Archives Finding Aid

Tobin Center Archives Collections

[CONTENT BOX 12333286 NOT FOUND]

Laughrea (William) Collection

Overview of Collection:
These items were donated by William Laughrea, class of 1951 in August of 1998

Inclusive Dates:         1949-1951

Bulk Dates:                1950

Linear feet:                materials are housed in a folder inside an acid-free archival box that measures 17x23

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note  

  • Statement of charges Saint Francis College Spring 1950
  • Pittsburgh Sun Telegraph article dated February 28, 1950, page 17/18 on Saint Francis College baseball team
  • Loretto (Student newspapers) March 1949 ; October 1949 ; Jan 1950 ; May26, 1950 ; Oct 7, 1950 ; Oct 29, 1950 ; Nov 17, 1950 ; Dec 12, 1950 ; Jan 22, 1951 ; Feb 23, 1951

Provenance    Previously owned by the donor who saved the items from his years at Saint Francis College.

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on March 6, 2018.

Location         A2-06-14

Lectures - Videotapes

Title

Lectures - Videotapes

Inclusive Dates

various

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Videotapes (various types)

M-91 (1980s-1990s)

  • 4/13/88 1st annual Furlong Lecture Barbara Mowat
  • 4/18/90 3rd annual Furlong Lecture Msgr. Charles Owen Rice
  • 4/17/91 4th annual Furlong Lecture Dr. Samuel Hazo
  • 4/13/92 5th annual Furlong Lecture William Gallagher
  • 4/14/93 6th annual Furlong Lecture Rev. Jack O’Malley
  • 4/14/94 7th annual Furlong Lecture Alzina Stone Dale
  • 4/16/96 9th annual Furlong Lecture Dr. Alice Kessler-Harris Part 1
  • 4/19/96 9th annual Furlong Lecture Dr. Alice Kessler-Harris Part 2
  • 10/28/96 10th annual Furlong Lecture Bishop Charles Chaput
  • 10/20/98 12th annual Furlong Lecture Neil O’Gorman
  • Gov. Richard Thornburgh 1st Annual Gleason Lecture 11/3/93
  • Commencement - Videotapes 1980s-2000s.

M-92 (undated)

  • Museum Lecture tape #1
  • Lecture tape #2 Ken Thigpen
  • Lecture tape #3
  • Lecture tape #4
  • Beulah Ebensburg (for Museum lecture)

Location

M-91 ; M-92

Additional Information

Legal Documents (sale of land)

Title

Legal Documents (sale of land)

Inclusive Dates

1945

Origin

Controller’s Office

Arrangement

 

Volume

4 documents

Description

These materials were sent to the Archives in November 1996 by the Controller’s Office.  They were removed from a safety deposit box.  It was decided that they should be stored in the Archives.  These documents were filed “for authority to sell and convey real estate, devised by will, dree and discharged from any trust impressed thereon” by Saint Francis College.  The land had been deeded to the college by Charlotte Abernathy.  Includes testimony by Rev. John H. Boccella, Brother Aloysius Gilmartin, Mrs. Emma Schrum, Rev. J. F. Regis O’Brien.  Persons were interviewed by Mr. McGuire.  These documents provide details about the early history of the college.

Location

A1-04-24

Library Addition Construction

Title

Library Addition Construction

Inclusive Dates

1960s

Origin

Library

Arrangement

alphabetical

Volume

2 document cases

Description

Contains all the correspondence, specifications, reports, blueprints, etc. for the construction of the addition to the library in 1960s.

Location

A1-02-34, A1-02-35

Library Administration Subject Files

Title

Library Administration Subject Files

Inclusive Dates

1959-1983

Origin

Library

Arrangement

 

Volume

10 document cases

Description
  • Activities - Alumni Publications -- A1-02-16
  • Annual Reports - Athletics - A1-02-16a
  • Biology - Clares, The - A1-02-17
  • Commencement - Entertainment - A1-02-18
  • Faculty Handbooks - A1-02-19
  • Handbooks - Industrial Relations - A1-02-20
  • Middles States - Schedules - A1-02-21
  • Schwab Estate - Theology - A1-02-22
  • A1-02-23 -- contains bibliographies from the library’s collections (1963-1965), correspondence in preparation for the library’s dedication in 1959 and historical photographs of the present and past library structures and their construction.  File folder titles:  Bibliography:  Anthropology 1964 through History:  Dedication:  Publicity
  • A1-02-24 - continues the series and contains information on and photographs of the fires and subsequent construction, library personnel, etc.

