Archives Finding Aid

Overview of Collection:        Page from 1572 Roman Missal (14x20)

Inclusive Dates:                     1572

Bulk Dates:               

Linear feet:                           1 folder

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note:                 

Provenance                Donated by Mr. John A. Nagy (Class of 1968)

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on April 20, 2018.

Location                     A2-06-14                   

Overview of Collection:        These items were donated to Saint Francis University in 2010 by John Nagy, class of 1968. Mr. Nagy operated an antique document business and donated this collection in 2010 when he decided to close the business and concentrate on writing.  

Inclusive Dates:         July 29, 1710 – August 26, 1710

Bulk Dates:               

Linear feet:                1 file folder containing 10 sheets, 13 x 7-1/2 inches 

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note:      There are 10 issues of this publication in our collection.

• Number 205, Saturday, July 29 – Tuesday, August 1, 1710
• Number 206, Tuesday, August 1 – Thursday, August 3, 1710
• Number 207, Thursday, August 3 – Saturday, August 5, 1710
• Number 208, Saturday, August 5 – Tuesday, August 8, 1710
• Number 209, Tuesday, August 8 – Thursday, August 10, 1710
• Number 211, Saturday, August 12 – Tuesday, August 15, 1710
• Number 213, Thursday, August 17 – Saturday, August 19, 1710
• Number 214, Saturday, August 19 – Tuesday, August 22, 1710
• Number 215, Tuesday, August 22 – Thursday, August 24, 1710
• Unnumbered, Thursday, August 24 – Saturday, August 26, 1710

Provenance                Donated by Mr. John A. Nagy

Restrictions            None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on May 4, 2018.

Location                     A2-06-14

Overview of Collection:        Clements Library Map Portfolio – Europe and the Americas 1486-1606, reproductions of five maps of Europe and the Americas with explanations, originally used for a Columbus Day display, no date (17x23)

Inclusive Dates:        

Bulk Dates:               

Linear feet:                           

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note:               

Provenance                Donated by Mr. John A. Nagy (Class of 1968)

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on April 19, 2018.

Location                     A2-06-14

Overview of Collection:        Approximately 120 letters and documents collected by George Crawford who was a pioneer storekeeper, member of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, Canal Commissioner and lumber merchant.  Chronicles early settlement along the Susquehanna River, the planning and construction of the canal, labor history, lumbering and transporting/milling lumber, and politics in Pennsylvania in the Jacksonian era.   Includes some ephemeral printed items and rare stampless postal markings.  Includes items related to Joseph Biles Anthony, Orlo J. Hamlin, William Fisher Packer, Daniel Sturgeon.

These items were donated to Saint Francis University in 2010 by John Nagy, class of 1968. Mr. Nagy operated an antique document business and donated this collection in 2010 when he decided to close the business and concentrate on writing.  Detailed description prepared by John Dann Appraisals, Dexter, MI in December 2009.

Inclusive Dates:         1815-1869

Bulk Dates:                1831-1853

Linear feet:                 3 storage boxes -- 1 13x18 (M-123a) ; 1 15x22 (M-123b) ; 1 21x25 (M-123c)        

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note:     White and Crawford store related, West Branch Division of the Pennsylvania Canal including check rolls and canal receipts, correspondence.  Detailed description in the George Crawford Papers PDF Link below.

Provenance                Donated by Mr. John A. Nagy (Class of 1968)

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on April 19, 2018.

Location                     

• M-123a -- Correspondence (1834-1869) 
• M-123b -- Canal Letters ; White and Crawford Correspondence ; Correspondence (1817-1833)
• M-123c -- West Branch Division Check Rolls and Canal Receipts

Title

Negatives (Large Photographs)

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

P2-005  (formerly P1-02-06-03)   Negatives 1980s-1990s P2-018  (formerly P1-04-03-02a) Prints of negatives, Pictures of “Old                      Main,” campus, Football team and Individuals, Friars P2-019  (formerly P1-04-03-02b) Glass negatives P4-010                                           Proof Sheets, negatives, other

Location

P2-005  (formerly P1-02-06-03)   P2-018  (formerly P1-04-03-02a) P2-019  (formerly P1-04-03-02b) P4-010

Title                                         Negatives Section - Index

Inclusive Date

Origin

Arrangement                           By approximate box size (i.e. smaller boxes in N1, larger N2, etc. Then arranged chronologically.

Volume

Description                              The Negatives are stored on the opposite side of the Archives from the photographs on the                                                            first shelving stack before the Records Center.

Location

                                   

N1-001

Homecoming 1975, 1980, 1981, 1989 ; Homecoming 1990, Class of 1960, Sister Anne ; Homecoming 1991, 1992, 1993 ; Homecoming 1996, Class of 1940, 1950, 1955, 1965, 1970, 1985 ; Campus Buildings Aug. 1988 (P1-079) ; Homecoming 1997, 1998 ; Commencement 1990 ; Golf Tournament 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993 ; Nancy Simpson Banker (P1-013) ; Stokes Golf Tournament 1991 ; Prates Outing - Mets vs Pirates Sept. 1992 ; Alumni Pirate Outing 1993 ; Pittsburgh President's Reception Oct. 11, 1990 ; Mt. Assisi, Cleveland State Social Dec. 1992 ; Miscellaneous 1992 ; State Department Tour 1993 ; Rider Social Feb. 1993 ; Storm of Century March 1993 ; Bob Bearer ; Grasser ; Bell Tower and Statue ; Distinguished Alumni 1989 ; Homecoming Awards Dinner ; Clergy (Unidentified) ; Bell Tower, Individuals, Stokes Addition construction 1992-1993

 

N1-002  (formerly N1-01-04, 2300-120, 95-N002)

Public Relations 1989, 1994 ; Stokes Addition Jan. 1994 ; College Entrance Jan. 1994 ; College Winter, Other Jan. 1994 ; Dr. Zan & Scholarships Feb. 1994 ; Dorothy Day, Library Feb. 1994 ; Murtha-PA Council for Arts Feb. 1994 ; Delta Epsilon Sigma Feb. 1994 ; Library Staff Feb. 1994 ; Habitat for Humanity March 1994 ; Sir Gawain & The Great Knight, New Theater April 1994 ; Furlong Lecture & Ethics Institute April 1994 ; Appreciation Week April 1994 ; Red Mass, Law Day April 1994 ; Theodore-John Soriano Awards Nominees April 1994 ; Secretaries Day April 1994 ; Awards Convocation April 1994 Rolls 1-5 ; Frankie Nominees April 1994 ; Library April 1994 ; Volleyball April 1994 ; Nurses Pinning May 1994 ; Stokes Archives May 1994 ; Baccalaureate Mass May 1994 Rolls 1-2 ; Commencemnt May 1994 Rolls 1-10 ; Huntingdon Prison, Graduation May 1994 ; Junior Miss Aug. 1994 ; Upward Bound, Ice Cream Social July 1989 ; Homecoming Aug. 1989 ; Freshman Convocation Sept. 1989 ; Harlem Wizards Oct. 1989 ; Alcohol Awareness Week Nov. 1989 ; Nursing Job Career Fair Nov. 1989 ; Clare's Luncheon Nov. 1989 ; Scarlet Letters Nov. 1989 ; Pre-Law & History Club Panel Discussion "Is the Iron Curtain Coming Down" Dec. 5, 1989 ; SFC Christmas Concert Dec. 3, 1989 ; Dr. Marion Kirsh Farewell Party Dec. 1989 ; Christmas Toy Collection Dec. 1989 ; 3 on 3 Basketball 1989 ; Rifle Club 1989 ; Psychology Club "Pepsi Challenge" 1989

 

N1-003  (formerly N1-01-03, 2310-127, 95-N001))

Sports Negatives 1993-1994 : Cross Country 1993 ; Football 1993 Rolls 1-4 ; Men's Golf 1993 ; Men's Soccer 1993 Rolls 1-3 ; Women's Soccer 1993 ; Men's Tennis 1993 ; Women's Tennis 1993 ;  Women's Volleyball 1993 ; Women's Softball 1993 Rolls 1-2 ; Men's Volleyball 1993 Rolls 1-2 ; Women's Softball 1994 Rolls 1-2 ; Cross Country 1994 ; Football 1994 ; Men's Golf 1994 ; Women's Golf 1994 ; Men's Soccer 1994 Rolls 1-2 ; Women's Soccer 1994 Rolls 1-3 ; Men's & Women's Tennis 1994 Rolls 1-2 ; Women's Tennis 1994 ; Women's Volleyball 1994 Rolls 1-2

 

N1-004  (formerly N1-01-09, 2300-121, 96-N001)

