Collections that have extensive descriptions available are listed in the menu on the left. Finding aids have been created for many of the items in the archives. The finding aids provide a brief description about the collection.
Collections of books are searchable in the Library discovery search box at http://library.francis.edu For your convenience you can use the links in the following boxes to search for specific collections.
Saint Francis College became Saint Francis University in 2001. There are separate records for the publications based on these years. These items have been cataloged. Select the appropriate hyperlink to view what is available.
Yearbooks -- can be accessed online
Pine Cone (Publication Dates: 1942, 1947-1948/49, 1950-1952)
Bell Tower (Publication Dates: 1953-2000
Bell Tower (Publication Dates: 2000-2016)
Student Newspapers -- all are online at https://repository.francis.edu/islandora/object/francis:45
Saint Francis College/University Publications (departmental publications and reports, Alumni directories, accreditation reports, catalogs, handbooks, etc.)
Student papers (independent studies, honors papers, Pastoral Ministry theses, Creative Writing Pat Straus Collection, Industrial Relations Research Reports)
Archival items are described in finding aids.
Scrapbooks, photographs, memorabilia, clippings, etc. related to life on campus
Church History Collection – comprised of books purchased by the library and donated from the Saint Francis Seminary collections. This collection deals with canon law and the early Church.
Gallitzin Collection – books written by and about Prince/Priest Demetrius Augustine Gallitzin, the Apostle of the Alleghenies.
Kunkle Collection – donated by golfer and Johnstown native, Charles Kunkle, this collection is comprised of books about the game of golf and golf courses.
Schwab Collection – Pittsburgh industrialist Charles M. Schwab grew up in Loretto and built the Immergrün mansion (now Mount Assisi, home of the Franciscan Friars of the Third Order Regular, Province of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus) and golf course. The collection is comprised of books written by and about Mr. Schwab.
Additional information on Charles Schwab can be found in the Schwab finding aid.
St. Francis Collection – materials written by and about Saint Francis of Assisi. Also included are items about the Franciscan Order, Saint Clare and books about Assisi, Italy and its architecture.
Wolf Collection – a collection donated by the George A. Wolf family relating to the early history of U.S. Catholicism, including many items on Pennsylvania.