Location

A1-02-16 through, A1-02-24

Library Art Gallery Posters

Overview of Collection:

Posters created by the School of Arts & Letters to promote the various exhibits of student art work and special  50th anniversary of Fine Arts invitational art exhibits in the Library Gallery on the lower level.  Large posters (44x67) and (26x44) were displayed from the balcony on the second floor of the library as well as in the windows of the front entrance. These are stored rolled on the top of the flat file cabinet.    The large posters are marked on the bottom left with the name of the display and/or artist for easier identification without the need to unroll each item.   Smaller posters (11x17) were displayed around campus.

Inclusive Dates: 2016-17

Bulk Dates: 2016-17

Linear feet:  

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note

[A2-06-11]

  • Painters III (Geiger-Kuehn-Mihelcic), Feb 23-Apr 29, 2017
  • Lost & Abandoned (Liz Schaffner), Fall ‘16
  • Alumni Photographers Invitational (Lloyd Foster-James Kezman-Aaron Vizzini), 25Oct-15Dec17 (includes 1 photograph from each photographer)
  • Lloyd Foster
  • James Kezman
  • Aaron Vizzini

44Wx67H posters are stored on the top of the flat file cabinet

  • Lost & Abandoned (Liz Schaffner), Fall ‘16
  • Painters III (Geiger-Kuehn-Mihelcic), Feb 23-Apr 29, 2017
  • 3 Women 3 Visions (Connell-Smith-Shearer)
  • Brandon Fume Recent Photos 14Sep-14Oct 2017
  • The Image Made (Chris Evans, Brandon Fume, Liz Schaffner)
  • Alumni Photographers Invitational (Lloyd Foster, James Kezman, Aaron Vizzini) 50th Fine Arts / 26 October – 15 December 2017 – SFU Library Student Art Gallery

Flat File Drawer 12

  • Aaron Vizzini includes one b&w photograph on the poster (26x44)
  • James Kezman includes one b&w photograph on the poster (26x44)
  • Lloyd Foster includes one color photograph on the poster (26x44)

Provenance

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on February 27, 2018.

Location

A2-06-11
Top of Flat file Cabinet
Flat file Drawer 12

Library History

Title

Library History

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

2 record center boxes

Description

A1-03-49

  • Various methods of books processing utilized etc.
    • Example of smart barcode added during smart barcode project.
    • Book never circulated after barcode was added because no date due security sticker is in the book (631.46 G48 2nd ed.)
    • Example of item entered into the database on-the-fly.  Date due and plastic card were discarded.  Barcode was placed on inside back cover.  Barcode matches barcode on t-shirts given to volunteers who helped barcode books.  This a copy 2 and was withdrawn during a major weeding project in Summer 1996.  T-shirt was donated to the Archives by Gregg R. Doll, part-time employee of  the college. (301.29 S84 c.2)
    • Example of smart barcode, date due indicates book had circulated. Cataloged in 1978. Withdrawn in 1996. (655.53 R49)
  • Adressograph machine and sample check out slips.
  • Fines calculator (2 items, wood, 18 x 8 x 2 cm.).
  • Cataloging Ledger 1958-1989  (43 x 22 cm.)
  • Hornbook (wood, 8 x 14  x .5 cm.) with alphabet and prayers
  • Library seal (Pius XII Memorial Library, Loretto, Penna) and sample sheet
  • Pius XII Memorial Library staff manual, March 1986 (55 p. : ill. ; 29 cm.)   see also TCA 023.9 S138

