Educational Psychology

Research Process Overview

The research process typically includes five broad steps. Most often you complete one step before moving onto the next. However, there may be times when you will need to return to a previous step or complete multiple steps simultaneously.

Step 1. Develop a topic
Selecting a Topic | Develop Research Questions | Identify Keywords | Find Background Information | Refine a Topic

Step 2. Locate information
Find Books | Find Videos | Find Articles | Find Websites | Search Strategies

Step 3. Evaluate and analyze information and sources
Evaluate Sources | Primary v Secondary Sources | Types of Periodicals

Step 4. Use, organize, and communicate information
Notetaking | Paraphrasing

Step 5. Complies with legal, ethical and moral standards
Plagiarism | MLA Citation Style | Works Cited Examples | Copyright

Research Resources

Annotated Bibliography
Owl @ Purdue
Annotated Bibliography Images
Google
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
Cornell University Library
Literature Review
University of Toronto

Scholarly/Popular/Peer Reviewed/ Refereed?

Ulrich's - Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
CONTENT: Provides the ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians for all periodicals. Useful in the identification of subject area publication requirements, follow the company URL to seek out manuscript submission procedures.

RESOURCE TYPES: Periodical types include: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

COVERAGE: Covers over 300,000 periodicals, in 900 different subject areas.

Scientifically Based Research - NCLB

ED.gov: NCLB

Research Consultations

Work with a research librarian to:

brainstorm about a paper topic
develop a research strategy
learn to find and how to use relevant resources.
work on any research-related question, problem, or skill.
learn about citing in various output styles.

Hour-long sessions by appointment