Archives Finding Aid

Tobin Center Archives Collections

[CONTENT BOX 12333286 NOT FOUND]

Saint Francis College of Pennsylvania - 3-D Objects

Overview of Collection:    3-dimensional items that had been used for various events on campus featuring Saint Francis College of Pennsylvania.   These items were sent to the archives when no longer used after the change to Saint Francis University

Inclusive Dates:

Bulk Dates:

Linear feet:  

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note

  • M-68
    • One red banner with white lettering on nylon (Saint Francis College) /Two white banners with green lettering on vinyl (Sesquicentennial)
  • M-120  Admissions office Banners
    • Saint Francis College, Loretto, Pennsylvania, Founded 1847 (table banner, white lettering on maroon felt, 73.5" x 58")
    • Saint Francis College since 1847, Loretto, Pennsylvania, Bell Tower logo on left (table banner, white lettering on dark red felt, 73.5" x 58.5")
    • Saint Francis College banner with the College seal (white lettering on red felt, white border (36" x 17.5")
    • Saint Francis College, Reach Higher Go Far (collage, multi-colored, 116.5" x 89", 1990s?)
    • Box also includes framed marketing advertisement showcasing the Saint Francis College Transfer Program  (picture of Einstein in  silver frame 10.75" x 11.25" x .75")
  • M-179
    • Vertical banner that would be attached to a light pole on the campus mall.  Red with Saint Francis College and the college seal in white.
  • M-180a-c
    • 3 banners 36 inches tall (plus gold fringe and pole) x 60 inches wide, red lettering on white background.  Saint Francis College of Pennsylvania.   Used at graduations.
  • M-224
    • Plaque, Bronze colored raised metal on wood, 9 x 9 x 2 cm.  Inscription: Saint Francis College of Pennsylvania 1847. Inscription in circle around College Seal. Back has 4 round felt pads.

Provenance

Restrictions                None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on May 15, 2018.

Location                    M-68 ; M-120 ; M-179 ; M-180a-c ; M-224

Saint Francis College / University Honor Society

Title

Saint Francis College / University Honor Society

Inclusive Dates

2002 -

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

To be eligible for the Saint Francis Honor Society graduating seniors must have a QPA of 3.5 or higher with no "F" or "W" grades on their transcript

Programs from the "Last Chance" Lecture and Induction of the Senior Members which is held in the spring of each year.

Location

A1-05-42a

Saint Francis University President's

Title:

Saint Francis University President’s

Inclusive Dates:

Various

Origin:

 

Arrangement:

 

Volume:

 

Description:

Contains various articles and announcements in reference to the following Saint Francis University Presidents.
- The Most Rev. John H. Bocella, T.O.R.
-  Fr. Columba J. Devlin, T.O.R.
-  Rev. Kevin R. Keelan, T.O.R.
-  Fr. Gabriel J. Loncosky, T.O.R.
-  Fr. James P. Long, TOR
- Rev Vincent R. Negherbon, T.O.R.
- Fr. Christian Oravec, T.O.R
- Fr. Sean M. Sullivan, T.O.R.
- Rev. Adrian J. Veigle, T.O.R.

Click the link above for a complete list of SFU Presidents.

Location:

A1-04-47

Saint Francis University Messenger

Title

Saint Francis University Messenger

Inclusive Dates

2007-2009

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 binder

Description

“A publication for employees and friends of Saint Francis University, Loretto, PA”

Location

TCA 378.91 J15

Sanchez (Celia) - Artifact

Title

Sanchez (Celia) - Artifact

Inclusive Dates

1959

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Arm band worn by the first woman of the Revolution in Cuba.  Letter included.

Location

P2-013  (formerly P1-04-01-01)

Schenk (Demetrius, Fr.) Collection

Title

Schenk (Demetrius, Fr.) Collection

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Materials were received from Fr. Christian Oravec in October 1997

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

5 scrapbooks, numerous folders

Scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings of interest to the TORs and Saint Francis College.  Many of the articles are not dated and the name of the newspaper is not available.  In some cases, articles are incomplete.  The scrapbooks and materials from the folders have been photocopied onto acid-free paper for patron use.  A copy has been provided to the TOR archives.

  •  Scrapbook I (1937)
  • Scrapbook II (1938-1939)
  • Scrapbook III (1940)
  • Scrapbook V (1940)
  • Scrapbook VI

Items of note:

