Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Government (OpenStax)
American Government is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester American government course. The book provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of American government and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
Basic Political Concepts (OrangeGrove)
This short text introduces the basic ideas of political science.
American Government (OrangeGrove)
An exciting new book that explores the role of government, politics, and policy ion American lives.
USA Elections in Brief (OrangeGrove)
This book discusses the nature of the modern American electoral process and how it works at the federal, state, and local levels. The process, complicated and sometimes confusing, has evolved to ensure universal suffrage to all men and women who are U.S. citizens 18 years of age or older.
Open Textbook Collections
MERLOT - Political Science Textbooks
MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education. This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty. MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.
OpenStax believes that everyone has something to learn, and everyone has something to teach. Offers thousands of textbooks, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.
Cornell Open - Political Science
A global open access portal for both new and classic out-of-print titles from the distinguished catalog of Cornell University Press.
Digital Commons Network - Political Science Commons
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
OER Commons - Political Science
The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions. It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.