Health Science Apps

AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary provides mobile access to definitions for more than 700 HIV/AIDS-related terms.

Healthcare professionals use to review drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC drugs
, check for potentially harmful drug-drug interactions among up to 30 drugs at a time, select national and regional healthcare insurance formularies for drug coverage information, identify pills by imprint code and physical characteristics
, perform dozens of calculations, such as BMI and GFR, and access timely medical news and research information.

AHRQ: Developed to assist primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. The ePSS information is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.

Calculate (Medical Calculator) A clinical calculator and decision support tools which are actually useful in clinical practice and serve to impact diagnosis, treatment or determining prognosis.

An electronic black bag that holds all your favorite medical must-haves in one place. What you get with Omnio: Drug Guide, Medical Calculator Suite, essential free resources from trusted sources, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, American College of Cardiology, National Comprehensive Cancer Network, our very own Outlines in Clinical Medicine, & curated news and ideas for your specialty and profession.

Cancer.Net MobileAccurate oncologist-approved cancer information from Cancer.Net, with tools to help plan and manage your cancer treatment and care.

Carb Counting with Lenny Carb counting for children with diabetes helps them to eat a variety of foods, just like other kids, and increases their sense of control and confidence in managing their diabetes.

Eponyms (for students)Provides a short description of more than 1'700 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node). A perfect tool to quickly look up the meaning of any eponym.

Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.

The National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Mobile friendly website: Health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news. Available in English and Spanish.

Diabetes Pal App : Logbook Manager Diabetes Pal 2.0 helps track, analyze, and share:Blood Glucose, Medication, Nutrition, A1c, Blood Pressure, Weight, Activity, Notes, Physical Activity, Sleep Duration, to create and achieve goals.

Calculate (Medical Calculator) A clinical calculator and decision support tools which are actually useful in clinical practice and serve to impact diagnosis, treatment or determining prognosis.

Carb Counting with Lenny Carb counting for children with diabetes helps them to eat a variety of foods, just like other kids, and increases their sense of control and confidence in managing their diabetes.

Relief Central assists relief workers, first responders, and others called to serve in disaster relief situations around the world. Relief Central includes The World Factbook from the CIA, CDC Health Information for International Travel (The Yellow Book), the Field Operations Guide from USAID, MEDLINE Journals, and Relief News from the Red Cross, United Nations, CDC, FEMA, and more.

ICD-10 Virtual Code Book Enter clinical terms and/or disease/condition names to search for correct and specific ICD-10-CM codes. The app allows the user to enter additional clinical words and modifiers to refine searches and drive to a more specific code especially for conditions offering hundreds of code choices. It also provides detailed information including guideline and convention information and ICD-10 documentation tips for many of the conditions listed.

A mobile interface to information for over 31,000 drugs. Names, usage, and structures are displayed, as well as search links to key NLM and government sites, using their mobile version when available. Spell checking and autosuggest are used during input.The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. Information on over 36,000 medications with links to patient handouts, clinical trials, PubMed searches, and other governmental resources.

Healthcare professionals use to review drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC drugs
, check for potentially harmful drug-drug interactions among up to 30 drugs at a time, select national and regional healthcare insurance formularies for drug coverage information, identify pills by imprint code and physical characteristics
, perform dozens of calculations, such as BMI and GFR, and access timely medical news and research information.

The National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Mobile friendly website: Health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news. Available in English and Spanish.

Monthly Prescribing Reference (MPR)provides concise prescription and OTC drug information, side effects and interactions for medical professionals. The MPR iPhone Edition is a compiled database of up-to-date drug monographs from all MPR print publications.

An electronic black bag that holds all your favorite medical must-haves in one place. What you get with Omnio: Drug Guide, Medical Calculator Suite, essential free resources from trusted sources, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, American College of Cardiology, National Comprehensive Cancer Network, our very own Outlines in Clinical Medicine, & curated news and ideas for your specialty and profession.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Cancer.Net MobileAccurate oncologist-approved cancer information from Cancer.Net, with tools to help plan and manage your cancer treatment and care.