  • Picture of those who entered Novitiate July 30, 1948
  • Page from The Loretto December 1933
  • Parish notes Jan-Feb 1933
  • Demetrius Augustine Gallitzin Sesquicentennial of Ordination
  • Page from The Call of India
  • Newspaper clippings: 
    • Owen P. Gleeson ordained, The soldiers deck of cards, pilgrimage log book, injun summer, the trimmin’s on the rosary, ask and learn, the rear guard, man in Chicago curious about Commonwealth, Poem by soldier of the 110th.
  • Prince Gallitzin leaflets
  • J.F. Enyearl and Jon (leather band)
  • Photo from newspaper – priests at mass with Pollard Farran, June 23, 1912
  • Photo – Poverello Medal, individual in photo unidentified
  • Booklet titled The Mass on the Day of Marriage July 23, 1960
  • Katherine Jean Kreb and Robert Glenn O’Grady
  • St. Michael’s Church June 3, 1926 remembrance of Rev. Kittell
  • Photo – Cathedral in Altoona
  • Newspaper article – Carmelite Monastery will be consecrated by Bishop on Sunday (Daily Tribune)
  • Newspaper article – Mass to honor Gallitzin (Altoona Register April 24, 1989)
  • Newspaper article – Mrs. Schwab dies January 12, 1939
  • Catholic Digest article – Christmas at McGuire’s Settlement
  • The Apostle of the Alleghenies 1940
  • Gallitzin leaflet
  • Mariale Yearbook order form
  • A Dramatization of the Life of D.A. Gallitzin – March 16, 1945
  • Notebook of poems and stories, mostly by Schenk
  • Newspaper articles –
    • Bishop Dearden delivers eulogy (Bishop Guilfoyle’s death),
    • four Franciscan friars mark 25th jubilee,
    • mountain comment,
    • Catherine Flick (obit),
    • Gerald Nagle to become priest,
    • Anna Elig (obit),
    • Scouts issues resolution,
    • requiem rite held for shrine founder in Loretto Church, The Seraphic Troubadour March 1956
  • News article dated May 26, 1982
  • News articles –
    • Passing through July 7, 1971,
    • Msgr. Britt given reverent fond farewell July 10, 1971,
    • Former head of Lewiston shrine slain,
    • Memoriam cards for Rev. Britt,
    • photo of Bishop and ordination class of 1961,
    • tour Canadian shrines,
    • friars elected to Curia,
    • priests mark silver jubilee,
    • 13 deacons to be ordained,
    • Old Cathedral pastor dies in fall off cliff
  • Saint Francis Seminary library overdue notice
  • The Feast of Corpus Christi, St. Nicholas Church photo of girl (old/cracked)
  • Articles –
    • To mark 40 years in priesthood,
    • Fr. Gallitzin’s anniversary is marked in parish,
    • out of the past Oct. 13, 1949,
    • Six Franciscans to make solemn profession
  • St. Francis Layman’s Retreat League 1970
  • Winter at Mt. Assisi.
  • Fr. Demetrius folder –
    • A Dramatization of the Life of Demetrius Augustine Gallitzin March 17, 1945,
    • Certificate of marriage for Ethel Felix and Valentine Schenk 1916,
    • radio play of Life of Prince Gallitzin
  • Commencement exercises book May 13, 1944
  • Folder
    • check for $50 from Fr. Schenk to St. Michael’s Church May 8, 1990,
    • ticket to Prince Gallitzin Medal Award Dinner and Dance,
    • short story of John Weakland,
    • letter from Sr. Mary Ann Dillon to St. Francis College faculty and staff about Gallitzin Lecture,
    • an appeal for funds,
    • photocopied pages from Gallitzin
  • Industrial death claim paper, paid receipt from Casher Funeral Home to Mr. Valentine Schenk
  • Articles –
    • Out of the past Oct. 13, 1949,
    • article on The Hill Prep School student paper,
    • looking backward through the years,
    • Pennsylvania lived without clergy,
    • John Weakland. 
    • Like Davy Crockett. 
    • Joan McElheny (obit),
    • forty years ago April 16, 1914,
    • Midnight mass sung in Loretto in 1799,
    • Nicholas Nagle (obit)
  • Articles –
    • Windows in church to depict early history of Catholics in this area,
    • prayer card for Rev. Justin McCarthy,
    • Annual Commencement exercises 1944
  • Catholic Register January 1, 15, 29, 1990; February 12 and 26, 1990 and May 22, 1989.
  • The Steubenville Register January 5, 1990
  • Newspaper photo:  The Loretto April 1938 seven brothers ordained
  • Charles M. Schwab by E.G. GraceThoughts from Mother Seton
  • Newspaper articles
    • Fr. Ignatius Boyce buried,
    • Pope Leo XIII setup diocese in May 1901,
    • St. Michael’s Loretto will mark sesquicentennial,
    • Eucharistic Day speaker in tribute to Prince Gallitzin,
    • thousand attend celebration noting Loretto’s 150th year,
    • Mountain comment Loretto sesquicentennial,
    • The first hundred years,
    • rests in hallowed ground,
    • 100 years of Catholicism in Altoona are reviewed (1949)
  • Prince Gallitzin folder
    • letter to Msg. Lenz,
    • photo of Gallitzin statue,
    • Bishop Connare sets talks for Boy Scouts,
    • the Conewago Circuit,
    • photo of Bishop Hogan,
    • Pope’s Jubilee,
    • Gallitzin ceremonies on May 31,
    • McGuire’s settlement,
    • final plans are complete for Gallitzin Bicentennial,
    • A journey to Port Tobacco,
    • A temptation to leave America,
    • The mother of Father Gallitzin,
    • The coming of Father Gallitzin to the Mountain,
    • A life devoted to the salvation of souls,
    • The father of Reverend Gallitzin,
    • First biography of Father Gallitzin,
    • Gallitzin memorabilia,
    • a very special birthday,
    • miniatures of Father Gallitzin – 1800,
    • in memoriam of Rev. James Saas,
    • first solemn mass of Rev. Schenk 1947
  • An Appeal for Funds
  • Material on Prince Gallitzin, 6 Cresson young men die in head-on crash of car and big tractor trailer on Route 22
  • Booklets (May 20, 1990) – Prince Gallitzin Cross Award recipients, Gallitzin Lecture at St. Francis College, Eucharistic Liturgy of Fr. Gallitzin
  • Articles –
    • priest will become missionary in India,
    • graduation speaker,
    • college answered Prince’s dream,
    • Tomb of Pioneer (August 21, 1949),
    • a 3-month Christmas,
    • pilgrimage log book July 22,
    • Mountain Comment,
    • among the archives,
    • in memoriam card Gallitzin,
    • A Dramatization of the Life of Gallitzin,
    • photographs of Saint Francis College
  • A Pageant The Apostle of the Alleghenies by Rev. Albert Gartland
   

Location

M–35 Scrapbooks (copies Volume I -1937, Volume II -1938/39, Volume III – 1940, Volume V – 1940 and Volume VI) N.B. There is no volume IV

M–36 Various photocopied articles and writings

M–37 Scrapbooks (copies) #2

M–38 Scrapbooks (originals of Volume I – III, V and VI)

M–39 Various original articles and clippings (also has list of included items)

Additional Information

School Publications

Title

School Publications

Inclusive Dates

1996-1997

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Summer school programs, con-ed pamphlets, school services, development, Franciscan life, associate of applied science degree program, small business development brochures, philosophy, religious studies, career development, Furlong lecture.

Location

A1-05-24

Schwab (Charles M.) Collection

Title

Schwab (Charles M.) Collection

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

2 document cases, 2 oversize boxes, 4 folders in photograph collection

Description  

Articles and photos pertaining to the life and career of Charles M. Schwab; his leadership of Bethlehem Steel; his estate at Loretto and his association with Saint Francis College as a student, alumnus and benefactor.

Includes a letter from Howard M. Picking Jr. about the planned 1939 celebration of the 50th anniversary of the 1889 Flood is stored with instruments of donation in the administrative files.  The brochure and a photograph of Charles M. Schwab (honorary chairman of the planned celebration) and Howard M. Picking, Jr. (general chairman) are in M1-01-34 (now M – 33 or M – 34).

Additional information is in the Library black scrapbook.

This series also contains some information on Andrew Carnegie, Eugene M. Grace, Bethlehem Steel Corporation, Immergrun estate and golf course in Loretto, Mount Assisi in Loretto, Johnstown Incorporated, Friends of Saint Francis, sale of the Schwab estate in 1942.

M – 26 (formerly M1-01-29): 

Photographs of the estate and Schwab Hall, built in 1931 to honor Schwab, various articles

M – 27 (formerly M1-01-29):     

  • Periodical and newspaper articles on Schwab.
    • Man of Steel by John Steele Gordon, Audacity, Fall 1994
  • Charles M. Schwab by E.G. Grace.
  • Articles on Weatherly High School, Weatherly, Pa. (Hometown of Mrs. Schwab)
  • Articles on Schwab Estate
  • Contains booklet (38 p. 22cm) titled “Save the Lady and Other Poems” by Joan Grimes Kowalski.  Includes poem titled “Dreams of Immergrun” (p. 7-8) about the Schwab Estate and Mount Assisi.  The booklet was published in 1988.
  • Article on Immergrun Golf Course by Vincent Remillard, published in Cambria County Heritage, v.32, 2012
  • T.O.R. Archives list of Schwab materials they have in their collection as of 2016

M – 28  - Includes Schwab Estate photographs 1928-1930 from Bob Hahn   (Golf Pro Shop)

M – 29  - Photographs taken on the Schwab estate sometime around  1928-1930.  Pictured are the formal gardens, the mansion from various views and the grounds keepers house (now used as a sorority house).  Included is a 1930s aerial view of the estate and a large format photograph showing how Schwab’s first mansion was moved so that the second could be built on the same site. Portraits of Mr. and Mrs. Schwab.  Various articles on Schwab.  St. Francis College Centennial souvenir publication, 1947.

