SFU Logo

Archives Finding Aid

Tobin Center Archives Collections

Task Force for Fair Employment Practices

Title

Task Force for Fair Employment Practices

Inclusive Dates

 

Origin

Father Kevin Queally (donated July 2009)

Arrangement

 

Volume

 

Description

 

Location

A1-06-02

 

 

Tobin (Margaret) Collection

Title

Tobin (Margaret) Collection

Inclusive Dates

1950 - 1986

Origin

Margaret Tobin, her family, the college library

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 document case; 1 photograph box; 3 framed certificates

Description

Miscellaneous papers and memorabilia of Miss Margaret M. Tobin who was employed at Saint Francis College from 1950 until her death in 1986.  Miss Tobin dedicated her professional life to the Saint Francis College library.  She was head librarian from 1966 until 1986.

Categories for folders and arrangement of all materials was determined by the staff of the Center.  Materials were unorganized when received.  The estimate on the value of Miss Tobin’s house was removed from the photo album and placed into the Miscellaneous folder.  The document case also contains a small (3.5 x 5.5) spiral bound photo album of 20 black and white photos from March 1961 and a large medallion.

The document case (M-48) contains folders titled: 

  • Certificates,
  • Correspondence,
  • News Releases/Articles (194?-1986),
  • Miscellaneous,
  • Photographs,
  • Publications,
  • Resumes. 
  • Lock Haven University 150th Coin (includes note)

Photograph box (M-47) contains various articles, photos, etc. collected from family, friends, associates of Miss Tobin as a tribute to her by Fr. Vincent Negherbon, TOR, former head librarian and president Saint Francis College, Memorial Mass for Margaret Tobin November 8, 1986 program.

Three framed certificates of apostolic blessings dated 1959, 1980 and 1985 ranging in size from 11.5 x 14.5; 13 x 6; 14 x 16 (M - 46). 

An alligator skin presented to Miss Tobin by the Friends of the Franciscans as a going away gift after her visit to the Franciscan Friars in Brazil in 1967 (M – 49).

Diploma sketch

Location

M–46, M–47, M–48, M-49

TOR (Third Order Regular) Materials

Title

TOR (Third Order Regular) Materials

Inclusive Dates

1928 -

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 document case

 

Description

Materials about the College were photocopied from the originals housed in the TOR Archives.  Most clippings deal with students, faculty, staff and alumni.  Clippings of student biographies.  One folder contains commencement programs.  “History of Procuring a Charter” by Fr. Benedict English.  1966 Charter. 1942 Fire.  Frosh Babble (1928).

 

Additional materials: Third Order Regular memorabilia

Location

A1-03-46

 

 

Torvian Honor Society

Title

Torvian Honor Society

Inclusive Dates

1969-1971

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 three-ring binder

Description

Documents a fund raising drive to make "urgently needed changes in the Torvian Dining Hall".

Ledger first followed by letters, student list (alphabetical, off campus students first then on campus students); then list of donors (alphabetical by surname).  Contains ledger sheets listing names, addresses and amount donated/pledged and paid or balanced due to the society.  Also contains a sample pledge reminder and “thank you” letters.  Contains a 1971 spring semester roster of students and a type written listing of contributors.  Funds from this drive went to “urgently needed changes in the Torvian Dining Hall.”

Location

A1-02-30

Travaglini (Barbara Carlson) Collection

Title

Travaglini (Barbara Carlson) Collection

Inclusive Dates

1974-1984

Origin

 

Arrangement

Chronological

Volume

1 document case

Description

The articles contained here were written by Barbara Carlson Travaglini from 1976 to 1992 for the Coatesville Record newspaper.

The Gunard Berry Carlson Memorial Foundation funds the Saint Francis University Creative Writing Contest.  Five cash/tuition prizes are given each year at the President’s Awards Convocation.  Winning entries are cataloged  (See TCA 808.8 G975)

Gunard Berry Carlson was the oldest child and only son of steel magnate, Gunard Oscar Carlson and Margaret Carlson.  He died at age fifteen in 1939.   The couple established a charitable foundation in 1957 in memory of their son.  Barbara Carlson Travaglini was Gunard Berry Carlson’s sister.

Location

A1-06-23

Tree Planting Plans - 1949

Overview of Collection:

Details the planting of trees on the Saint Francis College campus and the former Schwab Estate in 1949

Inclusive Dates: 1948-49

Bulk Dates: 1948-49

Linear feet: materials are housed in an acid-free folder inside an acid-free archival box that measures 17x23

Language of materials: English

Scope and Content Note

  • Correspondence and Planting Plan from Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department of Forest and Water dated December 1948.
  • Purchase order dated April 27, 1949 for various trees
  • Post card from Fr. Regis to Father Charles postmarked March 12, 1949 stating that 3,500 Norway Spruce, 3,500 Pitch Pine and 1,000 European Larch will be received around April 4th.

Provenance

Restrictions

None, these materials are available upon request.

Processor

These materials were processed by and inventory was written by Barbara Doll. The inventory was last updated on March 6, 2017.

Location         A2-06-14

Troppoli (Dan) Collection

Title

Troppoli (Dan) Collection

Inclusive Dates

1960s

Origin

Dan Troppoli

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 photograph

Description

Donation was received in response to requests for alumni to donate memorabilia in preparation for the Sesquicentennial (1996-1997).  This four foot square photograph of the campus in the 1960s was done by Kimball Architects from one mile up.  Troppoli had it hanging in his office when he worked on campus.  Physical Plant personnel at the time told him it was useful because they could tell where pipes were laid underground.  Graduated from the prep school in 1946.  Campus aerial views.

Location

Hanging in reading room (1998)

 

 

Tummillo, Frank C. Collection - (Class of 1968)

Title

Tummillo, Frank C. Collection - (Class of 1968)

Inclusive Dates

1972-1980

Origin

 

Arrangement

 

Volume

1 folder in A1-05-23 / 1 plaque M-158

Description

Frank Tummillo graduated from Saint Francis in 1968.   He was a special agent wit the Burearu of Narcotics & Dangerour Drugs and was killed in the line of duty October 12, 1972

  • A1-05-23 -- Bureau of Narcotics & Dangerous Drugs, BNDD Bulletin, Winter 1972-72 article titled Special Agent -- Killed in the line of duty Oct. 12, 1972
  • M-158 -- Saint Francis College Hall of Fame plague – Frank C. Tummillo Class of 1968 – presented August 16, 1980.

Location

M-158