Archives Finding Aid

Tobin Center Archives Collections

Translate This Page

O’Kicki (Joseph, Judge) - Newspaper Clippings

 

Title

O’Kicki (Joseph, Judge) - Newspaper Clippings

Inclusive Dates

1989

Origin

Library Circulation Desk

Arrangement

Chronological

Volume

1 document case

Description

In 1989, Joseph O’Kicki, Judge of the Court of Common Pleas of Cambria County, was indicted for “continuing practice of public corruption and misuse of his office.”  The Tribune-Democrat newspaper published the full text of the state grand jury’s statement on O’Kicki.  Due to the high interest in the case, staff at the St. Francis College Library compiled the articles into a three-ring binder for patron use.  Judge O’Kicki was a part-time instructor at the college.  Additional articles were inserted into a pocket in the rear of the binder.  The contents of the binder have been photocopied and are in the document case.  The original binder is on the shelf with other original scrapbooks.

Location

A1-04-01

 

Oravec (Christian, Fr., TOR) Collection

Title

Oravec (Christian, Fr., TOR) Collection, President of St. Francis University, 1977-2004

Inclusive Dates

1977-2004

Origin

Sent from the President’s Office by Vicki Soyka. Additional information added by Tobin Center Staff

Volume

80 Binders; 1 Scrapbook; 1 Yearbook ; 1 Portrait ; Memorabilia: Plaques, Frames ; 1 Poster ; Files : Robe

Description

Notable Events Binders:

  • Binder 1   -  Various 1980-2013 Franciscan Goals
  • Binder 2   –  Various 1982 – 2002
  • Binder 3   –  Perry Family Sextuplets Scholarships, 2003
  • Binder 4   –  Pasquerilla Library Dedication, Shuster Archives, Wolf and Kuhn Collections 1973, 1988 – 2001
  • Binder 5   -   St. Francis Fountain Sculpture I, 1985 Construction, Placement, Unveiling
  • Binder 6   -   St. Francis Fountain Sculpture II, 1985 Mass, Blessing, Banquet
  • Binder 7  – Sesquicentennial 1997, Mass, Citations Employee Group Photo, Catalog & Yearbook Sections, Bell Ringing
  • Binder 8   -  Sesquicentennial 1997, Closing Ceremonies,Stewards of the Vision
  • Binder 9  –  Christian Hall Groundbreaking, Construction, 1997-1998 ; Time Capsule, 1999  
  • Binder 10  - Christian Hall Dedication, 1998
  • Binder 11  - Stokes, Maurice: Number retirement 2000, Hall of Fame 2004
  • Binder 12 – Pieta Shrine 1996
  • Binder 13  - Fr. Oravec’s 50th Anniversary of Priesthood, May 25, 2014
  • Binder 14  - Fr. Christian Oravec, 1937-2014 Obituaries, Funeral Mass

Year Binders:

  • 1978-1987 including the 1980 Commencement Honorary Degree awarded to Willie Stargell
  • 1988-1995
  • 1996-2004
  • Presidential Inauguration 1977
  • Mass October 2, 1977
  • Inauguration Ceremony October 2, 1977
  • Inauguration Congratulations, 1977-1978
  • Highlights of Father Christian's last year as president - President's Awards Convocation, Last Donut Heaven, farewell picnic May 11, 2004, Collage given to Father Christian by library staff June 2004
  • Last Commencement as President, May 9, 2004
  • Presidential Inauguration of Fr. Gabriel Zeis, Oct. 23, 2004
  • Newspaper Articles, 1984-2000

Founders Day, Assisi Awards
 
  • Binder 1 – Founders Day Addresses 1979-2003
  • Binder 2 – Founders Day, Assisi Awards, Events 1980-2004, Pasquerilla Library Dedication 1989
  • Binder 3 - Founders Day, Assisi Awards, Events 1980-2003,                    Schwab Hall rededicated, 1981
  Awards, 1969-2006

   
  • Binder 1 – Awards, Appointments, Memberships
  • Binder 2 -  Awards, Appointments, Memberships
  • Binder 3 -  Awards, Appointments, Memberships
  • Binder 4 -  Awards, Appointments, Memberships
  • Binder 5 -  Awards, President Emeritus