“A Little like heaven” by Rich Gigler. Pittsburgh Press Roto section, August 12, 1979 (Schwab Gardens) 

“Garden at Immergrun”  article in the Altoona Mirror, Altoona, Pa.,  Feb. 15, 1969,   Rural  & Urban Living section.  2 copies

Auction Oct. 3, 1942, Schwab Estate (Map showing available parcels of land in Loretto,  Pa., 23.75” x 35.25”)

P2-021 (formerly P1-04-03-04)  - A portrait of Charles and Emma Schwab; snowfall in front of the estate’s main gate in April 1928; 4 pictures showing different views of the mansion from the waterfall and stairs; 2 photos of statue in circular pond; 2 photos of statuary at the end of the formal garden and reflecting pools (overlooking from upper terrace); view of statue in formal garden near present day sanctuary wall with young girl posing before it; view of drive near rose garden showing old mansion in the distance, view of rose garden and circular pavilion; 3 photos showing various views of grounds keeper’s house (currently golf course pro shop and sorority house).

M – 86

Snare drum – Crescent band established to meet CMS at his train and musically accompany him home to the Loretto estate.  Schwab outfitted the band with uniforms and instruments (donated by Joseph Malloy – see accompanying correspondence with drum.

Location

M -26 thru 29 and M – 86, P2-021 formerly P1-04-03-04)

Additional Information

Films:  Charles M. Schwab intimate close up of Charles M. Schwab, beloved leader of the Steel Industry

                             (VHS) TCA 338.7669 S3981 H5877

                             (DVD) TCA 338.7669 S3981 H5877a

           St. Francis University & Schwab Gardens

                             (DVD) TCA 378.07 S7745

 

1-24-13   Framed pictures of Mr. and Mrs. Schwab and another of Charles Schwab on the golf course had come to the library from Raymond Hall to be housed.  Christopher Seymour from Advancement asked about Schwab memorabilia for the clubhouse at Immergrun.  He took these and they will eventually be hung there.

Science Day

Title

Science Day

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Programs and other documents from Science Day, which introduces high school students to a variety of careers in the sciences.  The day includes a science bowl competition between teams from local high schools.  (1994)

  • November 17, 1995
  • Select items from folder given to participants containing Saint Francis College name
    • 6 inch ruler
    • FeverScan 
    • Science Day notepad
  • November 22, 1996

Location

A1-04-30 (Updated 8Feb17)

Sesquicentennial Celebration - 1996/97

Scope and Content Notes

Saint Francis Academy was founded in 1847.  Saint Francis College celebrated the 150th Anniversary (Sesquicentennial) of being founded in 1996/97.   These boxes contain various documents and records of the events held.  There are also some framed items described.

M – 40 (22 x 31 x 3 flat box)

  • Saint Francis College Sesquicentennial tabloid from September 28, 1997 issue of the Tribune-Democrat (2 copies)
  • Letter from Kathleen Gilmour, Director of Public Relations, to College employees concerning the tabloid
  • Saint Francis College Sesquicentennial employee group photo taken on the mall (Lists of number coded names included)
    • 1 color, 12.5" x 15.75'
    • 1 b&w, 9.5" x 18"
    • 2 color, 8" x 10"
  • Sesquicentennial Registry Event 1996-1997 including original templates that provided space for individuals to share their best wishes to the College.  There are signatures on the 6 pages inside the templates and 16 additional folio sheets with signatures.  Also includes a folder of background on the registry and a “Signs & Symbols of the Sesquicentennial” sign
  • Blood Drive "Celebrate 150 Years with 150 Donors"
    • poster
    • table tents
    • slips that individuals filled out to sign up for a time to donate blood

M – 41  (15 x 12 x 3 flat box) -- letters/certificates – originals
M – 41a (1/2 size legal document case)  -- programs & various publications
M – 42  (1/2 size legal document case) -- letters/certificates – photocopies
M – 42a  (3 inch 3-ring binder)-- letters/certificates – photocopies) in binder for display
M – 68  -- banner

These three items (M159, M159a and M160) were received from Father Christian, President of Saint Francis College, in January 1998:

  • M-159  (premium folder? Not found 9/12/2017)  Franciscan University of Steubenville – folder contains letter from Rose Mary De Fede mentioning a gift of the Cross of San Damiano to Saint Francis from the Womens Club.
  • M-159a (framed)    “Franciscan University of Steubenville…congratulates St. Francis College on its 150th Anniversary…  We celebrate our St. Francis Day Liturgy for you this 4th day of October 1997”
  • M-160  (framed)  “…Catholic University of America send cordial greetings to St. Francis College Loretto, Pennsylvania with this message of congratulations on the occasion of its Sesquicentennial…Given on…eleventh day of November 1996…”

M-152 -- Framed proclamation from Cambria County Board of Commissioners offering congratulations to Saint Francis College on its Sesquicentennial and declaring September 4, 1997 be Saint Francis Day throughout Cambria County

These documents (A1-01-34 through 36) are from the files of Kathy Keilen, Public Relations Director during the Sesquicentennial 

  • A1-01-34 – Afghan, background, book, calendar of events, catalog, commemorative stamp, events 1996, events 1997
  • A1-01-35 – Gala, liturgy (includes details like layout of Stokes for the mass including dignitary seating chart), logos and letterheads, meeting minutes
  • A1-01-36 – Publications & Communications Subcommittee meeting minutes (table top poster of add that appeared in Pittsburgh, Southwestern Pennsylvania Scene Sep-Oct 1997 SFC on cover and short article about Sesquicentennial inside), Steering Committee minutes, Tabloid (special insert for local newspapers), photos of honorary degree recipients, copies of the employee photo shot on the mall, Saint Francis College 150th Anniversary Campaign
  • A1-04-48 Invitations, information on the 150th anniversary campaign. acceptance window stickers, 1997 Alumni Calendar, Athletics Hall of Fame Inaugural Class booklet, Baccalaureate Mass program,  calendar of events/schedule,  commencement program,  program for the feast of Saint Francis, Founders Day (1996) program, Gala invitation/dinner/dance & souvenir, logo samples, articles, President's Awards Convocation Program, Senior Class formal invitation, Letters from Loretto ( performance by the college theater), stationary samples.

Photographs --  P1-181   Sesquicentennial Opening, Mass, Ringing of Bell Tower 1997

Updated:   12Oct17

Seymour (Frank) Collection: Saint Francis College Materials

Overview of Collection:        Newspaper clippings, mailings, photographs collected by Frank Seymour related to Saint Francis College

Inclusive Dates:

Bulk Dates:

Linear feet:                1 document case

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note :   Folder titles listed.  See PDF Finding Aid (linked below this section) for detailed contents list.

  • FRAGILE:    6x6 tile plaque, Centennial Saint Francis College 1847-1947
  • Athletic Journal (1922-23) concludes the drive for athletic funds (32 pages)
  • Basilica of Saint Michael the Archangel (newsletter pages?)
  • Cambria County Heritage (Spring-Summer 1987)
  • Cards
  • Centennnial of Saint Francis College (1947) (includes newspaper articles without dates or name of publication)
  • Christian History (Issue 42 (Vol. XIII, No.2) – entire issue is on Francis of Assisi
  • Commencement (1891, 1922, 1923, 1929)
  • Doyle, Very Reverend John P. M.,  T.O.R., S.T.M., Jubilee (1951)
  • Franciscans in Loretto 1900-1925 by Brother Thomas Matts
  • History (one page document 1965)
  • Interrelations in the History of Loretto and the Franciscans, Third Order Regular by Michael Higgins, October 26, 1999
  • Laughlin, Father Angelus de Joseph (In Memoriam) (four page) 8-1/2 x 11 folded
  • Library
  • Minstrel Memories presented by Saint Francis College (1949)
  • Newspaper articles 1910-1917
  • Newspaper articles 1924-2016
  • Newspaper articles (no date)
  • Photographs
  • Other Sources (Notes from various collections)
  • Proposed new buildings
  • Rule of the Third Order Regular of Saint Francis – Chapter III, Number 8
  • Schwab, Charles
  • Schwab Hall
  • Saint Francis College, Loretto, Penna (from Dedication of Altoona Cathedral, 1930)
  • St. Francis College, Loretto, PA notebook cover only
  • Stokes, Maurice:
  • Yearbook pages

Provenance    Donated by Frank Seymour

Restrictions  None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on May 1, 2018.

