SFU Logo

Archives Finding Aid

Tobin Center Archives Collections

Handbooks (Student) 1940-1996

Title

Handbooks (Student) 1940-1996

Inclusive Dates

1940 - 1996

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 gray archives box

Description

Student Guide (1940?)

Handbook (1947/48)

Student Handbook (1954/55-1959, 1962, 1964-66, 1970)

Pineneedle (1972, rev. ed., Red Key Organization)

Handbook for Community Living (1974/75-1976/77, 1979/80, 1981/82-1984

Red Book 1990/91-1995/96

Location

TCA 378.91 H12 Box 1

Handbooks (Student) 1996/97-

Title

Handbooks (Student) 1996/97-

Inclusive Dates

1996/97 -

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 gray archives box

Description

Student Handbook (1996/97 -           )

Location

TCA 378.91 H12 Box 2 (Stack B1)

Heming, Linus (Class of 1940)

Title

Hemng, Linus (Class of 1940)

Inclusive Dates

1940

Origin

Donated by Mr. Heming

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

  • Photograph of Mr. Heming dated 1945
  • Photograph of Mr. Heming dated 1999
  • Class of 1940 (Saint Francis College)
  • Linus M. Heming Family Tree

Location

A1-05-23

Hickey , Vincent Leo Collection (Class of 1927)

Title

Hickey, Vincent Leo (Class of 1927)

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Donated by Vincent Leo Hickey

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 scrapbook, four framed paintings

Description

  • M-60 - Scrapbook
  • M-231 - Tenaya Lake, Yosemite, Ca. 1953 (painting; 22.25 x 28.25 x 1.5  ins.)
  • M-232 - Monterey Cypress, Monterey Peninsula 1973 (painting; 32 x 26 x 2 ins.)
  • M-233 - Lone Cypress, Monterey Peninsula 1972 (painting ; 32 x 26 x 2 ins.)
  • M-234 - Carmel Valley, Ca. 1969 (painting ; 32.25 x 27.25 x .75 ins.)

Location

M-60; M-231; M-232; M-233; M-234

Higher Education Facilities Act - Plaque

Title

Higher Education Facilities Act - Plaque

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Description

Plaque, bronze colored metal, sliver lettering, 28x22x1 cm. Inscription: "Constructed with the financial assistance of the American people through the Higher Education Facilities Act. Burning lamp image in upper left corner. 4 bolts extend out the back. Was affixed to a building, possibly Sullivan Hall

Location

M-225

Hines (Bede, Fr.) - Writing Festival

Title

Hines (Bede, Fr.) - Writing Festival

Inclusive Dates

1999 - 2002

Origin

Dr. Kirk Weixel

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Festival held in honor of Fr. Bede Hines, TOR, who has taught for nearly 50 years at SFU – is for high school students in Grades 9 through 12 interested in creative writing.  Various documents from festival.  Also includes materials about Fr. Hines.

Location

A1-05-48

History SFC, CCHS

Title

History SFC, CCHS

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Cambria County Historical Society

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

These materials were provided by the Cambria County Historical Society, Ebensburg PA.

Saint Francis College of Pennsylvania Magazine Vol6 no1; Vol7 no4; Vol8 no1

Program - Carusos of Discord (March 24, 1927)

Commencement Program (1930)

Dedication of Library invitation (1959)

Centennial Academic Convocation Program (1947)

Centennial Solemn Pontifical Mass of Thanksgiving Program (1947)

Saint Francis College Admissions brochure (?)

