Archives Finding Aid

Title

     Dances - Photographs

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Location/Description

P1-190   Dances 1980s-1990s  

Title

Day of Reflection

Inclusive Dates

2000 - 2009

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

Programs and promotional items from the annual Day of Reflection held in the fall of each year.  The event features speakers, programs and opportunities for members of the campus community to give back to the comunity.

Location

A1-05-41 (programs), M – 81 (promo items)

Title

Delta Epsilon Sigma – Catholic Honor Society

Inclusive Dates

1940-1985

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

Documents the activities of Delta Epsilon Sigma

• DES Handbooks;
• Membership lists (1940-49);
• Administrative Procedures Policy;
• Greek Weekend brochure (1965);
• Meet the Greeks brochure (1969);
• Rush brochure (1966);
• correspondence concerning new fraternity house (1963-64);
• Fraternity/Sorority Life Commission (1984-1985);
• Alpha Delta Phi Constitution and By-Laws;
• “Death by Hazing” newsletter;
• Fraternities of SFC (1948);
• Press Club Petition for Phi Delta Epsilon Admittance (1956);
• Press release for Chapter of Alpha Kappa Psi (business fraternity) (1964);
• Iota Chi Mu petitions Theta Kappa Phi (1944)

Location

A1-02-28

Title

Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity

Inclusive Dates

1969

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

Ceramic plate - Headquarters Dedication August 28, 1969, Denver Colorado

Location

M-214

Title

Development Office - Audits

Inclusive Dates

1958 - 1974

Origin

President’s Office

Arrangement

Volume

1 document case

Description

Audits performed by outside consulting firms to determine Saint Francis College’s potential for growth.  Generally titled “The Case for Saint Francis” or similar title, usually involving a strategy and feasibility study for raising large sums for capital projects.

Documents include: 

• Community Counseling Service, Inc. survey report (1959);
• John Price Jones Company, Inc. study of development potential (1969);
• John Price Jones Company, Inc. Dimensions for Tomorrow case statement (1969);
• Dr. Hugh S. Brown updating of Master Plan (1969);
• Brakeley, John Price Jones, Inc. Audit of the development program (1975);
• Brakeley, John Price Jones, Inc. study of the feasibility (1978);
• The Case Study (1979).

Location

A1-01-06

Title

Diocese of Pittsburgh Materials (About Saint Francis College)

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Received in response to a request for information in preparation for the Sesquicentennial in 1997/98

Arrangement

Volume

1 folder

Description

Received in response to a request from information about Saint Francis College in 1993.  Of particular note are: 

• [1] a letter dated July 8, 1859 asking Father Heyden to give the retreat to the brothers at Loretto, written by E. McMahon;
• [2] a letter dated September 5, 1859 requesting that the recipient (Very Rev. Father Benefactor) recommend Saint Francis to young men seeking a good education, signed by Bro. Bernardin and Bro. Lawrence; and
• [3] letter dated December 1861, from Baltimore (Francis Patrick Kenrick) to Right Reverend Dear Sir concerning the community of Loretto professing to the Franciscan convent of Buffalo. 
• Additional correspondence between Father Bonaventure Kiley and Father John Canova regarding the history of Saint Francis College and the Third Order Regular for 1938.
• Photocopies of articles about the Schwab debt around 1940s. 
• Articles about the centennial celebration in 1947 and dedication of the Pius XII Memorial Library in 1959.

Location

A1-03-45

Title

Directories

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

1990, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997 – Faculty/Staff Directory, Faculty/Staff and Student Telephone Directory 1987, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997; 1962 Alumni Directory.