Location         M-113

SFU Honor Society

Title

SFU Honor Society

Inclusive Dates

2002 -

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Programs – lectures and induction of senior members.

Location

A1-05-42a

Shevock Collection : Tapestry of Last Supper

Title

Tapestry of Last Supper

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Rochelle L. Shevock Family

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

47 x 72 in tapestry won at Holy Cross Church about 1990.  Donated by Rochelle Shevock family in memory of Glenn, William and James Stine.

Location

M - 66

Shridharani (Krishnalal Jethalal) Collection

Title

Shridharani (Krishnalal Jethalal) Collection

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description
  • Wedding invitation dated 15th March 1950
  • Wedding of Krishnalal Jethalal Shridharani with Kumari Sundari Ramchand Bhavnani
  • Letter of Doctor Shridharani to Miss Dora Ryan, Nov. 25, 1947
    • Letter relates to looting and destruction of St. Joseph’s Convent in Baramulla, which he inspected with Prime Minister Nehru. (Account of same published in : I will be the first: the story of Mother Mary Teresalina, Franciscan Missionary of Mary by One of her sisters, Boston, Mass., Mission Church Press, 1957.       32 p . : ill. ; 16 x 9 cm.
  • Photograph.   Doctor Krishnalal Jethalal Shridharani  at Columbia University.     b & w  ; 14 x 10 cm.
  • Photograph.   Mrs. Sundari Shridharani, dancer and author in her own right, educated at Tagore’s University and in London.  b & w  ; 14 x 9 cm.
  • Photograph.  His Excellency Sir Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, President of  India, officiating at the naming ceremony of Doctor and Mrs. Shridharani’s new son, Amar Shridharani. b & w  ; 12 x 9 cm.
  • Photograph.  Mrs. Sundari Shridharani and Miss Kavita Shridharani modeling a new American hat.     b & w  ; 10 x 11 cm.
  • Photograph.   Doctor Krishnalal Jethalal Shridharani and the Honorable Adlai Stevenson, American Ambassador to the United Nations.    b & w  ; 11 x 14 cm.
  • Photograph.   Sundari Bhavnani Shridharani, prominent Indian dancer, in Prague, Czecho-Slovakia.     b & w  ; 14 x 11 cm.
  • Photograph.   Doctor Krishnalal Jethalal Shridharani  in Indian garb. He was a scholar of the Maharajah of Bhavnagar at Columbia University.    Signed,  b & w  ; 26 x 21 cm.
  • Photograph.   Doctor Krishnalal Jethalal Shridharani spent five years at Gandhi’s ashram and was one of the chosen sixty disciples who followed him in the famous Salt March to the Sea at Dandi in defiance of the British edict on Salt. 

“It was at Dandi that the back of the British Lion was broken,” he says.  See My India, My America, p. 33,34,35.  “The Banyan Tree” was written in jail at Sabramati.   Signed,  b & w  ; 26 x 21 cm.

Book.   The Banyan Tree, written by Doctor Krishnalal Jethalal Shridharani.  82 p. : 1 col. ill. ;  19 x 13 cm.

                                                         

Krishnalal Shridharani (16 September 1911 – 23 July 1960) was an Indian poet, playwright and journalist. He studied sociology, economics and journalism at various institutions in India and the US. He participated in the Indian Independence movement and was imprisoned, during which time he started writing plays and poetry. He also wrote many non-fiction books in English – Wiki 03-04-2015.  The collection was donated by Dora Elsie Ryan who corresponded with Dr. Shridharani in the 1940s and 1950s.
   

lLocation

A1-06-18 [in loose-leaf notebook]

Singer, Joseph A

Title

Singer, Joseph A

Inclusive Dates

1949-1951

Origin

Donated by Mr. Singer

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 folder

Description
  • Tuition bill dated November 26, 1949
  • Invoice (tuition bill) dated February 21, 1951
  • Students Registration Invoice
  • Saint Francis College Presents All in Favor Say Aye" play program (no date)

Location

A1-05-23

St. Joseph Shrine

Title

St. Joseph the Worker Shrine

Inclusive Dates

October 1958

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

The shrine between Torvian and Doyle Hall.   It was moved to Saint Joseph Hall (the former Murtha building).  Dedication booklet and newspaper article.  A copy of the Oratory magazine, with an article on Fr. Ronald (Bodenschatz) and the shrine to St. Joseph.  Copy of Fr. Ronald’s speech 1961.  News release, an article from the St. Francis College newsletter 1958.

Location

A1-05-33

Shuster, Elmer Greinert "Bud"

Title

Shuster, Elmer Greinert "Bud" Collection

Inclusive Dates

1946-2001

Origin

Bud Shuster

Arrangement

 

Volume

277.25 linear feet in 197 boxes plus oversize artifacts and books

Description

Documents Mr. Shuster's service in the United States Congress. Details are provided in the full finding aid and container lists available at the links below.

Location

Shuster Archives Section of the Tobin Center for Archives and Special Collections

Southern Alleghenies Museum of Art

Title

Southern Alleghenies Museum of Art

Inclusive Dates

1978 - 1985

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 document case

Description

Contains a variety of items by and about the museum, especially the yearly Gala fundraiser.  Includes newspaper clippings, exhibition catalogs, invitations and announcements, Friends of the Museum dinner info, fund raising.  This series was generated by the library director (Miss Tobin).  Includes a small original painting by Theodore Swina, Pena Blanca, and New Mexico titled Mountain Sheep Dancer.  Also Roger Ferri Architectural Visionary Catalog of Works (SAMA).

  • A Fine Arts Center for Saint Francis College of Pennsylvania proposal brochure
  • Southern Alleghenies Museum of Art/Spring 1988

Location

A1-02-40

(Updated 8Feb17)

Special Events

Title

Special Events

Inclusive Dates

1975-1996

Origin

Public Relations/Marketing

Description

Documents various special events coordinated by the Public Relations Office

A1-06-42

  • Gunard B. Carlson Writing Contest - 1975-2003
  • Maurice Stokes Jersey Retirement -- October 25, 2000
  • Athletic Awards Night -- 1985-87; 1989-90

A1-06-43

  • Advertising/Admission Publication Award certificates
  • Center for Global Competitiveness
  • Feature Stories
    • Various feature stories that tell the story of Saint Francis College/University
  • John Riley Memorial Scholarship
  • MBA 5th Anniversary - 1995-96
  • Magazine Summer 1998 original photos
  • New Theatre 1994-1996
    • The Enchanted Pig
    •  A Play for Peace:  The Mask of Hiroshima
    • A Miracle of Saint Francis
    • SIr Gawain and the Green Knight
    • Masque of the Red Death
    • Frankie Follies
    • South Pacific
    • Bloody Jack
    • The Tempest
    • Jesus Christ Superstar
  • SFC Logo artwork; folders printed with logos

