
Adapted physical education and sport. by
This new edition is updated to keep you current with today’s trends in adapted physical education and sport and new chapters, major chapters, revisions and an increased emphasis on best practise
Growth, maturation, and physical activity. by
The second edition of Growth, Maturation, and Physical Activity has been expanded with almost 300 new pages of material, making it the most comprehensive text on the biological growth, maturation, physical performance, and physical activity of children and adolescents. The new edition retains all the best features of the original text, including the helpful outlines at the beginning of each chapter that allow students to review major concepts. This edition features updates on basic content, expanded and modified chapters, and the latest research findings to meet the needs of upper undergraduate and graduate students as well as researchers and professionals working with children and young adults. The second edition also includes these new features: -10 lab activities that encourage students to investigate subject matter outside of class and save teachers time -A complete reference list at the end of each chapter -Chapter-ending summaries to make the review process easy for students -New chapters that contain updates on thermoregulation, methods for the assessment of physical activity, undernutrition, obesity, children with clinical conditions, and trends in growth and performance -Discussions that span current problems in public health, such as the quantification of physical activity and energy expenditure, persistent undernutrition in developing countries, and the obesity epidemic in developed countries The authors are three of the world's foremost authorities on children's growth and development. In 29 chapters, they address introductory concepts and prenatal growth, postnatal growth, functional development, biological maturation, influencing factors in growth, maturation and development, and specific applications to public health and sport. In addition, secular trends in growth, maturation, and performance over the past 150 years are considered. You'll be able to recognize risk factors that may affect young athletes; you'll also be able to make informed decisions about appropriate physical activities, program delivery, and performance expectations. Growth, Maturation, and Physical Activity, Second Edition, covers many additional topics, including new techniques for the assessment of body composition, the latest advances in the study of skeletal muscle, the human genome, the hormonal regulation of growth and maturation, clarification of dietary reference intakes, and the study of risk factors for several adult diseases. This is the only text to focus on the biological growth and maturation process of children and adolescents as it relates to physical activity and performance. With over 300 new pages of material, this text expertly builds on the successful first edition.
Inclusive physical activity: promoting health for a lifetime. by
The second edition of "Inclusive Physical Activity" is an excellent resource for physical activity practitioners or students preparing to work with diverse populations in schools, fitness facilities, community recreation sites, and sport programs. This text shows how to provide optimal programming for all individuals--regardless of capability--so they can be healthy and active throughout the life span. "Inclusive Physical Activity, Second Edition," can help you - provide well-designed and appropriate physical activity for individuals of all abilities, - increase opportunities for meaningful participation in lifelong physical activity, and - facilitate physical activity to increase health and and wellness for individuals with disabilities. The book covers programming considerations and strategies for infants and toddlers, school-age children, and adults; examples of inclusive practices for commonly offered physical activities; and suggestions for more effectively individualizing programming." Inclusive Physical Activity" also provides information on adapting instruction and providing activity alternatives across the life span in five content areas: 1. Movement skills 2. Games and sports 3. Health-related fitness 4. Outdoor recreation and adventure 5. Aquatics "Inclusive Physical Activity" outlines a systematic approach to planning and implementing appropriate programs for individuals of varying abilities. Using the unique Functional Approach to Modifying Movement Experiences (FAMME) model, practitioners can learn--step by step--how to connect modifications directly to participants' capability differences to provide optimal challenge and success. Updated and expanded, the second edition offers three new chapters plus special learning features: - Including All Individuals chapter-opening scenarios - Think Back questions that encourage readers to apply chapter content to each scenario - What Do You Think? questions and What Would You Do? case examples that promote reflective thinking and problem solving Instructors who adopt the text get online access to an instructor guide, test package, and presentation package. New to the second edition, the presentation package offers approximately 200 slides highlighting the most important concepts from the book plus essential figures, tables, and photos. With "Inclusive Physical Activity," both students and professionals will find the knowledge and support to make meaningful and inclusive physical activity a reality and promote better health for everyone.
