Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Principles of Marketing
Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing – not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment: Service-dominant Logic, Sustainability, Ethics & Social Responsibility, Metrics, and Global Coverage.
This text introduces students to the marketing strategies and tools that practitioners use to market their products.
eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World
The newly updated edition - based on Quirk's unique Think, Create, Engage, Optimise structure and processes - includes chapters on the latest marketing trends as well as updated facts and figures and all new real-world case studies showing the application of digital best practice.
Communication Studies Resources
Exploring Public Speaking: 4th Edition
Exploring Public Speaking is a usable, zero-cost textbook for basic public speaking courses or courses that include basic public speaking skills as one of their primary learning outcomes. The free, open nature of the text means that instructors are able to use all or part of it, and add their own materials. Standout features include coverage of PowerPoint, audience analysis and responsiveness, ethics in public speaking, persuasion, special occasion speeches, and structure of speeches.
Stand Up, Speak Out: The Practice & Ethics of Public Speaking
Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking features two key themes. First it focuses on helping students become more seasoned and polished public speakers, and second is its emphasis on ethics in communication.
Introduction to Public Communication
Introduction to Public Communication is an open textbook created specifically for Indiana State University's COMM 101 course. A guiding team of Communication instructors compiled content from other open sources, and wrote original content to complete this text.
Principles of Public Speaking
The course is an introduction to the preparation and delivery of oral presentations in an extemporaneous style. Emphasis is on ethical research, critical and logical analysis, and organization of informative and persuasive presentations.
Speak Out, Call In: Public Speaking as Advocacy
Speak Out, Call In: Public Speaking as Advocacy is a contemporary, interdisciplinary public speaking textbook that fuses rhetoric, critical/cultural studies, and performance to offer an up-to-date resource for students. With a focus on advocacy, this textbook invites students to consider public speaking as a political, purposeful form of information-sharing.
Journalism & Media Studies
Understanding Media and Culture
Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication was written to squarely emphasize media technology. The author believes that an introduction to mass communication text should be a compelling, historical narrative sketching the *ongoing evolution* of media technology and how that technology shapes and is shaped by culture.
Data Journalism Handbook
This book is intended to be a useful resource for anyone who thinks that they might be interested in becoming a data journalist, or in dabbling in data journalism.
Media Studies 101
Media Studies 101 is an open educational resource for media studies studies in New Zealand, Australia, and Pacifica.
Journalism, 'Fake News' and Disinformation: A Handbook for Journalism Education
The current handbook seeks to serve as an internationally-relevant model curriculum, open to adoption or adaptation, which responds to the emerging global problem of disinformation that confronts societies in general, and journalism in particular.
Message Processing: The Science of Creating Understanding
The text provides an upper-level undergraduate introduction and explanation of the social and cognitive processes involved in human communication, focusing on how people create understanding.
Introduction to Professional Communications
This book covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.
Problem Solving in Teams and Groups
This textbook covers content relevant to COMS342 Problem Solving in Teams and Groups at the University of Kansas.