Public Relations 1994-1995 : Founder's Day Sept. 16, 1994 ; New Theatre : Miracle of St. Francis Sept. 1994 ; Assisi Award Oct. 1994 ; Gym PT Deb White Car Oct. 1994 ; SBDC Luncheon Oct. 1994 ; Parents Weekend Assisi Award Oct. 1994 ; Dr. Putnick's Class Oct. 1994 ; New Theatre : Bloody Jack Nov. 1994 ; SAMA, Weight Room Nov. 1994 ; First Stokes Building Swim Meet Jan. 1995 ; Stokes Center Feb. 1995 ; Stokes Feb. 1995 ; Stokes, Dorothy Day Center, J.F.K. Feb 1995 ; Ethics Institute March 10, 1995 ; Frankie's Staff 50's April 1995 ; Library Week, Callura Award, Furlong Lecture April 1995 ; President's Awards Convocation April 1995 ; Baccalaureate Mass May 6, 1995 ; Commencement May 7, 1995 ; Junior Miss July 1995 ; SFC Cemetary July 1995 ; Founder's Day Sept. 15, 1995 ; Cermusa St. M. Church Nov. 12, 1995 ; Plaques Dec. 1995 

 

N1-005  (formerly N1-01-10, 2300-121)

Public Relations 1996 : Cermusa and Mock Rape Trial Jan. 1996 ; Snow, Franciscan Provincial Inductions, Cermusa Jan. 1996 ; Alum. Board Meeting Wal for Wellness, Dr. Weixel Feb. 1996 ; Continuing Education Honor Society Induction March 1996 ; Soriano Awards Luncheon, President's Awards Convocation April 1996 ; President's Pittsburgh Alumni Reception April 1996 ; Red Mass, Law Day April 1996 ; Women's Basketball Conference Trophy, Murtha Classroom Dedication April 1996 ; President's Awards Convocation April 1996 ; Murtha Classroom, Social Work Honor Society  April 1996 ; Furlong Lecture, Soriano Awards Luncheon April 1996 ; Mock Convention April 1996 ; President's Awards Convocation, Anniversary Employees April 1996 ; Bedosky Gift, Mock Convention April 1996 ; Soriano Awards, Anniversary Employees April 1996 ; Baccalaureate Mass May 4, 1996, Commencement, May 5, 1996 ; Homecoming Awards, 150th Anniversary Employee Celebration on Mall Aug. 1996 ; Dr. Zan's 80th Birthday, Alice Kunko retirement, '96 Homecoming Aug. 1996

 

N1-006

Public Relations1996-1997 : Employee Reception Aug. 1996 ; St. Francis Feast Day, Opening Oct. 4,1996 ; St. Francis Feast Day, Liturgy Oct. 4, 1996 ; Homecoming Court Oct. 11, 1996 ; Founder's Day Oct. 12, 1996 ; SBDC Lunch Oct. 28, 1996 ; Halloween Oct. 1996 ; Furlong Lecture Oct. 1996 ; RAPS Oct. 1996 ; Cola Challenge Oct. 1996 ; Bedosky Computer Room Oct. 1996 ; Dan Fredricks Oct. 1996 ; Science Fair Dec. 1996 ; Scotus Hall Christmas Decorations Dec. 1996 ; Denise Fetsko, Honors Presentation Dec. 1996 ; Chuck Hall, Dan Fredricks, Dr. Zan Spangler Bank Jan. 1997 ; President's Awards Convocation April 29, 1997 ; Soriano Finalists April 1997 ; Service Learning Awards April 1997 ; Employee Recognition April 1997 ; Construction April 1997 ; Women's Basketball Send-off April 1997 ; Take your Daughter to Work Day April 1997 ; Mr. & Miss Frankie Finalists April 1997 ; Mr. & Miss Frankie Finalists March 1998 (A1-06-25) ; CPR Class April 1997 ; Baccalaureate Mass May 10, 1997 ; Commencement May 11, 1997 ; Men's Retreat June 1997 ; Unidentified classrooms, JFK, individuals 1997

N2-001  (formerly Box 5)

1980s and pre-1980s (years unmarked)

 

N2-002  (formerly N1-01-01, 2300-121, 94-N001)

Public Relations 1980s, photographic negatives and proof sheets   

 

N2-003  (formerly Box 3)

Commencement 1980 ; Community Education Seminars 1981 ; First Physician Assistant Graduation Aug. 1981 ; Parent's Weekend 1981 ; Christmas window painting Dec. 1981, History Honor Society 1981 ; Physician Assistant students at clinical sites 1981-1982 ; Poetry session at Laurel Crest Manor (Kirk Weixel and Sara Kery) Jan. 1982 ; Professional Secretaries Seninar 1982 ; Dr. Crawford, Rose Bradley 1982 ; President's Awards Convocation 1982, 1983 ; Baccalaureate and Commencement 1983 ; Student Orientation 1983 ; Men's Basketball: All-Star John Riley Fund April 1984 ; Women's Basketball: All-Star John Riley Fund April 1984 ; Sports Awards 1984 ; President's Awards Convocation 1984 ; Commencement 1984 ; Parent's Weekend 1984 ; Alumni Gift Nov. 1984 ; Career Day 1984 ; Penelec Check Presentation 1984 ; Class Auction 1984 ; Sorority Dance-a-thon April 1985 ; Red Mass, Law Day 1985 ; Special Olympics Presentation May 1985 ; Small Business Award Presentation May 1985 ; President's Awards Convocation 1985 ; Baccalaureate and Commencement 1985 ; Public Relations Softball Game July 1985 ; Faculty/Staff picnic Aug. 1985 ; Physician Assistants Graduation 1985 ; Orientation and Opening Day  of Classes Aug. 1985 ; General William Westmorland Oct. 1, 1985 ; Parent's Weekend Oct. 1985 ; Statue Dedication Oct. 1985 ; Football 1985 ; Chapel 1984-1985 ; People 1984-1985 ; Events 1985? ; Campus 1985 ; PNGCO Award of Excellence 1985

 

N2-004  (formerly Box 1)

Basketball 1981-1982, 1982-1983, 1983-1984, 1984-1985, 1985-1986, 1986-1987 ; Football 1978, 1984, 1985 ; 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989 ; Fall sports 1987, 1988 ; Half-time Awards Ceremony at Foorball game 1984-1985 

 

N2-005  (formerly Box 3)

Women's Basketball 1982-1983, 1984-1985, 1985-1986, 1986-1987, 1987-1988 ; 1988-1989, 1989-1990 ; Fall sports 1990 ; Football 1990 ; Cheerleaders 1986-1988, 1991

 

N2-006  (formerly Box 4)

Winter Carnival 1986 ; Springfest April 1986 ; President's Awards Convocation 1986;  Red Mass, Law Day 1986 ; Baccalaureate May 1986 ; Commencement May 1986 ; Parent's Weekend Oct. 1986 ; Admissions Open House April 1986, Oct. 1986 ; Mock Convention 1987 ; Work Study Pizza Party 1987 ; Springfest April 1987; Adult Literacy Training Program April 1987 ; Secretaries Lucheon 1987 ; President's Awards Convocation 1987 ; Baccalaureate, Commencement 1987 ; Alumni & Friends Tuition Program 1987 ; Diocesan Priests Dinner 1987 ; Village Cross Restoration, Loretto, Pa. 1987 ; Beach Party & Admissions Scholarship Day Feb. 1988 ; Julian Bond, Kevin Sweeney March 1988 ; Spelling Bee Finals 1988 ; Anniversary Employee Luncheon 1988 ; Red Mass, Law Day 1988 ; Mr. & Miss Frankie Candidates 1988 ; President's Awards Convocation 1988 ; Baccalaureate, Commencement 1988 ; Open House August 1988 ; New Theatre, Great Expectations Oct. 1988 ; Tennis Awards Oct. 1988 ; Founder's Day, Assisi Award Oct. 1988

 

N2-007  (formerly Box 2)

Basketball 1986-1987, 1987-1988, 1988-1989, 1989-1990  

 

N2-008  (formerly N1-01-05, 2300-121, 95-N003)

Public Relations 1989, Jan.-Oct. 1990

 

N2-009  (formerly N1-01-02, 2310-127, 94-N002)

Sports Information Basketball Division Playoffs, NCAA Game, Appreciation & Recognition Dinner 1990-1991

 

N2-010  (formerly Box 4)

Men's Basketball 1990-1991, 1991-1992 ;  Women's Basketball 1991-1992 ; Spring sports 1991 ; Fall sports 1991, 1992 ; Football 1991, 1992 ; Football, Soccer 1990s (P1-156) ; Theatre 1992 ; Speaker 1992 ; Theatre 1992

 

