Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychology is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders.
Introduction to Psychology (2019)
Introduction to Psychology, by Cummings and Sanders (Department of Psychology, University of Saskatchewan), has been created from a combination of original content and materials compiled and adapted from several open educational resources. It is intended for a first-year, introduction to Psychology course.
Introduction to Psychology
Introduction to Psychology utilizes the dual theme of behavior and empiricism to make psychology relevant to intro students. The author wrote this book to help students organize their thinking about psychology at a conceptual level.
Discover Psychology: A Brief Introductory Text
An introductory Psychology text with modules on various major topics, including Developmental Psychology, Sensation & Perception, Consciousness, Learning, Memory, and Psychological Disorders, among others.
Research Methods in Psychology, 4th Edition (2019)
This textbook introduces students to the fundamental principles of what it is like to think like a psychology researcher in the contemporary world of psychology research.
Introduction to Community Psychology: Becoming an Agent of Change
This textbook will show you how to comprehensively analyze, investigate, and address escalating problems of economic inequality, violence, substance abuse, homelessness, poverty, and racism. It will provide you with perspectives and tools to partner with community members and organizations to promote a fair and equitable allocation of resources and opportunities.
Together: The Science of Social Psychology
This textbook presents core concepts common to introductory social psychology courses. The 8 units include 27 modules covering key social psych topics such as research methods, group processes, social influence, and relationships. This book can be modified: feel free to add or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.
Learning statistics with R: A tutorial for psychology students and other beginners
Learning Statistics with R covers the contents of an introductory statistics class, as typically taught to undergraduate psychology students, focusing on the use of the R statistical software. The book discusses how to get started in R as well as giving an introduction to data manipulation and writing scripts. From a statistical perspective, the book discusses descriptive statistics and graphing ﬁrst, followed by chapters on probability theory, sampling and estimation, and null hypothesis testing.
Principles of Social Psychology
The first International edition of this textbook provides students with an introduction to the basic concepts and principles of social psychology from an interactionist perspective. The presentation of classic studies and theories are balanced with insights from cutting-edge, contemporary research.
Answering Questions with Data
This is a free textbook teaching introductory statistics for undergraduates in Psychology. This textbook is part of a larger OER course package for teaching undergraduate statistics in Psychology, including this textbook, a lab manual, and a course website. All of the materials are free and copiable, with source code maintained in Github.
OpenStax Introduction to Sociology 2e
Introduction to Sociology 2e adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course. It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories. The textbook presents section reviews with rich questions, discussions that help students apply their knowledge, and features that draw learners into the discipline in meaningful ways. The second edition has been updated significantly to reflect the latest research and current, relevant examples.
Sociology: Understanding and Changing the Social World (2019)
The book includes the most recent data in the following categories, so your students have access to the latest sociological trends: crime and victimization, income and poverty, life expectancy and aging, employment, marriage and divorce, education, medical care and health disparities, and fertility and population change.
Classical Sociological Theory and Foundations of American Sociology
This textbook is more than just a bunch of outdated ideas from some nineteenth century Dead White Guys. It is a living and breathing repository of concepts and approaches that still to this day guide the conduct of all sociologists. If you read and pay attention, you too will be a sociologist, whether or not you ever go on to graduate training in the field.
Principles of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods
This text emphasizes the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers, undergraduate students. Each chapter describes how research methodology is useful for students in the multiple roles they fill: (1) as consumers of popular and public information, (2) as citizens in a society where findings from social research shape laws, policies, and public life, and (3) as current and future employees.
Social Science Research: Principles, Methods, and Practices
This book is based on my lecture materials developed over a decade of teaching the doctoral-level class on Research Methods at the University of South Florida. The target audience for this book includes Ph.D. and graduate students, junior researchers, and professors teaching courses on research methods, although senior researchers can also use this book as a handy and compact reference.
Social Problems: Continuity and Change
Social Problems: Continuity and Change is a realistic but motivating look at the many issues that are facing our society today. As this book’s subtitle, Continuity and Change, implies, social problems are persistent, but they have also improved in the past and can be improved in the present and future, provided that our nation has the wisdom and will to address them.
The Evolution of Trust: An Interactive Experience
This interactive game by Nicky Case explores the concept of trust in society. The concepts explored in the game are taken from Robert Axelrod's "The Evolution of Cooperation. Although not open to edit, the resource is free to access online.
The Wisdom and/or Madness of Crowds: An Interactive Experience
This interactive game by Nicky Case explores the concept of social networks and how groups of people can affect each other's behavior. This resource is free to access but not open to edit.
Intercultural Learning: Critical Preparation for International Student Travel
The ability to recognise and understand your own cultural context is a prerequisite to understanding and interacting with people from different cultural backgrounds. An intercultural learning approach encourages us to develop an understanding of culture and cultural difference, through reflecting on our own context and experience
Ancillaries: PowerPoint slides, test bank, & instructor solution guide,
Noba: Instructor Resources
We’ve created a set of high-quality resources to support your teaching. Our goal is to assist you in introducing core concepts, engaging your students in activities and discussion, and assessing their learning. Like all Noba materials these instructor resources are both free and open-licensed. You are welcome to use them, to share them and to modify them to better suit your unique needs.
Growth and development through the lifespan including physical, social, cognitive and neurological development. This course covers topics in each of these areas and provides an overview on subjects such as day care, education, disabilities, parenting, types of families, gender identity and roles, career decisions, illnesses and treatments, aging, retirement, generativity, and dying.