Health Science Apps

Calculate (Medical Calculator) A clinical calculator and decision support tools which are actually useful in clinical practice and serve to impact diagnosis, treatment or determining prognosis.

Cancer.Net MobileAccurate oncologist-approved cancer information from Cancer.Net, with tools to help plan and manage your cancer treatment and care.

Carb Counting with Lenny Carb counting for children with diabetes helps them to eat a variety of foods, just like other kids, and increases their sense of control and confidence in managing their diabetes.

Important health articles, disease of the week, popular journals, timely updates, and access to social media.

Pediatric Growth Charts by Boston Children's Hospital track childrens' growth over time and display the data points on any of the included WHO and CDC growth charts. You can track height, weight, head circumference and BMI and determine the corresponding percentiles.

Chemical Safety Data Sheets - ICSC Use the information in this app to augment occupational health and safety when working with the applicable chemicals. This application displays International Chemical Safety Cards [ICSC] produced by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the International Labour Office (ILO), and the World Health Organization (WHO). Peer-reviewed information about substances in a more concise, standard and simple manner on 1 or 2 page documents that is always the same format.

AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary provides mobile access to definitions for more than 700 HIV/AIDS-related terms.

Telecare: Diabetes Pal App : Logbook Manager Diabetes Pal 2.0 helps track, analyze, and share:Blood Glucose, Medication, Nutrition, A1c, Blood Pressure, Weight, Activity, Notes, Physical Activity, Sleep Duration, to create and achieve goals.

A mobile interface to information for over 31,000 drugs. Names, usage, and structures are displayed, as well as search links to key NLM and government sites, using their mobile version when available. Spell checking and autosuggest are used during input.The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. Information on over 36,000 medications with links to patient handouts, clinical trials, PubMed searches, and other governmental resources.

Healthcare professionals use to review drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC drugs
, check for potentially harmful drug-drug interactions among up to 30 drugs at a time, select national and regional healthcare insurance formularies for drug coverage information, identify pills by imprint code and physical characteristics
, perform dozens of calculations, such as BMI and GFR, and access timely medical news and research information.

Eponyms (for students)Provides a short description of more than 1'700 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node). A perfect tool to quickly look up the meaning of any eponym.

CDC Influenza (Flu) CDC’s latest recommendations and influenza activity updates.

Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.

GlucoLog Lite is a free Diabetes Diary application used to manage diabetes on-the-move, storing your blood glucose and ß-ketone results and analyzing trends and variations. GlucoLog Lite allows direct transfer of glucose and ketone data from an A. Menarini Diagnostics meter to your smartphone/tablet using GlucoLog B.T. device. All the information can be sent directly to your healthcare professional by email via your device.

Check a patient’s entire medication list simultaneously for potentially harmful interactions and view severity ratings that range from contraindicated to minor. This app provides insight into: Why the drugs in question interact, how the results of those interactions will present in the patient, and recommendations for monitoring patient outcomes.

Game to practice selecting healthy foods for breakfast.

The National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Mobile friendly website: Health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news. Available in English and Spanish.

Monthly Prescribing Reference (MPR)provides concise prescription and OTC drug information, side effects and interactions for medical professionals. The MPR iPhone Edition is a compiled database of up-to-date drug monographs from all MPR print publications.

This is my body - Anatomy for kids. An interactive anatomy app for kids.The main areas your child will discover and learn about:✓ You are unique and yet we are all very similar, Growing, The skin, Senses, Digestive system, Respiratory system, Circular system, Muscular system, Nervous system & Skeleton.

A record of current and past medications is useful if not vital information to an individual. Such information needs to be easily accessible, yet adequately protected. MyMedList (MML) is an application developed at the National Library of Medicine. Allows users to manage their medication list, and control access to it.

NCCN Guidelines (National Comprehensive Cancer Network) Quickly and intuitively navigate and select NCCN Guidelines for cancer treatment in a novel interactive format. Cancer types include breast, Prostate, Colon, and Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma.

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available.

PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Relief Central assists relief workers, first responders, and others called to serve in disaster relief situations around the world. Relief Central includes The World Factbook from the CIA, CDC Health Information for International Travel (The Yellow Book), the Field Operations Guide from USAID, MEDLINE Journals, and Relief News from the Red Cross, United Nations, CDC, FEMA, and more.

CDC

Developed to assist primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. The ePSS information is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.

Download WeatherBug to access the world’s largest network of real-time weather and lightning sensors for the best forecasts, the fastest alerts and more. School nurses may use to determine playground use.

WISERfor iOS (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is a mobile application designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. The WISER application extracts content from TOXNET's Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), an authoritative, peer-reviewed information resource maintained by the National Library of Medicine, and places that information into the hands of those who need it most.

A record of current and past medications is useful if not vital information to an individual. Such information needs to be easily accessible, yet adequately protected. MyMedList (MML) is an application developed at the National Library of Medicine. Allows users to manage their medication list, and control access to it.

Netter’s Anatomy Atlas Free app includes 14-Plates from the 5th edition Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrated by master medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD enhanced with quizzing and customization features.Take label quizzes to test your memory of terminology. Make the Atlas your own by customizing individual labels (on/off/highlight). Use "My Netter" bookmarks and notes to organize and personalize your studies. Tap Muscle Info buttons to review attachments, innervations, actions, and blood supply. Locate anatomic structures and views quickly through Search (key word or plate number) or Browse by Region or System.