N2-011 

Campus photographs: Bell Tower, Schwab Hall, Schwab garden, Scotus Hall, Immaculate Conception Chapel Statues 1990s? ; Basketball 1990-1991, Women's Basketball 1992-1993, 1993-1994 ; Football 1995 ; Candids 1996 ; Mexico Trip, Spring 1996 [no prints] ; Women's Basketball 1997, NEC Championship ; Christian Hall Groundbreaking Oct. 1997, Construction 1998 (P-123)

 

N2-012  (formerly N1-01-06, 2300-121, 95-N004)

Public Relations 1991-1993

 

N2-013

P1-195 (1999): 1A Bobby Jones Curve Game, Fr. Roland named Head Master of the Order, Disney Magazine Photos ; 1B Continuing Education, JFK Parking Lot, Career Development ; 2A-B Homecoming ; 3A-B Homecoming ; 4A Career Development-Career Day, Campus Shots ; 5A Family Weekend ; 5B Demin Day, Prolife Crosses, Furlong Lecture ; 8A Electronic Classroom, Aids Quilt, Time Capsule ; 8B Founder's Day ; 9A Founder's Day ; 9B College Quest-PA Grads ; 10A Jane McCafferty Book Signing ; 10B Relics-St. Therese, Fr. Christian/Derek Warner ; 11A Aids Quilt ; 11B Homecoming, Mass ; 12A-B Science Day              

 

N2-014

P1-196 (1999-2000): 13A Veteran's Day Luncheon ; 13B John Ruggierio, Phil Benham-Lunch n' Learn ; 14A Special Olympics, 14B Christian Hall ; 15A Scholarship Day Feb. 12, 2000 ; 15B College Quests-Admission, Evan Lipp, OT Hiram, G. Andrews, Van ; 17A-B SFC Honor Society Inductions ; 18A Mr. Frankie,  SBDC Web Design Seminar ; 18B Women's Basketball send off ; 23B Forensics Awards ; 24A Forensics Awards ; 24B Global Marketing/Communications Center      

P1-197 (2000): 25A-B Soriano Awards ; 30A Baccalareate ; 30B Nurses Pinning Ceremony *, Baccalaureate** ; 31A Track & Field Grads, PT Dinner and Nurses Pinning Ceremony * ; 31B Nurses Pinning Ceremony,  Baccalaureate * ; 32B* Soar, Rose Clark and Rosemary Bertocci ; 33A-B Library Photos ; 34A Library Photos ; 34B The Clarks ; 35A The Clarks ; 35B Little Rock ; 36A Little Rock ; 36B Judge Swope/Sebastian Thomas Retirement Party ; 37A Dr. Zan, Electronic Classroom, Service Learing ** ; 37B Preprofessional College Quest ** ; 38A St. Francis Fountain, [Chapel, Athletics *] ; 38B Red Rocks Video Conference ; 39A SOAR ; 39B SOAR *         *Negatives only    

 

N2-015

P1-198 (2000): 41A  Mount/SFC Job Internship Fair ; 41B Girls Math Camp ; 42A-B Girls Math Camp ; 44A Red Mass ; 44B Law Day ; 45A AHEC Health Careers Camp ; 45B Retreat Photos ; 46A Campus Shots (Amici/Walks)  ; 46B  Campus Shots (Fountain, Schwab, Sullivan, Chapel, Library, Bell Tower, Stokes) b&w ** ; 47A Campus Shots (Christian Hall, JFK, Belltower, Chapel) b&w ; 47B Presidents Reception ** ; 48A Presidents Reception, Stokes Announcement ** ; 48B Campus Shots (Friary, Schwab, Scotus) ; 49A-B Men in Black, Campus scenes (Friary, Entrance) **      * Negatives only   **No negatives 

P1-199 (2000-2001): 50A Orientation * ; 50B Freshmen check-in/move in * ; 54A-B Wireless Laptops ; 55A Physical Therapy Dept.* ;      55B SOAR ; 56A-B* Homecoming ; 57A-B* Homecoming ; 62A Science Day ; 62B Occupational Therapy Dept. ; 63A University Announcement, Fr. Dan ; 63B Blue Cross/Blue Shield Donation, Individual Students ; 64A Bell Tower ** ; 64B Occupational Therapy Dept. ; 65A University Announcement Press Conference ;  65B Virtual Graduation, President's Reception (Heinz Hall) ; 66A Founder's Day, Fr. Bede Writing Contest, Safety/Security Week ; 66B Summer Retreat Photo **      * Negatives only   **No negatives

 

N2-016

P1-200 (2000-2001): 67A Veteran's Day Luncheon, Larry ? ; 67B* Fashion Show ; 68A** Magazine Special Edition Cover Photos ; 68B* Awards Convocation/Ken Starr ; 69A Murtha visits Cermusa ; 69B Scholarship Day ; 70A-B Pie Throwing Contest ; 71A Chuck Olsen, Changing sign to University ; 71B Changing sign to University, Pie Throwing Contest ; 72A Scholarship Day, Chuck Olsen ; 72B Chuck Olsen ; 73A Bud Shuster & Fr. Christian ; 73B University Mace                  * Negatives only   **No negatives

P1-201 (2001): 75A Red Mass ; 75B Ethics Institute ; 76A-B Carolyn Tearpock Occupational Therapy ; 77A Bob Crusciel, Marie Melusky ; 77B Ray Ponchione, Math Day, Career Development ; 78A* Anniversary Employees ; 78B Alison Hurtz-Education Club Award, Leslie Conrad ; 82A Ed Orona, Lisa Withrow, Take Back the Night, Social Work Honor Society * ; 82B Science & Tech Career Symposium ; 83A Chuck Olsen Art Opening, Science/Religion Forum ; 83B Global Marketing Communication Center ; 85A SFU Sign at the Entrance   ; 85B Occupational Therapy, Nurses pinning Cermony, Tish       * Negatives only   **No negatives

 

N2-017

P1-202 (2001): 86A Dr. Owens with Chinese visitors, OT Pinning Ceremony ; 86B Dr. Owens with Chinese visitors, PT guest speaker ; 87A-B Baccalaureate Mass, Commencement ; 88A Frankie's, Road in front of Chapel and Sullivan ;  90A Amici Hall, Lenny, Steve R, Fr. Christian and Mace ; 91A Gala Toast, Lenny, Steve R. and Mace ; 91B Dr. Owens with Japanese Students ; 93A-B Twins Magazine Photos 

P1-203 (2001): 94A-B Twins Magazine Photos ; 95A AHEC Med Camp ; 95B Homecoming CD/Negative ; 96A Homecoming ; 96B Road Construction** ; 97A Road Construction ; 98A Bob Bearer ; 98B Brick sidewalk construction, Freshmen receiving laptops ; 99B Brick sidewalk construction, Campus Ministry Birthdays ; 100A Campus Ministry Birthdays, Brick sidewalk construction ; 100B Brick sidewalk construction**                                                                                                                                              **No negatives

P1-204 (2001): 101A Brick sidewalk construction ; 101B Homecoming, Admissions Open House ; 102A Brick sidewalk construction ; 103A Brick sidewalk construction/Charles Kernaghan ; 104A Brick sidewalk construction, Charles Kernaghan ; 104B** Russian Judges ; 105A** Chapel and St. Francis Fountain ; 106A Brick sidewalk construction, Bud Shuster Class ; 106B Bud Shuster Class, Blood Drive          **No negatives

 

N2-018

P1-205 (2001): 108A Chapel at Christmas, Torvian remodeled ; 108B Torvian remodeled, Lake St. Francis ; 109A Torvian, Brick sidewalk ; 109B Clare Ansbury, Gamma Sigma Sigma, Kristi Evanuik-Bio Lab ; 110A Lake St. Francis ; 110B Campus Patriotism ; 111A Terrorism Prayer Service, Raymond Hall, Construction ; 111B Lake St. Francis ; 112A Aaron Tedjeske Campaign, Kristi Evanuik-Bio Lab  

P1-206 (2001): 113A-B Kristi Evanuik-Bio Lab  ; 114A Library TLTC ; 114B Library and Staff ; 115A** Brick sidewalk ; 115B** Ribbon Cutting for Brick sidewalk ; 119A Day of Reflection ; 120A** Disepio Chair ; 120B Holy Land Foundation ; 121A Ribbon Cutting-Nursing, JFK Lounge Desk ; 121B JFK Lounge Desk, Students in JFK Lounge                 **No negatives  

P1-207 (2001): 122A Br. Mark McBride, OT Dedication ; 122B Torvian Ribbon Cutting, Science Day ; 123A Students in JFK Lounge, Frankies C-Store, Matt C ; 123B Assisi Award Dinner ; 124A-B Assisi Award Dinner ; 125A Assisi Award Dinner ; 125B Thanksgiving Prayer Service ; 126A Thanksgiving Prayer Service ;  126B St. Michael's Bridge Project                                         

 