Pediatric exercise medicine: from physiologic principles to health care application. by
Pediatric Exercise Medicine: From Physiologic Principles to Healthcare Application draws from the most current research activity in the area to examine physical activity as a prerequisite to the good health and physical performance of children. The book also considers the effects of lack of exercise on children and the relevance of exercise to clinical pediatrics for children with chronic diseases. While Pediatric Exercise Medicine: From Physiologic Principles to Healthcare Application emphasizes clinically related issues, it provides comprehensive coverage of the child-exercise-health triad of importance to all professionals serving young people. The text identifies current research in the area of pediatric exercise. It also helps the reader to compare the exercise responses of healthy children to the responses of children with clinical impairments. In turn, readers will recognize the factors that can influence children's activity behavior, trainability, and performance. The book contains three chapters related to the normal physiological and perceptual exercise responses of the healthy child. The next nine chapters consider the effects of exercise on children with clinical impairments, including asthma, diabetes, cerebral palsy, and obesity. A special feature is the coverage of children's trainability and the factors that can influence performance. The information, including environmental stressors on children, will be of interest to scholars and students as well as to coaches working in this area. The book also has these features: -Extensive graphic interpretation of the data—more than 250 illustrations -Helpful reference tables -Six appendixes on normative data, methods, energy-equivalent tables for different activities,scaling for body size, and a glossary of terms. In Pediatric Exercise Medicine: From Physiologic Principles to Healthcare Application, you'll find content you can apply in your daily work as a therapist, exercise scientist, physician, or other professional. You'll also find evidence-based rationale for the need for physical activity as a preventive measure and treatment of disease in children.
Youth physical activity & sedentary behavior: challenges and solutions. by
As interest in the public health challenge of youth inactivity increases, the ambitious Youth Physical Activity and Sedentary Behavior sets a standard for addressing a problem with worldwide implications. Drawing on the contributions of a diverse group of international experts, this reference challenges professionals, researchers, and students to implement new solutions and further their research and work. No other text addresses the causes, contributing factors, and fundamental issues in dealing with youth physical activity with such depth or comprehensive coverage. Using a multidisciplinary approach, Youth Physical Activity and Sedentary Behavior breaks away from traditional thinking that places activity and sedentary behavior on a single continuum, which may limit progress in addressing youth inactivity. Instead, the authors encourage readers to focus on how sedentary and physically active behaviors coexist and consider how the two behaviors may have different determinants. In doing so, the text also considers developmental features such as maturation, ethnicity, environment, and genetics across both childhood (through age 12) and adolescence (the teen years). By looking at a variety of psychosocial and epidemiological factors, the authors set the stage for a critical analysis of beliefs and views at a time when many assumptions are taken for granted. This book is organized in three parts that build on one another to deepen readers' understanding of this complex problem. This text begins by addressing the fundamental issues and assumptions pertaining to youth physical activity and sedentary behavior, covering such topics as measurement of the behavior in question, health outcomes, concepts, and trends in a public health context. Once readers have grasped this foundational knowledge, they advance to part II for a comprehensive account of personal factors likely to be associated with the problem. Part III moves beyond the individual into the wider social and contextual aspects of physically active and sedentary living in young people. Through this concluding part, readers gain the latest thinking on how parents, peers, schools, organized sport, and related factors link to youth physical activity and sedentary behavior. Each chapter presents the latest theory and research, real-world approaches to implementation, and background information to encourage discussion and future directions in national policy making. Youth Physical Activity and Sedentary Behavior also contains the following features that add to an unprecedented learning experience: -An at-a-glance look at why and how research can be used in the real world helps researchers relate their work to overall solutions. -Coverage of more issues related to this subject than are available in any other reference makes this a one-stop resource. -Internationally respected foreword writer, editors, and contributors provide a cross-disciplinary perspective valuable for putting solutions into a wider context. -Applications for Professionals boxes and Applications for Researchers boxes at the end of each chapter provide practical suggestions for implementing solutions. Youth Physical Activity and Sedentary Behavior: Challenges and Solutions considers current research about youth physical activity and sedentary behavior across a range of personal factors as well as cultural and social influences. The text communicates the knowledge base on developmental, economic, psychological, and social factors related to youth physical activity and sedentary behavior and provides an overview of youth-specific approaches to addressing the problem of inactivity among youth.
