Affordable Course Material (ACM) - Finding Guide: Literature/Languages

• Essentials of Linguistics 

  • 

  Essentials of Linguistics is suitable for any beginning learner of linguistics but is primarily aimed at the Canadian learner, focusing on Canadian English for learning phonetic transcription, and discussing the status of Indigenous languages in Canada.
• Brehe's Grammar Anatomy 

  • 

  This book provides an in-depth look at beginner grammar terms and concepts, providing clear examples with limited technical jargon.
• Analyzing Meaning: An Introduction to Semantics and Pragmatics

  This book provides an introduction to the study of meaning in human language, from a linguistic perspective. It covers a fairly broad range of topics, including lexical semantics, compositional semantics, and pragmatics.
• American English 

  • 

  A resource center for teaching and learning about American English language and culture. Unless a copyright is indicated, information is in the public domain and may be copied and distributed without permission.

• Compact Anthology of World Literature 

  • 

  The emphasis in this anthology is on non-Western and European works, with only the British authors who were the most influential to European and non-Western authors (such as Shakespeare, whose works have influenced authors around the world to the present day).
• Naming the Unnamable: An Approach to Poetry for New Generations 

  • 

  Naming the Unnameable offers practical advice for developing a writing process that is centered on play and supported by an understanding of America’s rich literary traditions. With consideration to the psychology of invention, Evory provides students with exercises aimed to make writing in its early stages a form of play that gives way to more enriching insights through revision, embracing the writing of poetry as both a love of language and a tool that enables us to explore ourselves and better understand the world.

• Western Humanities 1 

  • 

  A selection of readings for a Western Humanities/Western Literature course, including Agamemnon, Ovid's Metamorphoses, Augustine's Confessions, Thomas More's Utopia, and more.
• Literature, the Humanities, & Humanity

  Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity attempts to make the study of literature more than simply another school subject that students have to take. At a time when all subjects seem to be valued only for their testability, this book tries to show the value of reading and studying literature, even earlier literature. It shows students, some of whom will themselves become teachers, that literature actually has something to say to them.
• It’s All Greek to Me! Using Authentic Readings to Improve Knowledge of the English Language and Western Culture 

  • 

  “It’s All Greek to Me!” has everything—entertaining stories, academic articles in a variety of disciplines, vocabulary crossover in literary and academic readings, connections to local, American, and Western culture, and plenty of chances for critical thinking for advanced students of English as a Second Language (ESL).

• British Literature I: Middle Ages to the Eighteenth Century and Neoclassicism 

  • 

  The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you British Literature I: From the Middle Ages to Neoclassicism and the Eighteenth Century. Featuring over 50 authors and full texts of their works, this anthology follows the shift of monarchic to parliamentarian rule in Britain, and the heroic epic to the more egalitarian novel as genre.
• British Literature II: Romantic Era to the Twentieth Century and Beyond 

  • 

  Featuring 37 authors and full texts of their works, the selections in this open anthology represent the literature developed within and developing through their respective eras. This completely-open anthology will connect students to the conversation of literature that has captivated readers in the past and still holds us now.
• English Literature: Victorians and Moderns 

  • 

  In addition to providing annotated teaching editions of many of the most frequently-taught classics of Victorian and Modern poetry, fiction and drama, it also provides a series of guided research casebooks which make available numerous published essays from open access books and journals, as well as several reprinted critical essays from established journals.
• The Emergence of Irish Gothic Fiction: History, Origins, Theories 

  • 

  This book provides a robustly theorised and thoroughly historicised account of the ‘beginnings’ of Irish gothic fiction, maps the theoretical terrain covered by other critics, and puts forward a new history of the emergence of the genre in Ireland. The main argument the book makes is that the Irish gothic should be read in the context of the split in Irish Anglican public opinion that opened in the 1750s, and seen as a fictional instrument of liberal Anglican opinion in a changing political landscape.

• American Literature I 

  • 

  American Literature I (1650–1860) examines significant literary works of early American and Puritan literature, the Enlightenment, American Romanticism, and pre-Civil War era. The course includes primary texts (many accompanied by video/audio options), historical background, literary criticism and interpretation, and instruction on writing about literature.
• Writing the Nation: A Concise Introduction to American Literature 1865 to Present 

  • 

  A text that surveys key literary movements and the American authors associated with the movement. Topics include late romanticism, realism, naturalism, modernism, and modern literature.

• Center for OER & Language Learning (COERLL)

  This site contains resources for instructors in various levels of World Language courses. Popular resources are highlighted, including resources for teaching french, Chinese, Arabic, and more!

