Tests in print IX. by
A comprehensive bibliography of commercially available English-language tests.
Contains descriptive information on each test including data on test purpose, target population, scores, administration time, publication date(s), author(s), and pricing. Provides specific information about testing required by professionals in diverse areas such as education, psychology, counseling, management, career planning, child development, and research.
Complements and serves the as a comprehensive index to the Mental Measurements Yearbook series by directing readers to the appropriate volume for reviews of specific tests and encouraging test users to choose tests by consulting test reviews and professional literature on the construction, use, and psychometric properties of tests under consideration.
The Nineteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook by
Assists in selecting and using standardized tests. The series provides factual information, critical reviews, and comprehensive bibliographic references on the construction, use, and validity of all commercially available tests published in English. Also provides descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests.
Covering education, psychology, business, law, health care, counseling, and management.
Use Tests in Print IX to best access content in the MMY series.
Anger management in sport: understanding and controlling violence in athletes. by
Anger management is becoming an increasingly significant area of study in sport. This issue affects all people involved in the sporting environment, yet few sport professionals, coaches, or administrators fully understand anger in sport and how to work with athletes to overcome the problem. Anger Management in Sport: Understanding and Controlling Violence in Athletes addresses this important topic and provides strategies and interventions for overcoming excessive anger and aggression in athletes. The provocative book challenges long-held assumptions and points the way to further research and discussion. With its accessible format and proactive approach, Anger Management in Sport is an ideal resource for practitioners at all levels of sport who work with athletes and anger, both on and off the field. The author draws on his unique background and clinical experiences creating and implementing anger management skills for a variety of populations—from high school athletes to prison inmates. His unique insight will stimulate discussion on a range of issues associated with anger in sport, including mental illness, drugs, and differences and similarities in amateur and professional athletes. Readers will understand not only how to approach an anger problem but also how to help an athlete work to manage emotions. Rather than eliminate old explanations, the book paves the way to a new understanding of issues vital to the health of sport. Chapters 1 and 2 help readers better understand anger and violence and how to assess anger in sport. Anger, aggression, violence, and hostility are defined so that readers will understand the conceptual differences between each. Chapter 3 discusses the athletic culture and how anger is uniquely considered in sports. Readers will recognize some instances of anger in sport through the discussion of such high-profile events as the Baylor University basketball scandal, the O.J. Simpson trial, and the infamous 2004 Pacers-Pistons NBA melee in Detroit involving crowd aggression. Chapters 5 and 6 examine mental illness and drugs in sport. Chapters 7 through 9 tackle anger management programs, systematic interventions for athletes, and prevention of sexual violence. Real-world situations presented in the text will engage readers and help them picture how to use anger management skills in their own lives and careers. By considering the various stakeholders involved and the preventive measures that can be taken, researchers and professionals will step closer to discovering best practices and strategies for anger management in today’s sport society. Although helping athletes deal with anger is an important part of sport, there is little research to address the key issues regarding this difficult subject. Anger Management in Sport will help readers understand the causes for anger in sport and how to help athletes who demonstrate aggressive behavior. It will shed light on an uncharted issue and provide direction for future research in the area.
Essential readings in sport and exercise psychology. by
For the first time, the most influential readings in the field of sport and exercise psychology are compiled here in one volume. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology contains the most exciting, innovative, and diverse theoretical orientations and research perspectives generated in the first hundred years of this growing field. In this book, readers will find abridged versions of 50 readings that provide a concise reference to the history, growth, development, and future directions of the field. The book is written by an all-star cast of sport psychologists—all leading professionals from around the world who have been included in a variety of literature reviews and used as references in numerous sport psychology lectures. From the first research article in the field by Norman Triplett in 1898 to papers regarding the more recent challenges of professional practice in the field, the selections in this compilation are the backbone of sport and exercise psychology. Readers will learn about the development and application of commonly used instruments, such as the Competitive State Anxiety Inventory-II, the Group Environment Questionnaire, and the Sport Imagery Questionnaire. This book contains one of Coleman Griffith's influential early writings, Rainer Martens' explorations of science and practice, Ken Ravizza's pioneering work on peak experience, and Robin Vealey's investigation of psychological skills training. These readings are only a few examples of the depth and richness of the content contained in this single volume. The field couldn't be more ready for this first-ever compilation of key readings. The diverse selection of writings is a sign of the field's maturity, and each reading provides valuable context to the progress of exercise and sport psychology. Professionals interested in the development of the subdiscipline will find this text to be an excellent single-volume reference of the important primary research documenting the evolution of the field. Anyone with a passion for sport psychology will benefit from this groundbreaking text. Sport psychology students will gain a solid background for future studies by reviewing proven primary research from the field's biggest names and gain an understanding of how various lines of study have evolved. Experienced scholars and practitioners will enjoy the convenience of having seminal articles all in one essential reference. Instructors will save time by using this inclusive single volume rather than searching for key articles individually. The 50 essential readings in the landmark text are organized in a logical structure that mirrors the path of many texts in the field. Introductions to each part and article orient the reader to the topic being discussed. Part I establishes the historical foundation of sport and exercise psychology. Part II addresses personal factors that affect our understanding of sport and exercise behavior. Part III focuses on environmental and situational factors that affect athletic behavior. Part IV emphasizes the importance of understanding group processes. Part V examines various concepts associated with performance enhancement. Part VI explores the influence psychological factors have on exercise, health, and wellness. Part VII studies how psychological development, growth, and well-being occur and may be facilitated as consequences of sport and exercise participation. The final section, part VIII, examines professional issues critical to any developing academic organization. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology highlights the creativity and growth in the field and shows how the field will continue to evolve by viewing these readings as the building blocks for a brighter future. There is no better text for understanding the dynamic field of sport and exercise psychology and why it has matured so dramatically and quickly.
Management of adults with traumatic brain injury. by
Traumatic brain injury (TBI) is a public health issue of worldwide proportions, affecting motorists, victims of interpersonal violence, athletes, military service members, and Veterans, among others. Management of Adults with Traumatic Brain Injury provides evidence-informed guidance on the core topics in brain injury medicine, including the epidemiology and pathophysiology of TBI, the medical evaluation and neuropsychological assessment of persons with TBI, and the common cognitive, emotional, behavioral, and other neurological disturbances for which persons with TBI and their families seek clinical care.
Textbook of traumatic brain injury by
As soldiers and combat veterans have returned from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan traumatic brain injury (TBI) has been identified as the "signature injury" of those wars. TBI is also in the news on a daily basis due to sports injuries. Reflects the exponential expansion of research and clinical data amassed in the intervening years. A new chapter on TBI in the military emphasizing the unique feature of blast injury* A new chapter on post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), which emphasizes the common co-occurrence of TBI and PTSD in both combat and other settings.