Anger management in sport: understanding and controlling violence in athletes. by
Anger management is becoming an increasingly significant area of study in sport. This issue affects all people involved in the sporting environment, yet few sport professionals, coaches, or administrators fully understand anger in sport and how to work with athletes to overcome the problem. Anger Management in Sport: Understanding and Controlling Violence in Athletes addresses this important topic and provides strategies and interventions for overcoming excessive anger and aggression in athletes. The provocative book challenges long-held assumptions and points the way to further research and discussion. With its accessible format and proactive approach, Anger Management in Sport is an ideal resource for practitioners at all levels of sport who work with athletes and anger, both on and off the field. The author draws on his unique background and clinical experiences creating and implementing anger management skills for a variety of populations—from high school athletes to prison inmates. His unique insight will stimulate discussion on a range of issues associated with anger in sport, including mental illness, drugs, and differences and similarities in amateur and professional athletes. Readers will understand not only how to approach an anger problem but also how to help an athlete work to manage emotions. Rather than eliminate old explanations, the book paves the way to a new understanding of issues vital to the health of sport. Chapters 1 and 2 help readers better understand anger and violence and how to assess anger in sport. Anger, aggression, violence, and hostility are defined so that readers will understand the conceptual differences between each. Chapter 3 discusses the athletic culture and how anger is uniquely considered in sports. Readers will recognize some instances of anger in sport through the discussion of such high-profile events as the Baylor University basketball scandal, the O.J. Simpson trial, and the infamous 2004 Pacers-Pistons NBA melee in Detroit involving crowd aggression. Chapters 5 and 6 examine mental illness and drugs in sport. Chapters 7 through 9 tackle anger management programs, systematic interventions for athletes, and prevention of sexual violence. Real-world situations presented in the text will engage readers and help them picture how to use anger management skills in their own lives and careers. By considering the various stakeholders involved and the preventive measures that can be taken, researchers and professionals will step closer to discovering best practices and strategies for anger management in today’s sport society. Although helping athletes deal with anger is an important part of sport, there is little research to address the key issues regarding this difficult subject. Anger Management in Sport will help readers understand the causes for anger in sport and how to help athletes who demonstrate aggressive behavior. It will shed light on an uncharted issue and provide direction for future research in the area.
Essential readings in sport and exercise psychology. by
For the first time, the most influential readings in the field of sport and exercise psychology are compiled here in one volume. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology contains the most exciting, innovative, and diverse theoretical orientations and research perspectives generated in the first hundred years of this growing field. In this book, readers will find abridged versions of 50 readings that provide a concise reference to the history, growth, development, and future directions of the field. The book is written by an all-star cast of sport psychologists—all leading professionals from around the world who have been included in a variety of literature reviews and used as references in numerous sport psychology lectures. From the first research article in the field by Norman Triplett in 1898 to papers regarding the more recent challenges of professional practice in the field, the selections in this compilation are the backbone of sport and exercise psychology. Readers will learn about the development and application of commonly used instruments, such as the Competitive State Anxiety Inventory-II, the Group Environment Questionnaire, and the Sport Imagery Questionnaire. This book contains one of Coleman Griffith's influential early writings, Rainer Martens' explorations of science and practice, Ken Ravizza's pioneering work on peak experience, and Robin Vealey's investigation of psychological skills training. These readings are only a few examples of the depth and richness of the content contained in this single volume. The field couldn't be more ready for this first-ever compilation of key readings. The diverse selection of writings is a sign of the field's maturity, and each reading provides valuable context to the progress of exercise and sport psychology. Professionals interested in the development of the subdiscipline will find this text to be an excellent single-volume reference of the important