• In the Workplace: An Intermediate Integrated Skills Textbook

  This is an English textbook to help ELL students acquire communication skills in the workplace. The book is aimed at Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) levels 5/6, focusing on intercultural skills and essential skills: reading text, document use, writing, oral communication, thinking skills, working with others, and computer use.
• In the Community: An Intermediate Integrated Skills Textbook

  This is an English textbook to help ELL students acquire communication skills in the community (listening, speaking, reading, and writing). The book is aimed at Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) levels 5/6, focusing on intercultural skills and essential skills: reading text, document use, writing, oral communication, thinking skills, working with others, and computer use.

• Online Spanish Textbook

  Spanish 1050 Online Textbook contains 5 major units, each with sections on grammar, vocabulary, culture, and discussion topics.
• SpInTX Videos

  The SpinTX video archive provides access to selected video clips and transcripts from the Spanish in Texas Corpus, a collection of video interviews with bilingual Spanish speakers in Texas.
• SpInTX Grammar

  Spanish Grammar in Context contains detailed grammar explanations of the Spanish language. Unlike traditional reference grammars, each topic is explained using authentic video examples from the Spanish in Texas project. Accompanying practice quizzes are available on an open Canvas course site.

• Liberté 

  • 

  Liberté, by Gretchen Angelo, is a first-year college French textbook with a true communicative approach. It has been adopted by instructors at over thirty colleges and high schools.
• Français interactif 

  • 

  This textbook of classroom activities and homework accompanies Français interactif, the web-based French program developed and in use at the University of Texas since 2004. It and its companion site, Tex’s French Grammar (2000) are open access sites, free and open multimedia resources, which require neither password nor fees.
• Les Conversations Mises à Jour

  Les Conversations Mises à Jour is a collection of authentic conversations in French that targets mostly intermediate and advanced learners of French.

• Style for Students Online

  Whether planning a paper, running a grammar check, completing a report, composing an email, puzzling over a usage or grammar issue, or writing a resume or online portfolio, you are bound to find the material and examples you need in Style for Students Online.
• Bad Ideas About Writing 

  • 

  Bad Ideas About Writing counters major myths about writing instruction. Inspired by the provocative science- and social-science-focused book This Idea Must Die and written for a general audience, the collection offers opinionated, research-based statements intended to spark debate and to offer a better way of teaching writing.
• American English 

  • 

  A resource center for teaching and learning about American English language and culture. Unless a copyright is indicated, information is in the public domain and may be copied and distributed without permission.

• Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers 

  • 

  This is an unabashedly practical guide for the student fact-checker. It supplements generic information literacy with the specific web-based techniques that can get you closer to the truth on the web more quickly.
• The Information Literacy User's Guide 

  • 

  The Information Literacy User’s Guide introduces students to critical concepts of information literacy as defined for the information-infused and technology-rich environment in which they find themselves. This book helps students examine their roles as information creators and sharers and enables them to more effectively deploy related skills.
• Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research 

  • 

  With this free-of-cost guide, students are better equipped to tackle the challenges of developing research questions, evaluating and choosing the right sources, searching for information, avoiding plagiarism, and much more.
• Copy(write): Intellectual Property in the Writing Classroom 

  • 

  The editors of Copy(write): Intellectual Property in the Writing Classroom bring together stories, theories, and research that can further inform the ways in which we situate and address intellectual property issues in our writing classrooms.

• English Composition I: Rhetorical Methods-Based

• Writing for Success 

  • 

  Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.
• Composing Ourselves and Our World 

  • 

  This textbook is meant for first year English Composition Courses. The text covers the essentials of composition and rhetoric in a recursive manner and introduces research skills.
• You, Writing! A Guide to College Composition 

  • 

  This text is meant to be used in any first year College Composition class or as a general guide to college writing. The book focuses on writing as a process, not a product. The goal is to help students discover their own writing process, trying out different methods and strategies to find what works best for them
• A Short Handbook for writing essays in the Humanities and Social Sciences 

  • 

  A retired master teacher of English and Comparative Literature teams up with his son, a History professor, on a new version of the writing manual he wrote and used for decades at the University of California, Davis.
• Writing and Literature: Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking, and Communication 

  • 

  Students learn the various writing styles appropriate for analyzing, addressing, and critiquing these genres including poetry, novels, dramas, and research writing. The text and its pairing of helpful visual aids throughout emphasizes the importance of critical reading and analysis in producing a successful composition.
• Writing In College: From Competence to Excellence 

  • 

  Writing in College is designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes.
• Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing Vol. II 

  • 

  In each chapter, authors present their unique views, insights, and strategies for writing by addressing the undergraduate reader directly. Drawing on their own experiences, these teachers-as-writers invite students to join in the larger conversation about the craft of writing.
• Crafting an Effective Writer: Tools of the Trade 

  Learn to become an effective builder of sentences using the basic tools of grammar, punctuation, and writing.

Technical Writing