Archives Finding Aid

Title

Gallitzin (Demetrius Augustine) Collection

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

2 document cases

Description

Collection contains a variety of information regarding Prince-Priest Demetrius Augustine Gallitzin who was instrumental in the religious development of the Allegheny mountain communities in Cambria County PA.

M-33 Includes postcards of McGuire’s Cabin in Loretto.  Articles commemorating various anniversaries, photographs, copies of deeds, etc.

• Lithuanian Heritage Magazine article donated by Betty Seymour who provided information for the article.  Related materials are in the Gallitzin Special Collection.
• Lawrence Cardinal Shehan address titled “Father Gallitzin comes to Loretto.”  Delivered May 31, 1970 on the 200^th Anniversary of the birth of Prince Gallitzin; published by the American Catholic Historical Society of Philadelphia, 1971; 8 pages.
• The Apostle of the Alleghenies; commemorating the birth bicentennial of Father Demetrius Gallitzin; Loretto Shrine Grounds; May 31, 1970.
• Commemorating the Centenary Celebration of the erection of the Chapel (1832-1932) at Loretto.
• The Bell Tower (commemorative medal) Series Prince Demetrius Gallitzin, 1975.
• The Apostle of the Alleghenies: Society of the Apostle of the Alleghenies.
• Sister Mary Anne McCue, RSM article titled “Prince Priest of the Alleghenies” in partial fulfillment for the Masters Degree in English, August 1937.
• The Catholic Register series called “Apostle of the Alleghenies, Lithuanian Profile” published in Lithuanian Heritage Magazine, Nov/Dec 1996.
• Related materials are in the Gallitzin Special Collection; Kittell Collection; October 1932 Loretto
• Includes March 11, 2007 Cause of Canonization for Sainthood

M-34 Includes:

• cross carried by Prince Gallitzin
• leaf sculpture attributed to Gallitzin
• Medal commemorating the 100^th Anniversary of Gallitzin’s death

Location

M – 33 and M - 34

Title

Gilmour (Kathy) Collection (Class of 1966)

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Kathy (Sauers) Gilmour, Class of 1966

Arrangement

Volume

1 oversize box

Description

Memorabilia donated by Kathy (Sauers) Gilmour, Class of 1966, Public Relations Director in 1966?.  Includes: 

• Pillow case (No Parking Reserved for TKE);
• Saint Francis College “I’m a Red Flash Fanatic towels (2);
• Saint Francis College Class of ’72 wine skin;
• “SFC Red Flash Hoops #1 – The Frankies are Back” flags from 1991 basketball season (2);
• Saint Francis College beer mug bank. 
• 2 plain glass votives
• plastic cup with 1989/90 basketball schedule on back.

Location

M - 76

Title

Glass Negatives

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

Pictures of “Old Main” campus

Football team and individuals

Friars

Location

A1-06-01 (glass negatives)

P2-018  (P1-04-03-02a prints of negatives)

Title

Glassware

Inclusive Date

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

  Souvenir glassware from dances and other occasions

M-219

• Ice bucket, frosted glass,  SFC Senior Prom 1966, beige lettering (13 cm.)
• Delta Sigma Phi Carnation Ball 1971, glasses, clear with black frosted bottoms, green lettering, Delta Sigma Phi Logo (10.5 cm.) (qty 2)
• Saint Francis College Sophomore - Junior Formal, March 20, 1999, clear glass with black lettering, with SFC Bell Tower Logo (14 cm.); beer mug
• Saint Francis College Senior Formal, May 6, 1999, clear glass with red lettering (14 cm.); beer mug
• St. Francis College Mug, Ceramic, cream color with gold rim, black lettering with multi-colored SFC seal (21 cm.); beer mug
• St. Francis College Mug, Ceramic, white with red lettering, with SFC seal (15 cm.)' beer mug
• St. Francis 1847, Loretto, Pa. Mug, Ceramic pottery, taupe color with blue lettering, 1983? (14 cm.); beer mug
• Sesquicentennial, Saint Francis College 1997/1847 Mug, green tinted glass, gold rim, gold lettering, with SFC Sesquicentennial Tree Logo (10 cm.); coffee mug
• Sesquicentennial, Saint Francis College, Touching Three Centuries, 1997/1847 Mug, Ceramic, white, green lettering, with SFC Sesquicentennial Tree Logo (9.5 cm.); coffee mug
• OAO, CERMUSA, Saint Francis College Mug, Ceramic, white, blue lettering, with Pine Trees Logo, 1990s? (9.5 cm.); coffee mug
• Continuing Education Mug, Green Ceramic with marbleized pattern, white lettering, with SFC seal, 1990s? (9.5 cm.); coffee mug

M-220

• SFC Freshman Ball 1963, clear rose tinted glass, white lettering (7.5 cm.); brandy sniffer
• Class of ’96, Senior Formal, May 2, 1996, clear glass with gold rim, black lettering with SFC seal (11.5 cm.); brandy sniffer
• Saint Francis College, Senior Formal, May 7, 1998, clear glass, red lettering, with SFC seal (11.5 cm.); brandy sniffer
• clear glasses, slightly blue tint, no writing or insignia, no date (6.5 cm.): brandy sniffer (qty 2)
• Sophomore Cotillion ’63, clear glass, red lettering and SFC seal (12 cm.); martini glass
• Twelfth of Never, clear glass, gold lettering and SFC seal, no date (11.5 cm.); martini glass
• Class of 1967, Junior Prom, April 22, 1967, clear glass, gold lettering (11.5 cm.); martini glass
• Saint Francis College Formal, March 9, 1996, clear glass with red stem, red lettering and SFC seal (19.5 cm.); long stem wine glass
• Sophomore / Junior Formal, Sesquicentennial, Saint Francis College, March 22, 1997, clear glass with black stem, gold rim, green lettering and SFC Sesquicentennial Tree Logo (19.5 cm.); long stem wine glass
• Saint Francis College Sophomore – Junior Formal, March 20, 1999,clear glass with red stem, red lettering and SFC Bell Tower Logo (19.5 cm.); long stem wine glass

Title

Goals of Franciscan Education at Saint Francis College

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

1 framed poster

Description

framed poster; black & white ; 21.25 x 15 x 1 in. The 8 Franciscan goals and an explanation of each is illustrated with photographs.

Location

M -226

Title

     Golf Events at Saint Francis 

Inclusive Dates 1997-2005,1982-2008 

Origin

Arrangement

Volume 1 file box

Location/Description

 SFU Red Flash Women's Golf Classic 1997-2005

Maurice Stokes Memorial Golf Tournament 1982-2008

A2-01-44