Education & Child Development - Affordable Course Material (ACM) - Finding Guide - Research Guides at Saint Francis University

Textbooks

Copy(write): Intellectual Property in the Writing Classroom
This book provides a comprehensive historical and contemporary overview of issues related to copyright scholarship, legal implications, and pedagogy in the context of changing political and technological landscapes.
Teaching in a Digital Age: Guidelines for Designing Teaching and Learning
The book examines the underlying principles that guide effective teaching in an age when all of us, and in particular the students we are teaching, are using technology. A framework for making decisions about your teaching is provided.
Instruction in Functional Assessment
Instruction in Functional Assessment introduces learners to functional assessment (FA), which includes a variety of assessment approaches for identifying the cause of an individual’s challenging behavior for the purpose of designing effective treatments.
Flipped Through Design: “Flipping the Classroom” Through Instrucitonal Design
Instructional Design provides a proven framework to design all types of instruction and these principles can be used to design a “Flipped” course.
Teaching Autoethnography: Personal Writing in the Classroom
This book provides approaches anyone can use to explore their communities and write about them first-hand. The methods presented can be used for a single assignment in a larger course or to guide an entire semester through many levels and varieties of informed personal writing.
The Changing Story: digital stories that participate in transforming teaching & learning
The Changing Story gives you assignments, resources, and examples to use in your teaching and learning. It will also help you think of ways digital stories can be used in your teaching, and help students harness the power of visual storytelling.
Education for a Digital World: Advice, Guidelines and Effective Practice from Around Globe
Education for a Digital World contains a comprehensive collection of proven strategies and tools for effective online teaching, based on the principles of learning as a social process. It offers practical, contemporary guidance to support e-learning decision-making, instructional choices, as well as program and course planning, and development.

Educational Psychology
Blending psychology and educational practices, the book draws on research, theory and practical wisdom to discuss aspects of teaching and classroom management.

The Inside, Outside, and Upside Downs of Children's Literature
From CCAC faculty: "This resource is incredibly detailed in terms of its chapters: it covers everything from the history of children's literature to fairy tales, fiction, and non-fiction (all required elements for the learning outcomes on the course master syllabus). As a bonus, the book contains a section on banned books, a topic I plan to organize the course around . It also delves into YA literature, which I plan to include in the course. The book in written in an engaging, conversational style that is superior to the textbook I was going to use. It also contains a multitude of links to outside resources: YouTube videos, fanfiction sites, articles, scholarly criticism, and more. Overall, I would strongly recommend this resource to my colleagues teaching Children's Literature as this 489-page resource truly covers every component of our course (and then some!)."

Steps to Success: Crossing the Bridge Between Literacy and Reseach and Practice
This book introduces instructional strategies linked to the most current research supported practices in the field of literacy.

Course Materials

Cognitive Development in Childhood
This module examines theories of cognitive development, the roles of nature vs. nurture, and how cognitive development research can be used to improve education.
Planning and Teaching Strategies
How to plan and asses learning objectives. Includes a section on differentiated instruction.

Find OER "from leading colleges and universities" in disciplines including Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Engineering, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, and Social & Behavioral Sciences. From UMass Amherst.

Canvas Modules: Fair Use for K-12 Educators
Larysa Nadolny, Associate Professor in the School of Education and Human Computer Interaction, created three modules on fair use and copyright for educators thanks to funding from a 2018 Miller Open Education M-ni-Grant.
The Art of Serious Game Design: A hands-on workshop for developing educational games
The materials within this guide are intended to support multidisciplinary teams in or during the pre-production phase of serious game design as they collaborate in a facilitated workshop. It is critical that the workshop facilitators are familiar with the conceptual framework and proposed methodology in order to better support participants as they collaborate in the game design brainstorming and protoyping steps.
Intercultural Learning: Critical Preparation for International Student Travel
The ability to recognise and understand your own cultural context is a prerequisite to understanding and interacting with people from different cultural backgrounds. An intercultural learning approach encourages us to develop an understanding of culture and cultural difference, through reflecting on our own context and experience.

Open Courses

Lifespan Development
Growth and development through the lifespan including physical, social, cognitive, and neurological development.

Affordable Course Material (ACM) - Finding Guide: Education & Child Development

Textbooks

Course Materials

Open Courses