N2-019   

P1-208 (2001-2002): 127A Christmas season Light Up Night ; 128A Moscow Boys Choir ; 128B Olympic Torch ; 129A American Association of University Women ; 129B* Old Frankie's Award ; 130A-B PT college Quest, Bob Beaner B-day, Jason Plummer ; 131A Commencement Program Bells ; 131B Women's Basketball Farewell ; 132A Women's Lacrosse, Forensics ; 132B** Scholarship Day   * Negatives only    **No negatives

P1-209 (2002): 133A-B Frankie's Finalists, Efrain Ramierez, Cambria County Coroner ; 134A Fit Kids, Frankie's Finalists, Galapagos Trip Presentation ; 134B Bookstore Display, Employee Recognition Luncheon ; 135A Employee Recognition Luncheon ; 136A Employee Recognition Luncheon ;  136B Deidre Maloney book signing ; 137A* Stokes Career Fair ; 137B Bookstore Display, Social Work Honor Society Inductions ; 138A Business Day Fashion Show ; 138B** Gold St. Francis Statue                      * Negatives only   **No negatives

 

N2-020

P1-210 (2002): 139A-B Delta epsilon Sigma ; 140A President Awards Convocation ; 140B Ethics Institue/Delta Sigma & Make a Wish Check ; 141A Anteinette Bosco-Furlong Lecture ; 141B Business, Math Day ; 142A Nursing, OT Pinning Ceremony, Red Mass, Fr. Oravec with past Mr./Miss Frankies ; 142B Nursing, OT Pinning Ceremony, Baccalaureate Mass   

P1-211 (2002): 143A Commencement ; 143B Commencement, Baccalaureate Mass ; 144A Dave Lattove ; 144B** Career Development Miscellaneous ; 145A Campus Tours ; 145B AHEC Med Camp, Fountain and Chapel ; 147A ACE Staff, Campus Ministry Birthdays ; 147B** King Lear ; 148B Ethics Institute, China Delegation ; 149A China Delegation ; 149B Bookstore Ribbon Cutting and Open House, * unidentified groups and individuals - Physician Assistant Program                                  *Negatives only         **No negatives      

 

N2-021

P1-212 (2002): 150A Career Fair ; 150B Denim Day , Founder's Day ; 151A Founder's Day ; 151B** Memorial Trees and Benches, Scholarship Day, Assissi Award ; 152A Disepio Information Assurance Lab, Pieta Dedication ; 152B** Pieta Shrine ; 153A** Pieta Shrine ; 153B Delta Epsilon Sigma, Special Olympics check ; 154A Fr. Bede Hines Writing Festival ; 154B Cemetery, Science Day                     **No negatives

P1-213 (2003): 155A Peace Vigil, Furlong Lecture, Education Dept. ; 155B Student Panel Judges, Pam Davis Party, St. Francis Statue East Entrance ; 156A Employee Recognition Luncheon ; 156B L. Robert Kimball and Doctoral Degree, Red Mass, Law Day, Dr. Crawford ; 157A Mass Immaculate Conception Chapel, Dr. Rhea Gaunt (CQ) ; 157B Special Olympics, Punxsutawney Phil ; 158A Punxsutawney Phil, Continuing Education Honor Society Induction ; 158B History and Political Science, Martin Luther King Day ; 159A Presidents Awards Convocation  ; 159B  Scholarship Day                                 

 

N2-022     

P1-214 (2003): 160A Scholarship Day ; 160B Scholarship Day '03, Governor Rendell Visit, Wind Meter Installation ; 161A Campus Scenery (flowers) ; 161B Founding Friars statue samplers, Dr. Zan and Campus Scenery ; 162A Founding Friars statue samplers ; 162B Delta Epsilon Sigma (1) Education Inductions (1-2) CDs only ; 163A Education Inductions (1-2), Cermusa Groundbreaking (2) CDs only ; 163B Hines Hall Reception CD only ; 164A Commencement ; 164B Unidentified group on Scotus steps (Soar ?), Unidentified event at JFK auditorium CD & negatives only     

P1-215 (2003): 165A Baccalaureate dinner ; Commencement ; 165B Commencement ; 166A-B Baccalaureate Mass ; 167A-B  Soar (B-CD, negatives only) ; 168A* Soar ; 169A* Soar ; 169B AHEC Med Camp CD & negatives only ;  170A Homecoming ; 170B Campus Ministry Birthdays ; 171A* Herbert Mann ; 171B** Campaign Leaders  ; 172B Founder's Day                                   * Negatives only       **No negatives      

 

N2-023

P1-216 (2003): 173A Founder 's Day, Cooling Springs Defiore ; 173B Alcohol Summit ; 174A** Province Franciscan Retreat ; 175A Day of Reflection, Bernie Petroski Scholarship Lunch, Myron Family ; 175B Library Display 40th Anniversary JFK Assissination ; 176A** Southern Alleghenies Museum of Art event ; 176B Denim Day, Adele Azar Rucquoi Furlong Lecture, Jim Steiner ; 177A Veteran's Day Luncheon, Science and Math Day Quiz Bowl ;  177B Jim and Julia Burke (Burke - neurosurgery on coat), Jelena Petrovic-Chemistry Scholarship, unidentified man at piano ; 178A Fr. Christian Oravec with Perry Sextuplets ; 178B Fr. Christian Oravec with Perry Sextuplets on John Walsh TV Show (includes data disc) ; 180A Bruno Dego and Phonebooth Postcard for Annual Fund (1 postcard, 3 CDs only)                              **No negatives       

P1-217 (2004): 181A Women's Basketball sendoff  ; 181B Rural Telehealth Research Center - Cermusa ; 182A** Kathleen Kennedy and Joe Melusky ; 182B** Kathleen Kennedy keynote speaker at Mock Convention ; 183A** Mock Convention Students with Kathleen Kennedy ; 183B** Mock Convention JFK as convention hall ; 184A** Current Affairs Club posing with Kathleen Kennedy ; 184B** Reception for Kathleen Kennedy ; 185A Law Day, Red Mass and Judge Marjorie Rendell, Awards Night ; 185B Employee Awards Luncheon                                            **No negatives     

P1-218 (2004): 186A Fr. Christian Oravec's last Donut Heaven ; 187A Student award to Fr. Oravec at Donut Heaven, Baccalaureate Mass ; 187B Baccalaureate Mass ; 189A Commencement, Ellen Strohmier ; 189B Commencement, FCO awards, Last Diploma ; 191A-B Fr. Christian Oravec faculty farewell picnic ; 192A Fr. Christian Oravec faculty farewell picnic ; 192B** Sife Regional Champions, Campus Ministry Friars                                                                                                                            **No negatives

                             

N2-024

P1-219 (2004-2005): 193A Fr. Christian Oravec with Perry's at Luncheon, Alcohol Summit ; 194A Legacy Lunch, Teams Learning ; Project ; 195A Bernie Petroski Memorial Golf Tournament, Presidential Medalion ; 195B Presidential Medalion ;  196A** Presidential Medalion ; 196B** Miscellaneous Winter Scene ; 197A**-B** President's Awards Convocation with Fr. Gabriel Zeis ;  198A**-B** Degol Field Groundbreaking ; 199A Degol Field                 **No negatives

P1-220 (2004-2008): Miscellaneous : ** Mr & Miss Frankie Awards (2004) ; ** President's Awards Convocation (2004) ; Hands study for Commencement Program (2005) ; ** Founders Day (2005) ; ** Café Voltaire, Boilerhouse (2007?) ; ** Commencement  (2008)                                                                                                                                     * Negatives only    **No negatives

P1-221 (2004-2006): Carrie Blough 2004?  CD only ; ** Mr & Miss Frankie Awards (2004) 7 x 5s ;  148A** Katie Corbett Marathon (2004?) 7x 5s ; 185A** President's Awards Convocation (2004) 7 x 5s ; 198B Degol Field Groundbreaking 2005 7 x 5s ; 199B** Degol Field Dedication 7 x 4.25 ; ** Sports, Campus, Gubbio, Torvian 2005 6 x 4s ; ** Mr & Miss Frankie Awards (2006) 7 x 5s ; ** Commencement 2006 (1-2) 7 x 5s         **No negatives

P1-222 (1998-2008): ** President's Awards Convocation 2007 (Including Mr. & Miss Frankie 2007) ; ** Graduate Commencement 2007? 7 x 5s ; Commencement 2007; ** President's Awards Convocation 2008 (Including Mr. & Miss Frankie 2008) ; ** Faculty formal poses 1998-2006?          **No negatives

P1-235 (2000-2002):  Library Photographs:  Candids, TLTC May 23, 2000 ;  *** Commencement 2000 ;  Library individual employees April 11, 2001 ; Library individual employees April 12, 2001 ; Library individual employees, *** Other campus employees,*** OT open house April 23, 2001 ;  Library individual employees April 23, 2001 ; Library individual employees, Employee Service Awards April 26, 2001 ; Library individual employees April 26, 2001 ; Library candids and TLTC Oct. 11, 2001 ; Library TLTC Oct. 11, 2001  ;  Library candids and TLTC Oct. 11, 2001 ; Library employees group photographs Oct. 11, 2001 ; *** Classroom (Scotus?), *** Library employees group photographs, *** SFU Freshmen Checkin at Stokes  April 22, 2002 ; *** Choir book 13th century?  [Original book in the Archives QT 264.025 C5459]                                        ***CD only

 

 

Overview of Collection:        Father Vincent Negherbon, T.O.R. served at head librarian from 1947-1966 ; Dean of Students from 1949-1952 and 1956-1957 ; Academic Dean from 1962-1963 ; Executive Vice President from 1962-1966 ; President from July 1966 to June 1972 ; Residential Assistant from July 1972 to November 1973 and Vice President for College Relations from 1973 to 1983.  Many of these items reflect his work as a librarian.  On being named President of Saint Francis College in 1966 Father Vincent stated “…I believe I was best known by the title of which I will always be more than a little proud:  Father Vincent, Librarian.”

