General Business/Economics - Affordable Course Material (ACM) - Finding Guide - Research Guides at Saint Francis University

Textbooks

OpenStax Introduction to Business
This text provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals.
OpenStax Business Ethics
Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.
Fundamentals of Business
An introductory textbook in business that covers a variety of topics: The Foundations of Business, Economics and Business, Ethics and Social Responsibility, Business in a Global Environment, Forms of Business Ownership, Entrepreneurship: Starting a Business, Management and Leadership, Hospitality and Tourism, Accounting and Financial Information, and Personal Finances.
Business Law and the Legal Environment
This textbook provides context and essential concepts across the entire range of legal issues with which managers and business executives must grapple. The text provides the vocabulary and legal acumen necessary for businesspeople to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, government officials—and to their own lawyers.
Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook
Business professionals will work with taxes, gross earnings, product prices, and currency exchange; they will be offered loans, lines of credit, mortgages, leases, savings bonds, and other financial tools. This textbook covers all of these topics and how these financial tools can maximize their earnings and minimize their costs.
Business Plan Development Guide
This textbook and its accompanying spreadsheet templates were designed with and for students wanting a practical and easy-to-follow guide for developing a business plan. It follows a unique format that both explains what to do and demonstrates how to do it.

Entrepreneurship

Trailblazing in Entrepreneurship
This book offers suggestions for future research through a variety of topics including prosocial action, innovation, family business, sustainability and development, and the financial, social, and psychological costs of failure.
Business Plan Development Guide (Canada)
This textbook and its accompanying spreadsheet templates were designed with and for students wanting a practical and easy-to-follow guide for developing a business plan. It follows a unique format that both explains what to do and demonstrates how to do it.
Entrepreneurship and Innovation Toolkit
This book is designed for upper year undergraduate students and graduate students studying fundamental entrepreneurship concepts.
Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship
This is a modular open textbook designed for entrepreneurial journalism, media innovation, and related courses.
Financial Management for Small Businesses: Financial Statements & Value Models
This book is for those whose financial management focus is on small businesses. For you, we adapt the traditional financial management themes emphasized in corporate financial management courses to meet the needs of small businesses.

Economics Resources

Open Textbook Library - Economics

The Economy: Economics for a Changing World
The Economy is a course in economics. Throughout, we start with a question or a problem about the economy--why the advent of capitalism is associated with a sharp increase in average living standards, for example--and then teach the tools of economics that contribute to an answer.
For each question, the material is in the same sequence. We begin with a historical or current problem, even if it is a complex one, and then we use models to illuminate it.
OpenStax Principles of Microeconomics 2e
The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.
University of Hawaii Microeconomics 2019
A heavily revised version of OpenStax Principles of Microeconomics 2nd Edition.
OpenStax Principles of Macroeconomics 2e
The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.
OpenStax Principles of Economics
The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.
Microeconomics: Markets, Methods and Models
Microeconomics: Markets, Methods, and Models by D.Curtis and I. Irvine provides concise yet complete coverage of introductory microeconomics theory, application and policy. The textbook begins with an explanation and development of the standard tools of analysis in the discipline and carries on to investigate the meaning of ‘well-being’ in the context of an efficient use of the economy’s resources.
Macroeconomics: Theory, Markets, and Policy
The textbook observes short-run macroeconomic performance, analysis, and policy motivated by the recessions of the early 1980s and 1990s, the financial crisis and recession of 2008-2009, and the prolonged recovery in most industrial countries. A traditional Aggregate Demand and Supply (AD-AS) model is introduced, and a basic modern AD-AS model is developed. Numerical examples, diagrams, and basic algebra are used in combination to illustrate and explain economic relationships.
Principles of Macroeconomics: Lyryx
This text presents a complete and concise examination of introductory macroeconomics theory and policy suitable for a first introductory course. Examples are domestic and international in their subject matter and are of the modern era -- financial markets, monetary and fiscal policies aimed at inflation and debt control, globalization and the importance of trade flows in economic structure, and concerns about slow growth and the risk of deflation, are included.
Principles of Political Economy
The purpose of this text is to teach students about alternative schools of economic thought but also to deepen their understanding of the dominant, neoclassical approach to economics. In this sense, it draws a great deal of inspiration from Richard Wolff and Stephen Resnick’s Contending Economic Theories. Following Wolff and Resnick, an even broader objective is to teach students that economics is a discourse and that no single voice can rightfully claim to have a monopoly on the truth about economics.
The Economics of Food and Agricultural Markets
The Economics of Food and Agricultural Markets is written for applied intermediate microeconomics courses. The book showcases the power of economic principles to explain and predict issues and current events in the food, agricultural, agribusiness, international trade, and natural resource sectors.

Economy, Society, and Public Policy

"It has been created specifically for students from social science, public policy, business and management, engineering, biology, and other disciplines, who are not economics majors."

The Economy
A complete introduction to economics and the economy that has been successfully taught both to economics undergraduates and in masters courses in public policy.

Open Courses

Introduction to Business
This Introduction to Business course develops students’ understanding of business fundamentals with learning design structured around timely, real-world case studies and examples. Key topics include the role of business, the global economic and legal environment, ethics, marketing, accounting and finance, and managing processes and operations.
Principles of Marketing
In this course, you will learn about the marketing process and examine the range of marketing decisions that an organization must make in order to sell its products and services.

New!

Intermediate Microeconomics

Intermediate Microeconomics is a comprehensive microeconomic theory text that uses real world policy questions to motivate and illustrate the material in each chapter. Intermediate Microeconomics is an approachable yet rigorous textbook that covers the entire scope of traditional microeconomic theory and includes two mathematical approaches, allowing instructors to teach the material with or without calculus. With real-world policy topics as an entree into each subject, Intermediate Microeconomics will help students engage with the material and facilitate learning not only the concepts, but their importance and application as well.

Fundamentals of Business Law

Contributors: Randall and Students

Publisher: Melissa Randall

Undergraduate business law textbook written by Melissa Randall and Community College of Denver Students in collaboration with lawyers and business professionals for use in required 200 level business law courses in the United States. This book is an introductory survey of the legal topics required in undergraduate business law classes.

Affordable Course Material (ACM) - Finding Guide: General Business/Economics