Old Chapel and priest house at Loretto photocopy of B&W photo (photo is in college photo archives)

Football squad-how they look on dress parade

Brief history of Saint Francis College - Cambria Freeman

Ceremonies mark library dedication - Johnstown Tribune-Democrat (1959)

St. Francis Builds for the Future (newspaper article)

St. Francis building (Torvian) receives cornerstone – Johnstown Tribune-Democrat

St. Francis Readies Library Dedication – Johnstown Tribune-Democrat (1959)

St. Francis launches new development (1971 newspaper article)

St. Francis College, new president (Rev. Sean Sullivan) face challenges (1973 newspaper article)

Granting a charter by Fr. Benedict English (newspaper article)

Friends of St. Francis Chapter here plans to promote college expansion (1955 newspaper article)

Local Kiwanis Club honors Randolph Myers (newspaper article)

St. Francis dedicates Stokes Building today (1972 newspaper article)

St. Francis building is dedicated to sport star – Johnstown Tribune-Democrat (1972)

Seminary recognizes campaign assistance – Johnstown Tribune-Democrat (1974)

St. Francis College Celebrates 140th Anniversary (1987)

Do you know any of these men? (1912 Football team)

College history handwritten notes from various newspapers

 

Location

A1-03-45

Additional Information

Iron-on transfer SFC Logo

Tree Planting 1949

Ballad of the Mountain Top

Description of the Blue Bowl

History SFC, Development Office

Title

History SFC, Development Office

Inclusive Dates

various

Origin

From Development Office RC boxes

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

 

 

Assorted articles, photographs and other items about the university, Loretto community and Prince Gallitzin.  Old Main fire, Oct. 30, 1942.

President’s Cabinet file of SFC Articles

History of Saint Francis College

Saint Francis College Chronology (Booklet 1840s-1998)

Alvernia chronology (1 handwritten tablet 1916-1926, 2 sheets, 1920-1926)

Lorettos chronology (1 sheet 1927-1992)

Faculty Bulletin chronology (3 handwritten tablets

                                                v.4, 1955 – v. 43, 1997)

Lorettos chronology (1 sheet 1927-1992)

Mariale chronology (1925-1927)

Seraphic Troubadour chronology (1947-1967)

St. Francis College Magazine chronology (1977-1994)

Location

A1-05-44

Additional Information: Chronologies are being entered into Excel for easier searching. bcd 12/21/16

History SFC, General

Title:     History SFC General

Inclusive Dates:

Origin:    Various sources

Arrangement:

Volume:      2 archival box

Description:

  • Folder 1 -- Newspaper articles (Various newspapers) 1913-1990s -- some topics are building projects, the Padua fire in 1957 which destroyed the library, and the book campaigns that followed.  Also includes Homecoming 1913, The water tower built for Charles Schwab, Tobin appointed Librarian, Upward Bound 1966, Founders Day 1981, and Commencement 1970.         
  • Folder 2 -- Union Press Courier (Patton, Pa.) – Saint Francis College, 1847-1964 -- a series of 21 articles the newspaper published in 1964 on the history of the college, followed by the typed copies of the articles.
  • “St. Francis College in 1894” the Observer, Johnstown, Pa. Nov. 2, 1967.  5 copies
  • “Nestled among a sea of pine trees . . . “ Essay on the history of Saint Francis College, 1967.  2 copies
  • “A New Era at St. Francis” Weekender Magazine, The Tribune Democrat, Nov. 4, 1967.
  • By-laws of St. Francis College, 1966.
  • University Status 2000-2001
  • Space Study/Master Plan 1999-2001
  • 1994 Community Information Guide: Saint Francis College, Loretto Borough, Allegheny Township, Cambria County, Pennsylvania
  • Campus Map, Saint Francis College of Pennsylvania, Loretto, PA., 1995.
  • Oversize items in A2-06-11
    • scrapbook of newspaper articles from September 1966
    • 3 protective sleeves holding iron on decal            

Location:     A1-06-26  / Oversize materials are in A2-06-11

Additional Information: updated:12/21/2016 .

History SFC, President's Office

Title

History SFC, President's Office

Inclusive Dates

1890-1984

Origin

President’s Office

Arrangement

 

Volume

3 document cases

  • Description

History documents contain photographs and a scrapbook (1915-1928) donated by Mr. Hickey.  This scrapbook should be described in greater detail.  It contains much information about students and the area.  Photographs with explanatory documentation by Mr. Albert O’Connor Jr. pertaining principally to the Saint Francis debate team and several fraternities (Alpha Delta Phi and Zeta Sigma Pi).