Inclusive Dates:

Bulk Dates:

Linear feet:  1 archival box

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note

A1-05-45

• Announcement from the President May 10, 1972 (Father Vince announces his resignation as President of Saint Francis College)
• Catholic Library Association
  • Catholic Library Association Western Pennsylvania Unit Tenth Annual Luncheon, Feb 18, 1967 (program)
  • Western Pennsylvania Unit Catholic Library Association Twentieth Annual Luncheon Feb 19, 1977 (program) --  ("In 1958, the Reverend Vincent Negherbon, TOR, librarian of St. Francis College in Loretto, and chairman of the Western Pennsylvania Unit of the Catholic Library Association, conceived the idea of inaugurating an annual social affair, designed to bring together themembers of the Unit as well as librarians and book lovers of the Pittsburgh area, to celebrate Catholic Book Week."
  • Catholic Library Association Library Education Newsletter, Spring 1963 (Fr. Vincent Negherbon, T.O.R. Secretary-Treasurer (1961-1963)
• Correspondence: Cambria County Historical Society 1960
• Faculty Rank and Faculty Status Among Librarians (Catholic Library World, May 1964, v.35)
• Funeral Oration for Maurice Stokes by Rev. Vincent Negherbon, T.O.R.
• Greeting cards
• News Release, March 13, 1972 (Father Vince resigns)
• Obituary (and signs used with library display at the time of Father’s death in 2008
• Negatives
• Photographs
• Pittsburgh Sun-Telegraph
  • February 28, 1950 (St. Francis Passers Battle Westminster)
  • May 29, 1950 (Loretto Special – St. Francis College graduates 154)
• Pius XII Memorial Library Dedication May 2, 1959 (program)
• Recognition Dinner July 31, 1997 ( program)
• Silver Sacerdotal Jubilee, June 18, 1996 (invitation)
• Photo book pages
• Plaque dedication July 26, 2008 (DVD)
• Say Farewell to Fr. Vincent November 9, 1971(invitation to event sponsored by Residence Life)
• Saint Francis University Magazine (Spring 2008 – A Long Life, Well Lived (tribute to Father Vincent Negherbon)
• Loretto
  • November 13, 1987 (Father Bids Farewell)
  • January 25, 1980 (33 Years of Responsibility)

M-67  --  Throw featuring the face of Father Vince from a photograph.  Donated by Jerry Lacey '60 in July 2008.   Hanging on main floor of library near Public Services desk (8/2017)

M-168  --   Framed music verse in Latin “Oni est tia(?). O Die nata…”

M-169 --  Framed hand painted picture of a Bird of Paradise(?)

M-175  --  Plaque – “This Building is the Combined Efforts of Fr. Vincent Negherbon, Margaret Tobin, Jack Rea, Tom Large, Bill Kaltenborn, Bill Montomery”

M-235  --  An Inspiration, by Michael Strueber, 1975 (painting ; 26.5 x 23.75 x 1.5 ins.)

M-236 -- The Alleghenies by Michael Streuber (painting ; 31 x 23.5 x .75 ins.)

M-237  --  Untitled [image of a barn] by Michael Streuber (painting ; 33.25 x 26.5 x 1 ins.)

Provenance

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on June 8, 2018.

Location

Title

News Releases (Sports)

Inclusive Dates

1952-

Origin

Sports Information Office

Arrangement

Chronological by Fiscal Year (July to June)

Volume

9 document cases

Description

Contains news releases for sporting events, specifically stating event schedules, team ranking and game results.  Sports included are men’s football, basketball, soccer, cross country, tennis for both men and women.  Logs are available for some of these releases.

Location

Miscellaneous Personnel; Red Flash Round-Up;Baseball; Boxing; Golf; Hockey; Men's Cross Country, Soccer, Tennis, and Volleyball -  A1-01-32 Logs; Honors and Awards; Rifle; Schedules; Wrestling; Women's Cross Country, Golf, Swimming, Tennis, Soccer, Softball, and Volleyball; Men's and Women's Cross Country and Track Combined - A1-01-33 Football (1953-1988) - A1-02-49 Football (1989-1994) - A1-04-06 Women's Basketball (1975-1994) - A1-05-05 Women's Basketball (1994-1997) - A1-05-06 Men's Basketball (1955-1981) - A2-01-35 Men's Basketball (1981-1988) - A2-01-36 Men's Basketball (1988-1994) - A2-01-37 Men's Basketball (1995-1996) and Women's Basketball (1997-1998) - A2-01-38 Men's Soccer and Cross Country; Women's Volleyball, Soccer, Tennis, and Golf (1997-1998) - A2-01-39

Overview of Collection:

This collection of articles from mostly local newspapers highlight good deeds done by individuals associated with Saint Francis College at the time as well as other unique events related to the College.  These may have been pulled together when the Stewards of the Vision was being written.   Two of the items were identified as being in the Sesquicentennial book.

Inclusive Dates: 1965-1984

Bulk Dates: 1970-1979

Linear feet: materials are housed in an acid-free folder inside a 13x18 box [A2-06-12] 

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note

• Graduates are announced for St. Francis College; Earle, Schwab to Attend (90^th Anniversary of Founding of Institution Also to be Observed). (undated)
• GIs May Get Korean’s Blood. Philip Woo, native of Korea gives blood on campus of St. Francis College while Father Adrian J. Veigle looks on (undated)
• Engineer Pulls Her Weight at N.Y. Central Lab Here.  Cleveland Press, 7-15-1965, Elizabeth Musy, BS degree in Chemistry from St. Francis College.
• Brothers play with broken bones.  Mountaineer Herald, 11-7-1973, Jay and Justin Roberts shown with trainer Ray Kist.
• (Alpha Phi Delta raises money with “Let’s Join Hands” project). Mountaineer Herald, 12-28-1973, Marty Marbach, Rev. Seamus Glancy, T.O.R., Rev. Colman McGarril, T.O.R.
• (High winds topple 187 foot WWSF radio transmitting tower).  Portage Dispatch, 4-9-1975
• Star Auction Item.  Johnstown Tribune-Democrat, 4-10-1975, Rev. Vincent Negherbon, T.O.R. and Veronica Bussard, Director of Women’s Athletics, displaying Norm Van Lier basketball uniform to be auctioned to benefit the Student Scholarship Fund.  
• Berwick teacher has that rare gift-talent.   Berwick Enterprise, 8-29-1975   Rosemary McDanel, graduate of St. Francis College, has solo art show.
• Employees honored.  Mountaineer Herald, 10-16-1975  Francis Little honored for 35 years of service with Father Sean M. Sullivan, T.O.R. ; Hilary Little honored for 15-1/2 years of service with Alfred Smith, director of the St. Francis physical plant.
• Scholarship Awarded.   Portage Dispatch, 8-11-1976, Ray Ponchione, Don McLauglin (president of Del Boring), Mary Ann Kokus (advertising coordinator for Del Boring) drawing winner of second annual Del Boring Scholarship Award.  The winner was Isabel Cruse.
• Receives Honor Award.  Mountaineer Herald, 9-8-1977.  Grace Little receives Honorary Alumna Award from Father Vincent Negherbon, T.OR.
• Writing Award.   South Hills Record, 9-1-1977.  Joy Thoma receives 1977 Gunard Berry Carlson Creative Writing contest plaque from Barbara C. Travaglini.
• Flash Trainer Lifts Burden from Coaches.   Tribune-Democrat, 12-11.1977.  Ray Kist, trainer and Rhonda Varnish, student trainer, tape ankle of Scott “the Shot” Layden.
• Social Work Majors Intern at Area Agencies.   Union Press-Courier, 12-21-1977.  Diana Lieb social work major at Conemaugh Valley Memorial Hospital.
• St. Francis College Students Serving As Interns in Social Welfare Agencies.  Altoona Mirror, 12-27-1977.  Vicky Swenson, social work major at Altoona Hospital.
• (Social fraternities and sororities Greek Weekend fund-raiser).  Altoona Mirror, 12-27-1977.  Cindy Matsko, president of Phi Delta Kappa Sorority, Andy Farley, president of Phi Kappa Theta, Dave Scanga, president of Alpha hi Delta and Sam Piccioni, president of Delta Sigma Phi present check to Frank Wyland, Loretto Fire Department assistant chief.
• SFC Social Work Majors Intern at Area Agencies.  Barnesboro Star, 12-28-1977.  Celeste Zbikowski social work intern at Flood Relief Center.
• Mr. Spock, Nimoy Treks to Loretto.  Gallitzin Mainliner, 2-15-1978.   Leonard Nimoy speaks to packed house at event sponsored by student union cultural committee.
• UFOs ‘They Exist’ Claims College Guest Speaker.  Mainliner & Dispatch. 3-8-1978.  Stanton T. Friedman
• Cage Star to Chair Bike-Hike on May 7.  Daily Herald, 4-19-1978.  Nick Leasure, St. Francis student and basketball player,  honorary chairman of 1978 event in Tyrone, PA
• Receives Award.  Blair Press, 5-16-1978.  Doris Lynch shown with Hollidaysburg Mayor Charles Harclerode shares the outstanding student achievement award she received at Presidents Convocation.
• Computer Camps.  Johnstown Tribune-Democrat, 7-18-1983.  Father John Kudrick with student at day camps.  [Stewards of the Vision, page 60]
• Chasing a Ball. Altoona Mirror, (1984).  Tau Kappa Epsilon (TKE) SMILE Saturdays.
• Students pitch in.  Johnstown Tribune-Democrat, 4-14-1984.  Phi Lambda Psi sorority clean up Loretto neighborhood. [Stewards of the Vision, page 31]
• Retiring master carpenter creates new mace for university. Altoona Mirror, [undated].  Leonard Siedlarcyzk creates new mace for University’s 150^th Anniversary celebration.