A1-06-44

  • Diversity Days 1996
  • Junior Miss Certificates 1994-95
  • Junior Miss Scholarship information 1985, 1997
  • Make a Difference Day 10/22/1994
  • Mock Rape Trial 3/6/1996
  • Nader, Ralph - Labor Day Talk 9/2/1996
  • New Student Orientation 1994-95
  • Parents' Weekend 1992-1994
  • President's College June 9-12, 1996
  • President's Alumni Reception Pittsburgh 4/17/1996
  • Russian Institute 1996
  • Science Day 1994
  • Science in Society Lecture 1995-1996
  • Special Olympics 1996
  • Individual folders by employee name containing all items regarding the individual (news releases, photographs, brochures)
    • Dr. Jay Hilfiger
    • Dr. Kathleen Owens
    • Dr. Lawrence Pion
    • Dr. Clair Sackin

A1-06-47

  • Ethics Institute (1992, 1994-1999)
  • Gleason Lecture (1993, 1994, 1998)

A1-06-48

  • Great Radio Auction 1987
  • Bicentennial of the United States Constitution - 1987
  • History Forum 1981-1984
  • Industrial Relations Advertising 1970-1986
  • Industrial Relations Brochures, news releases 1980s
  • Industrial Relations Symposium (1968-1971; 1983-1984)
    • Includes bios of speakers and photos
  • Newman, Susan, January 22, 1988
  • Ressler, Robert, Whoever Fights Monsters November 2, 1994
  • Shaughnessy, Charles (Beyond War), March 28, 1987
    • Includes t-shirt form the event and photos
  • Shroud of Turin April 2-10, 1986
  • Tech Prep 1994
  • Trial by Headlines, Julian Bond and Kevin Sweeney, March 3, 1988
  • Westmoreland, William (General) October 1, 1985

A1-06-49

  • Furlong Lecture (1988-1998, 2000, 2002-03)

Location

A1-06-42 / 43 / 44 / 47 / 48 / 49

Additional Information: created: 03/03/17

Spelling Bee

Title

Spelling Bee

Inclusive Dates

1979-2007

Origin

Public Relations / Marketing

Arrangement

Chronological

Volume

1 document case

Description

Programs, news releases, newspaper clippings, programs, rule books, photos of winners, a few t-shirts provided to the participants, etc. documenting the regional spelling bee.  Saint Francis College/University personnel were involved in the bee which was originally hosted at local high schools but eventually was held on campus.

Location

A1-05-43 / Updated 3/2/2017, A2-01-29 (t-shirts)

Sports Schedules

Title

Sports Schedules

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description
  • Men’s and Women’s Basketball (1957-1997)
  • Fall Sports
  • Football 1927-1929

Location

A1-04-46

Sports (Non-Revenue)

Title

Sports (Non-Revenue)

Inclusive Dates

1958-1996

Origin

Sports Information

Arrangement

Alphabetical by sport, then chronological

Volume

12 document cases

Description

Includes rosters, photographs, statistics, some newspaper clippings. Many of the folders have the seaon's statistics written on them.

Location
  • Non-Revenue Sports (1967-1996) Baseball, Fall Sports, Rifle, Swimming,, Women's Golf, Wrestling -- A2-01-15
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Cross Country (1963-76; 1970s; 1977-1987) -- A2-01-16
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Cross Country (1988-1995) -- A2-01-17
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Men's Golf (1970-75; 1980; 1983-1995) -- A2-01-18
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Men's Soccer (1968-1972; 1974; 1984-1992) -- A2-01-19
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Men's Soccer (1993-1995) / Women's Soccer (1986-1995) -- A2-01-20
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Men's Tennis (1970-1974; 1980; 1984-1996) -- A2-01-21
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Men's Volleyball (1984-1996) -- A2-01-22
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Track (indoor and outdoor) (1958-1965; 1969-1972) -- A2-01-23
  • Non-Revenue: Women Athletics (1979-80) - A2-01-24
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Women's Softball (1985/86 - 1995/96) -- A2-01-24
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Women's Tennis (1980-1995) -- A2-01-25
  • Non-Revenue Sports: Women's Volleyball (1975; 1977; 1981-1995) -- A2-01-26

Additional Information: updated:06/15/2017

Springfest 1990's Souvenirs

Title:

Springfest 1990's

Inclusive Dates:

1995-1997

Origin:

 

Arrangement:

 

Volume:

 

Description:

Springfest  souvenirs from 1995 & 1997, hosted by SGA/SAO.

Location:

A1-05-11

Statue of Liberty - Photographs

Title

Statue of Liberty - Photographs

Inclusive Dates

1985

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

26 framed photographs, black and white, 51 x 41 cm Plus 1 title panel and 1 text panel

Description

A photographic exhibition depicting the origins of the Statue of Liberty and its symbolic connection with Ellis Island and the immigrant experience. Includes rare photographs of the statue under construction in Paris, portraits of immigrant families being processed through Ellis Island, and recent pictures of the restoration of the two monuments.  This exhibition was produced by the Special and Cultural Events Department, The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation,  c1985.          

  • Images of Liberty : 100 years of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island [Title panel].        
  • Images of Liberty : 100 years of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island [Text panel].       
  • 1   Liberty enlightening the world       
  • 2   Enlarging Liberty's hand in plaster 1876-81       
  • 3   Liberty's hand and torch 1875-76           
  • 4   Head of Liberty on display in a Paris park  1883       
  • 5   Liberty under construction in Paris 1882-83       
  • 6   Completed statue in Paris  1884       
  • 7   Construction of the pedestal begins  1883       
  • 8   Liberty arrives at Bedloe's Island  1885       
  • 9   Face of Liberty  1885      
  • 10  Liberty's pedestal and structural framework  1885      
  • 11  America's welcome - the Statue of Liberty  1905      
  • 12  Main building, Ellis Island  1905      
  • 13  Arriving at Ellis Island  1910      
  • 14  Great Hall, Ellis Island  1912      
  • 15  Families, Ellis Island  1905     
  • 16  Faces, Ellis Island  1900, 1910, 1926      
  • 17  Gazing at Liberty  1930      
  • 18  Liberty illuminated for the Hudson Fulton Celebration  1909      
  • 19  WPA restoration of the statue  1938      
  • 20  Visit to the statue by the French Consul-General  1947      
  • 21  Climbing to the crown  1948      
  • 22  Statue of Liberty aerial perspective  1952      
  • 23  Restoration begins  1984      
  • 24  Removing Liberty's flame  1984      
  • 25  Restoration of the colossus  1985      
  • 26  Looking to the future       

Includes the original box the prints came in containing 2 extra prints of no.18.        Shelved at end of M Section Oversize.