Location

A1-05-25

Title

 Donations from Various SFC/SFU Alumni

Inclusive Dates

2017 -

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

 Richard Gengenbach Class of 1962 - 1962 Senior Day booklet, Commencement Program 1962, 2012 Alumni Weekend Photo of the Class of 1962

Rene Hughes Class of 1968 - 1966-67 Wrestling Schedule, First Annual WPIAC Wrestling Tournament program, SFC WPIAC Wrestling Champs 64-65 patch

Leah Mancinetti Class of 1972 - SFC Class of 72 wine skein, SFC Ultimate Rally '72 t-shirt, 1992 Alumni Weekend t-shirt

Bonaventure Kiley TOR Archives - JHS Loses Big Game (undated newspaper article), June 29, 1984 Feast of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus mass program, 1977 Dr. Nicholas Schank death letters, Ticket order form Red Flash Basketball vs Notre Dame 1975, Saint Francis College Centennial picture booklet, 1915 SFC student autograph book

, Location

Title

Donors’ Report (Saint Francis College)

Inclusive Dates

1987-2000

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

1 bound volume and 1 gray archives box

Description

1 bound volume (1987-1999/00)

Box:  1987-2000

Location

TCA 378.91 J14 (Stack B1)

Title

Donors’ Report (Saint Francis University)

Inclusive Dates

2001-

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

1 bound volume and 1 gray archives box

Description

1 bound volume (2000/01-2006/07)

Box:  (2001-       )

Location

TCA 378.91 J14a (Stack B1)

Title

Dorothy Day Center (DDC) - Photographs

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

Events by staff and volunteers of the Dorothy Day Center for Peace and Justice.

• Dorothy Day Center Volunteers 1995-1996 - P1-018
• Dorothy Day Center - P2-018

Location

P1-018 (formerly P1-01-02-12)
P2-018 (formerly P1-04-03-02a)      

Title

Doyle (John, P.M., T.O.R., 1876-1952) Collection

President of Saint Francis College, 1914-1916, 1921-1924

Inclusive Dates

1912 - 1952

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

1 document case, 2 framed photographs

Description

M-32

• Contains correspondence to and from Rev. John P.M. Doyle including poetry, sermons; retreat meditations, class lectures and notes;
• program from Golden Jubilee May 30, 1951;
• an article published in The Call of India (Dec 1947) by Fr. Doyle title “The Friars Go to Rome” which includes a photograph of the Friars with Pope Pius XII.
• Letter from Office of Provincial to Fr. William in India (November 11, 1941);
• letters to Fr. Garrone (1938); from Franciscan Monastery Waco Texas (February 1927).
• a translation of a circular letter from the Oct/Dec 1951 Analecta titled “Circular Letter of the Ministers General of the Three Families of the Friars Minor and of the Third Order Regular.” 
• correspondence from Mrs. Ralph J. Guerrero (whose husband was a great nephew of Fr. Doyle).
• Photograph of Fr. Doyle in a group picture taken at the First mass of Pollard Farran in Loretto, Pa., June 23, 1912
• Photographs of Fr. Doyle
• Golden Jubilee Celebration, May 30, 1951 honoring Very Reverend John P.M. Doyle, T.O.R, S.T.M., Rector, Saint Francis Seminary, Loretto, Pennsylvania, 1901-1951.       (5 copies)

M-229

Doyle (John, Fr.) Collection - Portrait Photograph (sepia, 28.5 x 24.5 x 1 ins.)

M-230 

Doyle (John, Fr.) Collection - Portrait Photograph (sepia, 34.25 x 28.5 x 2 ins.)

Flat file drawer 12

Doyle (John, Fr.) Collection - Portrait Photograph (in 4 parts, b&w, 32.5 ins. x 21 ins.)

Father Doyle was born on March 8, 1876; professed July 14, 1911?; ordained June 1, 1901 and died June 2, 1952.  Also includes references to Fr. Vincent Negherbon and Fr. Gabriel Loncosky.

Location

M-32, M-29, M-230, Flat file Drawer 12

Title

Driesch (Albert, Fr.) Collection

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Dr. Ed Zovinka (Chemistry Department)  & Fr. Christian Oravec (photographs were given to Fr. Christian by Fr. Driesch)

Arrangement

Volume

2 document cases and 15 photographs, 1 Plaque

Description

Documents career of Fr. Driesch at Saint Francis College.  Father Albert J. Driesch, T.O.R., was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, on September 2, 1920. He entered into the Third Order Regular of Saint Francis, Loretto, in 1938 and pronounced his vows in 1940. He was ordained to the priesthood in 1946 by Bishop John McNamara at the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception, Washington, D.C.