Provenance

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on November 28, 2017.

Location

A2-06-12

Title

Newspaper Clippings (Library Scrapbooks)

Inclusive Dates

1918-1987

Origin

Public Relations Office

Arrangement

Chronological

Volume

1 document case; 2 legal document cases

Description

Photocopies of news articles clipped from local and regional newspapers and originally glued in scrapbooks.  The articles are of a general nature and include those written independently as well as news releases from the College Public Relations Office.  Sporting events articles are separate from the general clippings. The scrapbooks are stored in the Records Archives on unused shelves near the back.  The originals are used for exhibits and can be used by patrons.  This record identifies the location of the photocopies stored in the Records Archives.  There are six document cases. Some of the books were for sports related items only.  [A1-02-38 and A1-02-39].  Items have been photocopied for preservation.  The locations of the photocopies are noted in the front of each scrapbook.  Papers from which articles were clipped include:  Altoona Mirror; Johnstown Tribune-Democrat; Portage Dispatch; Cresson Mainliner; Mountaineer-Herald; Altoona Catholic Register; Pittsburgh Press; Union Press-Courier and Barnesboro Star.

Location

A1-01-48 (1950-1981)  A1-02-38 (1947-1971)  A1-02-39 (1972-1976)

Title

Newspaper Clippings (Miscellaneous)

Inclusive Dates

1856-1990s

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

Miscellaneous newspaper articles-various subjects and dates.  Of special interest: February 23, 1856 Cambria Tribune article which contains information about the bill to incorporate the Franciscan Friars of Cambria County.  Copies of some of the articles from the Union Press-Courier. Article titled “A trip to Catholic Loretto and its schools” was written in 1882 and describes the campus at the time.  Reference is made to Brother Lawrence who spoke about planting the trees “twenty years ago.” Undated article about Brother Joseph finding a pearl which he gave to Mrs. Charles Schwab Mainliner (Cresson) Clippings 1964 1,250 students return (1st and 3rd page missing) College series begins Monday (Sept. 24, 1964) Many social activities, 1964 (1st and 3rd page missing)

Location

A1-03-45

Title

Newspaper Clippings (Public Relations Office)

Inclusive Dates

1975-

Origin

Public Relations Office

Arrangement

Chronological

Volume

25 document cases

Description

Photocopies of articles which were mostly in local newspapers referencing Saint Francis College and University.  At various times, a clipping service was used that searched all Pennsylvania newspapers for references to SFC.  At other times, students in the Public Relations Office did the clipping.  Materials were originally in three-ring binders.  Tobin Center staff have photocopied articles onto acid-free paper and stored this in document cases.  The originals have been destroyed.  Some clippings were organized by newspaper and then chronological.  Others are chronological without regard to source. Items added after 2016 were not photocopied. (1/24/17 - bcd)

Location

1919-1981 -- A1-01-48 1973-1974 -- A1-02-01 1975-1977 -- A1-02-02 1978-1981 -- A1-02-03 1980-1983 -- A1-03-23 1982-1984 -- A1-02-04 9/1983-12/1984 -- A1-03-32 7/1984-5/1995 -- A1-03-37 1985-1987 -- A1-02-05 3/1985-6/1985 -- A1-03-33  7/1985-2/1986 -- A1-03-34 2/1986-7/1986 -- A1-03-35 8/1986-4/1987 -- A1-03-36 5/1987-12/1987 -- A1-03-38 1988 -- A1-03-44 7/1988-12/1989 -- A1-03-24 6/1980-6/1990 -- A1-03-25 7/1990-11/1990 -- A1-03-26 7/1991-9/1992 -- A1-03-27 9/1992-6/1994 -- A1-03-28 7/1990-6/1993 -- A1-03-29 1/1993-6/1993 -- A1-03-31 7/1991-6/1993 -- A1-03-30 1994-1995 -- A1-04-03 1995-1996 -- A1-04-04 6/1996-7/1997 -- A1-04-52 6/1996-7/1997 -- A1-04-53 1997 - 2003 --  A1-05-50 Various unorganized (originals) 7/1998 - 6/1999 -- A1-05-50 Altoona Mirror, Mainline, Mountaineer Herald, others (originals) 7/1999-6/2000 -- A1-06-33 Altoona Mirror (some older) (original) 7/1999 - 6/2000 -- A1-06-34 Mainliner/Mt. Herald/ Misc (originals) 7/2000 - 6/2001 -- A1-06-41 (originals) 7/2001 - 6/2002 -- A1-05-49 Altoona Mirror, Mainline, Mountaineer Herald, Tribune Democrat (originals) 7/2002 - 6/2003 -- A1-05-49 Tribune Democrat, Mainline, Catholic Register (originals) Undated - Graduates - A1-05-46

Title

Newspaper Clippings (Sports)

Inclusive Dates

1958-1996

Origin

Arrangement

Chronological

Volume

14 document cases

Description/Location

Sports clippings contain newspaper articles n St. Francis College sporting events.  The articles contain announcements and reports on outcomes of sporting events.  The bulk of this information is from 1958-1980.  One item from 1913.  Article from October 28, 1948 about SFC and SVC rivalry in football. (1913-1983) - A1-01-47 (original photos should be stored elsewhere-bcd 4/19/18) (1988-1990; 6/1990-10/1990) - A1-03-16 (11/1990-6/1991) - A1-03-17 (7/1991-12/1992) - A1-03-18 (7/1992-6/1994) - A1-03-19 (1993-1996) - A1-03-20 (1973-1980) - A1-02-06 (1/1986-12/1986) - A1-03-39 (9/1984-12/1985; 1/1985-12/1985; 1985-1986 undated) - A1-03-40 (1/1987-10/1987) - A1-03-21 (11/1987-41998) - A1-03-22 (11/1987-1/1988; 3/1988-4/1988) - A1-03-44 (1988) - A1-04-05 (6/1996-6/1997) - A1-04-52 (6/1996-6/1997) - A1-04-53 (1997-1998) - A1-05-18, A1-05-22 (misc) - A1-06-10 (1980-1981; 1982-1983; 6/1983-9/1983; 1984-1985) - A2-01-42

 

Title

Newspaper Clippings (Sports Miscellaneous)

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

2 file folders

Description

Folder 1 contains pages from a scrapbook (1920); newspaper articles (undated) about:  Temple College win over SFC, SFC cage team; photograph of basketball team from June 1924 Alvernia; Basketball team (1950’s includes Maurice Stokes); Elmer Dailey obituary; St. Francis Football dates back to 1909 article from 1969 Union Press-Courier. Folder 2 contains clippings gathered by Father Vincent on Dave Magarity, Kevin Porter, Jeff Quin and Father Christian in the 1980s when the basketball team was being reorganized.  St. Francis Passers Battle Westminster from Pittsburgh Sun-Telegraph (1950s)

Location

A1-03-45

Overview of Collection:

Newspaper inserts and major articles about Saint Francis College / University.  Items are listed in the order filed with the low number being the item on the top of the box.  Also includes one broadside from 1873.

