Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A website with images, videos, and information about art from Prehistoric sculptures to 20th century Architecture.
Smart History Books
The Smarthistory team has been hard at work on a brand-new initiative. Introducing Smarthistory Books — free, downloadable, printable texts for the classroom, with print on demand options available. Four books are currently available: Guides for Aegean, Greek, Near Eastern, and Egyptian art.
Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning
Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbooks offers up-to-date original scholarship and over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses.
Art Appreciation 101
Art Appreciation thoroughly investigates how quality is determined and created by artists in order to evaluate and appreciate art on a deeper level. Students are first introduced to the elements and principles of art and then different periods in art history, different techniques in art, and how to research and evaluate art.
A Quick & Dirty Guide to Art, Music, & Culture
A textbook by Clayton Funk, instructor of Arts Administration, Education, and Policy at Ohio State University.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Public domain images from the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Art History: Curriculum Resources from the Met
Although focused on the needs of K-12 instructors, these resources from the Metropolitan Museum of Art provide useful overviews of ancient art from around the world.
Boundless Art History
Developed by Lumen Learning, this full text covers art history from prehistoric times through global art since 1950.
A History of Western Art
This text provides active learning tools to support the needs of college students, especially those who have little previous exposure to art history. These tools include a carefully designed art program, a strong narrative that unifies Western art, and pedagogy designed to foster critical thinking and visual analysis. [From Intro] From CCAC Art Faculty: "The value of a text is that it allows high-quality images to be connected to the written content seamlessly. I was able to divide the text into chapters using Adobe Acrobat and then add the chapters to the Blackboard documents.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
A collection of sheet music in the public domain, with accompanying biographical and historical information.
A text compiled from simple article overviews of music history and its movements. overs the Medieval and Renaissance, Baroque, Classical Genres, Classical Forms, Classical Composers, Early Romantic Era, Romantic Opera, Late Romantic Era, 20th Century: Impressionism, Expressionism, and Twelve-Tone, 20th Century: Introduction to Primitivism, Nationalism, and Neoclassicism, 20th Century: Aleatoric, Electronic, and Minimalist Music.
Inquiry to Music
The purpose of this text is to provide guidance for individuals or groups in designing and carrying out music-learning inquiries that are tailored to the educational goals, learning style, cultural background, musical knowledge, and interests of the individual learners.
Music and the Child
This book explores a holistic, artistic, and integrated approach to understanding the developmental connections between music and children. This book guides professionals to work through music, harnessing the processes that underlie music learning, and outlining developmentally appropriate methods to understand the role of music in children’s lives through play, games, creativity, and movement.
Open Music Theory
An “open-source, interactive, online book for college-level music theory courses.” The three original authors use this textbook in the context of “inverted” or “flipped” courses, often following an inquiry-based model.
Open Music Theory, volume 1
This is a new edition of Open Music Theory, an open-source, interactive, online “text”book for college-level music theory courses. Currently in production with a projected completion date of Summer 2020.
Music Theory Materials
The Music Theory Materials website was created to provide materials – musical examples, videos, and handouts – that could be useful in music theory classes. The specific goal is to provide examples of full pieces of music that can be used in the study of musical form and analysis. The musical examples are presented as downloadable PDFs and audio files or as links to other sites that contain this information.
Understanding Basic Music Theory
Published by Rice University, this text significantly expands upon "Introduction to Music Theory", but only covers the bare essentials. Music is a very large subject, and the advanced theory that students will want to pursue after mastering the basics will vary greatly.
This text contains overviews of various basic theories for Music Appreciation. It is recommended for music courses tailored for students pursuing music education.
Music Appreciation (Historical)
The course is designed to give the student an appreciation of music by exposing them to many musical styles, composers, historical trends, as well as increasing their aural, verbal and writing skills in describing music.
Music: Its Language, History, and Culture
This textbook serves as an introduction to Music History with clear but abbreviated information about musical vocabulary, instruments and ensembles, European music, American music, World music, and musicians. It is recommended as a basic introductory text.
Introduction to Technical Theatre
An Introduction to Technical Theatre draws on the author’s experience in both the theatre and the classroom over the last 30 years. Intended as a resource for both secondary and post-secondary theatre courses, this text provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology and general practices.
[Theater] La France Sauvée ou le Tyran Détrôné: A Dramaturgical Casebook
This a dramaturgical casebook on La France Sauvée, an unfinished play by Olympe de Gouges, translated by Clarissa Palmer, with contextual information on the French Revolution.
Images & Videos
A community music site that features remixes available under a Creative Commons License.
Free Music Archive
An interactive library of high quality, legal audio downloads.
The Mutopia Project
Free sheet music that is in the public domain or under Creative Commons License. Organized by instrument, composer and musical style.
Open Music Library
Curated by music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, Open Music Library is a free index of digital resources for the study of music. It includes audio, video, articles and scores.
Music Appreciation - Lumen Learning
Containing musical excerpts, this course exposes the student to different musical styles, composers, and historical trends, It also improves their ability to use aural, writing and verbal skills while describing music.
Containing music samples, this course is designed to help the user cultivate a lifelong intelligent and passionate connection to music.
Khan Academy: Art History
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Used in ART 103 & ART 104.