Location

M-228

Statues Saint Francis

Title

Statues of St. Francis

Inclusive Dates

 
Origin  
Arrangement  
Volume  
Description

M – 140

  • Ceramic statue (Height: 17cm, Width: 8.6 cm).
    Description:  Francis on one knee with three birds.
    Base reads:  The Valencia Collection, 1981
  • Bronze statue (Height: 22cm, Width 8.6cm)
    Description:  Francis standing, holding one bird in left hand.  Head bent, looking down and to the left.
    Base reads:  Balfour:  Known wherever there are schools and colleges.
  • Wooden statue (Height:  20cm, Width 5.3 cm)
    Description:  Francis standing, holding bird in left hand, right hand raised in benediction.  Three  more birds are at his feet.
    Base reads:  Assisi 1960 Janiszewski
  • Small wooden statue (Height: 18cm, Width: 4.3cm)
    Description:  Francis standing with hands folded at stomach, cowl is up over his head and his eyes are downcast.  Feet are in sandals.
    Base reads:  Chesney Cauley Zaharia 1964
  • Small wooden sculpture (Height: 17cm, Width: 4.9 cm)
    Description:  Geometric design with cone shapes used.  Francis is looking down at the bird in his right hand.  Left arm is at his side.  There is a piece of twine for his belt.  Light wood used for all pieces.
    Base reads:  “Poland”
  • Medium ceramic statue (Height: 22cm, Width: 5.8 cm)
    Description:  Francis standing with his arms crossed over his heart, stigmata clearly visible on hands and one foot. Cowl is up over his head.
  • Small wooden statue (Height:  16.5cm, Width: 4.9 cm)
    Description:  Geometric design with cone shapes used, Francis standing with a bird in his right hand and another at his feet.  Left arm at his side.  There is a brown string for his belt.  Halo above his head.  Dark wood was used for his robes while light woods were used for hands, face and birds.
  • Medium wooden statue (Height: 23cm, Width: 6 cm)
    Description:  Geometric and simple design, Francis standing, holding a bird in his left hand, right arm is at his side. ace is carved with smile.
    Base reads:  Made in Eire Creations
  • Marble statue, cream color (Height: 30cm, Width 6.5 cm)
    Description:  Francis standing, Dove in right hand, 2 doves at his feet, fawn on his left side with his left hand on its head.
    Base reads:  Made in Italy   Donated  2015
  • Marble statue, cream color (Height: 21.5cm, Width 15.5cm)
    Description:  Francis standing, leaning forward, with hands around wolf.
    Possibly made in Italy?  Donated  2015

M – 141

  • Large marble statue (Height: 42cm, Width: 12.7cm)
    Description:  Francis standing with arms wide, gazing heavenward.  His bare feet are showing.  Seems to be signed by A. Gionnelli on back of his habit.

M – 142

  • Large wooden statue (Height: 44cm, Width: 9.4cm)
    Description:  Francis standing with hands clasped in prayer, eyes closed.  Similar to folk-art in design.
    Base may be stamped  “Mexico”
Location M-140 ; M-141 ; M-142

Stewards of the Vision (150th Anniversary Commemorative Book) - Working Files

Title

Stewards of the Vision (150th Anniversary Commemorative Book) - Working Files

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

John Wozniak

Arrangement

Alphabetical by subject

Volume

3 document cases

Description

Various photocopies organized by subject by the book editor, John Wozniak.  Copies are of information from student publications, college publications, etc., reviewed as part of the process of preparing the College History publication, Stewards of the Vision, for the College’s Sesquicentennial in 1996/1997.

Location

A1-03-48, A1-05-15

Photos P2-008  (formerly P1-03-04-02)

Stokes Building Expansion

Title

Stokes Building Expansion

Inclusive Dates

1994

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

4 -- 24x20 posters

Description

Stokes Building Expansion poster exhibit presented by Alan Ritchie/David Fiore Architects, Leonard S. Fiore, Inc. General Contractor.  Consists of 4 posters (24" x 20") each with a 23.5" x 16.75" photograph of the Expansion.  Includes a cardboard stand up Saint Francis College bell tower (12.25" x 11")

Location

Flat file Drawer 9

Stokes (Maurice) Collection

Title

Stokes (Maurice) Collection

Inclusive Dates

1933 -1977

Origin

College offices, friends, Elizabeth Arnstein

Arrangement

 

Volume

7 document cases

Description

Background: 

Maurice Stokes was a basketball player at Saint Francis University (then College) from 1951 to 1955.  While playing professional basketball he sustained an injury which left him paralyzed.  Jack Twyman, another basketball player, became his guardian and he and Stokes maintained a close friendship until Stokes died in 1977.  Maurice is buried on the campus of the University and the Physical Education building is named after him.  Articles, programs and photographs pertaining to Maurice Stokes, his collegiate and professional basketball careers, his illness and death.  Several programs and photographs of benefit games for Stokes are also included.

Elizabeth Arnstein, a student, produced a video titled – “The Cheering Never Stopped” – in 1994 for her senior honors thesis.  A copy of the video is in the library circulation collection.  Background materials for the video are included in the Archives.  One folder contains clippings collected by Fr. Vincent Negherbon, one time President of the University and a friend of Stokes.

Film – “Maurie” – is in cold film storage.  See Donna Menis.

A1-02-48 contains videos of interviews with: 

  • (1) Judi Carr, Christ Hospital, Good Samaritan Hospital, Gladys Halpin, Oscar Robertson, Arnold “Red” Auerbach, Dr. Albert Zanzuccki,
  • (2) Basketball Hall of Fame, Rickie Regan, Milton Kutscher, Mark Kutscher, Fr. Vincent Negherbon, TOR (recorded in Springfield, MA; Seton Hall, NJ; Monticello NY; and Saint Francis College),
  • (3) Tom Cutcher, Lawrence Zitscher, Mary Jackson,
  • (4) Sylvia Meek, Jim Paxson, Cynthia Richardson, Harriet Janszen, portrait of Dr. Emily Hess, Madeline Fincher, Joyce Hildebran,
  • (5) Jack Twyman, Carole Twyman, Cincinnati Gardens.

A1-02-47 contains

  • (1) audio cassette of memories of Maurice Stokes as told by Emil Wandishin, SFC class of 1955, classmate, teammate, friend;
  • (2) 1993-1994 Sacremento Kings media guide which includes highlights of Cincinnati Royals (former franchise name) seasons (1955/56-1957/58 includes Stokes statistics).  Norm Van Lier also played for the team during the 1969/70 – 1971/72 seasons.

Folder titles: 

  • (1) articles about Maurice Stokes,
  • (2) writings by Maurice Stokes including Journal dated 9/28/67 to 7/24/78, The Making of One Professional Basketball Player,
  • (3) Contracts,
  • (4) Basketball game programs and newspaper clippings,
  • (5) script for – “The Cheering Never Stopped:  Maurice Stokes Remembered”,
  • (6) Letters about Stokes from 1951-1957 Saint Francis College alums including photographs of Stokes sports card and Stokes Trivial Pursuit card.
  • (7) photographs acquired: 
    • (a) Stokes, Skip Hughes, Philips, Wandishen,
    • (b) Stokes with therapist Teresa Trostmiller,
    • (c) Stokes on All American TKE and Omega Phi Chi fraternity 1955 booklet
    • (d) 4 small photos of Stokes at hospital from Gladys Halpin along with death notice from newspaper,
    • (e) 4 3”x5” of Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, MA,
    • (f) 2 8”x10” of Jack Twyman,
    • (g) 20th (1978) and 35th (1993) Annual Maurice Stokes Memorial Basketball Game programs,
    • (h) TEKE June 1982 article by Steven L. Hessmann on the history of Delta Phi chapter,
    • (8) miscellaneous.

This box also contains 87 3”x5” photographs of Stokes during therapy, etc.