primary research documenting the evolution of the field. Anyone with a passion for sport psychology will benefit from this groundbreaking text. Sport psychology students will gain a solid background for future studies by reviewing proven primary research from the field's biggest names and gain an understanding of how various lines of study have evolved. Experienced scholars and practitioners will enjoy the convenience of having seminal articles all in one essential reference. Instructors will save time by using this inclusive single volume rather than searching for key articles individually. The 50 essential readings in the landmark text are organized in a logical structure that mirrors the path of many texts in the field. Introductions to each part and article orient the reader to the topic being discussed. Part I establishes the historical foundation of sport and exercise psychology. Part II addresses personal factors that affect our understanding of sport and exercise behavior. Part III focuses on environmental and situational factors that affect athletic behavior. Part IV emphasizes the importance of understanding group processes. Part V examines various concepts associated with performance enhancement. Part VI explores the influence psychological factors have on exercise, health, and wellness. Part VII studies how psychological development, growth, and well-being occur and may be facilitated as consequences of sport and exercise participation. The final section, part VIII, examines professional issues critical to any developing academic organization. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology highlights the creativity and growth in the field and shows how the field will continue to evolve by viewing these readings as the building blocks for a brighter future. There is no better text for understanding the dynamic field of sport and exercise psychology and why it has matured so dramatically and quickly.
Sports medicine conditions by
Sports Medicine Conditions: Return to Play addresses the most important and challenging problems in sports medicine, determining the appropriate time for an athlete to return to play. With this handy resource, youll explore the latest imaging diagnostics, and get vital information on surgical and non-surgical therapies for athletic injuries. Look inside and discover Injury-based organization lets you find the facts you need quickly Two-page spread format for each injury lets you find practical solutions at a glance Consistent presentation covers History/Mechanism of Injury, Physical Examination, Imaging, Classification, Operative and Nonoperative Treatments, Rehabilitation Principles, and Return to Play Expert perspectives let you benefit from the experience of orthopedics, sports medicine, and physical therapy professionals Abundant original composite illustrations that clearly demonstrate operative procedures for these injuries
Strap taping for sports and rehabilitation. by 
Altitude training and athletic performance. by
For many years, the effect of altitude training on athletic performance has been a topic of interest among coaches, athletes, and sport scientists. Altitude Training and Athletic Performance condenses the latest scientific information into a single, practical source. Randall L. Wilber, PhD—a sport physiologist at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado—is well qualified to address the physiology of altitude training, limitations to competing and training at altitude, and a host of other popular topics. Everything you need to know about altitude training and its effect on athletic performance is here. The book provides a complete historical overview of the development of altitude training from the successes and problems that athletes encountered at the 1968 Mexico City Olympics—where current interest in altitude training originated—right up to today's most effective and innovative training techniques. Altitude Training and Athletic Performance combines a wealth of recent scientific research, as well as the latest training principles and program strategies in one of the most complete and useful texts available on the subject. The book's practical applied section describes for serious coaches and athletes the how-tos of training and competing at altitude, improving performance, and minimizing health risks and discomfort. Altitude Training and Athletic Performance is a great resource for those seeking coverage of state-of-the-art training strategies such as the “live high–train low” training approach, the “nitrogen house,” supplemental oxygen, and simulated altitude in chambers and tents. This fascinating book is a thorough review and reference for students and sport scientists. It's also a valuable guide for coaches and athletes who include altitude training in their overall training program. One of the few books devoted entirely to the subject, Altitude Training and Athletic Performance provides cutting-edge scientific information and practical applications pertinent to this interesting and controversial training method.