Carb Counting with Lenny Carb counting for children with diabetes helps them to eat a variety of foods, just like other kids, and increases their sense of control and confidence in managing their diabetes.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is a mobile application designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. The WISER application extracts content from TOXNET's Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), an authoritative, peer-reviewed information resource maintained by the National Library of Medicine, and places that information into the hands of those who need it most.

ToxMystery was created by the United States National Library of Medicine to help children from 7-11 years old learn about household chemical hazards. Toxie the Cat helps kids find the hazards hidden in each room and offers hints when needed.

Tox Town is designed to give you information on: everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals and Internet resources on environmental health topics.

Unbound MEDLINE - PubMed, Journals, and Grapherence™ Access Connects you to over 20 million journal citations and abstracts from PubMed. Perform powerful searches and link to the publisher’s full text articles. Visually explore the literature using Grapherence™, a unique way to find related and relevant articles.

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available.

PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.

Age-related health information easily accessible for family members and friends seeking reliable, easy to understand online health information. This site was developed by the National Institute on Aging (NIA) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) both part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Diabetes Pal App : Logbook Manager Diabetes Pal 2.0 helps track, analyze, and share:Blood Glucose, Medication, Nutrition, A1c, Blood Pressure, Weight, Activity, Notes, Physical Activity, Sleep Duration, to create and achieve goals.

Stats of the Union Explore the nation's vital signs―from life expectancy to access to medical care―and make your own conclusions about America's health. Stats of the Union is powered by the Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) report, which consists of data from federal agencies including the Census Bureau, Department of Health & Human Services, Department of Labor and the Environmental Protection Agency.

Game to practice selecting healthy foods for breakfast.

ICD-10 Virtual Code Book Enter clinical terms and/or disease/condition names to search for correct and specific ICD-10-CM codes. The app allows the user to enter additional clinical words and modifiers to refine searches and drive to a more specific code especially for conditions offering hundreds of code choices. It also provides detailed information including guideline and convention information and ICD-10 documentation tips for many of the conditions listed.

PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available.

Important health articles, disease of the week, popular journals, timely updates, and access to social media.

Healthcare professionals use to review drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC drugs
, check for potentially harmful drug-drug interactions among up to 30 drugs at a time, select national and regional healthcare insurance formularies for drug coverage information, identify pills by imprint code and physical characteristics
, perform dozens of calculations, such as BMI and GFR, and access timely medical news and research information.

MedPage Today is the only service for physicians that provides a clinical perspective on the breaking medical news that their patients are reading. Co-developed by MedPage Today and The University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Office of Continuing Medical Education, each article alerts clinicians to breaking medical news, with summaries and actionable information enabling them to better understand the implications.

Eponyms (for students)Provides a short description of more than 1'700 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node). A perfect tool to quickly look up the meaning of any eponym.

AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary provides mobile access to definitions for more than 700 HIV/AIDS-related terms.

An electronic black bag that holds all your favorite medical must-haves in one place. What you get with Omnio: Drug Guide, Medical Calculator Suite, essential free resources from trusted sources, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, American College of Cardiology, National Comprehensive Cancer Network, our very own Outlines in Clinical Medicine, & curated news and ideas for your specialty and profession.

Game to practice selecting healthy foods for breakfast.

AHRQ: Developed to assist primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. The ePSS information is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.

Calculate (Medical Calculator) A clinical calculator and decision support tools which are actually useful in clinical practice and serve to impact diagnosis, treatment or determining prognosis.

AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary provides mobile access to definitions for more than 700 HIV/AIDS-related terms.

ToxMystery was created by the United States National Library of Medicine to help children from 7-11 years old learn about household chemical hazards. Toxie the Cat helps kids find the hazards hidden in each room and offers hints when needed.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Tox Town is designed to give you information on: everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals and Internet resources on environmental health topics.

Calculate (Medical Calculator) A clinical calculator and decision support tools which are actually useful in clinical practice and serve to impact diagnosis, treatment or determining prognosis.

Download WeatherBug to access the world’s largest network of real-time weather and lightning sensors for the best forecasts, the fastest alerts and more. School nurses may use to determine playground use.