A graduate of Saint Veronica High School, Father Driesch graduated from Saint Francis College and Seminary and pursued graduate studies in chemistry at the University of Notre Dame. He served in education from 1951 to 1988 at Saint Francis College, Loretto, where he held positions of professor of chemistry, chairman of mathematics and physical science, and secretary. He received National Science Foundation awards to attend the Rocky Mountain Institute in Chemistry at Montana State University and participated in chemical research at the Pennsylvania State University.

From 1988 to the present, Father Driesch has been serving as associated pastor of the Saint Francis Xavier Church, Moundsville, WV, and chaplain to the Father Flanagan Council 1907 Knights of Columbus. Father Driesch is a member of Delta Epsilon Sigma National Catholic Honor Society, an emeritus member of the American Chemical Society, a member of the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh, and a member of the Moundsville, West Virginia, Kiwanis Club. Father Driesch’s work has been published in the Journal of Organic Chemistry and Chemistry magazine. Father Driesch received two notable awards at Saint Francis College, the Student Government Association’s Faculty Citation for 1972 and the National Alumni Association Distinguished Faculty award for 1985.

M-62 -- Box one contains: Chemistry 104 and Biochemistry notes.

M-63 - Box two contains:

• exams,
• final exams and quizzes from Chemistry 104; Chemistry 103; Biochemistry from 1985-1988.

P1-017 -- Photographs provided information about graduates of the Chemistry program in the late 1950s and early 1960s. The photograph of the 1959 graduates is stuck to the glass from when it was framed. The corner of the glass is broken. It is stored inside a protective enclosure.

• (1) Chemistry majors graduation 1958: Paul Savko, John Haschak, John Overberger, Carole Roman, Miss Kimlin, Fr. Albert, Eugene Illig and George Hipps.
• (2) Organic lab in Schwab Hall, 1958. Fr. Albert and son of Glen Moran
• (3) Chemistry majors graduation 1959: Mitchel Shen, Peter Drott, Walter Schnorbus, William Bauer, Father Albert, Mark Raycheck, Peter Lyons, Peter Mack, James Getting, Ronald Bell, Leo Flick, James Ratchford.
• (4) Chemistry majors graduation 1970: Kathleen Robisone, Chris Strick, Fr. Albert, Ginger Wegemer, Carolyn Virgili.
• (5) Chemistry majors 1970: Ginger (Wegemer) Powers, David Bishop, Willie McCarvill, Carolyn (Virgili) Murphy, Kathleen (Robison) Herrin, Marguerite Patterson, Arthur Springsteen, Leo Paul Semes, Nancy Hynes, Dante Capriotti and John P. Auses.
• (6) Chemistry majors around 1974: James Varady, Lorraine Tarchuk, Fr. Albert, Walter Stanek, Vic Halitsky, Gary Cicala, Thomas Delorie, Herman Carl, Anthony Kesslak, Mrs. T. Delorie, Richard Patrick, Terry McCreary, Linus Seckel and Samuel Forese. 3 individuals are not identified.
• (7) Chemistry majors 1973: Laura A. Klein, William Bailey, Michael J. Leahey, Kenneth Raffleg.
• (8) Class of 1972: Rose Cesa Miller, Jane Strittmatter Stolty, David Grattan, Kris Bruback Gomez.
• (9) Father Albert in chemistry office in Schwab Hall in late 1950s.
• (10) ACS Picnic at Blue Knob State Park, 1962. Father Albert, Joe Hennessy, Pat Demski, Paul Caruso.
• (11) ACS Picnic at Blue Knob State Park, 1963. Jack Petruncio, Ann Bresak, Jim Wharton, Tom Ruth, Paul Caruso, John Reade, Joe Gormish.
• (12) Blue Knob State Park, 1962: Paul Caruso and Fr. Albert.
• (13) Sullivan Hall under construction 1961
• (14) Nick Hamilton’s wedding, St. Aloysius Church, Cresson, 1971?
• (15) Greg Miller and Rose Cesa wedding June 3, 1972.

M-212 Plaque (framed, 92 x 59 x 2 cm.) The Plaque reads: Father Albert J. Driesch, T.O.R. Doctor of Humane Letters

Location

M-62 ; M-63 - M-212 - P1-017