Aquatic exercise for rehabilitation and training. by
Prescribing the right aquatic exercise program for those with functional limitations is challenging, in part because the literature on water exercise is limited. That prescription is made all the more difficult when working with clients and patients with a wide range of limitations. Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training shows professionals how to design aquatic rehabilitation and exercise programs for various groups and individuals across the life span. The authors guide readers in choosing the right exercises for their clients—including the appropriate exercise frequency, intensity, and duration—based on each client's abilities and limitations. The authors compiled literature on water exercise from around the world and applied the information to a variety of situations. The book presents several current theories as well as a historical view for each theory and description of treatment implementation. The theories and principles are presented with the use of a regional- and system-based approach. Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training also has the following features: -Descriptions of the physiological responses—including those of the pulmonary, renal, musculoskeletal, and neuromuscular systems—to immersion and water exercise, preparing clinicians for how the body reacts to an aquatic environment -Indications and contraindications for participation in water programs, providing an understanding of how the physical properties of water and exercise combine advantageously -Descriptions of the responsibilities of various aquatic team members and patient management across the full spectrum of care Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training is liberally illustrated and comes with a DVD that demonstrates nearly half of the book's exercises and highlights key points for each. The DVD also contains printable evaluation sheets that will help you identify your clients' needs, evaluate specific therapies based on those needs, and choose the best therapies for your clients. Using case studies as examples, Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training presents current concepts, explains how to apply them, and assists readers in determining optimal intervention plans for each client. The text covers the gamut of aquatic exercise for rehabilitation and training, addressing all populations and ages. The authors provide information for adapting programs for various clientele: injured athletes, older adults, and people with special exercise needs, such as patients with cerebral palsy, brain injury and stroke, multiple sclerosis, and rheumatoid arthritis. Use Aquatic Exercise for Rehabilitation and Training with confidence as you design exercise programs for your clients. Learn how to assess your clients' needs, provide specialized training for various populations, and prescribe neuromuscular training, core musculoskeletal training, and upper- and lower-quarter musculoskeletal training. This book and DVD is a valuable resource, no matter who your clients are, as you help them rehabilitate and train in water.
Designing resistance training programs. by 
Developing endurance. by
Runners, cyclists, swimmers, rowers, triathletes, and ultradistance athletes must sustain performance at a high level to come out on top. "Developing Endurance" shows how to achieve optimal stamina to race your best through science-based aerobic, anaerobic, and resistance training. Written by 11 top experts in the National Strength and Conditioning Association, the top sport conditioning organization in the world, this guide provides both the background information and the exercises, drills, workouts, and programs for ultimate results. Athletes and coaches will appreciate the assessment tools, analyses, and instruction to define specific needs and establish effective training goals. Armed with these tools and information, you can create the ideal personalized training program for your sport and avoid lengthy plateaus while taking performance to the highest level.
Developing speed. by
Athletes in all sports rely on speed. Whether it involves sprinting down the court on a fast break or chasing a loose ball, speed often contributes to overall athletic ability." Developing Speed" teaches you how to elevate your speed in a scientifically based manner that will have you blowing by the competition. Written by eight of the top National Strength and Conditioning Association experts, "Developing Speed" is your guide to elite-level speed development, regardless of your sport. In addition to the scientific coverage of speed development, this guide helps you assess your current ability and identify your areas of greatest need. Using this information, along with the most effective drills and exercises, you'll have the tools and information for creating your own speed development program. If increasing your athletic speed is what you're seeking, then look no further. With the cutting-edge information packed into this one resource, you'll achieve new personal bests and reach your most aggressive goals. "Developing Speed" is the only tool you need to develop your personal program and take your speed to the highest level
Developing the core. by
Elite-level athletes take great pride in their fitness and physical strength. You can't help but notice the muscular legs or well-defined arms. However, whether they are known for a powerful golf swing or a hard hockey slap shot, the best athletes all have one thing in common--a strong and well-conditioned core. The world's leading organization in the field of sport conditioning, the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), brings you the authoritative resource on strengthening the core to maximize sport performance. With contributions by 17 of the top names in sport training, conditioning, and science, "Developing the Core" features over 50 of the most effective exercises, science-based assessment tools, sport-specific programs, and expert advice for developing a personalized core program. Basketball, football, soccer, golf, baseball, tennis--no matter what your sort, "Developing the Core" will place you on the path to success and your strongest midsection ever.