Inclusive Dates: 1873-1998

Bulk Dates: 1970-1990

Linear feet:    13x18 archival box [A2-06-12] / 19x25 archival box [A2-06-10]

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note

A2-06-10

1. Excelsior Hall! St. Francis College, Loretto Feb. 22, 1873 A Select Entertainment to be given by St. Josephs’ Philomathean Society. [broadside]
2. Old Main Fire Folder
   • Fire Sweeps ‘Old Main’ Building at St. Francis / 125 flee as flames destroy structure; Damage is $250,000 / Raging Blaze Lays West St. Francis Structure [undated], original and photocopy
   • Johnstown Democrat, 10/31/1941.  All Escape as St. Francis Old Main Burns to Ground / St. Francis Officials Hope to Rebuild / Fire Razes Old Main, Causes $250,00 Lose (one copy is full page, one if just the article)
   • The fire at its height, when no human means could stay its destructive progress (photo and caption)
   • Scenes of Havoc That Struck (four photographs of the fire)
   • Principal Building of St. Francis’ College Completely Destroyed / Despite staggering blow, classes will reopen Nov 16 on Schwab Estate, All 200 books of Gallitzin library lost (October 31, 1942)   (Original and copy)
   • Flames at Height as St. Francis College “Old Main is Destroyed
   • Altoona Register.  11/15/1942.  Housing Facilities Arranged for Faculty, Students on Estate ; Stricken College is Returning to Normalcy Following Disastrous Fire; Plans are announced. (copy)
   • Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.  10/31/1942.  St. Francis “Old Main” Left in Ruins by Blaze / Fire Destroys “Old Main” at St. Francis.
3. Altoona Mirror.  10/2/1985.  Westermoreland tells students at St. Francis:  “We didn’t lose.” (original and photocopy)
4. USA Today - Academic All-Stars. 1/19/1990. Anita Fusco (class of 1990)  
5. The Cambria Tribune.  2/23/1856. Bill to Incorporate Franciscan Friars of Loretto.
6. The Altoona Mirror.  11/6/1971.  Rural & Urban Living Section – Saint Francis College Seeking Public Help.
7. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.  10/6/1947.  Daily Magazine – As Saint Francis College Celebrates Centennial.
8. College Quest - insert to Altoona Mirror (See detailed list Newspaper Inserts -- College Quest)

A2-06-12

1. Newspaper Clippings (Campus Events)
2. The Service Loretto. 5/17/1943
3. The Tribune-Democrat Sunday  2/26/1978.  Cardiac patients cover lots of ground (features Father Vince Negherbon, TOR)
4. The Tribune-Democrat. 11/18/1967.  Weekender Magazine.  From Estate to Monastery (front page only)
5. Supplement to the Altoona-Johnstown Catholic Register.  [undated]  4 page insert highlighting Saint Francis College (original and 1 photocopy)
6. The Tribune-Democrat. 10/9/1971  Saint Francis College: companion to industry
7. The Tribune-Democrat.  11/4/1967: A New Era at Saint Francis
8. The Tribune-Democrat Weekender.  01/29/1955.  St. Francis Looks to the Future (3 page article with photographs)
9. The Catholic Register.  5/27/1985.  St. Francis Coach Convinced:  Quality Football Program Depends on Quality People.  Coach Hugh Conrad with Chris Tantlinger and Paul Friga. (original and photocopy)
10. Vacation in Vistaland “Cambria County’s Family Vacationland” [undated]  includes an article on Loretto and St. Francis College
11. The Catholic Register.  5/20/1987.  A Special Commemorative Edition, Bishop Joseph Victor Adamec

Provenance

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on December 1, 2017.

Location

A2-06-10
A2-06-12

Overview of Collection:

Newspaper insert to the Altoona Mirror titled College Quest which featured articles by and about local Colleges.  Earlier issues featured a St. Francis College/University advertisement on the back.  Later issues were two page articles.

Inclusive Dates: 1996-2003

Bulk Dates: 1996-2003

Linear feet:  