A1-06-24

  • Campaign for Saint Francis College: A Progress Report – Pasquerilla Library Endowment, 1989  (12 p. ; ill. ; 28 cm.)
  • Collection Development Policy, Pius XII Memorial Library, 1988
  • Guest Book – kept from Oct. 1959-Oct. 1962 (maroon covers ; 29 cm.)
  • How to use these books, 1960s? (sign, 2 copies)
  • Library Dedication 1959:
    • Dedication invitation (22 x 14 cm.)
    • Solemn Dedication Pius XII Memorial Library, May 2, 1959 (Program, 28 cm.)
    • Solemn Dedication Pius XII Memorial Library, May 2, 1959 (Condensed Program, 16 cm.)
    • Welcome Address by Most Reverend John H. Boccella, TOR on the occasion of the Dedication of the Pius XII Memorial Library, May 2, 1959 (5 copies)
  • Library Disaster Preparedness manual, 1990s  (various pagings : ill.; 30 cm.)
  • Library guides:
    • Pius XII Memorial Library, Faculty Library Handbook, 1968-1969 (10 p. : ill. ; 23 x 10 cm.) 2 copies
    • Directory, Pius XII Memorial Library, 1960s (4 p. ; col. ill. ; 22 x 14 cm.):
    • Picture of Library building, red tint
    • Picture of Library building, brown tint
    • Picture of Main floor from above, maroon tint (2 copies)
    • User’s guide, Pasquerilla Library, 1990? Yellow cover (12 p. : ill. ;    28 cm.)
    • User’s guide, Pasquerilla Library, 1990-91 (13 p. : ill. ; 28 cm.)
    • Pasquerilla Library User’s guide to services and collections, 1990s (14 p. : ill. ; 22 x 9 cm.) 2 copies
    • Pasquerilla Library guide to Library services, 1990s (  (22 x 9 cm.) 2 copies
    • -Pasquerilla Library guide to extended campus Library services, 1990s (  (22 x 10 cm.) 2 copies
    • Pasquerilla Library [guide] 1995 (12 sheets : various colors ; 28 cm.)
    • Pasquerilla Library [guide to Library services, Sept.1999 (4 p. : b&w photos on red  background ; 13 x 18 cm.)
    • Pasquerilla Library [guide to Library services, copy 1, Jan. 2001 (4 p. : col. photos on red background ; 13 x 18 cm.) copy 2 (4 p. : b&w photos on red background ; 13 x 18 cm.)
  • Welcome to the Pasquerilla Library, 2010? (35 x 13 cm folded to 13 x 13 cm.) 2 copies 
  • Mission Statement, Pasquerilla Library, Saint Francis College (1 Card : red & gray ; 16 x 12 cm.)
  • Library history – handwritten notepad, 1930s-1990s (30 cm.)
  • Library history display notes, 1990s (handwritten, 2 leaves)
  • Library Personnel 1950s-1990s – handwritten sheets
  • News clippings detailing library fire in 1958
  • News clippings on the Library that appeared in The Loretto, 1930s-1950s
  • News clippings on the Library, 1970s-
  • Pasquerilla Library policy manual 1990 (25 leaves ; 28 cm.) [see also TCA  025.1 S138 L6935] 
  • Picture of David L. Lawrence – Book drive to re-establish the Library after the 1958 fire (8” x 10” ; b&w)
  • Picture of actress Helen Hayes presenting donated books to Fr. Kevin Keelan, April 4, 1958 (8” x 10” ; b&w) 2 copies
  • Study of the Pius XII Memoral Library, 1984 – Fintar R. Shaniker, O.S.B.
  • TLTC, Teaching/Learning Technology Center  -
    • Welcome to the TLTC, Teaching/Learning Technology Center at the Pasquerilla  Library  (1 card : b&w photos, red block ; 22 x 10 cm.)
    • Welcome to the TLTC, Teaching/Learning Technology Center, Blessing and
    • Ribbon-cutting, Pasquerilla Library, August 21, 2000 (1 sheet ; 28 cm.)

A2-01-45

  • Automation Project Site Preparation
  • FRANCIS Dedication 1991
  • PaLA/PaliNet Poster
  • Library photos - date unknown
  • Conversations Program
  • TLTC (2 VHS tapes, Ribbon Cutting 2000)

Location

A1-03-49 ; A1-06-24, A2-01-45

Library - Photographs

Title

Library - Photographs

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description
  • Library Opening 1959, Tobin Archives 1987 - P1-047
  • Library Photos 1990s   1 of 2 - P1-115
  • Library Photos 1990s   2 of 2 - P1-116
  • Library 1980s-1990s, Dedication 1989 - P1-167
  • Library in Padua, Library 1959-1965, Library Addition, Interior,  Library Fire P2-017

Location                     

 P1-047  (formerly P1-01-04-01)
P1-115  (formerly P1-02-04-16)
P1-116  (formerly P1-02-04-17)
P1-167
P2-017  (formerly P1-04-03-02) 

Library Science Curriculum Materials

Title

Library Science Curriculum Materials

Inclusive Dates

1950 - 1960

Origin

Library

Arrangement

alphabetical

Volume

1 document case

Description

Contains various course descriptions, reading list, syllabus and some reports submitted by students for the Library Science program.  The program was part of the course offered from 195x to 196x.

Location

A1-02-37

Lieb (Marianus) Collection

Title

Lieb (Marianus) Collection

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Donated by Father Marianus Lieb

Arrangement

 

Volume

24 photographs (photocopies)

Description

These materials were received from Father Marianus Lieb in July 1996.  The photographs were mounted on black scrapbook paper.  The pages were photocopied and placed into this folder.  The photographs were removed from the paper and filed in the corresponding subject file in the college photograph archives.  Subjects include:  Old Main Fire in October 1942 (8); Old Main before the fire (2 front and 1 back); Schwab Hall (1); Grotto (4); Stations of the Cross (1); Statue of St. Anne? (1); Chapel in Old Main (1); Barn (1); Three priests [Lieb, ?, O’Hara] (1); Old Giles Hall (1); Unidentified building (1); classroom in Sullivan? (1).  This collection may have been in response to a call for donations of materials from alumni in preparation for the Sesquicentennial (1996-1997).

Location

A1-04-16