Foundations of athletic training by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Comprehensive, and evidence-based, Foundations of Athletic Training, 6th Edition integrates basic medical concepts and related scientific information to help athletic trainers and students develop a strong foundation in athletic training best practices. Using a problem-solving approach to the prevention, recognition, assessment, management, and disposition of sports-related injuries and diseases, the text helps students learn to think like practitioners and is fully aligned with the BOC competencies. This 6th Edition has been updated throughout to reflect current best practices in the field and includes four new chapters, new and updated references, and a powerful suite of online learning resources that save instructors time and help students succeed.
Physiological aspects of sport training and performance. by
"Physiological Aspects of Sport Training and Performance, Second Edition With Web Resource," updates and expands on the popular first edition, providing an in-depth discussion of physiological adaptation to exercise. Students will learn the importance of an evidence-based approach in prescribing exercise, while sports medicine professionals and health care providers will appreciate using the text as a primary reference on conditioning and performance of athletes. A range of topics are covered, including environmental influences on performance, hydration status, sport nutrition, sport supplements, and performance-enhancing drugs. The book is focused on physiological adaptation to exercise with a goal of providing practical applications to facilitate exercise prescriptions for a variety of athletes. "Physiological Aspects of Sport Training and Performance, Second Edition," is organized into five parts. The first part examines physiological adaptation and the effects of various modes of training on biochemical, hormonal, muscular, cardiovascular, neural, and immunological adaptations. The second part covers principles of exercise training and prescription. The third part discusses nutrition, hydration status, sport supplementation, and performance-enhancing drugs. The fourth part focuses on environmental factors and their influence on sport performance. The fifth and final part is focused on how certain medical and health conditions influence sport performance. Updates in this second edition focus on cutting-edge knowledge in sport science and sports medicine, including the latest information on physiological adaptations to exercise; current trends for training for power, speed, and agility; eye-opening discussions on sport supplementation and performance-enhancing drugs; data on training with medical conditions such as diabetes and exercise-induced bronchospasm; and groundbreaking information on training in heat and cold and at altitude. In addition, new chapters offer a practical approach to the yearly training program and sudden death in sport. The second edition also incorporates the following features to enhance practical application and facilitate students' learning: - A new web resource includes 80 drills and 41 video demonstrations that help readers understand how to implement the various exercises. - Chapter objectives provide an overview of key content in each chapter. - Chapter review questions help students assess their learning. - In Practice sidebars bring chapter content to life in a practical manner and help students better understand the material. Students and instructors will benefit from the new web resource, which features 80 drills and detailed instruction on performing each drill. The drills can be used for a dynamic warm-up or to enhance speed and agility. Most drills are accompanied by at least one photo showing how to perform a key movement of the drill. Forty of the drills are accompanied by a video of the drill being performed in its entirety, and a dynamic warm-up routine video features 10 warm-up exercises. "Physiological Aspects of Sport Training and Performance, Second Edition," provides a strong basis for understanding adaptation to exercise and appreciating how changes in program variables can alter training adaptations. All the information in this text is presented in an attractive, reader-friendly format that is conducive to learning. The text serves as both a key educational tool and a primary reference for exercise prescription for athletes.
Plyometrics. by 
Management of adults with traumatic brain injury. by
Traumatic brain injury (TBI) is a public health issue of worldwide proportions, affecting motorists, victims of interpersonal violence, athletes, military service members, and Veterans, among others. Management of Adults with Traumatic Brain Injury provides evidence-informed guidance on the core topics in brain injury medicine, including the epidemiology and pathophysiology of TBI, the medical evaluation and neuropsychological assessment of persons with TBI, and the common cognitive, emotional, behavioral, and other neurological disturbances for which persons with TBI and their families seek clinical care.