Other documents include:

-information on the genesis of the college mascot “Friar Frankie”

-a Centennial picture booklet (1847-1947)

-Mock Democratic National Convention (1984)

-Founders Day 1979 brief history of the college

-Musical score of St. Francis College Alma Mater (1948)

-Book cover from “premium” book given to Joseph Ferry “for progress in First Grammar” (1890) signed by Brother Athenasius

-Picture of collegians at St. Francis College including Charles J. Maher accompanied by a letter from R.M. Maher, M.D. of Uniontown PA (1973)

-Catalogues of the officers and students 1883/84 and 1891/92; monthly report of Joseph Moran, Grammar Department 1909/10 and Commercial Department 1912

-baseball team postcard 1920

-copy of the Service Loretto, a version of the college newspaper in honor of the students in the armed forces

-program for a debate between the sophomore and junior history classes (1930)

-two newspaper clippings about scout retreats on St. Francis College campus

Four biographical items include:

-program from the Hall of Fame All Sports Banquet on June 18, 1984 inductees were:  Edward Stofko, Sr. (SFC graduate who "has also doctored the athletic ills at St. Francis College" ; Kevin Porter (SFC graduate, basketball player and coach) ; Steve Molnar (SFC graduate and distance runner) ; also includes a photo of Maurice Stokes and a mention of Paul Dumm winning a contemporary award for his St. Francis College golfing prowess

-three volumes of the Seraphic Troubadour in memor of Rev. Bernardine Dillon, TOR (1952), Very Rev. Fr. John P.J. Sullivan, TOR and the Very Rev. Fr. John P.M. Doyle, TOR (Summer 1952 Vol10 no5 Section 2-4)

-There are also 10 copies of the Saint Francis College Centennial publications

Individual documents and publications include:

-Prepare for Your Future “The Saint Francis Way”

-General Catalogue (1934-1935)

-Catalogue Saint Francis College and Ecclesiastical Seminary (1914-1915)

-Prospectus (1925)

-St. Francis College of the Future booklet

-Special Collections of the Library (1982) – photographs donated by Mary L. Heaton

-Groundbreaking for Science and Library extension (1966) – photograph

-Library in Schwab before the fire of 1958 (photograph)

-Library construction (1958-1959) (photographs)

-St. Francis College Band photograph (1940)

-Sigma Beta Kappa fraternity photograph

-Library when completed photograph (1959)

-Pope Pius XII statue (1958) photographs

-St. Francis College and the surrounding area photograph

-St. Francis College and Ecclesiastical Seminary Loretto PA photograph

-Chapel photograph

-Campus Club (1950s photograph)

-Blessing of Pope Pius XII painting which was painted by Ms. Margaret Tobin’s niece (1960) photograph

-Commercial graduation class newspaper clipping

-John P.M. Doyle Memorial Hall at Loretto newspaper clipping

-“Saint Francis College Builds for the Future” (1955) newspaper article

-Centennial Address by Charles J. Margiotti (1947) newspaper articles

-History of St. Francis College Patton Courier newspaper articles in 3-ring binder (1964)

-Gold Club photograph

-Tribute to Father John Sullivan by Father George Wuenshcel (1963)

-NLRB Secret Ballot PSEA/NEA Collective Bargaining representative (1975)

-The Loretto 1947, 1959

-Saint Francis College newsletter 1958

-The Observer 1967

-Student Book 1940-41 Richard McGuire

-Joseph Moran 1909-1912 Report Cards

-Charles J. Margiotti Attorney 1947

-Father George Wienschel 1963

-White (name on cover) Saint Francis College notebook which as metals on the corners of the front, with sports related clippings from 1920-21, photo of football team in back of notebook.

 

 

Location

A1-01-01 Box 1:  This series contains information related to the General History of the College.  Includes booklets, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, articles, photographs, X-Ray technique 1932

A1-01-02 Box 2:  This box contains memorabilia on St. Francis College.  Some specific material contained in this box are freshman hats, pins, fraternity and sorority pins, dance and homecoming booklets, garter belts, etc.

