A history of public health. by 
Public health: What it is and how it works. by
This book explores the inner workings of the complex, modern U.S. public health system--what it is, what it does, how it works, and why it is important. The book covers the origins and development of the modern pubic health system; the relationship of public health to the overall health system; how the system is organized at the federal, state, and local levels; its core functions and how well these are currently being addressed; evidence-based practice and an approach to program planning and evaluation for public health interventions; public health activities such as epidemiological investigation, biomedical research, environmental assessment, policy development, and more.
Global health law by
The international community has made great progress in improving global health. But staggering health inequalities between rich and poor still remain, raising fundamental questions of social justice. In a book that systematically defines the burgeoning field of global health law, Lawrence Gostin drives home the need for effective global governance for health and offers a blueprint for reform, based on the principle that the opportunity to live a healthy life is a basic human right. Gostin shows how critical it is for institutions and international agreements to focus not only on illness but also on the essential conditions that enable people to stay healthy throughout their lifespan: nutrition, clean water, mosquito control, and tobacco reduction. Policies that shape agriculture, trade, and the environment have long-term impacts on health, and Gostin proposes major reforms of global health institutions and governments to ensure better coordination, more transparency, and accountability. He illustrates the power of global health law with case studies on AIDS, influenza, tobacco, and health worker migration. Today's pressing health needs worldwide are a problem not only for the medical profession but also for all concerned citizens. Designed with the beginning student, advanced researcher, and informed public in mind, Global Health Law" will be a foundational resource for teaching, advocacy, and public discourse in global health.
Populations, public health, and the law. by
A population-based approach to legal analysis which claims that law should seek, among other things, to protect and promote public health.
Public health law and ethics: A reader. by
Now revised and expanded to cover today's most pressing health threats, Public Health Law and Ethics probes the legal and ethical issues at the heart of public health through an incisive selection of government reports, scholarly articles, and relevant court cases. Companion to the internationally acclaimed text Public Health Law: Power, Duty, Restraint, this reader can also be used as a stand-alone resource for students, practitioners, scholars,and teachers. It encompasses global issues that have changed the shape of public health in recent years including anthrax, SARS, pandemic flu, biosecurity, emergency preparedness, and the transition from infectious to chronic diseases caused by lifestyle changes in eating and physical activity. In addition to covering these new arenas, it includes discussion of classic legal and ethical tensions inherent to public health practice, such as how best to balance the police power of the state with individual autonomy.
Emerging perspectives in health communication: meaning, culture, and power. by
This volume provides the theoretical, methodological, and praxis-driven issues in research on interpretive, critical, and cultural approaches to health communication. It includes an international collection of contributors, and highlights non-traditional (non-Western) perspectives on health communication.
The handbook of global health communication. by
International in scope, A comprehensive and up-to-date analysis of the role of communication processes in global public health, development and social change Brings together 32 contributions from well-respected scholars and practitioners in the field, addressing a wide range of communication approaches in current global health programs Offers an integrated view that links communication to the strengthening of health services, the involvement of affected communities in shaping health policies and improving care, and the empowerment of citizens in making decisions about health Adopts a broad understanding of communication that goes beyond conventional divisions between informational and participatory approaches
Health communication in practice: a case study approach. by
Health Communication in Practice: A Case Study Approach offers a comprehensive examination of the complex nature of health-related communication. This text contains detailed case studies that demonstrate in-depth applications of communication theory in real-life situations. With chapters written by medical practitioners as well as communication scholars, the cases included herein cover a variety of topics, populations, contexts and issues in health communication, including: *provider-recipient communication and its importance to subsequent diagnosis and treatment; *decision-making; *social identity, particularly how people redefine and renegotiate their social identity; *communication dynamics within families and with health care providers through unexpected health situations; *delivery of health care; and *health campaigns designed to disseminate health-related information and change behaviors. Reflecting the changes in health communication scholarship and education over the past decade, chapters also explore current topics such as delivering bad news, genetic testing, intercultural communication, grieving families, and international health campaigns. A list of relevant concepts and definitions is included at the end of each case to help students make connections between the scenario and the communication theories it reflects. With its breadth of coverage and applied, practical approach, this timely and insightful text will serve as required reading in courses addressing the application of communication theory in a health-related context.
