SFU Logo

International Students

This guide contains helpful information for International Students using SFU library resources.

Translate This Page

How to Change the Search Screen Language in EBSCOhost Databases

EBSCO Databases

Library Databases from the vendor EBSCO (identified by a blue/green circular logo) offer a menu option to change the language on the  search screen. Click on "Languages" and choose the language you prefer:

Research Databases: The following databases offer language restrictions:

  • All EBSCOhost databases (identified by the blue, circular EBSCOhost logo) offer the ability to change the language of the search screen.  Click on the Languages link at the top of the screen and choose the language you prefer.

  • All EBSCOhost databases also offer a language option on the Advanced Search screen which allows you to search for materials in a language other than English.  Be sure to scroll down on the search screen to locate the Language menu.  This option will search materials available exclusively in the language you prefer and display English-language materials that have been translated to your preferred language.

  • In EBSCOhost databaes, articles in HTML format can be translated from the item screen.  When you see an article with this icon: , click on this link.  You will see options for translating the article above the title of the article.

Most articles are in .pdf format, shown with the icon: .  For instructions on translating .pdf documents, please see the box on the left side of this page.

- See more at: http://libguides.hofstra.edu/internationalstudents/Translation#sthash.By2X9tY7.dpuf

Research Databases: The following databases offer language restrictions:

  • All EBSCOhost databases (identified by the blue, circular EBSCOhost logo) offer the ability to change the language of the search screen.  Click on the Languages link at the top of the screen and choose the language you prefer.

  • All EBSCOhost databases also offer a language option on the Advanced Search screen which allows you to search for materials in a language other than English.  Be sure to scroll down on the search screen to locate the Language menu.  This option will search materials available exclusively in the language you prefer and display English-language materials that have been translated to your preferred language.

  • In EBSCOhost databaes, articles in HTML format can be translated from the item screen.  When you see an article with this icon: , click on this link.  You will see options for translating the article above the title of the article.

Most articles are in .pdf format, shown with the icon: .  For instructions on translating .pdf documents, please see the box on the left side of this page.

- See more at: http://libguides.hofstra.edu/internationalstudents/Translation#sthash.By2X9tY7.dpuf

All EBSCOhost databases also offer a language option on the Advanced Search screen which allows you to search for materials in a language other than English.  Be sure to scroll down on the search screen to locate the Language menu.  This option will search materials available exclusively in the language you prefer and display English-language materials that have been translated to your preferred language.