A1-01-03 Box 3:  This series contains newspaper articles on the history of St. Francis College and a scrapbook containing pictures dating back to 1928.  One article contains a short summary of the destruction of Padua Hall and the rest of the newspaper clippings deal with the history and consist of photographs with small captions.  The pictures are of football and basketball teams in the early 1900s.

History, General - Videotapes 1985

Title

History, General - Videotapes 1985

Inclusive Dates

various

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Videotapes (various types)

Location

M - 92

Additional Information

Founder’s Day 1985 #1

Founder’s Day 1985 #2, Dinner Address

R 1 of 2 Gen. Wm. Westmoreland Press Conference 10/1/85

R 2 of 2 Gen. Wm. Westmoreland Press Conference 10/1/85

Generic 10/2/85 Student Footage outside (Fr. Christian)

Frank Alumni Lunch 10/4/85 Fr. Christian Work Tape

Senator Arlen Spector Speaking @ JFK 11/10/85 R 1 of 2

Senator Arlen Spector Speaking @ JFK 11/1985 R 2 of 2

History, General - Videotapes 1986-2000

Title

History, General - Videotapes 1986-2000

Inclusive Dates

various

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Videotapes (various types)

Location

M - 93

Additional Information

4/17/86 19th and 20th Century Local Art

#4 of 5 4/17/86 19th and 20th Century Local Art – Historical Society

Awards/Honors Night 4/24/86 Audio Channel #1 of 2

Spring Fling ’86 #1

Spring Fling ’86 #2

PSA/Love Tree 12/12/86

Awards Night 1987

Smoking on Campus 10 min Documentary 1990

Documentary “Franciscan Heritage” – Fall 1991

SAO End of Alumni Weekend, dinner/dance July 2000

Tape 2:  Alumni (Scotch Valley) Alumni Weekend 2000

Founder’s Day 2000 SFU Party, Chapel @ Christmas, Bowling Alley

Documentary Punxsutawney SFC Fall Check-in 2000, campus shots, Fall Fest 2000, Football, M&W Soccer

St. Francis 3 min promo tape for Spelling Bee

Spelling Bee Insert SFC

History, General - Videotapes

Title

History, General

Inclusive Dates

various

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Videotapes (various types)

Location

M - 94

Additional Information

Blessing of the Mall Statue

Blessing of the Animals

Statue Unveiling

Earth Day Documentary

Fr. Bede Church Music, Fr. Christian

Fr. Vince saying Mass @ St. Johns

Hamilton College Promo, Fr. Vince Mass

Frank’s Library Commercial

Sherry’s Commercial

Expanding the Vision:  Saint Francis Academy-College-University

Leadership America – Steve Bobb – Tree Planting

St. Francis College/Slide Presentation WJAC-TV Johnstown

Stills – Student protest war/library

Ms. Mike = Miss Frankie

George Gore – clips/Schwab Gardens

Tape 1:  Athletic M&W Basketball campus shots with a little snow

History, General - Various Events - Videocassettes

Title

History, General - Various Events

Inclusive Dates

various

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Videotapes (various types)

Location

M - 95

Additional Information

Honors Night R 1 of Fr. Tom Bourque

Dick Davis

Maureen – Library

SFC Business Department video

Tinsey Labrie Independent Study Final Production “This is Saint Francis College”

P. Friga Final – Wedding

Dorothy Day Center (Janice, Lisa, Carol, Caroline)

Business Department Master

RS – Tape Original

Holidays - Photographs

Title

     Holidays - Photographs

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Location/Description

P1-118  (formerly P1-02-04-19)  Halloween Oct. 1996

P1-119  (formerly P1-02-04-20)  Scotus Christmas Decorations Dec. 1996

P1-123  (formerly P1-02-05-01)  Halloween 1990s

P1-178  Christmas, Halloween 1990s?