Health communication in the 21st century. by
This popular and engaging text on health communication is now revised and updated in a second edition that incorporates recent research and boasts new material on topics such as crisis communication, social disparities in health, and systemic reform. Fully revised second edition of this popular and authoritative text Includes fresh material on topics such as crisis communication, health care reform, global health issues, and political issues in health communication New case studies, examples, and updated glossary keep the work relevant and student-friendly Provides effective strategies for healthcare organizations and individuals in communicating with patients Updated and enhanced online resources, including PowerPoint slides, test bank, and instructors manual, available upon publication at www.wiley.com/go/wright
Public health communication: evidence for behavior change. by
This volume argues the case that public health communication has affected health behavior. It brings together 16 studies of large-scale communication in a variety of substantive health areas--tobacco, drugs, AIDS, family planning, heart disease, childhood disease, highway safety--prepared by the authors who did the original research. These studies show important effects and illustrate the central conditions for success. The book also includes complementary analytic chapters which provide a meta-analysis of published results, some approaches to developing communication interventions, and alternative methods for evaluation of public health communication projects. Including studies based on communication programs in the United States, as well as projects done elsewhere in the world, including Europe, Africa, Asia and Latin America, this book: *offers a broad presentation of the alternative research designs that have been used to evaluate public health communication programs; *includes a great range of approaches from field experiments and natural experiments to simple before-after and complex time series designs, using data gathered from individuals and from archives; and *utilizes an innovative perspective on how to exercise public health communication from a leading and thoughtful practitioner. As such, it is required reading for scholars, students, practitioners, and policymakers in public health, health communication, health psychology, and related areas.
Principles and practice of toxicology in public health. by
All public health professionals should have some level of knowledge of the basic principles of Toxicology. Whether dealing with issues as diverse as a workers' compensation claim for a job-related exposure and injury or the removal of toxic wastes from an urban community, public health professionals must be able to communicate with each other, the public, and our political leaders concerning how chemicals can, and the conditions under which they may, realistically produce harm. Principles and Practice of Toxicology in Public Health provides students with an understanding of the nature and scope of the discipline, so that they may be prepared to participate in a meaningful way in the often highly visible problem-solving and decision-making processes required of public health professionals.In four sections, it offers an introduction to the field, as well as the basics of toxicology principles, systemic toxicity, and toxicology practice. The text is immediately readable for the student with little technical background.The Second Edition is a thorough update that has been expaneded with a new chapter on endocrine toxicology. Instructor Resources: Instructor Manual, PowerPoint, TestBank
Global health systems. by
A textbook for International health, comparative studies, global health, international affairs, health administration and public health. The book presents a variety of real life, stimulating examples of what can go wrong at the health system level and practice level with suggestions for preventing future problems. Review questions are included at the end of each chapter summarizing major points and facilitating critical thinking, problem-solving, and informed decision-making particularly when addressing health care, cost, quality, and true access. Instructor Resources: Instructor Manual, PowerPoint Slides, Test Bank
Planning, implementing, and evaluating health promotion programs: a primer by
For undergraduate courses in Health Education, Promotion, and Planning. Provide Students with the Tools They Need to Be Successful in Health Promotion Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs: A Primer provides students with a comprehensive overview of the practical and theoretical skills needed to plan, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs in a variety of settings. The 7th Edition features updated information throughout, including the new Responsibilities and Competencies generated from the Health Education Specialist Practice Analysis-2015 (HESPA-2015), and reflects the latest trends in the field.
Youth-led health promotion in urban communities: a community capacity-enhancement perspective. by
iYouth-Led Health Promotion in Urban Communitiesi presents a comprehensive and up-to-date view on youth-led health promotion in the United States and provides recommendations for addressing health issues and problems related to urban youth of color. The book is comprehensive, providing statistical documentation and case illustrations.