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note

• SAT Madness.  Profile: Saint Francis College. 09/24/1996. (Rev. Christian R. Oravec, TOR  - President)
• America’s HOPE Scholarships.  Profile: Saint Francis College Liberal Arts: The Foundation of the Search for Wisdom by Dan Fredericks Ph.D. and Donna Menis. 10/22/1996.
• College Knowledge to Go.  Profile: Saint Francis Prepares Student-Athletes For Life. 11/19/1996. (Dr. Nick C. Leasure, I. V. Davis, Harry Felty, Ted Helsel, Father Bede Hines, TOR, Dr. William Hughes, Bonnie Kleinschuster, Eugene Kruis, James Leonard, Father Jonas McCarthy, TOR, Maurice Stokes).
• The Money Monster.  Profile: Saint Francis Collete Degrees on Evenings and Weekends. 12/17/1996. (Bernie SmithChris Trofino, Carol Clark, David Walls, Patricia DeFrehn, Michael Baker).
• Teacher Standards. Profile: Liberal Arts at Saint Francis College. 01/28/1997. (Joseph F. Rodkey, Jr, Kathy Garrett Subasic, De. Annette M. Cronauer, Wlaine Lewis, Ammon Ripple, Dr. john Trimble, Dr. Todd Krug, Antoione Gatto Miller, J Domenic Calkins, Todd Mahalko, Bob Cullen, Mark Boldizar).
• College is for Everyone. Profile: Graduate Education in the Nineties - Bridge to the Future by Philip Benham, Ph.D . 2/25/1997. (Dr. Philip Benham, Dr. Randy Frye, Dr Edward Pisarski, Dr. Elisabeth Gensante, Donald Walkovich, MS, Dr. William Duryea, Albert Simon)
• The Postman Cometh. Profile: Saint Francis College Pre-Professional Programs by Wayne Takacs, Ph.D. 03/25/1997. (Dr. James P. Burke, Alicia Lombardo, Dr Dana Gjurich, O.D., Lt. Kimberly (wyatt) Ryan, M.D., Bruce Wheeler, Dawn Marie Gregg, Dr, Annette Cronauer, D.C., Anthony V. Dill, Daniel G. Newcomer, Gregory Lieb)
• Dealing With Rejection. Profile: Saint Francis College Summer School - Spend Your Summer With us…. 04/22/1997.
• Beyond Brochures. Profile: Saint Francis College Provides Excellent Environment For a Career in Law by Paul S. McGrath, Jr., Esquire. 05/20/1997. (Atty. Joseph F. Rodkey, Jr., Atty. Patrick J. Guinee, Atty. Kurt Seishauser,  Atty. Kevin Persio, Any M. Yokitis, Cindy D. Waeger, Michelle L. Cobaugh, Bradley J. Walent).
• New Seniors’ Summer College Visits. Profile: Degrees of honor by Richard Crawford, Ed.D. 06/24/1997. (Bernard Covitch, Edward Brown Hill, MD, Betty Mattas James, Shirley A. Pechter, Sara Ann Sargent, Aline Donahoe Wolf, Albert A. Zanzuccki, Ed.D)
• The First-Year College Experience. Profile: A Liberal Arts Degree—The Best job Preparation. 09/30/1997. (Theodore Baranik, Ron Bertovich, Anne Cruzan, Louis DiCerbo, The Honorable Neale F. Hooley, Helen Jablonski Kambic, Michael Kutcher, Monsignor Anthony O’Toole, Monsignor Joseph O’Toole, Sr. Charlotte Rodgers, Theresa Wachter-Ream, Gary D. Wolfe)
• Financial Aid 101.  Quality is Part of the mission at Saint Francis College by Mr. Albert Simon. 10/28/1997. (Albert Simon, Raymond Ponchione, Karen Seresun, Jenny Przekwas, F.J. Hartland, Donna Menis, Dr. Joseph Melusky, Dr. Marion Rhem, Dr. Edward P. Zovinka, Maria Bogus, Kevin Donner, David Wilson, Dr. Sue Morra, Albert Simon)
• Lowering the Cost of Higher Education. Saint Francis College Means Business by Randy L. Frye, Ed.D., MBA, CMA. 11/25/1997. (Thomas P. Finn, Teresa A. Waksmonski, Dee Shellenberger, Lawrence T. Giannone, Pamela A. Hough, Donald Degol, James J. Barroner, Michelle Mathers, Martin J. Marasco)
• The Art of the Interview. The Biological Sciences: A World of Possibilities by Wayne Takacs, Ph.D.  3/31/1998. (Dr. Steven Keating, Shelley Kirkpatrick, Dr. Marian Langer, Dr. Lawrence Pion, Dr. Sue Morra, Dr. Suean Reimer, Reverend Emil Resconich, TOR, Dr. John Trimble) [poster]
• Career Trends for the New Millennium. SFC Nursing Grads bring Care to a Higher Level. 06/30/1998. (Gaynelle Schmeider, Margaret Adams, Mary Claire Johnston, Rebecca Pavich, Patrick Chirdon, Marilou Sibert, Christina Leonard, Diane Carmel, Heather Vitko, James E. Neely, Jennifer Hurtack-Bopp, Michael Grove, Amy Repko, Joel Ake, Melissa Patterson, Jose Chi).
• Thousands of Fleeing Seniors. What kind of College Education Do you Need? 9/29/1998. (John Jay Hilfiger, Bernard P. Bertolino, Janet E. Farrell, Dr. Adrian Baylock, Rev. Carl Spishak, Harry P. Hanley, Timothy M. Scheld, Kathleen Zackoff Sherman, William J. Haberstroh).
• Federal Help for college costs. College Knowledge. Remarks delivered by the Honorable D. Brooks Smith at dedication of Christian Hall. 10/27/1998. (Nickol Nicka, Mindy Oleska, Kristin Moore). [poster]           
• Pros and cons of the education IRA. Innovative business programs for Adult learners.  College planner for seniors. 11/24/1998. (Mary Ann Jacobs). [poster]
• Tackling the Books: St. Francis' Farabaugh excels on and off the football field. Graduate program in human resources. 1/5/1999. (Matt Farabaugh, Dr. Philip Benham). [poster]
• Putting the student into student-athlete. Exploring all financial aid options. 02/02/1999. (Emmanuel Adekunle, Matt Farabaugh, Brian Reinking, Roberta Pickens, Kate Wallace)
• Begin a law degree at Saint Francis College.  Deadlines are part of application process. 03/02/1999. (Dr. Joseph Melusky, Kevin D. Persio, Kurt B. Geishauser, Patrick J. Guinee, Michelle L. Cobaugh, G. Steven Neeley)
• Degree completion through Saturday College. Students can get a jumpstart on college and go ‘Upward Bound’. 03/30/1999. (Lyle Cope). [poster]
• Learning to serve others is part of college education. Students have plenty of loose ends to tie up. Athletic schools aren’t the answer. 04/27/1999. (Carla DiBenedetto, Bridget Castellan, Melanie Canavan, Chris Friedman). [poster]
• Francis: Saint and College.  Students surf Web for college information.  How to plan for your child’s college days. 6/1/1999. (Rev. Christian R. Oravec,  TOR, Ph.D.) [poster]
• Saint Francis College Athletics – A Proud Tradition. 06/29/1999. (Maurice Stokes, Mike Iuzzliino, Melissa Lash, Myndi hill, Dave Jaumote, Kevin Donner, Matt Hartman, Calvin Fowler, Milan Gjurich, Barb miller Gilliland, Norm Van Lier, Tom Vaux)
• Jobs vs. careers: What’s right for you? 09/28/1999. (Michael, P. Saraka, Brandon Verdream, Eric Korhut, Wendy Delozier, Dan Fitzpatrick) [poster]
• Opening the door to opportunity. Saint Francis College MBA program celebrates its 10^th anniversary. Early decision application gives quick answers. 10/26/1999. (Dr. Randy Frye, Dr. Bruce Elwell, James w. Van Buren, Kirstin Koller, Betsy Hoover, Doug Endler, Randall Shope, Scott A. Filler, Dee Shellenberger, Lisa miles, Lisa Behe)
• Saint Francis College Physician Assistant Program. 11/23/1999. (Albert Simon, M. Ed., PA-C, Robin Davidson, Heidi Averill, Sandra Stoudnour, Vinh Dang).
• College Programs for working adults. Saturday courses provide another college option. 12/14/1999. (Edward Horne, Linda C. Barroner, Katherine Beck) [poster]
• Reach higher. Go far. 01/25/2000. (Dr. Elizabeth Gensante, Nancy Gobert, Kathryn Hricenak, Stephanie Dorezas, Frank J. Bacco, Susan M. Sibert) [poster]
• College Selection 101: Choosing the right college. 02/29/2000 (Evan Lipp, Danielle Stroia, Kyle Hnat, Janin Aruta, Efrain Ramirez). [poster]
• CERMUSA: Center of Excellence for Remote and Medically Under-Served Areas. 03/28/2000. (James F. Bates, Ph.D, Dr. Jodi Tims, Bob Mainhart, John P. Murtha, Liz Bean, Joyce Callagher, Kathleen Owens, Ph.D, Richard Crawford, Ed.D, William Duryea, Ph.D, PA-C, John Kriak, Pharm D., Barabra Demuth, RN, MSN, Robert Griffin).
• Answering questions about pre-professional program. Dentistry program made Easy. 04/25/2000. (Melissa Absey, Kara Steele, Lindsay K. Miller, Matthew A Roscia, Kathy J. Heym, Jayne L. Weber)
• What can I do with a degree in…by Dr. Wayne Takacs, 10/03/2000. [poster]
• How many obstacles have you thought of for not going back to school…11/14/2000. (Eileen Suter). [poster]
• The study abroad experience. The Mexico study abroad program by Ms. Margaret Morales McKale, and Dr Michael McKale. 01/16/2001.(Ms. Margaret Morales McKale, Dr. Michael McKale, Dr. Kirk Weixel, Tiffany Dino, Dr. Vincent Remillard, Autumn Helsel, Letty Runzo, Michael, Briody, Brendon Aleski).
• College Selection 101: Choosing the Right College. 03/20/2001. [poster]
• Occupational Therapy at Saint Francis University by Donald Walkovich, MS, OTR/L. 10/23/2001.
• The ever-changing field of computer science. An exciting career path. 12/18/2001. (Brad Bachert, Janina Aruta, Eric Mattis, Becky Vitko, Adam Tebbe, Melvin Scott, Steve DaSilva). [poster]
• Service learning provides education beyond the booksby Joyce Remillard. 01/22/2002.
• Saint Francis Physical Therapy. Merging art and science. 02/26/2002. (Mary Jo Woomer, Donald Wilt, Nicholas Panaro, Matthew Farabaugh, Adam Rabatin, Connie Fisher, Julie, Kostan, Brian Dillon,Mary Ann Wharton, Curt and Heather Kindel, Bill Hanlon, Karen Fox, Tracy J. Brudvig, Kathryn E. Brown, Pamela may, Mark Boland). [poster]
• Balancing academics and athletics. 03/23/2002. (Kevin Doyle, Kristen Arnott, Beth Pile, Matt Rosenfeld)
• A spring break unlike any other. 09/24/2002. [poster]           
• Getting there is half the fun. Faculty-student research at Saint Francis University. 10/29/2002.  (Dr. Marnie Moist, Nicole Lang, Alyssa Stoehr, Lewis Ruddek, Vicki Gohrig,Dr. Pedro Muino, Joe Bopp) [insert and poster]
• Caring, Committed, and Credentialed: Saint Francis University Faculty.  12/10/2002. (Dr. Rosemary Bertocci, Amy Zeigler, Dr. Kirk Weixel, Dr Morales-McKale)        
• Education For Life. General Education at Saint Francis University. 1/28/2003. (Dr Kathleen McSharry, Dr. Vince Remillard) [insert and poster]
• Our Sister Earth. Saint Francis University works to protect our environment.  4/29/2003.  (Kayla Rodd, Dr. Lane Loya, Matt Gergely, Dustin Sherry, Bob Ladika) [insert and poster]        
• The Burke Family:  Franciscan Values in Motion.  12/23/2003. (Jim Burke, Julia Burke, James Burke, Chris Burke). [poster]

Provenance

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on November 29, 2017.

Location

A2-06-10       Folder: College Quest

Title

Nurse Pinning Ceremony - Photographs 1980s-1990s

Inclusive Dates

Origin

Arrangement

Volume

Description

Nurse Pinning Ceremony 1996 - P1-022 Nurse Pinning Ceremony 1996 - P1-023 Nurse Pinning Ceremony 1996? - P1-123 Nurse Pinning Ceremony 1980s-1990s - P1-162 Nurse Pinning Ceremony 1980s - P2-031

Location

P1-022  (formerly P1-01-02-16) P1-023  (formerly P1-01-02-17) P1-123  (formerly P1-02-05-01) P1-162 P2-031  (formerly P1-04-05-01)