Various Topics

  • Binder – SFC Bulletins 1976-1979
  • Binder -  Ministries, 1964-2001
  • Binder – Red Mass, Law Day 1980?-2000
  • Binder – Mock Convention, 1988 ; AIDS Quilt
  • Binder – SFU Master Plan 2003
  • Binder -  Faculty Staff Recognition Picnic, April 29, 2004                           Commencement 2004 ;  SFU Magazine: The Christian Era, 1977-2004, Summer 2004
  • Binder -  Recognition Banquet I, June 4, 2004
  • Binder -  Recognition Banquet II, June 4, 2004
  • Binder -  Recognition Banquet III, June 4, 2004
  • SFC Students 1980s, b&w photos
  • Binder – SFC Students: Class of 1983 ; Springfest ’88,Springfest ’96 or ‘97
  • Binder -  SFC Students  Springfest ’89, ’Springfest 96 or ‘97
  • Binder -  Student Athletics I, 1986-1999
  • Binder -  Student Athletics II, 1986-2000
  • Binder – SFC Students and Staff (mostly 1980s)
  • Binder – Friars (SFC and SFU)
  • Binder – Alumni
  • M-199 Photograph Portrait of Fr. Oravec, Color, 28 ¾ x 24 ¾ x 1 ¾ in.
  • Binder – Photographs, Campus Scenes and Seasons 1986, 1994
  • Binder – Photographs, Campus Scenes, 1980s
  • Binder – Photographs, Campus Scenes, 1986-2004
  • Binder – Photographs, Campus Scenes, 1986-1992
  • Binder – Old SFC, early years
  • Binder – Old SFC, 1940s-1960s
  • Binder -  SFC to SFU, 1970s-2000s
  • Scrapbook – SFC History, 1980-1997
  • M-202 Various Files: Sesquicentennial, Commencement list 2002, Notable dates, Anthem documents, President’s Awards Convocation, 1997 ; Miscellaneous Pictures of Fr. Oravec
  • M-203 Memorabilia
    • Frame – collection of pins on velvet background
    • Frame - Medallion on blue velvet, figure with book, shield and key
    • Frame – Medallion, SFU Social Work Honors Society, Beta Chapter
    • Frame – Medallions, cum laude, magna cum laude, summa cum laude
    • Frame – Saint Francis College/University pins on velvet Background
    • Frame – Prayer by Betty Hayes, late 1970s
    • Frame – Appreciation,Dedication of Saint Agnes Hall and Residence Life, 2000
    • Frame – Student group picture on occasion of change from College to University, 2000
    • Frame – Fr. Oravec with Perry Family Sextuplets Scholarships, 2003
    • Frame – Fr. Oravec with group picture of Mr. Frankie and Miss Frankie Awards, 2002. 1978-2002 recipients
    • Plaque – Appreciation, Students of SFU, Spring 2004 Yearbook - Spectator, Class of 1955, Johnstown High School
  • M-153 -- Framed photograph – in center:  PA Governor Dick Thornburgh and SFC President Fr. Christian Oravec, two others unknown.  Signed by Dick Thornburgh with salutation of “Best Wishes to Myron Williams, Great Pennsylvanian!”  Dimensions:  18.5” w x 17” h
  • Flat file drawer 4 - Photograph Portrait of Fr. Oravec, Color on Poster board, taken in his office 1980s?   30 x 20 x .25 in.

 

 

Additional                            See also:       President’s Office Collection, A1-04-22, A1-04-23

Information                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Oravec Collection added to Archives: Dec. 2014

Owens (Kathleen, Dr.) – China Visit Gifts

Title

Owens (Kathleen, Dr.) – China Visit Gifts

Inclusive Dates

April 2001

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 archives box

Description

Gift to Saint Francis University from the President of Fujian Teachers University in China.  Framed photograph of the Teachers University.

Gift to Saint Francis University from Dean of the International College of Chinese Studies at Fujian Teachers University.  Gifts were received by Dr. Owens as a representative of Saint Francis when she visited China.

Location

A1-06-14

One Solitary Life (modern illuminated manuscript)

Title

One Solitary Life (modern illuminated manuscript)

Inclusive Dates

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 framed document

Description

One Solitary Life (poem), Anon. On the life of Jesus Christ. Frame is beige in color, measures 44 x 36 cm.)

Location

M-222