Evaluating public and community health programs. by
Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs combines an introduction to public and community health program evaluation with a detailed survey of methods in community assessment, planning, program design, quantitative and qualitative data collection, data analysis, and reporting of findings. The book presents an approach built on the two primary evaluation frameworks that are most common in public and community health: the Donaldson three-step program theory-driven evaluation model and CDC's six-step Framework for Program Evaluation in Public Health. The author emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that involve all program stakeholders, not just evaluation experts, and presents a simple and effective standards-based four-step model that will produce rich and useful results. The book's resources (scenarios, worksheets, and guidelines) can be used throughout the planning, implementation, and evaluation process. In addition, each chapter includes a list of learning objectives, key terms, and ideas for review, as well as summaries and discussion questions that can reinforce each chapter's lessons.
Healthcare business market research handbook 2017-2018. by 
Biologic response modifiers in infectious diseases. by 
Vaccines. by
Apply the latest vaccination knowledge with a reference that Bill Gates calls "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world." Inside "Vaccines," you ll find comprehensive and current coverage of every aspect of vaccination, from the development of each vaccine to its use in reducing disease. This medical reference book offers the expert information you need to apply the very latest techniques and information in your practice Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Gain a complete understanding of each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, as well as epidemiology and public health and regulatory issues.Update your knowledge of both existing vaccines and vaccines currently in the research and development stage.Get complete answers on each vaccine, including itsstability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies.Analyze the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options.Clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures.Make optimal use of the latest vaccines for pneumococcal disease, rotavirus, human papillomavirus, herpes zoster, meningococcal disease, and much more.Stay at the forefront of new developments with completely updated chapters on malaria and HIV vaccines, a new chapter on vaccine regulations across the world, and many other revisions throughout."
Introduction to occupational health in public health practice. by
Introduction to Occupational Health in Public Health Practice Bernard J. Healey and Kenneth T. Walker Introduction to Occupational Health in Public Health Practice Introduction to Occupational Health in Public Health Practice uses concepts of prevention, epidemiology, toxicology, disparities, preparedness, disease management, and health promotion to explain the underlying causes of occupational illness and injury and to provide a methodology to develop cost-effective programs that prevent injury and keep workers safe. Students, health educators, employers, and other health care professionals will find that this essential resource provides them with the necessary skills to develop, implement, and evaluate occupational health programs and forge important links between public health and worker safety. Praise for Introduction to Occupational Health in Public Health Practice "Successful evidence-based health promotion and disease prevention efforts recognize that health choices and outcomes of individuals and communities are profoundly affected by their respective social and physical environments. This book is a great tool to identify opportunities and strategies to integrate and leverage efforts for the individual, family, workplace, and broader community." --Robert S. Zimmerman, MPH, president of Public Health Matters LLC, former Secretary of Health, Pennsylvania "A timely and crucial book for all health care professionals." --Mahmoud H. Fahmy, PhD, Professor of Education, Emeritus, Wilkes University
Pathologies of power: Health, human rights, and the new war on the poor. by
Pathologies of Power uses harrowing stories of life and death; in extreme situations to interrogate our understanding of human rights. Paul Farmer, a physician and anthropologist with twenty years of experience working in Haiti, Peru, and Russia, argues that promoting the social and economic rights of the world's poor is the most important human rights struggle of our times. With passionate eyewitness accounts from the prisons of Russia and the beleaguered villages of Haiti and Chiapas, this book links the lived experiences of individual victims to a broader analysis of structural violence. Farmer challenges conventional thinking within human rights circles and exposes the relationships between political and economic injustice, on one hand, and the suffering and illness of the powerless, on the other. Farmer shows that the same social forces that give rise to epidemic diseases such as HIV and tuberculosis also sculpt risk for human rights violations. He illustrates the ways that racism and gender inequality in the United States are embodied as disease and death. Yet this book is far from a hopeless inventory of abuse. Farmer's disturbing examples are linked to a guarded optimism that new medical and social technologies will develop in tandem with a more informed sense of social justice. Otherwise, he concludes, we will be guilty of managing social inequality rather than addressing structural violence.
