Research Guides: Masters of Science in Nursing: Graduate Orientation: MSN

Identify Peer-Reviewed Journals

Ulrich's - Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Is a database that lists all periodical publications and identifies whether or not that periodical practices the process of review. Simply look up the journal name of your article.
CONTENT: Provides the ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians for all periodicals. Useful in the identification of subject area publication requirements, follow the company URL to seek out manuscript submission procedures.

RESOURCE TYPES: Periodical types include: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

COVERAGE: Covers over 300,000 periodicals, in 900 different subject areas.

look for the referee shirt.

What are the steps to finding the full text of an article at SFU?

If you just have a citation for an article, it is best to...

1. Search Discover...

This will be the quickest way to find the article and request it.

2. Follow all possible links that may lead you to the full text. Examples may appear as :

Find full text.
Full-Text PDF
Find a copy in another resource that your library has access to.
Search for Full Text by following links like these:

Full Text

3. If you cannot find it in Discover...

Never buy an article!

If you are in a database or Discover, "Select Request through ILL" > login with your university login and password > select "Submit"

Manually request and retrieve your article through ...

Interlibrary Loan
An automated system that uses your SFU login and password. The first time you use it, you will need to build your account with contact info.

Full Text Activity

Activity:

Sanders, J., Pithie, A., Ganly, P., Surgenor, L., Wilson, R., Merriman, E., Loudon, G., Judkins, R., & Chambers, S. (2008). A prospective double-blind randomized trial comparing intraluminal ethanol with heparinized saline for the prevention of catheter-associated bloodstream infection in immunosuppressed haematology patients. The Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy, 62(4), 809-815. https://doi.org/10.1093/jac/dkn284

Bosco, A., Schneider, J., Coleston-Shields, D. M., & Orrell, M. (2019). Dementia care model: Promoting personhood through co-production. Archives of Gerontology and Geriatrics, 81, 59-73. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.archger.2018.11.003

Activity 2 Primary Articles

Example:

Transfusion related adverse events in the Platelet Dose

Activity:

Citation Activity

Transfusion related adverse events in the Platelet Dose study