CONTENT: Nursing, allied health disciplines, cardiopulmonary technology, emergency services, health education, med/lab technology, medical assistance, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, radiologic technology, respiratory therapy, surgical technology, and physician's assistant.
RESOURCE TYPES: Journal articles, medical text books, nursing dissertations, educational software, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters.
COVERAGE: Indexes more than 3,000 journals in the field of nursing and allied health, dating back to 1981.
CONTENT: Full-text journal articles covering the topics of alternative and complementary medicine, behavioral and social sciences, clinical medicine, health professions, life and biomedical sciences, medical humanities, patient education, pharmacology, physical science and engineering, public health, science, and PsycARTICLES.
RESOURCE TYPES: Journal articles.
COVERAGE: 260+ professional journals, with varying length of issue access for each journal. Click on the search tab at the top left of the page to search by keyword(s).
CONTENT: Free database from the National Library of Medicine containing biomedical literature in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, on the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Searches include the resources from PreMedline and Medline.
RESOURCE TYPES: Journals, online books, additional relevant web sites, and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
COVERAGE: Database of more than 21 million citations covering biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites and includes MedLine content. Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Searches the following ProQuest Databases: CBCA Complete: Health & Medicine / Pharmaceutical News Index / Physical Education Index / PILOTS / ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Health & Medicine / ProQuest Family Health / ProQuest Health & Medical Complete / ProQuest Health Management / ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source / ProQuest Research
Health science/medical textbooks in all major medical specialties. Some of the titles included are Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine, and LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Libraries. Drug Information that users can search by the drug’s generic name, trade name, or class is also part of this database.
RESOURCE TYPES:
Full text medical reference textbooks, with images; a differential diagnosis tool called ‘Diagnosaurus’ which allows users to browse more than 1,000 differential diagnoses; QMDT (Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment), an outline of the most common medical conditions with a quick, concise answer; Diagnostic test section from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests; Video/Audio on bedside and office-based procedures, diagnostic tests, treatments and conditions; Case Files; Self-Assessment Tools such as practice tests and flashcards; and Patient Education Handouts.
COVERAGE:
Most recent editions of more than 85 medical reference textbooks.
CONTENT: Browse journal titles from A-Z, by discipline or conduct a topic search in the fields of: Health Sciences, Life and Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science and Engineering, and Social Science and Humanities.
RESOURCE TYPES: Scholarly journal articles.
COVERAGE: Provides full-text access to 389 journals; updated monthly.
Key ebooks encompass both general and specialty nursing subjects,
including the Magnet® journey, nursing informatics, quality nursing care,
healthcare ethics, and professional development
What are the steps to finding the full text of an article at SFU?
If you just have a citation for an article, it is best to...
1. Search Discover...
This will be the quickest way to find the article and request it.
2. Follow all possible links that may lead you to the full text. Examples may appear as :
Find full text.
Full-Text PDF
Find a copy in another resource that your library has access to.
Search for Full Text by following links like these:
3. If you cannot find it in Discover...
Never buy an article!
If you are in a database or Discover, "Select Request through ILL" > login with your university login and password > select "Submit"
OR
Manually request and retrieve your article through ...
Is a database that lists all periodical publications and identifies whether or not that periodical practices the process of review. Simply look up the journal name of your article.
CONTENT: Provides the ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians for all periodicals. Useful in the identification of subject area publication requirements, follow the company URL to seek out manuscript submission procedures.
RESOURCE TYPES: Periodical types include: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
COVERAGE: Covers over 300,000 periodicals, in 900 different subject areas.
referee shirt.