M – 19

  • Folder 1:  Maurice Stokes…Memorial Programs contains News releases; articles concerning Stokes’ death; Faculty Bulletin containing the “Funeral Oration for Maurice Stokes by Rev. Vincent Negherbon, T.O.R.”
  • Folder 2:  Solemn Twilight Mass of Repose for Maurice Stokes dated April 9, 1970; News releases; Catholic Digest October 1960 (pages 73-76); newspaper articles concerning Stokes’ playing professional basketball; Proclamation of “Maurice Stokes Day” in Altoona on March 7, 1963; copies of letters; Saint Francis College Magazine Spring Issue Vol.2 No.1.
  • Folder 3:  Photos; articles concerning Stokes Benefit; letters concerning the conferring of an honorary doctorate on Jack Twyman; articles concerning Stokes’ recovery; Tributes to Maurice Stokes from the Sports Pages of the Nation’s Press published by Saint Francis College.
  • Folder 4:  Photos; Testimonial Dinner Honoring the ’55 Frankies dated April 4, 1955; newspaper articles concerning Stokes’ death and funeral; programs for Memorial Mass for Maurice Stokes which took place at Good Samaritan Hospital dated April 8, 1970; certificate stating that a tree had been planted in “…Memory of Maurice Stokes by Mr. & Mrs. Leslie R. Morris”…on the land of the Jewish National Fund.
  • Folder 5:  Hall of Fame Programs 2004.

M – 20

  • Folder 1:  Dedication of Maurice Stokes Physical Education Building at Saint Francis College of Pennsylvania dated December 8, 1972 program; Maurice Stokes stats for 1st thru 4th seasons at SFC plus awards listing; newspaper articles about Stokes; Biographical Sketch of Maurice Stokes; Program from the Greater Cincinnati Basketball Hall of Fame 1997 Hall of Fame Induction Banquet dated October 22, 1997; Program from N.I.T. Opening Round game at Madison Square Garden dated March 6, 1954, N.I.T. Quarter-Finals dated March 9, 1954, 18th Annual N.I.T. dated March 12, 1954, 18th Annual N.I.T. dated March 15, 1955; 35th Annual Maurice Stokes Memorial Basketball Game program dated August 10, 1993; Sport magazine issue dated March 1968 – article titled “Maurice Stokes 10 Years Later”; Palestra Illustrated University of Pennsylvania dated December 11, 1954; Testimonial Dinner Honoring “54” Frankies program dated March 24, 1954; East-West College All-Star Basketball Game program dated March 26, 1955; News Releases; Witness Volume 2 Number 13 dated January 16, 1966; Maurice Stokes Benefit Basketball Game program dated March 7, 1963; Saint Francis College News dated 1968; Tribune-Democrat Cambria County War Memorial Sports Hall of Fame First Awards Presentation newspaper insert (?) dated November 8, 1965; various letters.
  • Folder 2:  Newspaper articles; News Releases; Teke Life:  Magazine for the Men of Tau Kappa Epsilon (Literary Issue) dated March 1959; excerpts from Maurice Stokes hospital journal (?); VHS tape cover for movie – Big Mo.
  • Folder 3:  Newspaper articles; New Releases; letters to Rose Hertzog from Jack Twyman; Maurice Stokes Foundation program Honoring…Maurice “The Magnificient” Stokes.
  • Folder 4:  Correspondence in regards to Maurice Stokes or Jack Twyman.
  • Folder 5:  Newspaper articles; correspondence about the death of Maurice Stokes mother dated February 18, 1987.
  • Folder 6:  Wilt Chamberlain’s Basketball 1963 – article titled “Royal Badge of Courage” by Steve Hoffman (copy); articles on Jack Twyman; The NAIA News Spring Issue 1964 – Stokes article page 16-17; Cambria County War Memorial Sports Hall of Fame All Sports Banquet program dated February 1, 1971; Cambria County War Memorial Sports Hall of Fame All Sports Banquet program dated November 8, 1965; correspondence concerning All Sports Banquet; Saint Francis College Newsletter Volume X Number 4 Fall 1965; Saint Francis College Newsletter Volume X Number 2 March 1965; Saint Francis College Magazine 1967-1968; Herald Tribune Monday, March 28, 1955 article “Most Valuable Players” ; Poster enlargement of the New York Times article “Saint Francis College star named NIT most valuable player,” December 23, 1955 (used as SFC promotional material “More than just a school, a coeducational college with a legend . . . "
  • Folder 7:  Stokes stats handwritten by Ray Berner; newspaper articles; News releases; Correspondence; Maurice Stokes biography by Peter F. Burnham dated October 1965.
  • Folder 8:  Memorial Mass to honor the life of Maurice Stokes June 17, 1933 – April 6, 1970 program dated April 6, 2000; copy of Eulogy to Maurice Stokes by Ray Berner; Funeral Oration for Maurice Stokes by Rev. Vincent Negherbon, TOR; agenda for funeral of Maurice Stokes.
  • Folder 9:  Photographs of Maurice Stokes; This Brochure is Dedicated to…Frater Maurice Stokes – A Cherished Letter dated November 26, 1965.                                 

M – 21

  • Folder 1:  “Who was Maurice Stokes?” and “Why is our Athletics Center Named in Honor of Maurice Stokes?”
  • Folder 2:  Maurice Stokes has now defined history… story by Dave Sutor printed from website (2 copies).
  • Folder 3:  Testimonial Dinner-Dance in Honor of Saint Francis College Basketball Team program dated April 21, 1955; St. Francis College Newsletter June, 1958 – “Maurice Stokes in St. Elizabeth’s Hospital”; Newspaper articles; News release; Dedication of the Maurice Stokes Physical Education Building program dated December 8, 1972; invitation to dedication of Stokes Building with RSVP; photo of Maurice Stokes.
  • Folder 4:  Newspaper articles; correspondence concerning I.V. Davis; short biography of I.V. Davis.
  • Folder 5:  Cambria County War Memorial Arena Hall of Fame All Sports Banquet program dated June 18, 1984; National Basketball Hall of Fame correspondence dated October 1974; related Hall of Fame materials including correspondence.
  • Folder 6:  Correspondence (past) pertinent to all athletic history.
  • Folder 7:  Stokes Club Reports / Financial statements relating to the Stokes
  • Stokes Club Application 
  • Stokes Club Newsletter - 1987
  • Folder 8:  Collegiate Basketball Officials Bureau Notice of Assignment of Officials for N.I.T. dated March 5, 1954; Official Program Fairleigh Dickinson vs. St. Francis dated January 12, 1955; Western Union telegrams (24); Forty-ninth Annual Convention of the National Collegiate Athletic Association Second Notice dated 1955; Program 18th Annual N.I.T. dated March 14, 1955; Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association Annual Awards Luncheon program dated March 10, 1954.
  • Folder 9:  News releases; correspondence – copy of letter from President Nixon dated December 8, 1972; Dedication of the Maurice Stokes Physical Education Building program dated December 8, 1972; pamphlet detailing purpose and cost of the Physical Education Building; Dedication of the Maurice Stokes Physical Education Center – excerpts from the main address of Dr. Thomas Haggai; copies of invitation to dedication ceremony; Industrial Supply Bulletin dated October 1972  article – “New Building for Saint Francis College”; Dedication of the Maurice Stokes Physical Education Building comments by Ronald Muffie, Rev. Vincent R. Negherbon, TOR, Walter W. Krebs, Dr. James McConnell, Hon. Arnold D. Smorto, Very Reverand Columba Devlin, TOR, Most Rev. James J. Hogan, Rev. James P. Long, Miss Brenda Saunders, Hon. John P. Saylor; Historical Note on Maurice Stokes by Ray Berner, Assistant Professor of English at SFC.  Cassette tape – Stokes Building Dedication ceremony.
  • Folder 10:  Newspaper articles; News releases; cost of Stokes Center (without pool); blueprint for Stokes Building; Black Athletes Hall of Fame information; Citation for Jack Twyman; photo of Maurice Stokes (action pose in Saint Francis uniform); correspondence; Maurice (book on Stokes); Dedication of the Maurice Stokes Physical Education Building program dated December 8, 1972; Tributes to Maurice Stokes from the Sports Pages of the Nation’s Press; Funeral Oration for Maurice Stokes by Rev. Vincent Negherbon, TOR; Cambria County War Memorial Sports Hall of Fame All Sports Banquet program dated February 1, 1971; packet of negatives showing Maurice Stokes in graduation clothes; announcement of death of Claurice Stokes Washington (twin sister of Maurice); “Maurie” A True Story movie program signed by Tero and Myrtle Stokes; Sports Illustrated July 1, 1968; Sports Illustrated July 8, 1968; photos of Jack Twyman at Hall of Fame (?); Maurice Stokes Memorial Basketball Game program dated August 18, 1970; Saint Francis College Magazine Spring Issue Vol. 2 No. 1; Industrial Supply Bulletin dated October 1972  article – “New Building for Saint Francis College; Proposal booklet for Maurice Stokes Physical Education Center by Campbell, Rea, Hayes and Large Registered Architects of Altoona Pennsylvania; artist’s rendering of finished Stokes Building; copy of the transcript of “Maurie” press conference April 19, 1973 in Los Angeles; two tickets to the World Premiere of “Maurie” at the Fulton Theatre dated July 31, 1973.