Poor economics. by
Billions of government dollars, and thousands of charitable organizations and NGOs, are dedicated to helping the world's poor. But much of their work is based on assumptions that are untested generalizations at best, harmful misperceptions at worst. Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo have pioneered the use of randomized control trials in development economics. Work based on these principles, supervised by the Poverty Action Lab, is being carried out in dozens of countries. Drawing on this and their 15 years of research from Chile to India, Kenya to Indonesia, they have identified wholly new aspects of the behavior of poor people, their needs, and the way that aid or financial investment can affect their lives. Their work defies certain presumptions: that microfinance is a cure-all, that schooling equals learning, that poverty at the level of 99 cents a day is just a more extreme version of the experience any of us have when our income falls uncomfortably low. This important book illuminates how the poor live, and offers all of us an opportunity to think of a world beyond poverty.
The click moment: Seizing opportunity in an unpredictable world. by
On the one hand we aren't surprised by the uncertainty of everyday life, but on the other we believe that success can be analyzed and planned for. It is a revealing paradox. The Click Moment is about two very simple but highly provocative ideas. The first is that success is random--far more random than we would like to believe. The second is that there are a number of specific actions that we, as individuals and organizations, can take to capture this randomness and focus it in our favor. According to Johansson, strategy, planning, and careful analysis can no longer guarantee strong performance; today's business environments are far too random and complicated. But when you dig deep into the actions of successful people and organizations, you'll find one common theme. A turning point occurs--a major client signs on, a new competitor redefines the market, an unlikely idea surfaces--and they take advantage of that serendipity to change their fate. A "click moment"--a rare point of opportunity that was completely unexpected. But individuals capitalized on their luck in ways that pay off significantly and alter their organizations' strategies and the course of their lives.
Mountains beyond mountains. by
This powerful and inspiring new book shows how one person can make a difference, as Kidder tells the true story of a gifted man who is in love with the world and has set out to do all he can to cure it. At the center of Mountains Beyond Mountains stands Paul Farmer. Doctor, Harvard professor, renowned infectious-disease specialist, anthropologist, the recipient of a MacArthur grant, world-class Robin Hood, Farmer was brought up in a bus and on a boat, and in medical school found his life calling: to diagnose and cure infectious diseases and to bring the lifesaving tools of modern medicine to those who need them most. This magnificent book shows how radical change can be fostered in situations that seem insurmountable, and it also shows how a meaningful life can be created, as Farmer ;brilliant, charismatic, charming, both a leader in international health and a doctor who finds time to make house calls in Boston and the mountains of Haiti; blasts through convention to get results. Mountains Beyond Mountains takes us from Harvard to Haiti, Peru, Cuba, and Russia as Farmer changes minds and practices through his dedication to the philosophy that "the only real nation is humanity" - a philosophy that is embodied in the small public charity he founded, Partners In Health. The example of a life based on hope, and on an understanding of the truth of the Haitian proverb ;Beyond mountains there are mountains; as you solve one problem, another problem presents itself, and so you go on and try to solve that one too.
The spirit catches you and you fall down. by
Reccomended read: When three-month-old Lia Lee Arrived at the county hospital emergency room in Merced, California, a chain of events was set in motion from which neither she nor her parents nor her doctors would ever recover. Lia's parents, Foua and Nao Kao, were part of a large Hmong community in Merced, refugees from the CIA-run "Quiet War" in Laos. The Hmong, traditionally a close-knit and fiercely people, have been less amenable to assimilation than most immigrants, adhering steadfastly to the rituals and beliefs of their ancestors. Lia's pediatricians, Neil Ernst and his wife, Peggy Philip, cleaved just as strongly to another tradition: that of Western medicine. When Lia Lee Entered the American medical system, diagnosed as an epileptic, her story became a tragic case history of cultural miscommunication.Parents and doctors both wanted the best for Lia, but their ideas about the causes of her illness and its treatment could hardly have been more different. The Hmong see illness aand healing as spiritual matters linked to virtually everything in the universe, while medical community marks a division between body and soul, and concerns itself almost exclusively with the former. Lia's doctors ascribed her seizures to the misfiring of her cerebral neurons; her parents called her illness, qaug dab peg - the spirit catches you and you fall down - and ascribed it to the wandering of her soul. The doctors prescribed anticonvulsants; her parents preferred animal sacrifices.
The tipping point. by
This is a book that is changing the way Americans think about selling products and disseminating ideas.
