SFU Logo

Archives Finding Aid

Tobin Center Archives Collections

Magazine (Saint Francis College)

Title

Magazine (Saint Francis College)

Inclusive Dates

1953-2000

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

6 bound volumes and 2 gray archives boxes

Description

1 volume - Saint Francis Newsletter (1953-1968)

5 volumes – Saint Francis College Magazine (1968-2000)

Box 1:  SFC Newsletter (1957, 1959, 1965)

             SFC News/Saint Francis College Magazine

             President’s Report/Annual Report (1966-1979)

Box 2:  SFC Magazine (1980-2000)

Location

TCA 378.91 J13 (Stack B1)

Magazine (Saint Francis University)

Title

Magazine (Saint Francis University)

Inclusive Dates

2001 -

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

2 bound volumes and 1 gray archives box

Description

2 volumes – Saint Francis University Magazine (2001-2010)

Box:  Saint Francis University Magazine (2001 -        )

Location

TCA 378.91 J13a (Stack B1)

Mariale

Title

Mariale

Inclusive Dates

1925-1970/71

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Saint Francis Seminary – edited by the Garvey Literary Society

Location

TCA 378.91 M33

Martin, Robert J. Collection

Title

Martin, Robert J. Collection

Inclusive Dates

1956-1960

Origin

Donated by Mr. Martin

Description

M-xxx  Memorabilia Mr. Martin kept from his years at Saint Francis College.

  • Student handbook
  • Freshman Dink
  • Gym shorts

Mr. Martin shared the following information. He was a member of Phi Kappa Theta and lived in their house in Loretto. He woke up on a cold morning in January with winds blowing 20 to 30 miles per hour. He saw something was happening on campus so he came to investigate. The library building (a 2 story WWII building made of wood) was engulfed in flames. It was so cold the fire department could not use their hoses to fight the fire. Some of the students were trying to use buckets of water to put out the flames but it was of no use. A few days later he returned to see if he could find class rings which were stored in the building, which also housed the bookstore. Under a slab of concret that was leaning sideways he discovered the cash register for the book store. He opened it and found the coins had melted. He saved those as well as two SFC mugs which were unbroken. These items remained in his possession for 55 years until he donated them back to the University in the summer of 2016.

  • 2 SFC mugs
  • Melted coins

Location

M-201

Additional Information: created: 11/4/2016

McMorrow, Patrick J. Collection (Class of 1959)

Title

McMorrow, Patrick J. Collection (Class of 1959)

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Donated by Patrick J. McMorrow, class of 1959

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Received August 25, 1996

  • 8x10 photo of huts on the mall
  • Commencement program from 1959
  • NIT 1958 program including Saint Francis
  • Rochester Royals vs. Minnesota Lakers program
  • Newspaper clipping dated May 16, 1958 about Rams vs. SFC
  • Johnstown Tribune-Democrat article dated January 23, 1958 titled “$500,000 fire levels Loretto College Library
  • Johnstown Tribune-Democrat article dated December 7, 1956 “St Francis College slaps ban on all excessive steady dating”

Received August 1, 1996

  • program from Pius XII Memorial Library Dedication (May 2, 1959)
  • Invitation to Pius XII Memorial Library
  • Program – Basketball’s Biggest Year featuring Duquesne Dukes vs. Saint Francis PA Monday December 9, 1957
  • Lorettos (Jan 26, 1958; May 9, 1958; May 26, 1958)
  • Pamphlet “Chapel of the Immaculate Conception”

The Lorettos are filed with extra Lorettos in a large, flat storage box.

Location

A1-03-45

Melanson, J. Paul (Regarding Class of 1968)

Title

Melanson, J. Paul (regarding class of 1968)

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Appears to be a few clippings gathered by Mr. Melanson about the class of 1968

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 folder

Description

A few photocopies of items referencing graduates

Location

A1-05-23

Memorabilia

Title

Memorabilia

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

-“A Village of Shrines Loretto, PA is celebrating its bicentennial” - April 11-17, 1999 National Catholic Register

-Peace Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi 1974 by B.C.T.

Calligraphy with painted designs on sides

-Banquet Menu 1918

-Stationary sample from Sesquicentennial 1997

Location

A1-05-16a

Memorabilia - Pennants, other items

Overview of Collection:        Pennants and other items made of felt or cloth promoting Saint Francis College / University and the sports teams

Inclusive Dates:

Bulk Dates:

Linear feet:  1 box -- 24x30x5

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note

  • Pennant, 29” wide by 11” high – St. Francis College, red with white lettering and SFC seal
  • Pennant, 23-1/2” wide by 9” high – St. Francis, brown? or maybe maroon, OPC seal
  • Rectangular felt banner, 16” wide x 9-1/4” high --  St. Francis College, red background with white trim and letters and SFC seal
  • Square 12-3/4” high x 13” high – SFC #1 the Red Flash as Back, red with white letters, pocket on left to insert a flag pole

Provenance

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on June 28, 2018.

Location         M-70

Memorabilia – Saint Francis College

Title

Memorabilia – Saint Francis College

Inclusive Dates

1900s--

Origin

various donors

Description

  • Various invitations (1960-1980)
  • sporting event tickets
  • press passes, etc. (1991-1997)
  • Annual Banquet menu (1918)
  • Loretto Bicentennial newspaper clippings; Prayer of Saint Francis (1974)
  • Library letterhead and Sesquicentennial cards
  • St. Francis College Booster tag
  • Saint Francis College patch
  • Bell Tower Series Medals - 1974 Saint Francis ; 1975 Prince Gallitzin - A1-04-21
  • Decals A2-06-11
  • Excellence Fourth Academic 1922 medal (the seal on the front is the Seal of Third Order Regular, Order of Penance Cloistered) - A1-04-21
  •          

 

 

Location

A1-04-33 / A2-06-11 Oversize / A1-04-21 Medals

Additional Information: updated 11/04/16 and 03/21/17 ; 5/11/17

Mining Men – Summer Session Catalogs

Title

Mining Men – Summer Session Catalogs

Inclusive Dates

1947-1952

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

6 catalogs

Description

General Information Requirements and Curriculum for the Summer Session of Mining Men.

Location

TCA 378.91 G12 (Stack B1)

Minno (George and Helen) - Apostolic Blessing and Plenary Indulgence

Title

Minno (George and Helen) - Apostolic Blessing and Plenary Indulgence

Inclusive Dates

1950

Origin

President’s Office (December 2004)

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 framed certificate

Description

Certificate – “Most Holy Father – George and Helen Minno humbly beg the Apostolic Blessing and Plenary Indulgence at the hour of death on condition that, being truly sorry for their sins, but unable to receive the last sacraments, they shall at least invoke the Holy Name of Jesus.’’  (Dated September 28, 1950).

Location

M-165

Mirror with SFC Logo (framed)

Title

Mirror with SFC Logo (framed)

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 framed mirror

Description

 

Location

M-170

Mock Convention - Photographs

Title

Mock Convention - Photographs

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Photographs of the mock convention held on campus every four years to

  • 198?, 1984, 1988 -- P1-012
  • 1980s - P1-042
  • 1996? - P1-123 

Location

P1-012  (formerly P1-01-02-06)
P1-042  (formerly P1-01-03-06)
P1-123  (formerly P1-02-05-01)  

Mount Assisi Monastery

Title

Mount Assisi Monastery

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 folder

Description

Promotional brochures about the former Schwab estate

Location

A1-04-30