M – 22 Photographs including building construction, interior shots, placing of the dated (1971) stone, artist rendition of finished building (1970), artist rendition of finished extension work (1989), and artist rendition of interior layout of finished extension work (1989).              

M – 23 Maurice Stokes 28th Annual Game jersey and shorts; 10 size 45 vinyl records; newspaper articles (copies); photographs; Saturday Evening Post dated March 14, 1959- article on Stokes page 27; College Sports dated February 1994 – article on Stokes page 28; Pittsburgh Press Sunday Roto Magazine dated May 1, 1983 – article on Twyman page 16.

M - 23a Drawn portrait of Maurice Stokes (b&w, 41" x 59.5") signed Hodge

M – 24 Scrapbook on Maurice Stokes.

M – 25 Scrapbook on Maurice Stokes.                                                

Location

M – 19 thru 21 (articles, correspondence)
M – 22 (Stokes building photos)
M – 23 (oversized items)
M - 23a Drawn portrait
M – 24 thru 25 (scrapbooks)
A1-02-47 and A1-02-48 (additional info gathered by Arnstein)

Additional

Information

Strohmeier (Ellen) - Memorabilia

Title

Strohmeier (Ellen) - Memorabilia

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Physical Plant (donated August 2010)

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Ellen Strohmeier was a Saint Francis employee for 50+ years.  Uniform smock mounted on display board includes photographs and brief biography.

Location

M-68A

Student Affairs - Subject Files (1961-1985)

Overview of Collection:        Subject files transferred from the Records Center to the Archives.  The collection was minimally processed.  Paperclips and photographs were removed.  Newspaper clippings will need to be photocopied at a later date. 

Inclusive Dates:         1961-1985

Bulk Dates:                1970-1980

Linear feet:                2 archival document cases

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note      

A1-01-39 (A-E)

  • Academic Calendar Committee 1974-1981
  • Bell Tower 1972-1983
  • Clares 1973-1977
  • Cresson Lake Playhouse 1981-1985
  • Current Affairs Club 1982-1984
  • Entre’ Acte (Dramatics Club) 1962-1968

A1-01-40 (F-Z)

  • French Club 1982
  • Fraternities Affairs 1976-1980
    • Constitution of the Fraternity of Alpha Chi Rho 1976 Edition
    • Expansion Manual for the Fraternity of Alpha Chi Rho
    • Alpha Chi Rho The Exoteric Manual
    • Hazing Policy and related correspondence
  • Freshman Class 1961-1983
    • Freshman Manual 1968
    • New Student Registry 1982
    • Freshman Registry 1983
    • Invitations to Freshman Class Dance (1961-1969)
  • Honors Society 1977-1985
    • Constitution of the Saint Francis College Honor Society
  • Honors Program 1984
    • Honors Program approved for Fall 1984
    • Application
    • Honors Program Student Guide
  • Historicus Club 1979-1983
  • Pre-law Club 1977-1981
    • Law Day 1978 program
  • P.S.E.A. Club 1983
  • Rifle Team 1984
  • Sigma Phi Epsilon 1979
    • Informational packet from the organization to the college
  • Ski Club 1967
    • Memo proposing a cross country skiing team
    • Release form for participation in Ski Club events
  • Soccer 1978-1983
  • Sophomore Class 1965-1982
    • Sophomore Town Crier – The Sophomore Class Newsletter (November 1967 and February 1968)
    • Invitation to 1975 Sophomore Cotillion
  • Stokes Committee 1973
  • Stokes Club 1972-1985
    • By-Laws of the Stokes Club (October 8, 1978)
    • Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
  • Student Nursing Organization 1982
  • Tennis 1974-1983
  • “21 Club” 1980-1981
    • Copies of Stokes Club Executive Committee Meeting Minutes when the idea for the club was discussed

Provenance   

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on June 4, 2018.

Location         A1-01-39 (A-E) / A1-01-40  (F-Z)

           

Student Council - Financial Records

Title

Student Council - Financial Records

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

Ledgers from September 1954-1986 (5 ledgers)

Pictures of “Old Main” campus

Football team and individuals

Friars

Location

A1-06-01 Ledgers

P1-04-03-02a (prints of negatives)

Student Government Association

Title

Student Government Association

Inclusive Dates

1966-1992, 2010

Origin

 

Arrangement

Chronological by meeting date

Volume

1 document case

Description

Minutes of the meetings held by the student representatives to the Student Government Association (SGA).  Before 1966 the group was called the Student Council.  A new constitution was completed prior to the beginning of the spring semester 1967 when the new SGA began operation.  The bulk of the materials are from 1966-1972.Town Hall Meeting 2010

Location

A1-02-29

Student Life - Photographs

Title

Student Life

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description
  • Student Life 1996  1 of 4 - P1-023
  • Student Life 1996  2 of 4 - P1-024
  • Student Life 1996  3 of 4 - P1-025
  • Student Life 1996  4 of 4 - P1-026
  • Dormitory Life 1990s - P1-168

Location

 

Student Orientation Handbooks and Rosters

Title

Student Orientation Handbooks and Rosters

Inclusive Dates

1954-1981

Origin

Public Relations Office

Arrangement

Chronological by school year

Volume

1 document case

Description

Contains Freshman rosters and student orientation handbooks.  These items were part of the library archives.  Includes:

  • 1954 Freshman Orientation Handbook
  • Student List Fall Semester 1962
  • Student Lists Spring Semester 1963
  • Student List Fall Semester 1963
  • Student List Spring Semester 1964
  • Student List 1st Summer Session 1965
  • Student List Fall Semester 1965
  • Freshman Manual 1966
  • Freshman Manual 1971
  • Freshman Registry 1976
  • Freshman Registry 1977
  • Freshman Registry 1978
  • Freshman Registry 1979
  • New Student Registry 1981

Location

A1-01-16