Homecoming 1991-1993, 1996-1997 (Photographs)

Title

Homecoming 1991-1993, 1996-1997 

Inclusive Dates

1948?, 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

P1-011  (formerly P1-01-02-05)  Homecoming 1983-1985, 1987

P1-030  (formerly P1-01-02-24)  Homecoming 1975,1980-1981,1983-1984  

P1-031  (formerly P1-01-02-25)  Homecoming 1984, 1986-1987

P1-032  (formerly P1-01-02-26)  Homecoming 1987-1988  

P1-033  (formerly P1-01-02-27)  Homecoming 1988-1991  

P1-034  (formerly P1-01-02-28)  Homecoming 1992-1993,     

P1-035  (formerly P1-01-02-29)  Homecoming 1993, 1996-1997

P1-036  (formerly P1-01-02-30)  Homecoming 1998

P1-038  (formerly P1-01-03-02)  Homecoming 1970s-1990s

P1-039  (formerly P1-01-03-03)  Homecoming 1991-1993, 1996-1997

P1-040  (formerly P1-01-03-04)  Homecoming Awards 1994

P1-118  (formerly P1-02-04-19)  Homecoming Court 1996

P1-157  Homecoming Court  1990s

P2-024  (formerly P1-04-04-02)  Homecoming 1948?, 1950s, 1960s,1970s, 1980s

 

 

Location

P1-011  (formerly P1-01-02-05)

P1-030  (formerly P1-01-02-24)

P1-031  (formerly P1-01-02-25)

P1-032  (formerly P1-01-02-26)

P1-033  (formerly P1-01-02-27)

P1-034  (formerly P1-01-02-28)  

P1-035  (formerly P1-01-02-29)

P1-036  (formerly P1-01-02-30) 

P1-038  (formerly P1-01-03-02) 

P1-039  (formerly P1-01-03-03)

P1-040  (formerly P1-01-03-04)

P1-118  (formerly P1-02-04-19) 

P1-157                                         

P2-024  (formerly P1-04-04-02

 

Additional Information

HRM/IR Publications

Title

HRM/IR Publications

Inclusive Dates

1962-2003

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Catalogs of course offerings, schedules of classes for the Masters of Arts in Industrial Relations.   Over the years this degree included Labor Relations, Personnel Administration and Human Resources Management.  Classes were held in Loretto and at satellite locations in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

Catalogs:

  • Graduate Division Master of Arts in Industrial Relations Bulletins (Course catalogs) - 1962/63 - 1967/68
  • Industrial Relations Master of Arts catalog - 1969/70 - 1971/72
  • Master of Arts Program in Industrial Relations catalog - 1973/74 - 1974/75
  • Master of Arts Program in Industrial Relations / Labor Relations and Personnel Administration - 1976/77; 1980/81 - 1982/82
  • Master of Arts in Industrial Relations Graduate School of Industrial Relations - 1982-86 ; 1985/86
  • Master of Arts n Labor Relations and Personnel Administration - 1986/88
  • Master of Arts Personnel Administration and Industrial Relations - 199094
  • Graduate School Human Resource Management and Industrial Relations - undated (possibly 1996/96) ; 1996/97 ; 1997/98 - 2002/03
  • Course offerings at Point Park College (Pittsburgh location) - 1976/77 ; 1980/81 ; 1982/83
  • Course offerings at Harrisburg Location - 1980/81 ; 1982/83

Schedules

  • Harrisburg - Fall 1971 - Summer 1998
  • Loretto - Summer 1962 ; Summer 1963-Fall 1963 ; Summer 1964 - Spring 1998
  • Pittsburgh - Fall 1976 - Summer 1998

Search Piece

Newsletter Graduate School of Human Resource Management and Industrial Relations

  • March 1998 (v.1 #1)
  • Spring 1999 (v.2 #1)
  • Fall 1999 (v.3 #1)
  • Winter 1999 (v.3 #2)

HRM/IR Newsletter:

  • Fall 2000
  • Winter 2001
  • Summer 2001
  • Fall 2001
  • Spring 2002

Location

A1-05-29