Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Programming & Web Development
Computer Networks: A Systems Approach
Suppose you want to build a computer network, one that has the potential to grow to global proportions and to support diverse applications. What available technologies would serve as the underlying building blocks, and what kind of software architecture would you design to integrate these into an effective communication service? Answering this question is the overriding goal of this book.
Programming Fundamentals - A Modular Structured Approach using C++
The learning modules of this textbook were written as standalone modules. Students using a collection of modules as a textbook will usually view it contents by reading the modules sequentially like a traditional text.
Python for Everybody: Exploring Data In Python 3
The goal of this book is to provide an Informatics-oriented introduction to programming. The primary difference between a computer science approach and the Informatics approach taken in this book is a greater focus on using Python to solve data analysis problems common in the world of Informatics.
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python is an introduction to programming using Python. The basic syntax and semantics of Python are covered, including functions and objects. Some of the more advanced features are missing, and readers are encouraged to continue on to other books. Every chapter provides a glossary of new technical terms at the end. There is a comprehensive index at the end of the book.
Engineering Computations with Python
Created in Jupyter Notebooks, these modules' target audience is first-year engineering students, but the course would be equally useful to students in any science or technology field.
Introduction to Programming Using Java, 8th Edition
The Seventh Edition of Introduction to Programming Using Java is a free, on-line textbook on introductory programming, which uses Java as the language of instruction. This book is directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java.
The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming
This text provides the developer with an understanding of the various elements of web development by focusing on the concepts and fundamentals through the examples within, providing a foundation that allows easier transition to other languages and a better understanding of how to approach their work.
Digital Circuit Projects: An Overview of Digital Circuits Through Implementing Integrated Circuits
Digital circuits, often called Integrated Circuits or ICs, are the central building blocks of a Central Processing Unit (CPU). To understand how a computer works, it is essential to understand the digital circuits which make up the CPU. This text introduces the most important of these digital circuits; adders, decoders, multiplexers, D flip-flops, and simple state machines.
A Primer for Computational Biology
A Primer for Computational Biology aims to provide life scientists and students the skills necessary for research in a data-rich world. The text covers accessing and using remote servers via the command-line, writing programs and pipelines for data analysis, and provides useful vocabulary for interdisciplinary work. It is broken into 3 parts: Unix/Linux, Python, and R.
Computational and Inferential Thinking: The Foundations of Data Science
This online textbook was developed for the Foundations of Data Science class at UC Berkeley.
Database Design, 2nd Edition
This second edition of Database Design book covers the concepts used in database systems and the database design process.
An Introduction to Data and Information
Ever wondered how a computer processes data into information? This free course, An introduction to data and information, will help you to understand the distinction between the two and examines how a computer-based society impacts on daily life.
Computer Applications for Managers
This course is aimed at beginning to intermediate computer users. It teaches a range of computer skills from the basics of using Windows to creating projects using Microsoft Office. Assignments show step-by-step visuals to help students complete projects. Used in CIT 100
Computer Applications for Managers
This course is aimed at beginning to intermediate computer users. It teaches a range of computer skills from the basics of using Windows to creating projects using Microsoft Office. Assignments show step-by-step visuals to help students complete projects.